Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D And S Plumbing And Heating

Founded 2004 • With Angi since December 2006

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

111 2nd St

Medford, MA 02155

Description

Owner operated. Use subs for large jobs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. License 13303. Additional website - http://www.trustthisbiz.com/dands_plumbing_heating.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Charlotte F.
5.0
10/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Conversion from oil heating to gas. | |As planned and documented. Very professional.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Barbara T.
3.0
02/08/2015
Conversion from oil to gas burner was satisfactory but over course of several years we had numerous problems that entailed repeated changing of thermostat and burner controller and motor/fan. Some of the problems were caused by external issues that were not the provider's fault but other problems were beyond the scope of the provider to diagnose. He stopped responding to our calls for service. At the last service call he made a diagnosis that was incorrect, he recommended a course of action but never returned to carry out what he thought should be done. This turned out to be a good thing as we hired someone else and his analysis was incorrect.
Description of Work
Provider installed conversion from oil to gas in 2012 and then made numerous service calls to handle problems. Last two times we made calls because of problems, provider did not return calls or failed to show up. He was unable to figure out the problem and never returned. We called another provider.
Category
plumbing
Brian T.
1.0
04/21/2014
Called back twice to fix again. No troubleshooting was performed beyond a visual. Plumber suggested the problem may have been with an older pipe, despite the leak only showing up when the toilet was fixed. Did not offer any kind of scope or probe for getting up into the ceiling, even though it was already open. Replaced the wax seal three times, but still is not fixed. Troubleshooting by the plumber was lazy/nonexistent, and charged full price on each of the callbacks, even though it was an $8 part, and left a mess after the last time. Never offered to drop price because it wasn't fixed tight the first time. Do not recommend.
Description of Work
Troubleshoot and fix interior leak to stack pipe.
Category
plumbing
Marianne C.
5.0
01/13/2014
Chuck was thousands of dollars below one of the other estimates! I was worried about this, but the work was done well and quickly, so I'm very happy to give Dand S a great review! If you call the gas utility for a certified installer, be sure to ask for 3 - 4 recommendations, because the price difference between installers for the same work was shocking.
Description of Work
Our oil burning furnace died during some very cold weather, and Chuck came quickly and gave us the best price for installation of a gas-burning furnace and water heater. I was surprised by the wide price range of estimates for installation of the same furnace and water heater.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Steven D.
5.0
01/05/2014
Sal came as a recommendation of a friend of a friend, so I did not know him. By the end of the first day I could see that he was very experienced, everything was well done. The system has been up and running for a year and there have been no problems. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Installed Burnham Alpine boiler and water heater.
Category
plumbing
Carol T.
5.0
05/31/2013
Dave Warrell is the name of my plumber. He was here a month ago a month ago to fix a little part of my toilet. He calls me right back, he knows what he's doing and he's very reasonable. He fixed an entire bathroom for me.
Description of Work
I used D & S plumbing and Heating to fix my bathroom.
Category
plumbing
Barry B.
5.0
05/30/2013
Dand S Plumbing did a great job converting us from oil to gas heat. It was done quickly and at a very good price.
Description of Work
Conversion from oil to gas heat
Category
plumbing
William C.
5.0
01/26/2013
unknown
Description of Work
If you need a plumber in the Medford/Somerville/Malden area, you would be wise to call Chuck at D&S. Again, Chuck quickly came to the rescue on one of the coldest nights of the year. He is a greater plumber and very honorable businessman.
Category
plumbing
Richard G.
5.0
01/17/2013
They did a oil to gas heat conversion for us. They gave a detailed estimate and stuck to it. Where there was a possibility of a up charge due to conditions beyond their control they explained it in advance and gave an estimate. When it was apparent that we didn't need the extra work we weren't charged. They worked around our schedule and the weather. When a subcontractor delayed progress they put in the extra time to keep their time commitment. Most important, their work was excellent and very professional. I highly recommend them and will use them in the future without hesitation.
Description of Work
Great service!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Mary G.
5.0
11/28/2012
The work went very well. It was a big job (in my opinion) because it involved so many separate companies and the local town plumbing inspector. There were delays due to National Grid's backlog of work requests, and the City's busy inspector, which then delayed scheduling with Dand S. All in all, the process took about 3 months. I was very happy with Dand S, the asbestos removal company they recommended, and the sub-contractor crew that removed the oil tank. All 3 groups came when they said they would and all 3 cleaned up after their work. I would not hesitate to recommend all of them, and I plan to continue to call Dand S for yearly or other maintenance of the furnace and water heater.
Description of Work
Chuck DiDomenico and his crew removed old radiators and steam pipes, replaced them with baseboard hot water radiators, and installed a gas furnace and a gas water heater. Chuck referred me to a separate asbestos removal company to remove asbestos from the pipes prior to D&S work. I booked and scheduled that work directly. Chuck also registered my request for a gas line and furnace with National Grid. He sub-contracted the removal of the old oil tank. The 10,500 price excluded the asbestos removal (800) and the furnace purchased through National Grid (2,000 less rebate).
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Carole K.
5.0
08/06/2012
He knew what he was doing. He was reliable, honest, and down to earth. His price was more than fair. I hope he gets a lot of business out of other people because he is great.
Description of Work
D&S Plumbing worked on some stuff for us.
Category
plumbing
john C.
5.0
02/20/2012
We found them on Angies list. They did great work for us, and we are very happy with them. Their prices are very reasonable.
Description of Work
We had them replace a couple parts on our dishwasher.
Category
appliance repair, plumbing
Charlotte H Still N.
4.0
07/10/2011
see above
Description of Work
My pipes froze and I was in a panic I am sure I was not the only one who felt they had a pipe emergency that week since it was very cold that whole week but they responded and came promptly they did leave my garage a bit of a mess but they were friendly, competent and I would hire them again
Category
plumbing
Rick O.
5.0
02/03/2011
Called and he came out to do the work within a day. Very responsive. Very pleased.
Description of Work
Water heater replaced.
Category
water heater repair
William C.
5.0
11/27/2010
We came home to a very cold house in the afternoon. After turning the heat up and running out for another errand, the house was still cold, and the forced hot air heating system was blowing cold air. We called Dand S Plumbing around 3:30 in the afternoon. Chuck was at our house in 10 minutes. He was able to reset the system, and our heating system was blowing warm air 5 minutes after he showed up. It was a great experience!
Description of Work
Fixed our broken furnace. Our forced hot air heating system was only blowing cold air. Chuck reset the system and the heaters immediately starting blowing warm air.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ronald M.
4.0
11/18/2010
Lees than 1 hour
Description of Work
Install a mixing valve.
Category
plumbing
Ed M.
5.0
10/04/2010
This company was fine. In comparison with the competition, they were in the running for the job. They were very professional and responsive. They came out right away and talked with us very candidly about what was possible.
Description of Work
We asked him to give us prices on replacing the current sink with a different type of sink, replace the tub-shower connection, and replace the toilet.
Category
plumbing
Sue C H.
4.0
07/16/2010
The AC man was able to easily clear out the pipe in less than 10 minutes and since I assumed that I was paying the $99 for the first hour (this included the Angie's discount of $20) asked him to check the system itself. He did so and was very pleasant and tried to explain how it worked to me. I was, however, shocked when he told me that the first $99 was only for the "assessment" and that I owed another $119 for the service. I had not been told that in essence the first fee included travel time (even though they called it the assessment fee) and that even if it takes only a few more minutes to resolve the problem that the cost is a full $119. This cost had nothing to do with the time involved but was just another expense added on. The company has a right to do this but should have made it clearer when I called. I spoke with Doreen and let her know that in the future they should be totally clear that any repair would cost at least $218. To me that is outrageous. I would have called a company nearer to me if I realized that there would in essence be a fee for the "travel time" even though they don't call it that. Perhaps because Doreen knew I'd be writing this review (I said as much) and hopefully because she wanted to be fair since I clearly had not gotten the correct information from her originally, she let it go for $99. However, she said that this was their policy (to charge for the visit and assessment itself and then add on another fee for an hour's work no matter how long it took.) Obviously I won't be calling them again even though the service itself was good and they came the same day.
Description of Work
Aside from what turned out to be the very high cost of their service (Ill explain below which was not clear to me at the time I set up the appointment) I was pleased with this company. I called the company because my furnace was leaking and it was clearly related to the AC. I had looked up the problem online and was pretty sure that a pipe was clogged since I had had the entire system worked on a year ago. I wanted someone who would come that day (because of my work schedule) and this was the first company I called. I was pleased that they were willing to come that day and in fact a man came in the early evening.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Timothy S.
2.0
06/04/2010
I called them for an estimate. They came out and looked at the job and said they would call or email me with the estimate, but I never heard from them. I would not use them in the future.
Description of Work
D&S Plumbing came out to look at a blockage at my house.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

