Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Acton Refrigeration

Founded 1972 • With Angi since July 2010

4.6

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

241 Taylor St

Littleton, MA 01460

Description

We are a Heat, Air Conditioning, Ventillation and Sheet Metal Fabrication sales and service company. We have been in business for forty (40) years....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/18/2017


John D.

All fixed, fast.

Description of Work
HVAC zone controller outage. Duct damper actuator motor not working. Humidifier not working.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/31/2017


D Bruce L.

Everything was fine. They came an hour and a half or two hours after I called. Technically very and the workers are good.

Description of Work
The carbon monoxide alarm went off.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/31/2017


D Bruce L.

.

Description of Work
I have been with them at least 15 to 20 years.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/01/2015


J.H. B.

Description of Work
Let's fix that typo: it's Acton Refrigeration. Not Rerfrigeration. | |The whole staff, starting with Bruce and Jan, to Ric and Nick (or Nic and Rick?) is professional. They were hindered by the very snowy / icy winter, so my new furnace and a/c system were not the highest priority. This was fine, because my system was OK; just old. The company had installed the original system, so they knew the territory. | |We worked to keep the cost in line with the estimate, and there was plenty of cooperation. | |I'd done considerable research, and am happy with this choice. Many thanks to them, for their patience and efficiency!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/26/2014


Joseph G.

Acton did a fantastic job! We went through the Mass Save Energy program and were looking to replace an old 41+yr old hot water boiler system in a house we just purchased. Acton Refrigeration came out to give an estimate. The technician was very knowledgeable and took detailed measurements of the house to determine proper load estimates in addition to what options would be the most efficient for our home. Within a few days of the technician coming out we received our estimate. Because we were going through the Mass Save program there were some adjustments that had to be made to what we were going to get and Acton was very quick to respond to our changes with multiple new estimates with various product choices. We ended up choosing 91.7% efficiency unit with an indirect water tank and got a great price for the combination. There was about a 2 month delay going through the Mass Save Loan process but when we contacted Acton after getting what we needed from Mass Save they remembered exactly who we were and what we wanted installed. They had the technicians out in a week to do the install. The technicians knew exactly what they were doing and did an excellent job in installing and cleaning up afterwards. They answered all of my questions and showed me how to use the new system. (The city inspector was impressed with the quality of the installation). Jan responded in a timely fashion to all emails and phone calls and scheduled appointments quickly. I would recommend them to anyone and plan on using them for regular maintenance and other HVAC needs.

Description of Work
Installation of a new hot water boiler heating system with an attached indirect hot water heater and removal of the old boiler and hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/13/2014


Judy B.

Both times they came out they showed up on time, were professional and knowledgeable. The air handler in the attic had developed a leak in the coils and was not repairable. They gave us several options with quotes, explaining the pros and cons of each option. Scheduling was relatively easy despite my difficult schedule and they were on time. They were clean and thorough and made sure everything was working well before they left. Overall very satisfied with their work and will continue to use them for annual inspections and maintenance.

Description of Work
Diagnosed, replaced air handler on 15 year old a/c system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/05/2013


Mathew F.

These guys are truly the best! I would not call anyone else for HVAC work. After a terrible experience with HVAC company located in North Chelmsford, MA we found Acton Refrigeration. From Jan in the office to the owner Bruce to the techs Rick and Nick, they all do a great job. Their service is always great, and the techs are very knowledgeable! On this occasion we used them to install a ductless a/c system and what a job they did. Neat, clean and works great and all done in one day! We use them for all our refrigeration and HVAC needs in our place of business. They are a little on the high side but definitely not the highest. Job is done right the first time and they stand behind all their work. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for HVAC contractors.

Description of Work
Installed new Mitsubishi mini-split ductless a/c system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

12/10/2012


harish W.

Scheduling the appointment was easy, Bruce arrived on time and was technically knowledgeable about his trade. He presented few options, but said he'd follow-up regarding the estimate after doing his load calculations. It has been > 1 month and few follow-ups, but I have not received an estimate. He wouldn't even acknowledge my messages.

Description of Work
Invited them for an estimate to install a hybrid heat-pump in our house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

09/05/2012


Laura P.

