Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

New England K-9 School for Dogs

Founded 1973 • With Angi since April 2011

4.5

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

20 Lumber St

Hopkinton, MA 01748

Description

New England K-9 School for Dogs located in Hopkinton, MA serves customers in the entire New England area. From puppies to problems to protection..."For quality without compromise since 1973." Awarded "Best of Metro West." Private lessons in your home or at the school by appointment. We offer all phases of family pet obedience training. These services include basic obedience lessons, house breaking, problem dog issues, and puppy consultations through private personalized programs. We also offer specialized services which include: Schutzhund, AKC obedience competition, personal protection, tracking and guard dog training. We are proud to have the following affiliations-US Professional Dog Trainers Association and Technical Advisory Service for Attorneys (TASA), Veterinarian Approved & Recommended! We are professionally recommended by area veterinarians and trainers alike for our canine obedience training, and our Master Dog Trainer, Sol Oven, is well known among the U.S. Professional Dog Trainers Association, the American Kennel Club, Technical Advisory Service for Attorneys (TASA) and other leading organizations. Head trainer, Sol Oven has been training dogs professionally for almost 40 years. In addition to his experience training thousands of dogs throughout his career, Sol trains dogs for American Kennel Club Competition, and served as a Liaison for the Central Massachusetts Disaster Animal Response team, and was honored for his animal relief efforts in the wake of hurricane Katrina....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/20/2020


GARY R.

Old school dog trainer, good results after the 1st class. He knows his craft 40+ years of experience.

Description of Work
Dog training

Category dog trainers

1.0

12/26/2018


Jonathan S.

After the 1st session we thought Sol would be great. But after additional sessions we decided to terminate our training with Sol (3 lessons in total). We found his techniques to be inconsistent with our philosophies. His technique is based on being extremely harsh with your dog, bordering on cruel abuse/punishment to make the dog fear you and be totally subservient. We want our dog to be obedient, but to maintain his spirit and personality. We don't believe this type of train will achieve that. Our dog left sessions scared and didn't want to get out of the car when we returned. We have since gone to a different trainer with what we consider a more humane training approach, more to our liking, and with amazing results. We lost money on this one, since after the first session Sol insists on up front, non-refundable cash payment for the balance of 4 more lessons (which he does explain very clearly up front). He gives you an extra session if you put in a review before the 2nd session, which is why most reviews are after only 1 session, before his technique becomes apparent. In addition he constantly pedals his products (collar, leash), telling you he doesn't care if you buy them, but that you should because they are the best. They are nice quality, but I found them elsewhere for much less.

Description of Work
Training a slightly aggressive, non-obedient 1 year old dog.

Category dog trainers

5.0

05/21/2018


Jonathan S.

Fantastic! Sol is a knowledgable, patient trainer who has helped train us, to be great owners to a young puppy. So far, we’ve seen a difference in our puppy’s behavior, after just one lesson!

Description of Work
Puppy Obedience Traiining

Category dog trainers

4.0

10/23/2017


Meagan M.

I have had my first lesson with Sol, in the beginning I was very apprehensive because I never thought I would be one to use a choke collar. I have 4 month old Australian Shepard that I took to puppy kindergarten. She loved it because she got a treat for just about everything. She quickly learned that unless I had a treat on me, there was no reason to do what I asked her to do. Towards the end, she decided that if the treats were not good enough she was not going to obey. All the treats were wreaking havoc on her digestive system. At the first session I learned the reason for and how to correctly use the choke collar. It was hard at first but both of us quickly got used to it. She is learning quickly and eager to please, I feel I am back in control. I gave 4 stars because I have only had one lesson and want to see how things go.

Description of Work
Obedience Training

Category dog trainers

5.0

05/12/2017


Tom W.

The class went extremely well. Sol is extremely competent and knows canine behavior and how to address specific issues. He is patient and educates the individual person so that he or she in turn can train their dog. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Dog training.

Category dog trainers

5.0

12/12/2015


Arun D.

today was our first training and it was good will practice at home

Description of Work
training for my puppy

Category dog trainers

5.0

10/14/2015


Stuart A.

Description of Work
We have now had two lessons with Sol, and we have seen dramatic changes in Chloe. As he explains on his web page, Sol is not training our dog, he is training us, and he is doing a great job. He responds promptly to all of our phone calls and he explains everything thoroughly. He is a great teacher. I give my very highest recommendation for New England K9 School for Dogs.

Category dog trainers

5.0

07/06/2015


Sherry S.

Our dog responded to the training immediately. He seemed much happier and responsive to commands than before.

Description of Work
Spent over an hour with our whole family teaching us how to train our dog. Great personalized service.

Category dog trainers

5.0

04/13/2014


Jesseko W.

Great deal. Sol really knows what he's taking about

Description of Work
Our family just adopted a sweet girl in dire need of a good home. She is a great fit for us but was not house broken or trained. We went to Sol looking for help. Within 20 mins of working with Sol we already noticed a change. It has now been a few days and walking with our girl just gets better and better every time. This process is about training the person to be in charge. In order for this to work you need to spend a consistent amount of time everyday working with your dog. We are looking forward to continue training. Sol is the real deal and full of knowledge. Julie and Jess

Category dog trainers

5.0

06/06/2011


Andrea P.

Sol was excellent and very professional. He did not touch Niko or his leash since he wanted me to learn how to control my dog. He spent time with me correcting my handling of the leash and how to walk Niko properly. Sol is available to me every day, by phone, if needed. Niko and I practice several times a day and we are making progress. I am not ready for me second appointment yet, but I know that when I am, Sol will be there to help me teach Niko how to walk off leash. I'm so glad that I called Sol and would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Sol taught me how to walk Niko, including heeling, sit, stay, and turns. He also showed me the proper positioning of his collar and how to hold his leash for proper control.

Category dog trainers

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Animal Training
    Pet Stores
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Our Obedience Training Services Include: All Phases of Family Pet Obedience and Competition Basic Dog Obedience, Off-leash Training, Housebreaking, Correction of Problem Dog Issues: chewing, nipping/biting, jumping on people and furniture, hyperness, barking, aggression towards dogs and / or people, stealing items, etc., Puppy Consultations, Personal Protection, Guard Dog Training, Police Training.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about New England K-9 School for Dogs

    How is New England K-9 School for Dogs overall rated?

    New England K-9 School for Dogs is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are New England K-9 School for Dogs open?

    New England K-9 School for Dogs is open:

    Sunday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does New England K-9 School for Dogs provide

    New England K-9 School for Dogs accepts the following forms of payment: Financing Available

    Does New England K-9 School for Dogs offer free estimates?

    Yes, New England K-9 School for Dogs offers free project estimates.

    Does New England K-9 School for Dogs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, New England K-9 School for Dogs does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does New England K-9 School for Dogs offer a senior discount?

    No, New England K-9 School for Dogs does not offer a senior discount.

    Does New England K-9 School for Dogs offer emergency services?

    Yes, New England K-9 School for Dogs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by New England K-9 School for Dogs?

    No, New England K-9 School for Dogs does not offer warranties.

    What services does New England K-9 School for Dogs offer?

    New England K-9 School for Dogs offers the following services: Our Obedience Training Services Include: All Phases of Family Pet Obedience and Competition Basic Dog Obedience, Off-leash Training, Housebreaking, Correction of Problem Dog Issues: chewing, nipping/biting, jumping on people and furniture, hyperness, barking, aggression towards dogs and / or people, stealing items, etc., Puppy Consultations, Personal Protection, Guard Dog Training, Police Training.