Horizon Chimney Services Inc

About

Founded 2009 • With Angi since June 2009

Family owned & operated. A CSIA Certified technician is present on every service call. Multiple year Super Service Award winner. We provide all facets of chimney maintenance to our many satisfied customers in MA&RI: Chimney cleaning, chimney liner installation, chimney cap sales and installation,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Liner installChimney CapWood stove install

Verified Reviews

4.9

(168) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

158

4

5

3

3

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (137)chimney repair (74)chimney cap repair (57)masonry (9)animal removal (1)fireplace services (34)HVAC Companies (3)basement waterproofing (1)
Showing 1-25 of 168 reviews
5.0

11/16/2022


Elise M.

Horizon was awesome! Derek was able to come earlier which was super helpful, and he was very thorough. He cleaned all 3 flues in my new home - pellet stove, furnace, and fireplace. Our furnace flue was almost completely clogged so I'm grateful he offered to clean that as well. He gave great recommendations for getting our pellet stove and fireplace to be usable and wrote up a proposal to replace the liner. He never made me feel pressured for any additional services and was super friendly - and a dog lover! Highly recommend Horizon Chimney

Description of Work
Flue inspection and cleaning

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Cost $887

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great review and for the kind words regarding our technician, Derek! He is truly an asset to our company and we will certainly share this with him. We truly appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

04/17/2022


Lisa S.

After recently moving my cat got spooked and went down the ash trap! Derick and his son were super helpful and understanding. After about a half hour he pulled A dusty Tom out of the chimney!! Thank you so much !!!!!

Description of Work
Derick rescued my cat from the chimney!!

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and great review! I’m happy we were able to successfully remove [Member Name Removed] from the chimney today and he came out uninjured and happy to see you. Please let us know if we can be of any further service to you and thank you again for the business!
5.0

02/04/2022


Christopher B.

Outstanding service. We had both our fireplace flue and furnace flue inspected and cleaned. The technician, Derek, arrived well within the allotted time window. He was professional, friendly, respectful and answered any and all questions I had. He left our home as clean as it was when he arrived. I would highly recommend Horizon for any of the services they provide.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep (2 flues)

Category chimney sweep

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and for the kinds words for our technician, Derek. We will certainly share this feedback with Derek! We truly appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimneys next year.
5.0

12/07/2021


Sahya K.

Update of review from 11/30/2021. Seems I cant update my original posting so creating a new post. Within a few hours of my 11/30 post the President and Owner of the company, Derek Carmichael, gave me a personal phone call, voicemail, and text message. I was a bit surprised. The owner provided an apology and took complete ownership of the resolution. Its what I suspected that there was just a misalignment between the information on Angi's list and the service price listed. Also its worth noting that it was a true apology and not one of those "sorry you feel this way", but rather he stated his company made a mistake and that I was absolutely correct. Rare to hear that but it speaks volumes to the company's leadership and culture to treat customers positively. I think there's a reason why this company has almost 5 stars. I'm giving them 5 stars now because I was not only impressed by their response and how they quickly fixed the problem. But also their schedule was booked out until February (3 months out) and as part of resolving this problem they got a technician (Brad) to come out here the very next day. The guy inspected 4 flues and cleaned the one that was dirty. He also spent at least 15 minutes just consulting with me and giving me advice as a new homeowner using a chimney for the first time. I highly recommend this company for their expertise in chimney services, their customer service excellence, and their excellent leadership at the top. You wont regret working with them. Thank you Horizon Chimney, happy sweeping!

Description of Work
Chimney Inspection and Sweep

Category chimney sweep

Cost $279

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for submitting the great review. We truly appreciate the business and are very happy to hear you were satisfied with our technicians service he provided to you. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns and we look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. Best regards, Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services
5.0

03/10/2021


Peter D.

Absolutely OUTSTANDING work by Brad and Mike!!!! None better!!!!! 100+++++ Stars all around!!!!!! I HIGHLY recommend Horizon Chimney Services for Sales, Installations and every type of chimney related repairs!! One stop shop. Save time. This company really rocks!!

Description of Work
Chimney Liner, Chimney Crown, Chimney Caps (2), Chimney Repair, Chimney Waterproofing

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to provide the great feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

05/15/2020


James C.

It went fantastic, they were quick to respond and get out to the house to quote us on the work. It ended being a lot of work but they stuck to the range of the initial quote and did an excellent job on all fronts. I will certainly be going with them for any future chimney needs!

Description of Work
Chimney rebuild, chimney sweep, chimney cap installation, and heating exhaust changes

Category chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
4.0

03/06/2020


Leah G.

They were very nice. The office was responsive to requests and accommodating to changes. The guys even had dog treats for the dogs! Definitely recommend. A-/B+ rating!

Description of Work
Relining the furnace chimney

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and positive feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

11/18/2019


Joseph H.

Cleaned chimney flue used by woodstove, installed new stainless flue liner, repaired mortar and replaced tile caps on one chimney. Replaced broken slate cap on the other chimney. Installed new stainless steel caps on both. Accommodated my tight time schedule and did a good job.

Description of Work
Flue liner and two chimney caps installed

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2019

Images

Review for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 38239212

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide the great review and feedback! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to servicing your chimneys in the future. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

08/13/2019


Adrian Y.

Derek and his crew are extremely professional, and knowledgeable, and courteous. Their workmanship is top notch and customer service is excellent!

Description of Work
New flue liners, chimney caps, and installing a wood fireplace insert

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and great report! We hope you enjoy the wood stove and that it provides lots of warmth to your home this coming winter. We truly appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
3.0

02/27/2019


Damon W.

When Derek came and bid on the job, he was understandably apprehensive about what might lurk behind the fireplace on the wall and under the fireplace on the floor. Unfortunately, I signed the contract too quickly, assuming it was "worst case" price and neither read nor understood sufficiently, thinking the price included the stove. The long and short is I paid $24,420 for the removal of old fireplace and installation of new $3000 wood burning stove. The quality of the work was good. My only objection is the EXTREME price. The whole job including demolition was 2 days - 6 hours each. You be the judge. This was not a finish job as the attached final picture shows.

Description of Work
removal of fireplace + installation of wood burning stove

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $24,420

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2019

Images

Review for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 37735864
5.0

01/08/2019


Donald P.

Another company had installed a flu liner, but it was too narrow to accommodate a wood fire. That company had recommended a flu vent fan, but I sought a second opinion. Derek did a thorough assessment of our fireplace/chimney situation, and advised a gas fire log set as the least costly and safest option. I was dubious at first about the aesthetics of a gas log, but the RealFyre set looks great and really adds a nice ambiance to the living room. Horizon repaired the fireplace masonry as well, and they recommend an excellent plumber (M.A. Coughlin, Natick) to install the gas line. Everyone involved was prompt, courteous, transparent re the cost/work involved, respectful of our living space, and skilled. Not an inexpensive job, but all in all excellent quality.

Description of Work
Fireplace restoration

Category masonry, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for submitting the great report. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your new gas fireplace. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

12/14/2018


Tatsushi I.

I received a message in response to my quote request sent late on a day, and a phone call the following morning. A service visit was arranged for that day, as one of their servicemen happened to be in my area. He arrived as notified, and proceeded to put the damper back on (- no new replacement needed. So, no charge), and to install a brand-new chimney cap. All work was completed, and it was not even 24 hours past after I had sent out a quote request. Saying it was very speedy is an understatement.

Description of Work
Chimney Cap and Fireplace damper replacement

Category chimney caps, fireplaces

Cost $540

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report! We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our prompt service and truly appreciate the business. We look forward to servicing your chimney in the future. All the best, Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services
5.0

10/25/2018


Natalie S.

The technician was very knowledgeable and kept everything clean. Would definitely recommend their services.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and chimney cap

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

Cost $229

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future!
5.0

10/03/2018


Doug P.

Technician was on time, friendly, and completed the job 100%

Description of Work
Chimney clean and Fireplace clean

Category chimney sweep

Cost $375

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for submitting the great feedback and report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

09/22/2018


Jason K.

Derek showed up on time and performed an excellent job cleaning our chimney after a season of burning a cord of wood. He saw some items that should be addressed due to deterioration. He was thorough with his analysis and very professional. I highly recommend Horizon Chimney Services, Inc. We've used them now for our past 3 cleanings and are very happy with the service they provide.

Description of Work
Cleaned Chimney

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great report and review! We appreciate your continued business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

05/31/2018


Josh T.

The owner Derek was able to come out very quickly and help us with our need for a chimney cap because of heavy raccoon activity. He was great to work with and ended up doing a thorough job with the chimney cap, sweeping the chimney, and even helped install a dryer hose, cleaned out the dryer vent and checked the roof for any raccoon damage.

Description of Work
Chimney Cap, Chimney Sweep, Dryer Hose and Dryer Vent Cleaning

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for submitting the great report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
1.0

05/21/2018


John H.

I have had many estimates for various projects over the years and nobody has tried to charge for the estimate.

Description of Work
Asked for an estimate for a Chimney repair. They wanted $129.00 to come out and take a look.

Category chimney repair

Cost $129

Service Provider Response

I appreciate this members feedback, however, I am perplexed by their rating as we did not provide any chimney service to him and to rate us with all “F”s for a phone conversation seems unjust. We returned his call promptly and explained our standard inspection process to him which included discussing our nominal inspection fee that we charge to send a tech to his home. Before we could explain that the inspection fee is applicable to any work we perform within 90 days, he promptly hung up on our office manager. To run a professional, insured and profitable service business, we simply cannot send our technicians out to provide free services. This member may contact me directly if he has any further concerns or if he would like to discuss the matter further. Customer service and providing exceptional quality work is our top priority and is evident from our A rating and hundreds of satisfied Angie’s List members from over the years. Derek Carmichael, President Horizon Chimney Services, Inc.
5.0

05/07/2018


James S.

Excellent. Service was prompt, friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replace chimney cap, replace 1 brick, repair flashing on 2 levels, add water/vapor barrier

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for submitting the great report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

02/28/2018


Susan D.

Workers very professional, thorough, polite, punctual. Recommend these guys for any chimney/fireplace work you might have.

Description of Work
repair old chimney in general

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for submitting the great report. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

12/29/2017


Jacob L.

Derek did an amazing job throughout the whole process and was very helpful making it very easy for me. He made an initial visit where he took a look at what we had and helped make a recommendation. Once we decided on the stove we scheduled the installation and he took care of ordering it and filing permit paperwork with the town. Installation was done on the planned date and was quick and professional and looks great. After installation there was a small problem with the stove and Derek came back at no charge and worked with the manufacturer to solve the problem. And when the town building inspector was being a stickler about seeing a ratings tag that was fairly well hidden, Derek worked with me on the phone and took a look at the pictures I sent to make sure we located the tag and had the right information before I called the inspector back. Couldn't have asked for more, and most importantly the stove looks amazing and is keeping us warm! Thanks Derek!

Description of Work
Pellet stove insert into existing fireplace along with new chimney liner.

Category fireplaces

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2017

Images

Review for Horizon Chimney Services Inc - PO Box 224, Franklin, MA - 36709430

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write the great report and feedback! We are glad to hear you are happy with the completed project. We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

11/09/2017


Harvey D.

The workmanship was excellent, the finished product looks better than what existed previously. They arrived when promised, cleaned up everything when done and finished all work before the estimated time.

Description of Work
Installed a stainless steel flue liner, a new stainless steel chimney cap, did brick and motar repair, and waterproofed everything.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to submit the great report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

07/04/2017


Kenneth G.

I'd definitely recommend Horizon Chimney Services for the following reasons: 1) Responsiveness and follow up to my Angie's List inquiry 2) Appointment confirmation call and flexibility with scheduling service 3)Brad was a true professional and assessed my damper that 2 companies recommend I replace and little did I know it was the way I was opening it that was causing issues. 4)Cleaned furnace flu thoroughly/neatly and showed pics

Description of Work
Inspect fireplace damper of home that was 10 years old and had been reccomended for replacement by two other companies.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Cost $189

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing the great feedback and for submitting the report! We appreciate the business and look forward to servicing your chimney in the future.
5.0

05/03/2017


Jonathan R.

Overall, they were prompt and very professional and properly insured.

Description of Work
Had my chimney swept and during their inspection, they recommended that I put a stainless steel cap on the top of my chimney.

Category chimney sweep