Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Able Home Inspection Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since March 2001

4.8

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

172 Washington St

Groveland, MA 01834

Description

We are Independent Home Inspectors, providing valuable inspection information conveyed through a detailed report with photos, since 1983. Our home inspections reveal the condition of structural, electrical, heating, cooling, plumbing, roofing, chimneys, fireplaces, windows, doors, siding and many

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/20/2018


Andrew D.

Evan was awesome. He was quick to respond when I called and made schedule adjustments to fit us in on the only day and time we had available. He was easy to communicate with whether it was phone call text or email. On the day of the inspection he was there early to do the exterior and went over everything with me outside before the realtors got there. When we were inside he was meticulous and explained things to me every step of the way. You could tell he cares about what he does and I felt like he was looking out for us as the buyers. He was a funny guy who you want to have a beer with after and made the experience very pleasant. I would definitely recommend Evan and would use him again in the future. I think his pricing is fair and while it may look like we paid more than others it’s because we added a radon test and water quality test.

Description of Work
Home inspection, radon test and water quality test.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

04/29/2018


Roy M.

Dennis was very thorough and responsive to our questions. He identified some areas of concern and was patient with us as we needed to negotiate several issues with the sellers.

Description of Work
Home Inspection including radon and water testing

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

07/24/2017


Adam B.

Great! Very thorough and explained everything along the way. I have used Able twice; the first time they found enough bad stuff that I walked away. The second time was just as thorough for a different home (that we ended up buying).

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

05/01/2017


Jacquelin A.

Great! I contacted them at 7 AM and was actually able to have the home inspected by 11 AM. They went out of their way to be accommodating in a difficult situation and because of them we didn't make an expensive mistake. Well worth it!

Description of Work
We needed a home inspection on a house -- we only had 24 hours to get it done

Category home inspection

5.0

03/08/2017


Erin A.

My husband and I have used Able Home Inspection (Dennis and Evan) a couple of times now. Evan was our primary home inspector, and we've had only positive experiences with him from the start. You'll find him to be extremely thorough, straight-forward, and knowledgable throughout the entire process. He is patient with any questions you may have, and willing to explain each step of the inspection. Both Dennis and Evan were flexible with travel, and very responsive to requests/questions. We would highly recommend their services, whether first time home buyers, or simply in the market for a new home!

Description of Work
Home inspection and Radon test. A free NER (Neighborhood Environmental Report) was included with the inspection.

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

01/22/2017


Anuj S.

I have used Able Home Inspection twice now. Evan is incredibly detailed and immensely knowledgeable which makes him the best I have ever come across. His observations on a not so old but beautiful house that we were looking at prevented us from buying the property that had brick walls but was water damaged from the inside. We then looked at a newly built house and through his meticulous and careful inspection found multiple issues that were presented for negotiations. You will get two reports - one that describes the neighborhood and the other on the property itself. The property report is almost 30 pages long which educates the reader about the defect - roof, pipes, mold, termite, cracks, furnace, ducts etc. You can never go wrong with Able. They are a professional duo and worth every cent.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

01/04/2017


Coleman A.

Dennis was incredibly helpful in the scheduling of the inspection of our first potential home. He was flexible on availability, given our tight timelines and the holidays, and was kind enough to work with us on travel fees on a longer-distance inspection. More importantly, as part of the inspection process, Dennis was able to run and provide a neighborhood environmental report (NER), which told us everything we needed to know about our potential home. This report is FREE with any inspection through Able (I am not aware of any other inspectors that offer this). I highly recommend their services to any new (and experienced) home buyers. They are friendly, professional, and extremely resourceful and knowledgeable. We will be using them for any future home inspections!

Description of Work
Home Inspection and Neighborhood Environmental Report (NER).

Category home inspection

5.0

01/03/2017


Eric S.

Evan was wonderful. He arrived at the property early, and he had already gotten to work on the outside of the house when I arrived. He had a great sense of humor, which made a potentially stressful situation so much more enjoyable. He is also extremely knowledgeable and forthright. The best part is that he saved us from making a very costly mistake. This was our first attempt at buying a home, and I am so glad we found Evan and Able Home Inspection to help guide us through the process.

Description of Work
I needed a home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/29/2015


Anton R.

My wife and I were very pleased with Dennis's services inspecting our house. First off, he is extremely thorough. The house that we are purchasing had a pre-inspection and the quality of Dennis's work was 100 times better. We, as first time home buyers are petrified to make a mistake and 'miss' on something that we don't know about i.e. septic, roofs, water, ice dams, ventilation and so many more hidden gems that we know very little about. Neither of us specializes in home buying, so we relied on Dennis's expertise to guide us in the right path. From the moment that he got out of his car, he kept a professional demeanor and courteously explained all the points of the house and land that we needed to know about. He not only told us what in his point of view is 'wrong' but how he would go about fixing it and how much it costs. When inspecting a 30 year old home, there were obviously going to be things that did not fit our criteria, but to simply get a handle of a list of everything is worth the money. After reviewing a number of other inspectors, Dennis's comprehensive list of services attracted us and we will recommend him to others in the area.

