Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WHOLE ROOFING

Founded 1973 • With Angi since March 2008

4.7

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

100 CAVE HILL RD.

Leverett, MA 01054

Description

OWNER-OPERATED. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. NO SERVICE FEE. MAY CONTACT THROUGH EMAIL.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
JEAN G.
5.0
02/21/2014
Checking my slate roof replacing 15 tiles; repairing and replacing gutters and down spouts; fixing some wood trim and painting (My house is three floors not many painterswill go up that high.
Description of Work
Three times in last 4 years.
Category
roofing
Martha A.
5.0
08/26/2013
He was terrific. The estimate I got for cleaning the moss was WAY lower than that I had received from another provider, and he did the job cleanly and effectively. The roof now looks great! More significantly, I had had some roofing work done a number of years ago, by another roofer, that was never completed. Since some of what was left undone was high up on the roof, I could not see the extent of the problem, though I had been alerted to it by another person who was doing work up there. Don made a careful evaluation of the situation, explained the problems to me, and let me know what he thought needed to be done. He ordered new shingles, replaced the underlining in an area that needed it, and reshingled a substantial portion of the roof. He also told me what additional work he thought would need to be done. I have the highest confidence in him, and really appreciate the work he did: he came when he said he was going to come, did what he said he would do, and cleaned up well after he finished.
Description of Work
He cleaned a great deal of moss, etc. off parts of my roof. He also replaced shingles in a section of the roof that needed repair.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Karen S.
5.0
09/17/2012
See above
Description of Work
Excellent slate repair and gutter cleaning. Some gutter repair work had to be postponed because of a wasps' nest, but I will contact Don again to get that work done when the wasps are gone.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Carol F.
2.0
12/09/2011
The downspout is up, but it was not a good experience. As he was finishing up the spout, I made out a check for $150 for 30 minutes work and materials, which should have easily covered the cost and was also within the estimate. I didn't expect him to lower his price, but i did not expect what happened next. After he did the downspout, I saw him go to the other side of the house, then he went up on the roof. I went upstairs and saw that he was cleaning the gutters. I went outside and asked what he was doing. "Cleaning the gutters." I told him i had paid to have them cleaned and hosed out a month ago; he said there was a lot of stuff in them. I asked what he was expecting to charge for what he was doing He said he usually charged $85-$100 for a house my size. (It's a Cape). I told him i didn't have that kind of money to add on (FYI, my guy charges $55), and most certainly not without his even asking me before he started additional work. He asked me if i wanted him to stop. Yes! He stopped and began putting away his ladders. He left the two old downspout angles on my back steps, as well as a shredded piece of sheet metal he had cut. When i went out to his truck to settle the bill, he counted two hours at $50 an hour plus materials, for $168.12 and said he wasn't charging me for the gutters! I said he had only been here one hour all together. He said he was including travel time. I made out another check, but I accidentally tore off and gave him the original one for $150. I couldn't catch his truck, so i came back inside to find his phone number, but you can't leave a message. I went back to his business description,m which clearly says he does not charge travel time. Even so, I checked the Google distance to his home, and it is easily under an hour, roundtrip. So for an hour's travel and an hour's work, plus $38 worth of materials, he got $150. I don't plan to send him another $18. I live in a small town, rural area, and people often make verbal agreements. Usually, they don't go beyond their estimate without warning or discussion. For this person, be sure you get a written, detailed estimate. Make it clear that he doesn't get to add on stuff he has not discussed with you. And be sure he cleans up what he removes; that's usually part of the job.
Description of Work
The initial response was quick. We agreed on $150 to remove a downspout from the upper roof, re-angle it, and run a new length down to the ground along the side of the house. Because this was a small job, I agreed to wait 3.5 weeks for him to fit it in. He arrived today without the prior notice he had promised and began working. He re-angled one down spout and fastened a new length down the side of the house. This took about 25 minutes. As it turned out, I'm glad I was at home.
Category
gutter repair
Karen T.
5.0
08/18/2011
Mr. Ogden is punctual, professional, efficient, fair. He did what he said he'd do, and upgraded the solution to "Wet and Forget" as it became available. He cleaned out gutters and downspouts by hand, not with hose that spatters debris all over the windows; cleaned up as he worked, and after the job was finished. He gave me a detailed bill, and I paid it immediately. We've agreed that he'll come back in late November to clean out the gutters/downspouts again, and says he'll be available to help get extra snow off the roof if we have huge snowfall this coming winter. All this, and he's a very nice person, too!
Description of Work
Manual removal of moss, other growth; spray with "Wet & Forget" www.wetandforget.com No bleach, pressure wash, caustic chemicals or "elbow grease" to kill the rest of the growth and prevent further growth for a while. Installed zinc strip at top edge to change PH of rainfall, which discourages growth of moss, mold etc. Cleaned out gutters and all downspouts.
Category
gutter cleaning, roof cleaning
john B.
4.0
07/13/2011
good.
Description of Work
slate roof repair and new gutter installed
Category
gutter repair, roofing
abigail J.
5.0
04/21/2011
fabulous. Quick, timely and well done. He did what he said he would do. Very professional.
Description of Work
repaired fallen gutter and secured loose ones. Gave advice on damp basement due to lack of gutter and/or other issues.
Category
gutter repair
Carolyn P.
5.0
02/23/2011
He responded promptly, was nice to deal with, honest and fair.
Description of Work
He removed part of an ice dam on my roof, cut channels for water to drip down, etc. This was a small job, but I would think about him for a bigger job when I have one.
Category
roof cleaning
Jack R.
5.0
01/19/2011
It was excellent.
Description of Work
He modified my gutters.
Category
gutter repair
Deborah M.
5.0
10/14/2010
Very pleased with my experience.
Description of Work
Excellent service, very fair price, and was extremely professional and responsive. Thanks.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roof cleaning
Ethan C.
5.0
12/02/2009
I emailed Don and he responded right away. He gave me an estimate via email (without having seen the house) and the final price was within $10 of that estimate. We agreed upon a date for him to come to the house, which was within a week of our initial email exchange. He came, finished the job, left no mess behind, and provided us with an invoice. I will definitely use his services again next fall.
Description of Work
Cleaned gutters on a two-story house
Category
gutter cleaning
JEAN G.
5.0
03/20/2008
He is excellent and very reliable.
Description of Work
He repaired my slate roof. He fixed some gutters and downspouts. He comes back every year and cleans out my gutters and downspouts.
Category
gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Advanced Basement Waterproofing

