Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ask Us Home

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2004

4.4

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

150 Elm St

Hanover, MA 02339

Description

Owner-operated. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/10/2011


glenn M.

Collectively, over 41 issues were identified on review of this project by subsequent contractors, but for the purpose of this communication the top four (4) will be detailed. These issues include, the installation of a heating system, installed weight-bearing post, installed roof and installed exterior shingles. Heating System After Mr. Mahoney, facilitated and provided oversight of a new heating system installation it was noted the system intermittently was not firing properly. On request of the homeowner, an oil-heating contractor reviewed the installation and on their assessment the following issues were identified: Mr. Mahoney sub-contracted and utilized a plumber to install the new hot water boiler heating system. Mr. Mahoney did not use a licensed oil burner technician to install the furnace as required by code, thus making his oil burner installation out of compliance with Massachusetts Fire Prevention Regulations. Mr. Mahoney was made aware of this issue. Inevitably, at the homeowner?s expense the system was inspected and corrected by an oil-heating contractor. Weight Bearing Post After Mr. Mahoney, facilitated and provided oversight of the installation of a weight bearing post as part of the new addition construction; floor buckling and wall shifting was noted within a few months of installation. On request of the homeowner, a structural engineer assessed the aforementioned and the subsequently exposed (post was boxed with sheetrock) weight bearing post. The structural engineer identified 2x4 shims had been placed under a portion of weight bearing post base and other portions of the base were not seated to the foundation. The structural engineer identified to stop the active wall shifting and floor buckling, replacement of the weight bearing post installed by Mr. Mahoney would be required. Mr. Mahoney was made aware of this issue and opted not to address. Inevitably, at the homeowner?s expense another contractor replaced the weight bearing post. Roof Installation After Mr. Mahoney, facilitated and provided oversight of the installation of a new roof, active leaking was noted with subsequent rainfall. On request of the homeowner, multiple licensed roofing contractors reviewed Mr. Mahoney?s roof installation and they identified the following issues: The roof deck had been cut as an attempt to vent the attic under the roof shingles; modifications to the soffit created a flat surface that allowed rain water to collect and sit at the edge of the roof; the ice & water shield was installed one foot above the roof deck cut and gutter line, which allowed standing rain water to seep into the interior walls of the house. Mr. Mahoney was made aware of this issue and opted not to address. Inevitably, at the homeowner?s expense another roofing contractor replaced the entire roof. Exterior Shingles After Mr. Mahoney, facilitated and provided oversight of the installation of exterior pretreated grade A premium cedar shingles, cupping, buckling and warping of the shingles was noted. On request, multiple licensed siding contractors reviewed Mr. Mahoney?s shingle installation (sides if house) and they identified the following issues: The staples used by Mr. Mahoney were significantly smaller than the required 16 gauge - 7/16 inch crown staples; Mr. Mahoney?s shingle installation created a shingle exposure that exceeded typical industry standards; The shingle fasteners were placed too high and too close to the center of shingles giving rise to cupping, buckling and warping of the shingles. Mr. Mahoney was made aware of this issue and opted not to address. Repair of this issue is pending at this time. All Angie?s List grades were based on Mr. Mahoney's responses to issues identified during and post construction. Caveat emptor

Description of Work
Re: Mr. Michael D. Mahoney 150 Elm Street Hanover, MA 02339 Massachusetts Contractor Registration ID: 102040 To Whom It May Concern: Mr. Michael D. Mahoney Massachusetts contractor registration ID: 102040, was hired in good faith, to construct a large addition and complete extensive work on the exterior of the existing house. The expectation of the project was for Mr. Mahoney to complete the construction in a safe and lasting manner. Unfortunately, the construction completed by Mr. Mahoney fell short from that mark and expectation. Within the first two years from the start of the project multiple major issues began to emerge which where brought to Mr. Mahoney’s attention for correction. Unfortunately, Mr. Mahoney denied his accountability for the outcome of his workmanship.

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

08/13/2010


Bernard C.

Their prices were a little higher than I wanted to pay, so I chose not to use this company.

Description of Work
They gave me a quote on building a deck.

Category decks

5.0

07/25/2009


paul S.

Mike Mahoni has been around for a long time. He knows all of the inspectors and everyone who works with permits, so he went out and got the permit for me. I thought that was nice, because then I did not have to worry about it. Everything went fantastic! He offered us some suggestions for both the deck and the door and was good about listening to our concerns and suggestions. We plan to use Mike again in the future.