I gave a price for the blockage. Never got a call back to come start the job.
mitchell S.
5.0
11/22/2009
Chuck came in with the lowest bid of the four contractors we contacted and we were very satisfied with the work done.
Description of Work
Chuck DiDomenico's crew replaced our (broken) oil boiler with a gas boiler.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JOHN C.
5.0
05/18/2007
D and S Plumbing were not cheap but I would still give the company a grade of A. I guess the work would have be costly no matter who we went with. They have done some work for us in the past and I have been pleased with their service.
Description of Work
D & S Plumbing replaced 2 broken valves in my bathroom and replaced some pipes under the bathroom sink. It took one and a half days to complete the job.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bluedrop Water

    By building our business around facts, advice and great service, we have earned the trust of America's leading residential water filtration provider. Trust the team with over 100 years of combined experience and countless successful water filtration projects. Bluedrop was founded on the premise of eliminating the need for plastic bottled water by offering a sustainable solution for clean great-tasting water in every environment. A core focus of ours is to give consumers a viable alternative to botted water that is convenient, affordable, sustainable and healthy. By switching to our sustainable solutions you're effectively becoming a leader in sustainable living. Your guests, customers, friends and neighbors will all learn a thing or two about going green and just how easy and convenient it can be when you switch to filtered water. Access to safe, great-tasting drinking water is a must for any home. Bluedrop's team of water filtration experts will work with you to customize the perfect water filtration program to fit your individual needs. Engaging with Bluedrop means that we will start by analyzing your existing water quality and determine the best strategy to tackle any potential issues. From there we take care of everything. From water filtration system installation to preventative maintenance, and ongoing service, we truly do become your water partner.  

    Angi Certified

    SafeWell

    Your advisor for clean, safe, healthy water. Complete water testing, filtration and treatment services for private well owners and municipal water users. Serving home-owners in Massachusetts and neighboring states.  

    Angi Certified

    Clear Water Pump & Well Service, Inc.

    Pump & Well Repair Service, water filtration, water softener service, sales, repairs  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Installation, repair and replacement of plumbing, heating, drain cleaning, septic and irrigation system, boilers, radiators, water treatment, sump pump & piping.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D And S Plumbing And Heating

    How is D And S Plumbing And Heating overall rated?

    D And S Plumbing And Heating is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are D And S Plumbing And Heating open?

    D And S Plumbing And Heating is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does D And S Plumbing And Heating provide

    D And S Plumbing And Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does D And S Plumbing And Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, D And S Plumbing And Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does D And S Plumbing And Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, D And S Plumbing And Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does D And S Plumbing And Heating offer a senior discount?

    No, D And S Plumbing And Heating does not offer a senior discount.

    Does D And S Plumbing And Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, D And S Plumbing And Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by D And S Plumbing And Heating?

    No, D And S Plumbing And Heating does not offer warranties.

    What services does D And S Plumbing And Heating offer?

    D And S Plumbing And Heating offers the following services: Installation, repair and replacement of plumbing, heating, drain cleaning, septic and irrigation system, boilers, radiators, water treatment, sump pump & piping.