Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FORTE ENTERPRISES

Founded 1968 • With Angi since August 2003

4.6

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

60 HILLTOP ST

Milton, MA 02186

Description

All types of bulkhead cellar entry doors (Bilco & Gordon), Factory Authorized Installers since 1968, all types of masonry, waterproofing, drainage systems, and general contracting.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Claudine B.
4.0
12/20/2017
Everything went very smoothly and quickly. The new bulkhead door was installed beautifully, and our front steps are now safe again. My only issue was the short notice on the installation. Mr. Forte scheduled us sooner than anticipated because another job was delayed. It all worked out in the end, but required a little shuffling on the part of my fellow unit owners.
Description of Work
Needed repairs to the loose bricks and railing on our front steps, and we also needed to completely replace a rusted bulkhead door.
Category
masonry, doors
Colleen P.
5.0
02/01/2017
Great! They installed a steel bulkhead in a very timely manner. They were professional and courteous. I would definitely recommend this company
Description of Work
We needed a bulkhead replaced
Category
concrete repair
Peter C.
5.0
07/19/2016
There was one minor problem. The owner rectified that within 24 hours.
Description of Work
They installed a new bulkhead including masonry work to frame the bulkhead. They also had to remove some soil.
Category
dock building
Linda V.
5.0
07/17/2016
Very well.
Description of Work
Replacement bulkhead with concrete work
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

The customer requested a bulkhead replacement unit that would be water tight and require limited maintenance. I explained the options available that would work best. Once the Bilco unit was selected we proceeded with the work. Even with some of the obstacles at the site the owner was very satisfied that we were able to complete the work considering the circumstances. We do whatever it takes to make sure that the customer is informed and satisfied with the end result.
Ted C.
5.0
07/14/2016
I called New England Bulkhead and Baystate Bulkhead first and left a ton of messages with both and received no reply. Then I called Forte. The owner Fred Forte immediately called me back, visited my job, gave an accurate quote, and returned with his crew and installed a solid Bilco bulkhead. It was not a typical job as the bulkhead was in a corner and required modification to fit both the back and side, but Mr Forte knew exactly what was needed and showed creativity in making a standard bulkhead fit a non-standard spot. SERIOUS. If you need a new bulkhead call Forte first and save yourself time and aggravation.
Description of Work
Replace an old rotted wooden cellar bulkhead
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

This was not a typical installation. I explained to the owner how we would be able to take a standard size unit rather than a more expensive custom unit, and adapt it to the existing opening. Once the customer was satisfied with the specifications of the job we were able to complete the work in a timely manner and on budget. After 48 years in business we take pride in providing exceptional value at a competitive price.
Linda F.
5.0
08/19/2014
Once again, Fred gave us an extremely reasonable estimate for the complete job. And, once again, he called ahead to let us know when he would be by and showed up right on time. He and his crew did an outstanding job of excavating through the existing concrete and told us to call once the pool repair was completed so he could back to fill in the excavation. Once the pool job was done we called Fred and he and his crew were back within a very short time to finish the job. They refilled the trench with layers of dirt, sand, gravel, etc. so that the repair would successfully withstand years of New England weather, and covered it over with a smooth layer of concrete. And they completely cleaned up entire area! It was a beautifully done professional job and more than worth the amount we paid. Based on the job Fred did for us I would definitely recommend, without reservation, Forte Enterprises for residential concrete repair, and I truly believe that Fred would do as exemplary a job at any other service offered by Forte Enterprises..
Description of Work
Fred (Forte) cut a hole through our concrete pool apron so MCM Pool Service could fix a leak in the pipe. Fred gave us a fair estimate, was able to do the work when we needed it done, showed up on time and did an excellent job. We may need to have more work done and if so, we will definitely plan on having Fred Forte do the job. Update: We decided to have the additional work done after all (replacing an underground pool line) and once again called on Fred to cut through the concrete, this time along the full length of the pool line.
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Appreciate working with someone who does their homework. Very pleasant to work with. Even though there was more involved to the job than was specified, we completed the work. Once we cut open the area we were able to see the condition of the concrete. The customer was very satisfied with what we did and decided to do the additional work.
Andrea C.
5.0
06/21/2014
Awesome job! A quick response with a quote and a great job explaining the process. The work was performed quickly, neatly and quite professionally.
Description of Work
Fred replace my leaking bulkhead stairs with a precast unit and new Bilco bulkhead.
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] was a well informed client. Great to work with and understood the process. Thanks
Ron B.
5.0
03/24/2014
It went very, very well. I marked "excellent" in all the checkboxes, except "good" for price. The price was totally fair for the work, it just wasn't bargain basement. At every stage, Fred was a pleasure to work with. I trusted him, and that trust paid off: He did the work when he said he would, and the appearance of the new bulkhead is flawless. Now, almost two years after the job, I see no signs of deterioration. I have literally no complaints, and I wouldn't hesitate to call him again.
Description of Work
Fred Forte replaced a deteriorating bulkhead, pouring concrete and installing a new steel door.
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] was very informative. We worked well together making surge that he received the best value possible. Thanks
Karen M.
5.0
10/24/2012
Great experience. Would definitely recommend and use again if need was there. Contacted another company in the area and went through a nightmare with them. Very happy with the work that was done.
Description of Work
Replacement of bulkhead
Category
concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Working with [Member Name Removed] was a pleasure. We assured her that she would be well taken care of and the job would be done in a professional manner. Wish all clients were like [Member Name Removed]. Thanks
MARLENE W.
5.0
10/18/2007
They came and did the estimate when I wasn't home. They sent me a detailed estimate with all of their information including references. They were efficient. The only thing I didn't like was they did not paint. I had to paint the doors myself.
Description of Work
They installed a bulk head for me going into my basement from outside.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

{removed member name} was great to work with. She subsequently was so pleased with the initial work that we were fortunate enough to do additional work for her. We appreciate hearing what quality work is all about. Thanks
CAROL M.
5.0
11/28/2006
They came, worked, left, and it was good. It took two days to install. The basement is dry now despite heavy rainpour the day after the installation. Previously, there were puddles dripping through the opening. They were very responsive, friendly, and efficient.
Description of Work
They removed a rotted bulkhead door and stone foundation, poured new concrete foundation, and installed a Bilco Bulkhead door.
Category
concrete repair, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] had contacted us to help her with the bulkhead leaking. We try to exceed what we specify and if there is any thing else that needs attention we will do it on site at no additional cost to the client. Good business working with educated consumers. Thanks
HENRY T.
5.0
10/10/2006
They were very professional in all respects. They are licensed by bulkhead manufacturer Bilco, so they are very knowledgeable about installation. There were no problems whatsoever, and I'd recommend to anyone installing a bulkhead door.
Description of Work
They removed and disposed of an old basement bulkhead door, prepared masonry surround, and installed a new metal bulkhead door.
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

ENJOYED WORKING WITH THE MEMBER. HE UNDERSTOOD THE PARAMETERS OF THE JOB, THUS MAKING OUR WORK EASIER. WE APPRECIATE ANY COMMENTS AS WE STRIVE TO UNDER PROMISE AND OVER DELIVER.
JEANNE G.
1.0
05/10/2006
Fred Forte should be in jail for the "work" he did on my property. He did so much damage to my yard and gardens, that I withheld $500 from final payment. That was only the beginning of this horror show. He committed several building code violations when he did this job, which caused water to leak into my finished basement, that had never had water in it before. He lied and tried to con me into spending another $1690 to install a sump pump that he claimed I needed to correct the problem. His work caused my property to be in violation of the State Building Code. The building inspector had to threaten to go after Mr. Forte's license in order to get him to make corrections to stop the water leaking into my basement. It took 14 months for that to happen. Since that was accomplished, Mr. Forte has refused to pay for the damages to my basement. It is my opinion that anyone would have to be certifiable to hire this man. There is not enough space here to describe the nightmare this is!
Description of Work
Fred Forte was hired to remove an existing bulkhead, that was made of metal. He put in a concrete block foundation wall, concrete floor, and a new metal bulkhead door unit.
Category
concrete repair, masonry

Service Provider Response

I was told that every thing was resolved. I did everything I could to satisfy and resolve any concern of the customer. We accomodated the customer in every way possible. We did more than was specified to resolve the issue. I had responded to every inquiry. I was also told that the negative accusations that were not true would be removed because the factual information that was supplied by the customer was false. The management office at Angie's list also told me that the negative and false accusations would be removed and they were not. I would appreciate a response and have this corrected.
David L.
4.0
10/13/2004
ALTHOUGH WE USED ANOTHER VENDOR, WE WOULD CALL THIS ONE AGAIN FOR SIMILAR WORK.
Description of Work
CONTRACTOR PROVIDED A QUOTE FOR WATER DAMAGE.
Category
basement waterproofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Falco Masonry

    For over 25 years, Falco Masonry has been adding beauty to finer homes and hard-scapes with brick, block and especially stone. From initial consultation through final clean up, great care is taken to make sure that your next masonry project exceeds your expectations.  

    Angi Certified

    Best Way Masonry and Construction

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    MS Masonry and Stone Services inc

    MS Masonry and Stone Services inc., serve Residential and Commercial property owners in Grand Boston. We are the best choice for brick and stone work and we take pride of our work and have attention to details. We are specialized in Stone Restoration, Historic Building and Waterproofing. We always make sure all of our projects are completely in a timely fashion, within budget and with the quality that our clients deserve.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    BULKHEADS, MASONRY, WATERPROOFING, REMODELING, NEW CONSTRUCTION, GENERAL REHAB, DECKS, AND ADDITIONS.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about FORTE ENTERPRISES

    How is FORTE ENTERPRISES overall rated?

    FORTE ENTERPRISES is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are FORTE ENTERPRISES open?

    FORTE ENTERPRISES is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does FORTE ENTERPRISES provide

    FORTE ENTERPRISES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does FORTE ENTERPRISES offer free estimates?

    Yes, FORTE ENTERPRISES offers free project estimates.

    Does FORTE ENTERPRISES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, FORTE ENTERPRISES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does FORTE ENTERPRISES offer a senior discount?

    No, FORTE ENTERPRISES does not offer a senior discount.

    Does FORTE ENTERPRISES offer emergency services?

    Yes, FORTE ENTERPRISES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by FORTE ENTERPRISES?

    Yes, FORTE ENTERPRISES offers warranties.

    What services does FORTE ENTERPRISES offer?

    FORTE ENTERPRISES offers the following services: BULKHEADS, MASONRY, WATERPROOFING, REMODELING, NEW CONSTRUCTION, GENERAL REHAB, DECKS, AND ADDITIONS.

    Are there any services FORTE ENTERPRISES does not offer?

    ask for details