Description of Work
House Inspection and Comprehensive Water Test

Category home inspection

5.0

03/18/2015


Melissa D.

They were excellent and thorough. They were also timely, fast, and efficient. Very detailed and patience, too. Also willing to explain things to us.

Description of Work
Provided a Home Inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/05/2015


Kathleen F.

He guided us through each step and explained his findings as he went along. He gave clear explanations of what he was looking for and what he found. This was followed up by a written report, with photos, that thoroughly explained all his findings. I felt comfortable at the end of the day that we knew everything we would need to know about the house.

Description of Work
Inspected of a home on which we had made an offer.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/31/2013


Meena K.

We bought the house! As first-time buyers, Dennis came recommended by a friend. We used Dennis's services to inspect another house before this and because of his thorough inspection he saved us from making a huge mistake. There were faults with the structure of the house and the roof and if we had bought that house it would have cost us a fortune in repairs. The next house that Dennis inspected for us was also a very old house and he did a great job of telling us everything that was right about the house and what was not ok. This house only needed minor repairs and Dennis was very helpful in answering all my questions, and there were many. After buying the house now, we are doing the repairs and Dennis was spot on about the flaws , and so far no surprises for us, thanks to him. He did his job so well that the Realtors on the deal asked him a few questions about their own problems, and Dennis always had the answers.

Description of Work
Dennis inspected a house we had an offer on.

Category home inspection

5.0

11/05/2011


Greg B.

I cannot speak highly enough of the services that Mr. Robitaille performed while conducting a home inspection for us. Because we could not accompany him while he examined the property in question, Mr. Robitaille took over 100 photos of the house, documenting numerous issues related to water damage, mold, a rodent infestation, possible structural problems, and plumbing issues. He went into all hidden areas of the house (atic, crawl spaces, etc.), took moisture readings with an instrument he brought along, checked every appliance and plumbing fixture, probed for rotting wood high and low, and tested every faucet and toilet. The level of detail of his inspection was way beyond anything we expected. After returning from the inspection, he wrote up a detailed 25 page report, and provided captions of each of the 80 or so photos he ended up sending to us. The final product was delived by 9 pm of the same day of the inspection. The bottom line is, he saved us from buying what superficially seemed to be a spectacular house but in fact was anything but. I give my highest recommendation to him.

Description of Work
Perfomed an inspection of a vacation home that we had made an offer on.

Category home inspection

5.0

11/03/2011


Jeff M.

Dennis was punctual and professional. He was very thorough, going through the 1890s home in great detail and showing me what he was concerned with. He was knowledgeable in all aspects of such an old home, commenting intelligently on foundation, structure, and general maintenance. He made note of many minor things for me to deal with, which inspired confidence as I could tell he wasn't just catching the major stuff. He came equipped with a sophisticated circuit tester to check outlets, a step ladder to access the attic, and binoculars to inspect the roof. I was impressed with his knowledge and his willingness to show and explain as we walked around the property. His detailed report with photos was promptly received, and I believe the thorough nature of the inspection and report helped me get the seller to fix a number of issues for me prior to closing.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase home inspection on an older property including barn/garage, plus radon test and termite report.

Category home inspection, radon testing

1.0

08/12/2011


amir S.

Dennis has real good reviews and that's why we had chosen him initially. This was the second time we were using him. The first time he did a pretty good job and pointed out all the issues with the home. But this second time was a complete failure. Dennis was limping when he showed up to the property. I did ask him as to why he was limping and his response was, "my knees are giving me issues for the past couple of weeks". At this point, I should have terminated the inspection if I had the foresight. Dennis didn't go into the attic, but rather stood on the ladder for a few seconds and poked his head through. There was tons of room to stand up in there but he simply didn't bother because of the clear pain he was experiencing in his knees. I had to point out the bathroom venting to him, that wasn't adequately vented out. I had to pull up the ceiling tiles in the bathroom and expose the power wires, he should have brought his ladder in and checked out what was being hidden up there and any other issues. If I hadn't asked him to, he wouldn't have done any of it, he was ready to leave. Dennis did not comment on the lack of insulation of the building either, I had to find that out later after I had decided to hire another inspector. Dennis didn't check the kitchen sink or plumbing or dishwasher either, he had done that previously. This experience was of extreme degraded performance because of his knees. There was a difference of night and day between what I thought he might perform based on our prior experience. I am not trying to be insensitive towards him and his knees, I hope he feels better and wish him health. But if Dennis wasn't feeling well, being a professional he should have disclosed that it would impair his performance and we could have rescheduled. Bottom line, if you decide to hire Dennis, please ask him how he is feeling and especially how his knees are feeling, it directly affects his performance on the job. I would never hire him, personally.

Description of Work
Home inspection and radon test.

Category home inspection, radon testing

Service Provider Response

I wish this client had brought up his concerns sooner, rather than waiting 9 months to complain. (He never contacted me personally with his concerns.) Yes, I was working with injured knees at the time of the inspection, but I was able to get around and perform the inspection properly. Removing ceiling tiles or stored items is not part of the inspection standards of practice, whether or not my knees are in good shape. Going into attics is only done when safe to do so. If there are stored items or no floor boards, then in most cases that attic would only be viewed from the access opening. Giving me F ratings is a bit of overkill. If anyone would like to see the completeness of the inspection report provided, I will gladly send you a copy. My knees are fine now, in case anyone had a concern. Instead of trying to go out of my way next time someone insists that I do an inspection in an injured state, I will take the week off.
1.0

03/16/2011


Joseph M.

In my opinion Mr. Robitallie failed to perform a complete and thorough inspection and report as I thought he missed many key and major safety issues. The inspection lasted little over an hour, during that time Mr Robitallie seemed to aimlessly wonder the house jumping from room to room. The inspection seemed to lack direction and motive and at times as if he was trying to kill time. Mr. Robitallie asked me to be present during the inspection, I found Mr. Robitallie to be cold, he failed to explain to me the process and his methods and he made me feel as I was being intrusive when asking him questions, I was confused as to why he requested my presence. Personally I found the work performed by Mr. Robitallie to be unprofessional as he failed to note key issues as well as his report being vague and lacking detail, the report seemed to be 95% computer generated with many pages of what seemed to be useless information. I did confront Mr. Robitallie on the vagueness of his report, I felt that he took my concerns to be offensive and was extremely defensive rather than trying to be accommodating. Mr. Robitallie stated to me why I was being so picky as the property was bank owned and they are most likely not going to make any repairs. I pretty much had to demand to him that he needed to rewrite the report and include the missing items and add more detail. Mr. Robitallie did rewrite the report and did include all the missing issues I had caught, even though I appreciated the missing items being added the report was still vague and according to my agent subpar. After moving in I did come across a major safety issue. Anyone can state they have 28 years experience and anyone can walk through a house and just look for visible issues and take a quick picture. If you plan on making a huge purchase and spending hundreds of thousands of dollars then you want to make sure you have the best inspector, in my personal opinion Mr. Robitallie is far from that inspector and in my opinion at best will only offer you the bare minimum at a high price. It amazes me that Mr. Robitallie is "at a loss" concerning this report, he knows who I am as I did not hesitate to voice my concerns to Mr. Robitallie after receiving his so called report. He states I must be a competitor trying to smear his good name, I think not Mr. Robitallie, in reality your p*** poor work ethic caused this review. An honest man would step up and take responsibility for his actions not try to slander the review of an unhappy customer, this just shows the true man you really are. I hope others who read this and your response see through your lies and make a better choice in home inspectors.

Description of Work
Mr. Robitallie was contracted to perform a home inspection, radon inspection, co2 inspection and submit to me a report on the surrounding area of the home I had entered into a P&S agreement.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

I am at a loss concerning this report. There was no indication from the client at the time of the inspection as to his concerns. It's almost as if this person was a competitive and trying to smear my reputation. All I can say is to look at the other reports written by other clients.
5.0

11/22/2010


James C.

Work went fine; received what we expected

Description of Work
Pre-listing home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

07/19/2010


Anne M.

Dennis was propt and professional. He was incredibly thorough. He checked over every inch of the property and even figured out access to the roof for a full inspection. He was also really quick. What impressed me most though was that the report with photos and full explanations of building codes was emailed to me within an hour of the inspection being completed. Additionally, Dennis didn't charge extra for a Saturday inspection. I wish my sister had used him when she bought her home!

Description of Work
Home inspection for a condominium in an existing 45 year old brick condo complex.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/31/2010


Catherine K.

Worth every penny. Dennis arrived early and was extremely thorough. We searched quite a bit to locate a trustworthy, competent home inspector. We settled on Dennis due to the good reviews on this site and felt he was worth every penny. Very competent and skilled.

Description of Work
Performed a detailed home inspection for us (about 3 hours) and within several hours afterwards had emailed us a detailed writeup complete with pictures.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/28/2010


frances M.

The inspection was very clear and very complete. My husband could not be present so I wasquite nervous about getting lost in a barrage of info that I wouldn't know how to organize and ask intelligent questions about. Dennis must have been the gift in this day.Initially, he didn't say much but he was very organized and observant. When I asked him to explain and answer questions as we went, he was very obliging . His communication was crystal clear. If I asked for more detail,he readily provided it .I asked a lot of questions ,all of which he answered. To my shock, he found some dangerous situations with our basement. There were serious problems with some of the electrical, and with the gas hot water heater and the boiler, as well. I'm so glad we know. We will work right from the pictures and the typed report asap to remediate. He even was willing to venture a ballpark estimate of what the immediately necessary repairs might cost and told me how to check on credentials and permits so our remediation efforts will be successful and we won't have any more of these unpleasant surprises in the future.

Description of Work
Dennis did a complete home inspection of our 1200sf cape and garage. I wanted to know everything that should and could be done with our house so we can enjoy it now and have no surprises when it may be time to sell in a few years.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/11/2010


PATRICK & MARIE S.

We originally found them on Angie's List, and we think they do very high quality work.

Description of Work
They did an inspection of a house we were thinking of buying.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/09/2010


Betsy C.

The inspection, and the written report, were incredibly thorough. Dennis didn't overlook anything and was very helpful in explaining things as he went. I appreciated that he pointed out things that were not likely related to the purchase price of the home, but would be good for us to know in the future. Good to know: Dennis doesn't advertise his services through connections to realtors.

Description of Work
Dennis performed a home inspection on a single family home.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/27/2010


Mike T.

It was a very thorough inspection. The report he gave was actually typed and had pictures, which was very nice. The only drawback was the price. I think it was more than other inspections. It was an older house and I had done other inspections that were cheaper. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I used Able Home Inspection for a home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/29/2009


JOSHUA M.

Dennis came out on a Saturday on a holiday weekend. He was on time and extremely thorough. We followed him throughout the inspection, and he was very good at explaining the what and the why of what he was doing. He found a gas leak the owner didn't know about as well as several other issues and made correct suggestions on how to address them properly. The inspection report (complete with 26 photos) was in our hands by Saturday evening. Overall a great experience.

Description of Work
Home Inspection (for purchase) on a single family home in Lexington, MA.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/28/2009


Melissa G.

He was quickly responsive both by telephone and email to arrange the appointment. He came the next day and he started exactly on time. he was thorough in examining the most critical elements of the apartment, and offered a radon test when he noticed that another building in the complex was being treated for radon. He was efficient, and from his website it's obvious he is incredibly knowledgeable. I wish he was a little more forth coming in explaining what he was seeing in person, so that I might have asked more questions, but his report more than made up for the difference. His report was emailed that day and was fantastically extensive, including pictures and references for us to determine how to assess to safety concerns he had noted. He was very timely in responding to follow-up question swe had, and emailed links to websites to give us more info about the issue we were discussing. I would use his services again.

Description of Work
Inspection of a condo for purchase, built in 1904

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Another Level Inspection LLC

    Here at Another Level Inspection LLC, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. We are experts in Home Inspections, Radon Testing and Infrared Quality services. We use the best technology and provide a level of detail that shows our passion for protecting and empowering our clients in the most important decision of their lives. We look forward to earning your business.  

    Angi Certified

    Radon Systems LLC

    Guaranteed Results! Radon Systems LLC has installed over 20,000 successful Radon mitigation systems since 1985. Radon Systems LLC is one of the few full service Radon mitigation companies that remediate both Radon in air and Radon in water. We are state certified and fully insured. Radon Systems LLC is recognized by the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) and the American Association of Radon Scientists and Technologists (AARST).  

    Angi Certified

    J May Home Inspection

    We have over 20 years of experience in building consulting, home inspection & teaching. We offer clients an inspection that is thorough & that will help them understand a building's strengths, problems & repair needs. We are 11 year Super Service Award winners beginning in 2010.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Home inspections, condos, termite inspections, radon gas testing, asbestos testing & water quality testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Lead Paint Testing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Able Home Inspection Inc

    How is Able Home Inspection Inc overall rated?

    Able Home Inspection Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Able Home Inspection Inc open?

    Able Home Inspection Inc is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Able Home Inspection Inc provide

    Able Home Inspection Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Able Home Inspection Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Able Home Inspection Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Able Home Inspection Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Able Home Inspection Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Able Home Inspection Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Able Home Inspection Inc offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Able Home Inspection Inc?

    No, Able Home Inspection Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Able Home Inspection Inc offer?

    Able Home Inspection Inc offers the following services: Home inspections, condos, termite inspections, radon gas testing, asbestos testing & water quality testing.

    Are there any services Able Home Inspection Inc does not offer?

    Lead Paint Testing.