Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are currently offering all services and implementing several COVID-19 safety procedures. We are also providing COVID-19 disinfecting services. Please call us for a FREE quote on our disinfecting services.

Health & Safety Measures

Please call for more details.
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Aspen Environmental

Founded 1986 • With Angi since October 2010

4.3

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

270 Lawrence St

Methuen, MA 01844

Description

We provide disinfectant cleaning and sanitary fogging and are capable of disinfecting against human coronavirus (covid-19). We have the professional certifications and experience not only for remediating mold, but for taking the corrective measures to ensure it doesn't happen again. Fully certified and insured. CALL FOR A FREE QUOTE OR CONSULTATION TODAY AT: (617)-957-0045....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/18/2022


Maureen B.

It went very well. The clinician Alex was prompt, personable, efficient and knowledgable about the task. He explained everything that was being serviced as well as what to expect until the follow up visit. The follow up visit was quick and again a full explanation of services. He also continued part of the treatment for an additional day to assist in the success of the services. I worked with this company before and they were excellent. I would definitely hire them again

Description of Work
The HVAC vent system needed mold remediation

Category pest control, mold removal

5.0

04/23/2020


Terry B.

Everything went as planned, better than I hoped for. Clean, professional, and maintained their distance. Finally back to normal. Thank you!

Description of Work
Mold removal

Category water damage restoration, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review! Thanks for choosing us and being so satisfied with the completed job. Stay well.
5.0

03/11/2020


Alexander R.

on time and knowledgeable

Description of Work
mold testing

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your feedback.
5.0

11/01/2019


constance M.

would recommend, showed up on time and exceeded my expectations on an in home mold problem.

Description of Work
mold remediation

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the high review! It is our priority to exceed our standards and we are happy to hear that you believe that is exactly what we did.
1.0

02/01/2019


Maureen L.

Alex came right away and said they would do the work. They demolished my neighbors' place then, after a week, refused to work on my house because it was "dangerous". All MA contractors that work on old houses are required to follow worker safety procedures, even places like mine that had lead abatement completed. Aspen does not understand rudementary worker and will leave your house wet and moldering because of their incompetence!

Description of Work
Water damage repair

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately we had to exit [Member Name Removed]'s unit due to the ongoing lead abatement that was occurring in the rooms we were working on. [Member Name Removed] assured us the lead was previously abated but this proved otherwise when a crew showed up and began work. Luckily I knew a member of the lead abatement crew and he informed me the abatement was not complete. We continued to work in the neighbor's unit (lead free) and completed our water mitigation successfully.
5.0

09/27/2018


Travis P.

My experience with Aspen was positive. The representative showed up early and looked at all the problem areas I suspected in my house with me and helped educate me about resolving the issues I had. The rep was able to make an expert determination that testing and remediation should not be necessary if I took some specific actions and no payment was requested for this consultation.

Description of Work
Mold investigation and if necessary, testing and remediation

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! We are glad to hear that our rep arrived on time and was able to help you determine what was going on at your proerty.
1.0

09/25/2018


Sally W.

never heard from them

Description of Work
estimate for mold in kitchen

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are sorry to hear that you were unable to get a response from our representatives. It is our priority to make sure that we return all calls and inquiries. Im sorry that you were unable to get our response but we would love to make this right. Please give us a call if there is any way we could help you. Thanks.
5.0

10/25/2017


Richard M.

Everything went well and I am satisfied with their work and professionalism

Description of Work
Remediation and removal of insulation in the finished basement and attic

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! We are glad that we were able to perform a successful job at your property. Thanks for counting on us and trusting our work.
5.0

07/12/2017


SHREE T.

The rep who gave the estimate came out twice to give an accurate estimate and helpful information. I did not end up hiring them because they were very expensive.

Description of Work
I got an estimate for mold remediation.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to review our company and we are happy that our representatives where easy to work with and where able to give you the accurate information you needed.
5.0

06/15/2017


Robert S.

