Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Boston Tile Solutions

Founded 2001 • With Angi since November 2008

Full time, Professional Tile Setter.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
satisfaction
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(12) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews
SANDRA K.
2.0
10/17/2014
Unprofessional
Description of Work
We set up an appt with Steven to get an estimate for tile work in our kitchen and bathroom. We wanted our bathroom regrouted, a new kitchen backsplash installed and repair done to a kitchen floor that was poorly installed.I called Steven shortly before the time he was due to arrive to confirm our appt as we had plans for the evening. I was told at that time that he was running approx 1 hr late. It would have been considerate if he had taken the initiative to call and let us know that beforehand. Steven who presents as pleasant and likeable came out to our home and gave his assessment of what needed to be done. He showed interest in the job and said he would get back to us with an estimate.We never heard from him again and I wasted no more of my time attempting to contact him.
Category
ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

The prospective Client was told that the jobs could not be completed within the time frame she requested. Apologies for any misunderstanding.
Deborah C.
4.0
05/29/2014
I thought that the price was reasonable. He did a great job. He did everything that he said he was going to do. He backed up the product. I didn't have any issues. He was flexible with my schedule. I have given him many recommendations and he has called me for people. I gave him a key to my house, he worked when I was away, I was very comfortable with him. I would recommend his expertise at laying down tile.
Description of Work
I last used Boston Tile Solutions in 2012 around February.
Category
ceramic tile
Karin & Woody A.
2.0
05/06/2013
Boston Tile had to reschedule due to a time conflict but I was fine with that as they called ahead of the appt. The next day they came out, spent time giving us ideas and told us they would get back to us in a few days to give us an estimate via email. When I did not receive anything in a week, I called again and was told that he had sent it and he would send it again and call to confirm that I received the estimate. Again, I didn't receive anything so I called again after a few days. It's been over 2 weeks and I have not received a call back. If he didn't want the job, that's fine, just don't waste my time having me follow up multiple times if you are never going to send an estimate. He seemed knowledgeable about the job but the follow up was truly disappointing.
Description of Work
We called to get an estimate to redo the tile in our master bathroom - this included a tile surround for the tub/shower and a new tile floor.
Category
ceramic tile
eugene P.
5.0
03/29/2013
did not hire
Description of Work
we were not able to get a time that met both of our schedules
Category
ceramic tile
shane G.
5.0
12/20/2012
He was prompt to return calls and showed up on time for the appointment, and followed up with the quote in a few days.
Description of Work
We got a quote to tile a bathroom and kitchen in our rental apartment. Steve provided the most detailed quote (5 pages long!) of every aspect of the job that he would do. He seemed like the kind of person who would really do a great job due to his attention to details. We did not use him because his quote was a little high, like 20% more, compared to other contractors who bid on the job. After using another contractor and not being totally satisfied with the outcomes, I kind of regret not working with Steve and I will contact him in the future for my next apartment. Hopefully he will work with me on the price.
Category
ceramic tile, marble & granite
Alex L.
5.0
10/26/2012
unknown
Description of Work
Steve was excellent with the job I handle to him, I'd use him again.
Category
ceramic tile
Jason B.
5.0
12/08/2011
I thought the gentle man who was here was particularly good. He was very detail oriented. He was more concerned in doing the job right than doing the job quick. I absolutely recommend them. Actually they kept to their quote amount. I don’t remember having any problem as regards responsiveness. I will use them in the future.
Description of Work
About a year ago they put the tiles in my shower. It cost me $800.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Joe A.
5.0
11/25/2011
We had a really hard time finding someone to do the job. We joined angie's list just for this reason and we were disapointed with the lack of options for tile installation. There were two options, we had both people come to give us a quote. Steven became the obvious choice for us because he spent much more time telling us exactly what he was going to do and how he would approach each aspect of the job. One example of this was he knew to use a different mix for the glass portion then for the slate portion. The other guy didn't talk about this at all. We had him come in right at the end of the year so that we could have the new backsplash for our new years party. He showed up on time and got all the work down for us in time for us to host our party that night. He stayed completely on budget and we were charged exactly what we were quoted. At the end of the job, I was surprised to see how quickly everything came together. A lot of the time was spent planning out how to do the work. Because everything was so well thought out, execution of the job becomes much faster and he didn't run into problems. We were very impressed with how the backsplash came out and our guest loved it. Steven even came back a few weeks later to re-caulk our tub at no charge. We are now using him for a smaller bathroom project.
Description of Work
We had Steven install a backsplash in our kitchen using slate and glass tiles. We bought the tiles and he did the entire install. This included preparing the area for installation, measuring, cutting, installing and applying a finish to the slate. Everything was done in about 2.5 days. Steven was accommodating about working in the city (Southie), and he setup shop on my porch so that everything could be done on site.
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
David T.
5.0
01/04/2011
Steve did an excellent job. He came out and estimated the job, his estimate for the work was accurate, he called me the day before our scheduled time to confirm the appointment, he showed up on time, he worked quickly and he did beautiful and careful work, and he cleaned up thoroughly after he was done.
Description of Work
Remove ceramic molding around bath tub and recaulk the entire tub including problem areas resulting from poor work done by the prior homeowner.
Category
ceramic tile
Shawn B.
5.0
08/06/2010
I found Steve after he responded to an ad I placed on Craigslist. I got other responses but didn't like the prices or attitudes of the other guys. I was immediately impressed because he showed up exactly at the time he said he would, which none of the other guys did. His price was competitive and he took the time to explain the way he came up with the price. A lot of contractors would be offended if you tried to test their knowledge and expertise. I didn't even have to bother to do that with Steve. He walked me through what his process would be for waterproofing the shower floor and all the details of how he would set the tile. He clearly took pride in his work and took measurements and detailed notes that first day so that he would be ready if I went with him. I did some of the framing and prep work myself and made some mistakes because of my own laziness. He had no problem fixing them instead of working around them. He even made a custom shower shelf and did other work he didn't have to do. He honored his rate and terms of payment but I gave him some extra. It wasn't much but it was as much as I could afford and thought it was the right thing to do. By the way, he didn't ask for this or complain one bit about the extra work, this was my decision. He's also a pretty nice guy and very professional. The final outcome is amazing. We plan on having him do our kitchen in the future.
Description of Work
He tiled my shower floor includeing all the prep work of blocking, the plastice liner, mortar bed, etc. He also tiled the shower walls, bathroom floor, and tub surround.
Category
ceramic tile
cynthia B.
5.0
11/13/2009
When I came to Angie's List to review Steve Waxberg, I was stunned to find a low rating for him under bathroom remodeling. This is very much in contrast to our experience, which was not only extremely positive, but was the exact opposite of everything in the prior review I read. This entry reviews the second time he has done work in our house. I didn't post a review of Steve's work for the first time, because he was a subcontractor and I did not know what his work cost. The contractor for our basement remodeling, Coral Construction, dragging out the estimated three month project for an entire year, with the quality continually slipping. The only exception was Waxberg Tile. We had a combination of glass and matte porcelain tiles, a delicate shower floor installation, and marble thresholds. I have attached a photo of the result (a much more complicated project than this one), in which he went above and beyond to make the tile installation perfect. Months later, the floor Coral put down buckled and we had to pull it up. We hired a great flooring company for replacement engineered flooring, but decided to tile two areas. Of course, we called Steve. And again, the work was great. Everything was done exactly to spec. There were many more bad places on the floor than he had originally expected, forcing him to essentially pound out, pour and level most of the floor by the stairs that he was tiling. He still was completed on time, with no compromises. Overall, we find Steve to be the consummate professional. He is passionate about tiling as a craft, and a true perfectionist.
Description of Work
Prepare uneven concrete floor with bonding agent, pound out hollow areas in concrete slab, install supplied tile, install shluter to meet engineered flooring, mortar, grout and seal.
Category
ceramic tile
matthew C.
3.0
11/14/2008
We hired Waxberg tile to remodel our bathroom. In consideration of the design that we were trying to achieve we were looking for someone who would be extremely meticulous when it cam to the installation of the tiles. Steven Waxberg advertised himself as a master tile setter who would take care of everything for us. Our initial meeting with Steven involved sitting down with him to go over the contract. The terms of the contract laid out the work to be done, the payment arrangements and we made sure that Steven knew that we wished for all of the proper permits be pulled. The work was estimated to take 3 to 4 weeks. Prior to the start of the project we discussed what we wanted and provided Steven with detailed specs of all of the fixtures that would be installed. Since we have just one bathroom, we were forced to move out during the construction. We would stop by to check in every other day and Steven would walk us through what was going on and would assure us of being on time and on budget. As the project got closer to the end date, Steven changed, and would start to get agitated when we showed up to check. We were hastily told that everything was in order and not to worry. Towards the end of the project, we received word from Steven that the sink drain that was installed wasn't actually a drain and that they would have to cut a second hole in the tile under the sink to get our drain to work. I would have expected that to have been tested prior to the walls going up. When it came time for us to move back into our condo, Steven had not completed, and told us that he would need a couple more days. So we coexisted for a couple of days while he completed. Once we were able to fully inspect the bathroom, we noticed quite a few issues. Many of them are listed above, and have yet to be rectified. After the completion, we also encountered other issues with the bathroom, like a leaky tub drain which Steven did have fixed, the sink wouldn't drain. Steven's explanation was at first that it was the design of the sink and then that it wasn't his problem. We ultimately had to have a plumber come and make the repairs necessary. In researching the issue further, we also discovered that no permits were pulled and no inspections completed, though we specifically paid more for them to be pulled and made it known to Steven that it was very important to us. The rest of our issues are still outstanding.
Description of Work
Steven handled all of the demolition, carpentry and tile setting work during this project. Some parts of the project were completed wonderfully while others, not so much. For starters, we delivered to Steven detailed specs on all of the fixtures to be installed. During the latter parts of the project, Steven had troubles with the tub, and he made it known to us that he did not follow the provided specs. The biggest issue that we have is with the tile work on the floor. For all of the promises that he made about his abilities as a master tile setter, you wouldn't guess considering how the floor came out. There is grout all over the tiles, and some of the tiles are unevenly placed. I am attaching pictures of the biggest offenders (note: the pictures were taken after a bleach cleaning of the floor). This is an issue that we raised multiple times with Steven, and he came to fix them multiple times, but it still isn't right. There are a couple chipped tiles on the wall (picture attached). It's obvious that we did not chip the tile, as the grout fills in the chipped area. Because Steven did not use the specs during construction, we are unable to install an escusion over the tub/floor connection. He also failed to install two escusions for the hot/cold water connections under the sink. We are both extremely disappointed with the quality of the work overall, and we are afraid of what this remodel may bring in the future. There were no permits pulled, as per the signed contract, so no one ever inspected this work. This could bring liability implications for us in the future if anything is ever deemed to be subpar. What disappoints us the most is that we thought we were paying for someone that was detailed oriented, but we were sold a false bill of goods in that regard. While most of the work is acceptable, the details (some major) were completely overlooked in a rush to get the project completed.
Category
home remodeling