Description of Work
Mike Mahoni built a deck around our above ground pool, he re-sized the door on my husband's office, and resided one side of our home.

Category decks

4.0

04/15/2009


Jocelyn T.

I think he was just very busy, but we never did receive the estimate from him. If his availability was there, I would use him in the future. He was prompt for the estimate and was very knowledgeable about the questions I asked him.

Description of Work
He walked around with me to provide an estimate for a bunch of different projects that ranged from interior to exterior and all kinds of different things. We wanted to have some reinforcement done to a certain part of the house.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/03/2008


Kathleen C.

The work went very well. I was very pleased. After all the bad experiences with carpenters before. I was very happy with the work that was performed.

Description of Work
Fixed garage that was off foundation and replaced broken siding that a previous carpenter took apart and never come back to finish the work. Fixed two doors that wouldn't close. Fixed garage threshold and aligned door so it would close. Fixed molding that was coming apart from wall. Removed medicine cabinet in bathroom and will replace with new one when bathroom is finished being painted.

Category siding, doors, mudjacking

5.0

11/09/2007


JULIE V V.

He comes exactly when he says he's going to and takes a lot of pride in his work. He is very conscientious.

Description of Work
He installed new gutters this spring, and now he has done cleaning and oiling of my wood gutters.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair

5.0

10/31/2007


John L.

Excellent. Quality work, reasonable price.

Description of Work
Repaired damaged window sill. Repair porch floor. Raised floor to proper height, reinstalled floor joist to band joist using simpson hangers.

Category decks, replacement windows

1.0

09/10/2007


Linda L.

From Angie's List & speaking to him you would think him experienced, yet, his failures were not just dangerous & harmful to the home, & property, since he left raw rebar sticking straight out of his broken sonotubes, his personal frustration was seen vividly in his tearing sonotubes apart & his dishonesty in rebilling his mistakes which speaks volumes more of his ability. He lies, he is incompetent. He represents himself as having a HIC and CS license, will encourage homeowners not to apply for a permit,(he'll say it'll just cost you more and slow job down, lies and wrong). In our case he actually applied for a permit here at town building inspector, using his invalid license numbers, and was granted permit because the town hall confuses him with his father of same name. Mike is invalid as of 5/29/07 will not be renewed by the state due to a pending complaint. His father shares same name and address for license purposes, do be careful & not use Mike or Ask Us Home.

Description of Work
He submitted a contract (which was wrong & never signed) began work on kitchen bath remodel, window install, plumbing, roofing, insulation, handyman areas, carpentry both raw and finished, plumbing, electrical, foundation work and from the beginning he created tremendous errors which created liability issues with the house ability to stand/its structural integrity. He undermined a steel beam supporting the first floor and back wall of home by error, accident or sheer incompetence. He poured structural support for a building and deck at 36" depth(not code), throwing rocks into sonotubes so less cement was needed, and complained how state code is over engineering. He never came with a crew though he committed a crew from the commencement and it was a 6 figure job. We were flooded, we had to run his debris to a dump and get our own dumpster because of how he ran the job though there was plenty of allowance for dumpsters.

Category contractors, electrician, handyman service, insulation, masonry, plumbing, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

THE MEMBERS CALLOUS ACCOUNT OF EXPERIENCE WITH ASK US HOME IS DISTURBING. THE FOUR PREVIOUS CONTRACTED EXPERIENCES WITH THIS MEMBER HAVE PRODUCED POSITIVE RESULTS FOR ASK US HOME AS WELL AS THE MEMBERS FAMILY. THIS MEMBER DID NOT OBTAIN SERVICES FROM ASK US HOME VIA ANGIE’S LIST. AT PRESENT TIME IT CAN ONLY BE ASSUMED TO BE VINDICTIVELY LASHING OUT FOR WHAT THE MEMBER PERCEIVES AS MISTAKES MADE DURING PRELIMINARY EXECUTION OF CONTRACTED WORK. THE MEMBER AT THIS TIME IS ACCOUNTING FOR 33% OF BILLINGS TO THE PROJECT WITH THE $10,000 FIGURE PROVIDED. COMPLAINTS LISTED ACCOUNT FOR 8.5% OF THE TOTAL COMPLETED AND OWED LABOR AND MATERIALS. THE MEMBERS GRADING IS ABSURD AND UNJUSTIFIED. THE MEMBER’S CHOICES IN REGARDS TO MEDIATION AND NEGOTIATION HAVE LED ASK US HOME TO REFER THIS MATTER TO COUNCIL. FURTHER DISCUSSION OF THE MATTER IS NOW LEGAL AND RESOLUTION IS TO BE DICTATED BY MASSACHUSETTS LAW. ASK US HOME’S EFFORTS TOWARDS CUSTOMER SATISFACTION ARE WELL DOCUMENTED WITH PREVIOUS ANGIE’S LIST REPORTS. QUESTIONS OF CHARACTER, GOALS, INTERESTS AND EXPERIENCE ARE NOT DICTATED BY ONE MEMBER’S OPINION BUT ARE THE RESULT OF EXPERIENCES AND DEALINGS OF MANY MEMBERS. ASK US HOME WILL CONTINUE TO STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE IN PROVIDING MEMBERS A DIVERSITY OF SERVICES AND AN EXPERIENCE OF SATISFACTION IN A JOB WELL DONE.
5.0

09/03/2007


BARBARA K.

I called Mike for an estimate for replacing the sill in our garage. He returned my call in a very timely manner. He came by our home to look at the sill and provide an estimate. He started the project the following week after he obtained the building permit. He completed the work in about one day. The work was done well and his follow up to see if I was pleased with the work was excellent. I would definitely use Mike's services again.

Description of Work
Mike replaced the sill in our garage.

Category contractors, handyman service

5.0

05/17/2007


Cecilia M.

Mike was terrific. He responded to my call in a very short time and came to give me an estimate. Since the skylight that needed repair required parts, Mike took it upon himself to contact the company, obtain the correct part and set up an appointment. He arrived on time and fixed the skylight promptly. I had him do other chores I could not accomplish myself and he did them not only promptly and courteously, but quickly and efficiently as well. Although changing light bulbs in a ceiling light sounds like a very easy task, the location of the ceiling light requires the flexibility and dexterity of a Houdini. Luckily, Mike was up to the task (the light had been out for more than seven months before I was fortunate enough to find Mike). I would recommend him in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Mike repaired skylight whose motor would continue even after the window closed; ensured another skylight in another room was working correctly; repaired two towel bar holders and one toilet paper holder; changed light bulbs in a very difficult-to-reach area; cleaned drain in sink of master bath.

Category handyman service, skylights, drain cleaning

5.0

04/19/2007


JULIE V V.

Extremely flexible, comes when he says he will and he is fabulous. I have also contracted with him to do gutter work. He went to the hardware store to get the door knobs for me.

Description of Work
Removed old toilet seat and installed a door knob.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

09/28/2006


CHARLES B.

Very good experience. Mike is an excellent communicator and very professional. Best estimate and contract I have seen. Scrupulously fair and reasonable. Work was performed when he said it would be. Amazing in my experience! I like the deck and garden a lot. Mike made some very good suggestions and decisions on his own. He was very accommodating about fixing the few things I wanted different. I'd use him again in a second.

Description of Work
Rebuild and extend two existing decks with new decking, rails, stair treads, and trellis. Widen stairs. Replace existing garden walls with new dry stacked stone walls. Repair dry-well and brick patio floor. Add garden shed and other elements.

Category decks, handyman service, garage builders

5.0

08/30/2005


CHRIS S.

VERY RESPONSIVE. EDUCATED ME ON SOME OF MY OTHER HANDYMAN PROJECTS I WAS DOING. ISSUE WITH FINAL INSPECTION FROM BLDG INSPECTOR, HE CAME OVER IMMEDIATELY TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE EVEN AFTER I PAID HIM 100% OF HIS CONTRACT.

Description of Work
12X16 SINGLE LEVEL DECK, COMPOSITE DECKING, AZEK TRIM, PRESSURE TREATED RAILINGS. FLASH AROUND DOOR, REPAIR/REPLACE SOME SIDING CLAPBOARDS.

Category decks

5.0

06/14/2005


KAREN T.

HE WAS ONE OF THE FEW CONTRACTORS THAT CALLED ME BACK. HE CALLED WHEN HE SAID HE WOULD, HAD THE ESTIMATE MAILED TO ME IN A TIMELY FASHION, AND ALWAYS SHOWED UP WHEN HE PROMISED TO. HE OFFERS SEVERAL OPTIONS FOR DOING EACH JOB AND HAS WONDERFUL SUGGESTIONS AS WELL. I WOULD CALL HIM A GENERAL CONTRACTOR/CARPENTER/HANDYMAN/JACK OF ALL TRADES:)

Description of Work
BUILT 3 SEASON PORCH FOR ME. HE ALSO REPLACED 3 WINDOWS, FOR ME, AS WELL AS FIXED A HOLE IN MY ROOF.

Category decks, roofing, replacement windows

5.0

08/08/2004


KAREN T.

ALL WORK HAS BEEN PERFECTLY EXECUTED. CONTRACTOR HAS GOOD ADVICE AND SUGGESTIONS BOTH FOR SAVING MONEY AND ESTHETICS OF PROJECT. MR. MAHONEY IS PUNCTUAL, PROFESSIONAL, AND VERY EASY TO WORK WITH. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HIS COMPANY FOR JOBS BOTH LARGE AND SMALL. I HAVE RECOMMENDED HIM TO SEVERAL FRIENDS AND WORK ASSOCIATES AND THEY HAVE ALL BEEN ENTIRELY PLEASED WITH BOTH HIS WORK AND HIS PRICES.

Description of Work
BUILT THREE SEASON PORCH ADDITION.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Whittemore Home Improvement

    Whittemore Home Improvement has been serving the South Shore and beyond for over 40 years. We pride ourselves on a quality installation and invite you to see a job in progress. We offer assistance with color and style selection. As a complimentary service, you can meet the owner, Mark Whittemore, for an in home consultation. A Portfolio is presented and includes a Proposal and Specification Sheet, Customer Referrals, Insurance Documentation and Product Literature.  

    OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP

    We are a family owned and operated business serving Dennis, Buzzards Bay and greater Cape Cod, Massachusetts, which allows us to charge our clients the fairest and lowest prices, comparative to other companies. You’ll find we will call you back when other companies won’t! Since 1986, we’ve offered a wide variety of chimney services to our satisfied clients. Our employees are all friendly professionals who are trained in the chimney business and we’re happy to address your questions and concerns. We take our time to make sure that each problem is fixed completely and correctly, ensuring proper functioning of your chimney. Quality chimney maintenance and repair can keep your chimney clean and clear, allowing you to sit back and relax around the fire without worry. Old Tyme Chimney Sweep is the premier business for all of your chimney needs. We are located in Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, and are proud to provide our clients with dependable and affordable services to update, fix and maintain their chimneys. Our services range from installation and maintenance to chimney caps, chimney water sealing, chimney lining and chimney relining. We have the best equipment in the business to handle any kind of job, and no job is too big or too small. Call us today to schedule your appointment - (508) 759-0930 or visit our website at www.oldtymechimneysweep.com  

    ST. NICK'S CHIMNEY SERVICE

    We have 20+ years of experience in Chimney Maintenance and Repair. Call Nick (Owner) @ (857) 312-3065 for an immediate response to all your chimney needs.  

    Offers by ST. NICK'S CHIMNEY SERVICE on Angi
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    General handyman services, masonry, insulation, maintenance & repair, carpentry, windows, doors, gutters, roof leak repair, cabinetry, minor plumbing, minor electrical, wood flooring, tile, rot damage, decks, porches, porticos, 3 season porches & kitchen & bath remodel.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ask Us Home

    How is Ask Us Home overall rated?

    Ask Us Home is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ask Us Home open?

    Ask Us Home is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 12:30 AM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 12:30 AM

    What payment options does Ask Us Home provide

    Ask Us Home accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Ask Us Home offer free estimates?

    No, Ask Us Home does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Ask Us Home offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ask Us Home does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ask Us Home offer a senior discount?

    No, Ask Us Home does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ask Us Home?

    No, Ask Us Home does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ask Us Home offer?

    Ask Us Home offers the following services: General handyman services, masonry, insulation, maintenance & repair, carpentry, windows, doors, gutters, roof leak repair, cabinetry, minor plumbing, minor electrical, wood flooring, tile, rot damage, decks, porches, porticos, 3 season porches & kitchen & bath remodel.

    Are there any services Ask Us Home does not offer?

    Roofing.