The furnace wouldn't turn off. We called Acton Refridgeration. The service man started telling us all the maintenance work that it was going to need in the future and not focusing on the problem it was having. They also wanted to sell us a new furnace, talking about how inefficient the existing furnace is. Very quickly, I began to mistrust the service man and asked him to close it up and leave. he stayed a but longer saying he needed to write down some numbers in case he came needed to come back.

Description of Work
Checked the furnace. It started but wouldn't turn off.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/23/2012


D Bruce L.

They are technically extremely competent and do a very thorough analysis on the heat and air conditioning load requirements before selecting the products to use. All technicians, including the owner, take yearly courses to ensure they are up to date on all aspects pertaining to HVAC.

Description of Work
I've been using them the last ten years or so. They do work twice a year to do preventative maintenance on my home and twice a year to do the same at my church.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Endless Energy

    Endless Energy started with a desire to help people save money while saving the environment. Today our vision has grown to encompass many different services including heating and cooling solutions, solar power, net zero home construction, Mass Save Home Energy Assessments, and insulation throughout the New England area. We help our customers benefit directly from Massachusetts energy efficiency programs, such as no-cost Mass Save® home energy assessments, which provide customers with a personal report on ways to improve their home’s energy efficiency. This also qualifies them for generous rebates on Mini-Split Heat Pumps and Insulation work! Endless Energy is recognized as the top installer of Fujitsu brand heat pumps in Massachusetts (2020) and is certified as a Mitsubishi Diamond contractor, giving our customers access to their extended 12-year warranty. We proudly take a holistic approach to every job, working from the ground up to eliminate any energy waste. By pairing energy efficient products together and keeping all our services in house, we can maximize your time, money, and overall savings.  

    Sila Heating, Cooling, Plumbing and Electrical

    Live Your Most Comfortable Life with a Company You Trust. We offer Same Day Service and Next Day Installation! Sila has been the center of delighting homeowners since 1989, with our team of engineers, certified technicians, and system designers that are proud to deliver the highest level of expertise in the HVAC industry. Whether it’s a repair, replacement, installation, or service, we have an unwavering commitment to keeping you and your family comfortable and safe — season after season. We guarantee satisfaction and are proud to have earned over 7,000 “A” ratings on Angie’s List and its prestigious Super Service Award!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Sila Heating, Cooling, Plumbing and Electrical on Angi
    Rodenhiser Home Services

    When it comes to great service for your home or business, it doesn't get better than the professionalism and dedication of Rodenhiser. It's an unsurpassed level of service built on a promise that ensures you get the very best - when you call Rodenhiser your satisfaction is guaranteed. With 90+ years of delighted residential and commercial clients, you can be sure that it's a promise that Rodenhiser delivers on every day. Additional contact name - Jon Manna. Additional phone - (508) 306-4845.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Hi Efficiency Filtration, Humidification, Energy Star contractor, Cool Smart contractor, Nate certified employees, Heat & A/C servicing, Ductwork fabrication. Commercial Refrigeration Services, Ice Machines, Cooler, Freezers

    Services Not Offered

    Don't service Household Refrigeration or wall or window a/c's

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Acton Refrigeration

    How is Acton Refrigeration overall rated?

    Acton Refrigeration is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Acton Refrigeration open?

    Acton Refrigeration is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Acton Refrigeration provide

    Acton Refrigeration accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Acton Refrigeration offer free estimates?

    Yes, Acton Refrigeration offers free project estimates.

    Does Acton Refrigeration offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Acton Refrigeration offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Acton Refrigeration offer emergency services?

    Yes, Acton Refrigeration offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Acton Refrigeration?

    Yes, Acton Refrigeration offers warranties.

    What services does Acton Refrigeration offer?

    Acton Refrigeration offers the following services: Hi Efficiency Filtration, Humidification, Energy Star contractor, Cool Smart contractor, Nate certified employees, Heat & A/C servicing, Ductwork fabrication. Commercial Refrigeration Services, Ice Machines, Cooler, Freezers

    Are there any services Acton Refrigeration does not offer?

    Don't service Household Refrigeration or wall or window a/c's