Phone

Address

unknown

Jamaica Plain, MA 02130

Other Information

Services offered

Professional installation of Porcelain, Ceramic, Stone, Glass and Mosaic tiles. Membrane shower pan fabrication, with or without benches. Mud jobs. Recessed wall niches, mirror frames and Custom Design Installations. Underlayment floor heating systems to keep toes warm. Penetrating and top coat sealing services. Water damage and sub-floor repair. General tile and grout repairs.

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Boston Tile Solutions is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Boston Tile Solutions is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Boston Tile Solutions accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Boston Tile Solutions offers free project estimates.

Yes, Boston Tile Solutions offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Boston Tile Solutions does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Boston Tile Solutions offers emergency services.

No, Boston Tile Solutions does not offer warranties.

Boston Tile Solutions offers the following services: Professional installation of Porcelain, Ceramic, Stone, Glass and Mosaic tiles. Membrane shower pan fabrication, with or without benches. Mud jobs. Recessed wall niches, mirror frames and Custom Design Installations. Underlayment floor heating systems to keep toes warm. Penetrating and top coat sealing services. Water damage and sub-floor repair. General tile and grout repairs.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

ProBuilt LLC.

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

ProBuilt LLC.

Thanks for choosing Probuilt LLC, construction you can count on. We specialize in building beautiful decks, porches and pergolas that last. Give us a call or text today!  

We are proud to announce we are a Super Service Award Winner for 2015! No subcontractors. Owner does all work personally. Special price for Angie's List customers. English & Spanish. Feel free to text me at 203-437-5872 anytime!  

Remodeling Boston and Boston suburbs for 15 years. All work performed to the highest standards.