Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Almar Building & Remodeling Company, Inc

Founded 1959 • With Angi since June 2005

4.7

(29) Verified Reviews

Description

Almar is a full service remodeling company. We are happy to take on small and large projects from window replacements thru addition projects (some to us with plans or we can create them for you). You always try to walk all clients thru what they should expect before a project begins, with our Commonly Asked Questions Forms, and How to Prepare for a Project Article. Remodeling isn’t an easy thing for homeowners, having new people in your house. We do our best to keep homeowner updated on what to expect. Even after more than 50 years we are always learning new things form our clients and throughout the industry, so we are always trying to get our systems better and smoother....

Other local Pros in your area

GREATER BOSTON ROOFING

Greater Boston Roofing is changing the roofing industry by bringing professionalism, integrity and a customer-centric approach to roofing sales and installation. Alex and Enda’s strategy has exceeded all expectations. In less that one year more than 800 homes in Massachusetts and their happy owners were enjoying the benefits of clean energy and beautiful new roof.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by GREATER BOSTON ROOFING on Angi
Kvcountertops inc

Specializing in KITCHEN AND BATH COUNTERTOPS! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Northern Lights Electric Inc

Northern Lights Electric is your expert, Fully Licensed and Insured Residential Electrician Company serving southern New England. (shhh.... we also do small commercial) 13 employees. No sub-contractors. Cost is determined by the job. Preferred contact is email. License #'s: Master A-20059, and Journeyman E-51095. Licensed in ALL New England  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Northern Lights Electric Inc on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/25/2019

This is the second time I have used Almar for a project at my house within a year. Our deck project involved resurfacing our existing medium-sized deck and railings with Azek decking a white composite railing and stairs with two small modifications to the existing deck layout: 1). Relocation of the stairs to the patio and, 2). Small deck expansion to accommodates space for grilling. On the structural elements added to the deck, it was clear the higher quality materials and craftsmanship used by Almar compared to the original installation by the original contractor of the house 10 years ago. We were very satisfied with the overall work and the degree of professional craftsmanship used to give the resurfaced deck the best appearance it could have. I very much appreciate the degree of consultation given by Almar employees to make sure the final product would match our expectations. We very much would recommend using Almar again for similar projects in the future.

Description of Work
Resurface Deck

Category decks,remodeling,woodworking

5.0

02/20/2018

From the beginning of the process all the way till completion, Almar went above and beyond our expectations. Consulting with Trey during the design/permit process was easy and he was always responsive and helpful. The crew that was here, especially Vinnie, was professional, respectful and just extremely helpful updating us along the way. The finished project turned out better than we imagined. Almar was fantastic and would recommend them highly to anyone, which we have already done.

Description of Work
Deck remodel/install

Category decks,remodeling,woodworking,architect

5.0

01/18/2017

Their price was competitive. The job took about 2 weeks or 11 business days. They cleaned up after themselves every day.

Description of Work
They did vinyl siding on the house.

Category siding

5.0

04/13/2015

The project went very well, at first. All preliminary work such as plans and permits were handled efficiently. The foundation was excavated and poured and had passed preliminary inspection by election day of 2014. At this point they ran into a problem. The framer who they had hired was not showing up. I was in communication with Almar about this and they finally juggled there own carpenter's schedule and got to work on my bathroom. Once this little bump in the road was worked out all went quite smooth. You could see visible progress made every day. Almar was very accommodating with making sure I still had use of the facilities as this is the only bathroom in the house. They even made sure I had a shower but getting it servicable early in the construction. While the delay was really inconvenient at Christmas time with company and a half finished bathroom, the finally finished project more than meets my expectations. I am pleased overall with the quality of their work, the friendly professionalism of their staff, and the fairness of the cost. Will be in touch with them again when it comes time to refinish the kitchen floor.

Description of Work
Enlarge and remodel ground floor bathroom.

Category contractors,flooring contractor,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with this client. Although timing with one of crews did not work as smoothly as we would have hoped in the beginning we tried our best to be honest with the client about what was happening. And when it became evident that the framing crew was not going to be able to get off the job they were on we restructured our team and scheduled to get his project moving along again as quickly as we could - trying to mitigate any further delays in the process. We hope that he is enjoying the new space and look forward to connecting with him again if he needs us.
5.0

03/02/2015

They did an excellent job. The scheduling was fine and kept to the time frame. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They raised the house and redid our foundation, restructured the roof, raised part of the roof, repaired another section of the roof and installed new windows. They also built a new deck off the back of the house.

Category decks,picture framing,roofing,replacement windows,foundation repair

4.0

01/12/2015

They did a very good job but they have not quite finished yet. But they have done a great job in terms of their communication. They did a great job, they were thorough and did a good work.

Description of Work
We used Almar Building & Remodeling. They did bathroom and kitchen remodeling.

Category home remodeling

4.0

06/27/2014

They are very professional and thorough. They were also reasonably priced at the time. They are very good at following up after the project, even five or more years later!

Description of Work
They replaced the siding, and remodeled the front of the house.

Category decks,siding

4.0

06/17/2014

Very professional service, family owned business. The quote was very thoroogh and unfortunately was out of our price range.

Description of Work
Provided a comprehensive estimate of construction costs

Category remodeling

5.0

02/24/2014

The entire Almar team was great to work with. We met with them a few times to describe the work we wanted done, and he was able to offer suggestions and help us brainstorm ideas. Almar provided a clear estimate, breaking out all costs, a timeline which they adhered to, and a defined payment schedule. Once the project was started and we could better visualize things, there were a few changes we wanted to make; Almar cheerfully provided estimates for these changes to help with our decision process, and easily incorporated our changes into their work timelines. We were very impressed with the level of communication provided. We had very frequent updates explaining what work had been completed and what steps were next. Almar kept the worksite very clean. They also knew that we were going to be hosting a family get-together, and made sure everything was superclean before family arrived. Overall we were happy working with them through the entire process, from first describing what we wanted, to their preparation of the estimate, to the work they carried out, to the final result.

Description of Work
Added two bathrooms to our house.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

4.0

01/20/2014

Very professional but the estimate was a bit high.

Description of Work
I used Almar Building & Remodeling Company, Inc

Category remodeling

    Services Offered

    DESIGN/BUILD REMODELING, ADDITIONS, BASEMENTS & ATTIC REMODELS, KITCHENS, BATHS, GUTTERS, GUTTER PROTECTION, VINYL SIDING, WOOD SIDING, REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND DOORS, PELLA WINDOWS, ANDERSON WINDOWS, HARVEY VINYL WINDOWS, AZEK PVC TRIM, DECKS TREX DECKS, OASIS DECKS, PVC & VINYL RAILING SYSTEMS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes