Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Horizon Chimney Services Inc

4.9

(164) Verified Reviews

Founded 2009 • With Angi since June 2009

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
163598
Trade License Locale
MA
Trade License Authority
Massachusetts: Home Improvement
Trade License Expiration
07/07/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

PO Box 224

Franklin, MA 02038

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Performing all chimney maintenance and repair services at this time.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Family owned & operated. A CSIA Certified technician is present on every service call. Multiple year Super Service Award winner. We provide all facets of chimney maintenance to our many satisfied customers in MA&RI: Chimney cleaning, chimney liner installation, chimney cap sales and installation, chimney waterproofing, damper installations and flashing repairs. Wood, pellet and gas stoves installation and Masonry repairs. Massachusetts HIC license #163598, MA Construction Supervisors License #99139. Rhode Island contractors license #38641 and RI Decorative heat license #8319. No travel charges. See coupons for special offers for Angies List members. Additional emails - info@horizonchimney.com. Additional Service Areas: Central and Northern Rhode Island...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(164) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

154

4

5

3

3

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (133)chimney repair (73)chimney cap repair (56)masonry (9)animal removal (1)fireplace services (33)HVAC Companies (3)basement waterproofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews
5.0

03/10/2021

Absolutely OUTSTANDING work by Brad and Mike!!!! None better!!!!! 100+++++ Stars all around!!!!!! I HIGHLY recommend Horizon Chimney Services for Sales, Installations and every type of chimney related repairs!! One stop shop. Save time. This company really rocks!!

Description of Work
Chimney Liner, Chimney Crown, Chimney Caps (2), Chimney Repair, Chimney Waterproofing

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to provide the great feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

05/15/2020

It went fantastic, they were quick to respond and get out to the house to quote us on the work. It ended being a lot of work but they stuck to the range of the initial quote and did an excellent job on all fronts. I will certainly be going with them for any future chimney needs!

Description of Work
Chimney rebuild, chimney sweep, chimney cap installation, and heating exhaust changes

Category chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
4.0

03/06/2020

They were very nice. The office was responsive to requests and accommodating to changes. The guys even had dog treats for the dogs! Definitely recommend. A-/B+ rating!

Description of Work
Relining the furnace chimney

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and positive feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

11/18/2019

Cleaned chimney flue used by woodstove, installed new stainless flue liner, repaired mortar and replaced tile caps on one chimney. Replaced broken slate cap on the other chimney. Installed new stainless steel caps on both. Accommodated my tight time schedule and did a good job.

Description of Work
Flue liner and two chimney caps installed

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2019

Images

Review for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 38239212

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

08/13/2019

Derek and his crew are extremely professional, and knowledgeable, and courteous. Their workmanship is top notch and customer service is excellent!

Description of Work
New flue liners, chimney caps, and installing a wood fireplace insert

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and great report! We hope you enjoy the wood stove and that it provides lots of warmth to your home this coming winter. We truly appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
3.0

02/27/2019

When Derek came and bid on the job, he was understandably apprehensive about what might lurk behind the fireplace on the wall and under the fireplace on the floor. Unfortunately, I signed the contract too quickly, assuming it was "worst case" price and neither read nor understood sufficiently, thinking the price included the stove. The long and short is I paid $24,420 for the removal of old firepl...

Description of Work
removal of fireplace + installation of wood burning stove

Category chimney repair,fireplaces

Cost $24,420

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2019

Images

Review for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 37735864
5.0

01/08/2019

Another company had installed a flu liner, but it was too narrow to accommodate a wood fire. That company had recommended a flu vent fan, but I sought a second opinion. Derek did a thorough assessment of our fireplace/chimney situation, and advised a gas fire log set as the least costly and safest option. I was dubious at first about the aesthetics of a gas log, but the RealFyre set looks great an...

Description of Work
Fireplace restoration

Category masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for submitting the great report. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your new gas fireplace. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

12/14/2018

I received a message in response to my quote request sent late on a day, and a phone call the following morning. A service visit was arranged for that day, as one of their servicemen happened to be in my area. He arrived as notified, and proceeded to put the damper back on (- no new replacement needed. So, no charge), and to install a brand-new chimney cap. All work was completed, and it was not e...

Description of Work
Chimney Cap and Fireplace damper replacement

Category chimney caps,fireplaces

Cost $540

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report! We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our prompt service and truly appreciate the business. We look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. All the best, Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services
5.0

10/25/2018

The technician was very knowledgeable and kept everything clean. Would definitely recommend their services.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and chimney cap

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps

Cost $229

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future!
5.0

10/03/2018

Technician was on time, friendly, and completed the job 100%

Description of Work
Chimney clean and Fireplace clean

Category chimney sweep

Cost $375

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for submitting the great feedback and report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.

Services Offered

Chimney Sweeping; Fireplaces, Wood and pellet stove flues, Oil and Gas Furnace Flue Cleanings. Chimney Relining, Chimney Caps, Level I & II Inspections & Video Analysis. Damper installation. Wood, Pellet & Gas Stove Sales & Installation. Animal Removal. Waterproofing. Masonry and crown Repairs.

Services Not Offered

Air duct cleaning. Gas fireplace repair

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
0%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes