Master Chimney Sweepers

About

Founded 1978 • With Angi since October 2001

Cost is determined by the job. ; Additonal phones numbers Andover (978) 470-1611, Beverly (978) 922-1535, Braintree (781) 843-0700, Brockton (508) 583-0055, Cambridge (617) 547-2907, Framingham (508 872-3603, Franklin (508) 528-6068, Hingham (781) 749-1660, Lexington (781) 861-1846, Lowell (978)

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

.BeforeAfter

Verified Reviews

4.7

(576) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

451

4

63

3

26

2

11

1

25

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (526)chimney repair (116)fireplace services (73)chimney cap repair (70)HVAC Companies (33)water heaters (5)air duct cleaning (4)
Showing 1-25 of 576 reviews
5.0

09/14/2022


Brian L.

Once again, Vinny was excellent. Was honest and upfront with me about the work that needed to be completed. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep

Cost $340

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2022

5.0

01/12/2021


Raffi D.

The expert at MCS spent considerable time understanding my problem, and thoroughly discussing and explaining options and alternatives. He went above and beyond to inform my decision. Although I did not move forward with the project, I wouldn’t hesitate to contact MCS again in the future.

Description of Work
Chimney lining project

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/12/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business and positive comments!
5.0

10/08/2020


Brian L.

Vinny provided A+ service! He showed up on time, was extremely professional, and spent the extra time to walk me through what I need to know as a new homeowner. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Cost $640

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business and positive response ! Sorry for the late response !
1.0

10/03/2020


Geoff B.

Provided a window from 2 to 5. Got a call at 5 for a reschedule. Wasted whole day waiting so told them no thanks.

Description of Work
Clean wood stove chimneys

Category air duct cleaning

Work Completed On 10/03/2020

Service Provider Response

This must be another company, we do not do air duct cleaning.
5.0

08/12/2020


Ellen R.

Exceptional service!! I got a call in advance, explaining the Covid-19 protocol and how the visit would work. Service technician, "Bobby 102" arrived on time, wearing face covering as discussed. He was super polite! Brought in his equipment (including floor/rug covering), accurately described the scope of the job and estimated timing. He worked quietly and efficiently while here and explained what he discovered at the end of his work. We were able to ask questions and got very clear and direct answers including what maintenance might be required down the road. We gave him a check on the spot and he was off to his next customer. I took great comfort in the way Master Chimney Sweepers prepared and informed us and we were extremely pleased with the actual service performed very professionally by "Bobby 102".

Description of Work
Fireplace and flue cleaning including furnace flue

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business and positive comments ! Sorry for the late response !
5.0

06/24/2020


Keith O.

excellent - no complaints - on time and thorough

Description of Work
burner flu cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

5.0

10/24/2019


Michael T.

Very well, showed up on time, did the job to our satisfaction, good off season price, did not try to up-sell

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep and Clean

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

5.0

10/13/2019


Anne Marie L.

Matt from Master Chimney Sweepers performed work on our home to inspect and clean the liner, which had been installed by a different company. Upon completion of the project, Matt showed us photos of the chimney and informed us that due to age and deterioration, the chimney needed to be repointed. Matt was professional, courteous and diligent. He arrived on time, kept us informed of the project, and took care to clean the work area upon completion. We highly recommend Master Chimney Sweepers and Matt for chimney projects.

Description of Work
Clean the liner and repoint the chimney.

Category chimney repair

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive comments, Matt will appreciate the feedback !
3.0

07/19/2019


DAVID R.

Called to get a quote on sweeping the chimney, and also replacing an existing cap that had fallen off. They called back quickly, but quoted a price of about $375 (after Angie's List discount) for the cleaning, and another $350 to replace the cap. Called Downeast for another quote, and they said $275 for the cleaning, and "while we're up there we'll just put the cap back on." (Downeast ended up charging just $175, because they inspected it and said it didn't need cleaning, so just charged for the visit and replacing the cap.)

Description of Work
Clean out chimney, replace chimney cap

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

Work Completed On 06/28/2019

3.0

05/30/2019


David W.

I got one phone call, which I missed. With the message "call us back" I was hoping for someone a little more enthusiastic to do my work.

Description of Work
re-lining 3 chimneys

Category chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

5.0

03/19/2019


Daniel J.

Cant say enough about Master Chimney Sweepers. They were honest up from the from the beginning on the work and didn't try to over price you. I received two other quotes and both were almost double. The techs knew there stuff and listened to what you needed. They were very responsive and easy to get a hold of and the tech came out and measured and they came back and installed right away when the cap came in.