    Advanced Basement Waterproofing specializes in complete basement sealing, moisture and mold removal and French drain installations throughout Western MA and Northern CT. Concrete and brick foundations can allow in water through cracks in the foundation that develop over time, openings in the joints or mortar areas as well as "bleeding" from pressure behind concrete surfaces. If you notice water in your basement or extreme moisture, then you have a water intrusion issue that you will want to solve as fast as possible. Moisture and water can not only cause additional damage to your foundation, it can also lead to dangerous mold issues. Advanced Basement Waterproofing can seal and protect your basement as well as remove any mold your home or business may have developed.  

    Angi Certified

    Adam Quenneville Roofing & Siding

    Adam Quenneville Roofing & Siding is a 3rd generation owned and operated family business. They are proud to have won the "Sustained Excellence Award" in the 2021 BBB Awards for Marketplace Excellence, in recognition of a longstanding commitment to trust, performance and integrity. As a company, they are dedicated to providing the best possible quality, superior customer service, and workmanship you can depend on. Their commitment to excellence has made Adam Quenneville Roofing & Siding the most trusted name in Western Massachusetts and Northern CT for roofing, siding & more.  

    Angi Certified

    Bunnell's Home Improvement

    Bunnell's Home Improvement, Inc has been one the most trusted name in roofing throughout Western MA for over 20 years! Our work has stood the test of time and we have built a reputation for never needing to revisit our customers because our work never fails. To make sure all work is done with pride and percision, the owner is "hands on" on site for each job we perform. The president / owner William Bunnell has over 25 years of experience and operates with only a hand full of trusted contractors. We want you to be confident in our work that we stand behind all work 100%.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    ASK FOR DETAILS
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SLATE EXPERT, METAL ROOFING, SHINGLES, REROOFING, ROLL ROOFING & REPAIRS , ADDITIONAL VENTILATION, GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about WHOLE ROOFING

    How is WHOLE ROOFING overall rated?

    WHOLE ROOFING is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are WHOLE ROOFING open?

    WHOLE ROOFING is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does WHOLE ROOFING provide

    WHOLE ROOFING accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does WHOLE ROOFING offer free estimates?

    Yes, WHOLE ROOFING offers free project estimates.

    Does WHOLE ROOFING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, WHOLE ROOFING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does WHOLE ROOFING offer a senior discount?

    No, WHOLE ROOFING does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by WHOLE ROOFING?

    Yes, WHOLE ROOFING offers warranties.

    What services does WHOLE ROOFING offer?

    WHOLE ROOFING offers the following services: SLATE EXPERT, METAL ROOFING, SHINGLES, REROOFING, ROLL ROOFING & REPAIRS , ADDITIONAL VENTILATION, GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS.