VMA Electric Inc

About

Founded 2005 • With Angi since May 2010

Medium size Electrical Company based out of Metrowest Area. Currently have 9 licensed employees. Always free estimates. All pricing is based on specific work....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Needham Project

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(403) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

361

4

23

3

11

2

2

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

electrician (397)lighting (120)ceiling fan installation (27)generator service (25)home security systems (14)home automation (7)home theater installation (6)home builder (1)
Showing 1-25 of 403 reviews
5.0

06/28/2022


marc S.

Wow! It's rare to find great service in today's marketplace. VMA was outstanding in every way possible. They were responsive from the start of my request for a quotation all the way to getting the job done. The office was upfront with all the costs and managing my expectations for getting me on the schedule. Bottom line, the job was done faster than anticipated. The quote was quite competitive. The experts that did the work were spectacular. Polite, prompt, professional. I'm shocked at their expertise and cleanliness of the job site. When they were done it was hard (almost impossible) to tell that they had notched multiple holes in the ceiling to snake the wires throughout the house, let alone not finding a spec of dirt or dust anywhere along the way. I strongly recommend VMA. I couldn't be more pleased with the workmanship or the personnel. GREAT JOB!

Description of Work
electric vehicle charger installation

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/28/2022

5.0

03/16/2022


Jud H.

We have an older house (built ~1930) with largely original wiring and lathe and plaster walls. In other words a challenge when doing electrical or plumbing work. VMA Electric bid the job out carefully and coped with calm and competence with the inevitable difficulties (some incompatibilities between the main panel breaker and the charger's GFI, routing wire between the ground floor fireplace and the chimney on the roof, solution=an elegant wireless Lutron switch). Both the field and the office teams were efficient and pleasant. I would use them in the future without question. They were competent at every level. And while not the cheapest bid on all work, with an old house I have found it saves in the long run to go with an experienced firm.

Description of Work
Installed a 60 amp car charger and wired a chimney fan.

Category electrician

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/14/2022

Images

Review for VMA Electric Inc - 81 Maple St, Marlborough, MA - 39661932
5.0

09/25/2021


Stephen I.

Excellent professional work, completed on time, highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Electric Outlets in garage and basement, installation of lights in garage and Ethernet cat6 to television.

Category electrician

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2021

Images

Review for VMA Electric Inc - 81 Maple St, Marlborough, MA - 39487076

+2 More

5.0

03/04/2021


Kevin K.

I had an old light fixture removed that did not have a backbox & cover plate to house the wires correctly and a bedroom ceiling fan that mysteriously stopped working. I read a number of Angie's list reviews and felt that VMA Electric seemed like straight shooters, fully transparent and would be able to solve my issues efficiently. (I knew this job would be T&M rather than pre-quoted as it's impossible to say how long something like this would take). But Nancy in the office was wonderful to work with scheduling the work and she gave me the hourly rates ahead of time so I knew what I was going into. I was fortunate with my timing as they just had a cancellation - so they were onsite the very next morning. They solved both of my issues efficiently, cleaned up after themselves and made the whole process extremely wonderful. If you're reading this saying "I just need an electrician or two to come by and fix a couple of lingering items that I've had on my checklist for awhile" - you've found your company. The invoice/bill for the work was emailed to me the following day and it was exactly in line with expectations (a lot of reviewers are cautious about seeing an invoice after the fact). The pricing was exactly in line with the rates previously given and it was itemized with materials, etc. Anybody would be very happy with this group.

Description of Work
Misc. Electrical Repairs

Category electrician

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2021

5.0

02/08/2021


Dianne S.

They did an excellent job - they were very efficient, professional, respectful. It was absolutely seemless. And bonus - Nancy in the office was just lovely to work with - I would recommend this company to anyone - hands down

Description of Work
install 3 lights

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2020

5.0

01/19/2021


Michael D.

They did a great job and figured out the issue, three prior electricians could not. Would hire again!

Description of Work
Troubleshooting Outlets with out power

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2021

5.0

12/28/2020


Robert W.

Fast, neat, on time and tested. Very well.

Description of Work
Installation of generator.

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2020

5.0

12/16/2020


Ken M.

From the office folks to the electrician who did the work -- friendly and professional. They quoted the lowest price of three estimates and did the work within a couple of weeks. I purchased my generator elsewhere online... and VMA walked me thru the process of hooking it up, running it, and shutting it down. Very helpful.

Description of Work
Wired my house for an emergency generator with an interlock system.

Category electrician, generator service

Cost $1,350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2020

5.0

12/01/2020


Gail R.

Two electricians arrived 10 minutes early and ready to work. One did the two on of the garage door and one did the three smaller ones on the side and back of the house. They wore masks, were polite and worked efficiently. Once they were finished, the waited until power was turned on to make sure everything worked. Everything was cleaned up before they left.

Description of Work
2 outside lights on side of garage door, 2 on side of house and 1 by my back door. House is 67 years old and fixtures needed replacement.

Category lighting

Cost $210

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

5.0

10/29/2020


Brad M.

Great communication and coordination of plumber, electrician, and generator installation. Very friendly, very polite. Would highly recommend...

Description of Work
Install standby generator

Category electrician, generator service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

5.0

10/16/2020


THERESA B.

Things went fine; VMA provided an estimate and we concurred on a scope of work. VMA electricians were courteous and easy to work with. The office manager (Nancy) is very responsive to queries and very communicative on when crew is expected on site, etc. VMA does seem to be pretty busy, so if you have non-emergency work to be done (as was this work) you may need to wait a few weeks for your turn on the schedule. However, VMA stuck with the scheduled work date and it was done as scheduled.

Description of Work
1. Replace track lighting with recessed LED lighting, 2. Install light fixtures, 3. Repair/replace switches and outlets, 4. Convert outlets from 2-prong to 3-prong.

Category electrician, lighting, home security systems

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

5.0

10/12/2020


Joanne K.

Great service, would use them again

Description of Work
installation of nest thermostats

Category electrician

Cost $425

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2020

5.0

08/06/2020


Amy M.

Victor and his crew were fantastic. He provided a free estimate and honored it to the cent after all was said and done. Proper permits were obtained and the work inspected. Not only was everything functional, but Nick and crew were very concerned with aesthetics and even hidden wiring was very neat and tidy. The work was completed quickly and Victor handled all of the coordination with the necessary sub-contractors. Victor was always available and willing to be bombarded with questions before, during, and after the work and made sure all of our requests for this and that were honored. We would definitely recommend for generator installation and other electrical projects.

Description of Work
Whole house standby generator with automatic transfer switch

Category electrician, generator service

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020

Images

Review for VMA Electric Inc - 81 Maple St, Marlborough, MA - 38778673

+1 More

5.0

07/20/2020


Jean Carlo M.

Excellent.!! VMA electrician certainly are top of the line. The scope of work for my request was fulfilled efficiently and in a timely manner. I am quite pleased to have entrusted VMA to get the job done and will continue to do so moving forward. If you are ever in need of an electrician in the Marlborough area, I highly recommend choosing VMA.

Description of Work
install and troubleshoot Smoke Alarms

Category electrician, home security systems

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2020

5.0

06/19/2020


jim J.

It went they were very respectful and did a great job.

Description of Work
GFI plugs and new door bell

Category electrician, home security systems

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2020

5.0

05/05/2020


Brad K.

amazing would highly recommend this company . he was amazing and super nice and quick and accommodating !

Description of Work
new 220 v outlet

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

5.0

04/23/2020


Ayush S.

New light fixtures, landscape lighting.

Description of Work
Very professional and reasonable. Did an excellent job with the new fixtures and electrical work we wanted to get. They were honest and efficient with their work.

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $2,790

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/1970

5.0

03/08/2020


Audrea S.

Great experience! Very reasonable price. Electricians were professional and clean. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Kitchen lighting, exhaust fan exchange, light switches added, outlet placed and others moved

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2020

5.0

03/07/2020


Deborah C.

It went very well, starting with the estimate and continuing through the installation and check-out. There was a bit of delay/confusion that arose from the fact that the generator had to be drop-shipped to us from the factory, rather than being supplied by the local distributor, whose supply had been exhausted. Upon installation, it was found that all worked perfectly, with the notable exception of the generator's failure to switch the transfer switches to generator supply, rather than the grid supply. The issue was with the generator, **as-delivered**, and **not** VMA Electric. VMA Electric immediately began troubleshooting, stuck with it until they found the cause, and corrected the issue by the next day, which required installation of a new controller into the generator itself. Once that was sorted, all worked as specified.

Description of Work
Installation of whole-home, backup generator

Category electrician, generator service

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2020

Images

Review for VMA Electric Inc - 81 Maple St, Marlborough, MA - 38431134

+1 More

5.0

02/25/2020


Jennifer N.

Great! The gentleman that came out was meticulous, professional and flexible given the chaos in the house!

Description of Work
Increasing our electric power

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2020

5.0

02/10/2020


Ram G.

They were punctual ,clean and true professionals.Its been two years since we got the recess lighting and the center lights in our bedroom fixed.We contacted them again for our toddlers bedroom and we were really happy with the outcome.Additionally they even helped us change the basement pull chain light fixture. They cleaned up everything after the install too.Would definitely work with them again.

Description of Work
We got two separate switches for the recessed lights and center light in living room and bedroom two years ago. We also got switches moved and got a center light installed for our toddlers bedroom recently in feb 2020.

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2020

5.0

01/14/2020


Peter N.

We had a complicated project, and clearly very knowledgeable and thorough. They were very responsive over email as we finalized the quote. The final installation was high quality.

Description of Work
Installing a home electric vehicle charger

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2020

5.0

11/23/2019


Rob T.

Had a very good experience with VMA Electric. Very professional and responsive and was willing to work with me despite very tight schedules. Happy with the final work. I'd continue to do business with them for sure.

Description of Work
Reconfigure light switches, install new outlets, recessed lights, and outdoor lighting.

Category electrician, lighting