Description of Work
Replace a Chimney Chase Cover

Category chimney caps

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/14/2019

5.0

02/09/2019


Darnell C.

Had Bobby and Sean out 2 days after initial contact. Advised them of carbon monoxide alarms going off, and they quickly and accurately found and resolved the issue. Cleaned chimney, vacuumed out and gave instructions for annual maintenance. Took roughly 45 mins from start to finish. Would definitely have out again.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweeping

Category chimney sweep

Cost $409

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2019

Images

Review for Master Chimney Sweepers - 202 N Main St, Natick, MA - 37704610

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive reviews, Bobby and Sean will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

01/14/2019


SUZY R.

The technician arrived on time and was professional and clearly experienced. He explained everything he would do and how long it would take. He found 3 dead flying squirrels (our suspicions were borne out that we needed the cap), and cleaned them out.

Description of Work
Both a cleaning of the chimney and installation of a cap.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

Cost $1,082

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive grades, Vinny will appreciate the feedback !
3.0

12/17/2018


David I.

You were wrong. They don’t work on gas fireplaces. August west (Pembroke) never even replied, by the way.

Description of Work
Repair gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

Work Completed On 12/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback, we are working with Angies List to resolve this issue.
5.0

12/04/2018


Sarah I.

Mark was punctual, and professional. He was very good at explaining the process. Cleaned both flues, and did an inspection of the chimney, and water heater venting. He noted all the things that needed fixing, but didn't try to sell me on any of them. He did good job explaining they what and why of each recommendation. I have to note, that he also did a good job of protecting my floors and left them clean. All told, a very positive experience.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep, water heater repair

Cost $618

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive grade and comments, Mark will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

11/18/2018


Maritza F.

Great, friendly worker. Have hired this company before and will do it again. Professionals!

Description of Work
Clean the chimney

Category chimney sweep

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2020

5.0

11/01/2018


Patrick B.

My chimney had been undergoing a slow transformation over the past several years, from chimney to Pez dispenser. Three out of four sides had rusted away on the chimney cap and the remaining side was doing a good job as a hinge in high enough winds. Enough was enough. Time to call a professional. Scheduling was effortless and they were able to send out a technician within a couple days. The technician (Bobby) arrived on time and was both easy going and professional in his approach to a job that was not apparently as cut and dry as it looked. In the end, the innovative work (due to irregular initial craftsmanship on the chimney) Bobby did looked significantly better that the material (my chimney remnants) he had to work with. I am very satisfied with the work that was done and would highly recommend Master Chimney Sweepers.

Description of Work
Chimney Cap Repair

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank your business and positive response, Bobby will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

10/31/2018


Dakeya C.

From the moment I called the office and set up the appointment everyone was nice and attentive. I received a call from Bob the same date to set up a time and date. Bob called when they had an availability for a sooner date which I appreciated but could not do. Tim was the service technician that came to the house, he was on time, professional, worked clean and gave great suggestions. I will absolutely hire again!

Description of Work
Chimney and water heater flute sweep services

Category chimney sweep

Cost $598

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive review, Tim will appreciate you feedback !
5.0

10/25/2018


Clare K.

Bobby was terrific ~ he was delayed at another job. Called and apologized and took care of the work to be done ~ definitely would like to have Bobby take care of my chimney and wood burning stove.

Description of Work
Annual Chimney Cleaning for Wood burning Stove

Category chimney sweep

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive review, Bobby will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

10/09/2018


Rachel B.

Bobby M was very thorough, knowledgeable and professional. We’ll definitely have him back to do more work as needed in the future.

Description of Work
Chimney and fireplace needed repair work and cleaning

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive review, Tim will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

10/05/2018


Raphael L.

Tim from Master Chimney Sweepers just left. Highly professional, knowledgeable, prompt, courteous. He did not put on a hard sell like so many chimney sweeps. He pointed out work that should take place now, next year, in coming years, and allowed me to make my assessments and decisions. He's the first sweep who gave me a useful schedule to think about for future work. All in all a very positive experience. Tim concrete filled in an ash chute under the fireplace, cleaned the heat and the fireplace flues.

Description of Work
Chimney swept, minor repairs

Category chimney sweep

Cost $767

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive review, Tim will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

10/04/2018


Rebecca B.

Very clean,they come every year. No complaints. They're very knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the business and positive review, Vinny will appreciate the feedback !
5.0

06/13/2018


Robert and Roberta O.

They seem to be the most knowledgeable and confident of the companies we interviewed to install a gas liner for an oil to gas transition. We do not regret that decision.

Description of Work
Gas Liner Installation for Oil to Gas Heating Conversion

Category chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney repair