None was detected

Description of Work
Tested for mold

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for trusting our work and having us test your property.
5.0

03/25/2017


Wina T.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

This review is not intended for our company Aspen Environmental as we do not perform pest control or exterminating services. Please disregaurd this review as it is intended for another company.
5.0

12/03/2015


Matt M.

Aspen was the only duct cleaning service that our HVAC provider, Main Stream Mechanical in Amesbury Suggested. I can see why, they were excellent. We recently bought our house and replaced the forced hot air furnace. The house was built in 1988 and I am pretty sure that the vents had never been cleaned. Aspen came and did a very thorough job. Our house smells better and it could be the placebo effect, but I swear my allergies seem better already. They said they took about 3 garbage bags of "stuff" out of our vents. A couple of things to note: They were late for our initial appointment and didn't call to let us know. I had to call. They ended up being so late we had to reschedule. However, on the second try, they nailed it, so no harm done, things happen. Also, on the price, I know that you can get duct cleaning done much cheaper than what we paid. However, since Aspen is a certified mold removal company that knows how to do this stuff, and I know for a fact that they're using the right equipment (Beater brushes, compressed air, HEPA vac) it is worth the price to know that it was done right and they stand by their work.

Description of Work
Cleaned the ductwork and vents in our house. About 20 of them. Also did an anti-microbial fog in the ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks for choosing us to clean your ducts [Member Name Removed]! We are happy to know that you are satisfied with our job and that our technicians exceeded your expectations.
5.0

10/27/2014


MITCH F.

Excellent, professional, thorough, clean. A little on the expensive side, but we wanted a company with all of the above qualities, so we believe it was worth it.

Description of Work
Cleaned the ducts for 2 separate A/C systems in the house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the good review. We are happy to know that our technicians did a job well done. All of our technicians are NADCA certified and properly trained for the job. Thanks for trusting us as your qualified air duct cleaning company.
5.0

05/01/2014


Lisa A.

Went stellar! They were quick and did exactly what they said the would and even a little extra. They were great about separating my living quarter from the work and cleaned up after themselves. And the dehumidifier is awesome!

Description of Work
Another provider had accidentally over-insulated my home. While the resulting humidity probably would not have bothered most, as an asthmatic it causing me breathing difficulties. Aspen came in, adjusted the breathability issue, did a full wash down and coating to make certain that no mildew nor mold would take root, and installed a whole home dehumidifier.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Hello, We are glad to hear that everything went exactly as planned. We hold our technicians to a high standard and are happy to hear that the job performed at your property was done perfectly. Thanks for the good review.
5.0

04/10/2014


Kevin D.

They are consistent and I haven't seen any bugs since they started working. I don't find them very professional because he just doesn't talk on personal place, he has a lot of flying I guess so they're familiar. They've been great just not great business place.

Description of Work
Aspen Environmental provided pest control services such as spraying for me last fall.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the good review but we are not a pest control or exterminating company as this review was originally posted for a different company. This review has no relation to Aspen Environental and our company or services performed. Thanks.
5.0

09/12/2013


Michael G.

Aspen was the only mold removal company we looked into. They came highly recommended from our realtor. The price was lower than we budgeted for and got the estimate 1 month before we moved into the house. Made the appointment 1 month after moving in and they came out a week after we called. It took them 2 and a half days to get rid of all the mold. The workers were very nice, we weren't home most of the time they were doing it, but we trusted them to be here. The main office stayed in contact with us frequently during the whole process.

Description of Work
Remediated mold from our attic

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

We are glad to hear that our work exceeded expectations. Thanks for the good review and thanks for ensuring us with your trust and business.
2.0

07/30/2013


Frank I.

NOt well. They charged me over $400 for a test I find out is inconclusive and has no value. They provided mold prevention and removal service in a rental unit. The tenant complained a year later stating the place still smells like mold. I called Aspen to come back and they said their test was inconclusive and you need a different company to do a mold test not us we just do removal but they charged me for a test a year ago. When I originally hired them they guarantee their work for 20 years but a year later they did not want to come back. I was scammed.

Description of Work
Provided a mold test and mold treatment in rental unit

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

This client is a landlord. He did not do what we recommended to correct the problem. He just wanted the mold cleaned up. We told him that we cannot warranty a job unless the source of the mold is corrected. Makes sense right? But he didn't want to pay for that so we could not warranty the job. Then he calls a year later with the same problem and wanted a free test for clearance of our work. We don't test after the work is done. You need third party testing to confirm the work we do, it's a conflict for us but again he didn't want to pay. If he had followed our recommendations to correct the issue in the first place instead of doing a quick fix there would have been no more mold growth.
3.0

03/18/2013


JONATHAN H.

We are not happy with them. I don't like their customer service like their guy came and do some assessment for mold remediation service you know and he is asking a lot of questions and just try to tell me that you know I was given this job and I just want to make sure that everything I ask you now you'll answer it correctly. I just like being tricked you know again mostly I was being tricked like they keep asking me too many questions but of course I only answer questions I think I'm comfortable answering and that’s the best describe it. The thing is they never did anything while I'm still waiting for the quote and never got back to me that why I do not like their customer service. To cut the story short I was not happy with the service assessment. Remember they said they will give a quote but they never did so I brushed that up and I just look for someone else to do the job.

Description of Work
Aspen Environmental came and does some evaluation you know they just came in to do some quote and asked so many questions with regards to remediation service but they never return the quote after.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

We ask questions so that we can better service our customers. There seems to be a language barrier here and it is clear by (member name removed) comments that he was unwilling to answer our questions.We provide free estimates to customers everyday. I am sorry (member name removed) did not receive an estimate but none of the questions we ask are intrusive or of a personal nature. There would be no reason for anyone not to answer simple questions pertaining to a mold remediation project.
4.0

03/04/2013


Daniel A.

The entire cleanup process took about 4 days as they treated the wall and ran a Hepa filter. They recommended an independent air test, which we did, and that test showed mold spores still in the air. Aspen came back the next day and did the process over again. The next air test (and other tests around the house) passed. The workers were always professional and punctual. Even though most of this was paid for by homeowner's insurance, the insurance company did complain that the price Aspen charged was too high. Originally, they were also going to do the rebuild, but they had trouble setting up a tile contractor to do the work. As a result, we had a different company do the rebuild of the bathroom. Overall, the experience with Aspen was good, although with some unexpected bumps along the way.

Description of Work
We used Aspen to get rid of mold in our bathroom caused by water damage. They tore down the wall and tile, treated the affected areas and cleaned up the mold.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. But your C rating of price is " because the insurance company complained we charge too much" Just so you know the insurance company does not care about actually fixing a problem. They just want to get out of the claim as cheaply as possible. We put you and your family's health first, that's why we always recommend third party clearance testing. It's an extra cost but it protects you and gives confirmation that the work we do is done properly. Don't listen to the insurance company. You have a choice in who works in your home.
1.0

02/28/2013


Lisa L.

I filled out a form on the Home Advisor website and Dave called me within an hour of completed the form. We scheduled an appointment for the next day. He came out, he was very pleasant, knowledgeable, and told me I could call him with any questions, I really liked him. He called me early the following week with the results of the tests and told me I had toxic black mold, I was devastated, that is the worst. I was so afraid of what it could have been doing to my family's health. I called my PCP and my kids pediatrician office and they both wouldn’t see us said it was "controversial" told me to call the Department of Health. I c alled the Department of Health, they couldn’t understand why the doctor’s office told me to call them. Mind you I have been having health issues for years and for years they didn’t know what was wrong with me. Finally they said MS. So I am left with test results of toxic mold and doctors that won’t see my family. My husband found a doctor in Florida that specialized in patients that have mold exposure he said he only trust a hand full of people to test for mold and there happens to be one in Tyngsboro, MA. I knew exactly who my husband was talking about because I tried to contact him earlier but there was some confusion with the message I left and at that point I just wanted the first person I could get to come test the mold. So the doctor in Florida contacted the person in Tyngsboro he called right away and said you do not have toxic mold, I have been doing this for 25 years and have never seen it and promised to eat his hat if it tested toxic. So he came out the next day with his microscope and all and tested it right on my kitchen table and sure enough it was NOT toxic. He couldn't believe the bogus results I was given. The results I was given sent me into such a panic and caused me so much stress. I don’t know if this can be blamed directly on ASPEN Environmental or if they send the samples out for testing but if it is the lab they use then need to get a new lab because giving false results such as toxic black mold is unacceptable.

Description of Work
Mold testing from samples taken in attic and air quality testing on my main living area and finished basement area.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Our representative and mold inspector David Smith, took a sample and sent to our State licensed Laboratory. The lab results came back as Stachybotrys, which is considered to be a black toxic mold. Aspen Environmental does not do our own testing as we believe it's a conflict of interest. Our State licensed lab said it was a toxic mold and we have to present their findings to our clients. The person that tested Member's mold at her kitchen table is not a State licensed laboratory. Also, Member did explain to us that she had serious medical issues which she attributed to exposure to mold. We only represented the laboratory findings to our client as reported to us. We did not try and alarm her and did explain the location ot the mold was not in an area that was living space but in an attic. Her own statement that "I don’t know if this can be blamed directly on ASPEN Environmental or if they send the samples out for testing but if it is the lab they use then need to get a new lab because giving false results such as toxic black mold is unacceptable." is what happened. If our laboratory made a mistake we sincerly appolgize and we will look into this and try and find out if a sample was misread. But we feel we should not be getting an F rating without our client at least calling us to let us know there was an issue. We are a very repsponsible company and take any complaint very seriously. We have no other complaints on Angie's list or elsewhere. And we always if we do make a mistake, work hard to correct it. We feel this review if very unfair.
5.0

02/22/2012


Richard C.

Overall, they were really good. I had a good experience.

Description of Work
I had a water problem that led to mold in a finished basement and mold in the garage. They came in and sealed up everything very nicely, then removed and cleaned up moldy material. They were very professional and did a really good job.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], We are happy to hear that your experience with Aspen Environmental was good. Thanks for choosing us.
2.0

01/11/2012


Will O.

When they were there for cleaning the ducts, the technician found some mold on a wall that apparently did not show up on the initial tests. I called the firm and left a message explaining the situation and asking them to come back out to test again, and I simply never heard back from them.

Description of Work
I hired the firm initially to perform environmental inspection services (mold) for the purchase of a new home. I then hired them to come back and clean the ducts of my house.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

This rating is a mistake and refers to another similar company in the midwest. Please ignore.
5.0

12/17/2011


Christophe C.

I first spoke with David Smith. He was very helpful in educating me about mold remediation. He admitted that Aspen is not always the cheapest but they do quality work and have some quality high-end clients. David explained the importance of the chemical used and of having certifications which many mold remediators do not have. Setting an appointment was relatively quick. The work team did how up late but they called in advance to tell me. Even though they arrived later than planned they inished the work on time. And this given that it was about an 80 degree summer day. Not too hot but still can be a challenge in the attic. Overall, the crew was very careful not to leave refuse and to put plastic down to cover their work area so that no carpet would be damaged, etc. The mold remediation came out very good. I am happy with it. Given the relatively limited amount of time that the crew spent removing the mold, the price does seem kind of high. But I can tell you that their pricing was in the ballpark of other companies which in my opinion provided less quality service.

Description of Work
Attic mold remediation. A relatively small area of the attic was affected by mold. So I would consider this to be a small job.

Category mold removal

5.0

06/08/2011


Patricia C.

Each step of the way was handled in a professional and helpful manner. They were neat, thoughtful and took pains to leave the property better than they had found it.

Description of Work
The sales representative came to the property within days of my call, assessed the situation, and suggested a remediation plan. The workers who came to perform the necessary steps were punctual and professional. They not only did their jobs efficiently but they provided information on each step of the process to relieve the concerns of those living in the house at the time. Each contact with the office was met with a friendly voice and a cooperative attitude to meet the our needs and remove the mold and air quality hazards in a timely and effective manner.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], It is a top priority of ours to work as neatly as possible. We are glad to hear that our technicians were able to meet these expectations and that you could trust our work. Thanks again.
5.0

03/30/2011


JILL O.

Everything went great. They were incredibly responsive and helpful. They came out right away and took care of all of my problems. They removed all the contaminated drywall and the contents of the room. They were very thorough and didn’t leave any mess behind. They took a nightmare of a situation and made it tolerable. They used all “green” products as well.

Description of Work
I had a sewage back up in my house. They took down all the drywall and cleaned the rooms that were contaminated.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! We are glad to hear that our technicians where able to exceed your expectations. Thanks for counting on us and trsuting our work.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Newton Fire and Flood Inc.

    Newtown Fire and Flood specializes in being a one-stop shop for all water damage, fire damage, Mold testing and Mold remediation problems. After a flood or fire, they also do the repairs of your home to complete the job - making them a true one stop shop. Phil, the owner and operator, answers the phone and takes care of the problem with his team. Newtown Fire and Flood won't leave a job until you are completely satisfied and will work with you and your insurance company after the job to complete the process. We are a 24 hour emergency service company, so if you have an immediate problem and need some help in an emergency, please give us a call! We look forward to working with you! Serving all of New England with offices in Southshore, Northshore, and Wooster - as well as greater Boston. Additional DBA - Newton Fire and Flood Inc.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    SSL Home Services

    SSS Home Services prides itself on being the number one home improvement company In the area. We service both residential and commercial properties. We've built an excellent reputation for customer satisfaction by providing quick estimates, a great attention to detail, and competitive pricing. Being a screened and approved professional gives you the peace of mind you need to allow us to give your home the attention it deserves. Call us today and let's get started!  

    Offers by SSL Home Services on Angi
    House Doctors

    House Doctors is the professional handyman service you can trust for all of your home improvements and repairs. We provide the highest level of professional workmanship, that's why all of our technicians are screened, licensed and insured. Our uniformed staff will show up on time and complete your projects to your satisfaction, providing you with the kind of reliability, quality and service you deserve. Our mission is to make home repair and improvements easier for you. We promise to treat your home like it's our own. You can trust House Doctors to take care of all of your home improvement needs. Our goal is for complete customer satisfaction on every job, that's why our labor is GUARANTEED for one full year. Give us a call today to help you transform your home into the one you've always desired!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Mold removal & testing, HVAC duct cleaning, selective demolition & category III sewage backups flood restoration. Mold Remediation, Indoor Air Quality Testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aspen Environmental

    How is Aspen Environmental overall rated?

    Aspen Environmental is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aspen Environmental open?

    Aspen Environmental is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Aspen Environmental provide

    Aspen Environmental accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Aspen Environmental offer free estimates?

    Yes, Aspen Environmental offers free project estimates.

    Does Aspen Environmental offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Aspen Environmental does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aspen Environmental offer emergency services?

    Yes, Aspen Environmental offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Aspen Environmental?

    Yes, Aspen Environmental offers warranties.

    What services does Aspen Environmental offer?

    Aspen Environmental offers the following services: Mold removal & testing, HVAC duct cleaning, selective demolition & category III sewage backups flood restoration. Mold Remediation, Indoor Air Quality Testing.