Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Emslie Building and Remodeling

Founded 1986 • With Angi since May 2012

5.0

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

39 Pinewood Dr

Framingham, MA 01701

Description

Full service home remodeling contractor...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/05/2015


Ben L.

Dave and his team transformed our unfinished basement into a beautiful rec room for our children. The workers were very punctual, professional, and did a high quality job. I was amazed at how quickly the work progressed and when they were done I was very pleased with the results. In my opinion, the evidence of quality craftsmanship is in the details, and I look closely at these things. Areas such as stairs, trim, corners, joints, and door frames were done with care and quality. Also, the cost of the job didn't go over what was bid, except in cases where I asked for additional work. Over all, we were highly satisfied with Emslie's work and would recommend him unreservedly.

Description of Work
Remodeled basement.

Category remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

5.0

12/03/2014


Christina P.

A wonderful experience! Not an easy job at all. All went extremely well and I love my new kitchen!

Description of Work
Kitchen expansion and renovation.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/31/2014


kathleen G.

I couldn't be happier with the work done thus far by Emslie Building and Remodeling. We entered into this major project in July, and are wrapping things up now. Throughout the process, Dave and all his associates have exceeded every possible expectation. The quality of work is superb. The level of responsiveness and transparency from Dave have been so fantastic, and very much appreciated. Can't wait to finish things out on this phase - will update my review with more detail then. Already planning to work with Emslie Building & Remodeling on upcoming projects!

Description of Work
- Transformation of the major part of a dated house: Kitchen, dining, living room, master bed, master bath, office, and infrastructure repairs - Complete kitchen remodel, including redesign of layout, cabinets, countertops, flooring, the works - Complete master bathroom remodel, including redesign of layout, addition of separate oversized shower, tub and linen closet, tile, floor, etc. - Leveled floors in living room that had a substantial slope - Aesthetic remodel of master bedroom, dining room and office, including addition of a closet in master bedroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/21/2014


brooke M.

Emslie Co. is professional and very easy to work with. They are a pleasure to have in your house. They are a family business which makes the feeling very comfortable and safe. They take a lot of pride in their work. I would recommend them highly!

Description of Work
built a closet and a bathroom

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/16/2013


JADE H.

From the beginning, we were impressed with the Emslie crew. Dave worked with us to design a quote that met our budget, helping us to prioritize and balance our wish list items with the work that was necessary to complete. Dave and his crew are each terrific craftsmen, as well as thoughtful, personable, professional, and collaborative. The crew did the demo work when we were not yet living in the house, and much of the finish work while after we moved in. On moving day, Dave stood at the door and greeted us with, "Welcome Home!" and then helped us guide the movers to the correct places. This was way beyond our expectation - Dave was an amazing support on an otherwise stressful day. Over the course of three months, the crew demo'd and stripped most of the rooms in the house, along with remodeling and re-finishing the following: - Kitchen - design and installation of custom cabinets, propane stove, specialized venting for indoor grill, electrical fixtures, flooring, tile and 22 windows. Repaired major water-damaged areas and raised/leveled a sagging kitchen floor. We hired an engineer to review the structural integrity and he said, "You could raise the floor, but that's a lot of unnecessary work. Structurally, it's fine - just use floor leveler." When I called a couple days later, a breathy Dave answered and said, "Call you back!" I later learned that he decided the ?right thing? to do was raise the floor, and was in the middle of that when I called. This is the level of craftmanship you will encounter should you hire Dave and his crew to work on your project. - Family Room ? Replaced an extensive bar setup with home theater area. Built custom cedar bench to match existing woodwork, designed electrical layout, plastered walls and ceilings, refinished cedar walls, installed new flooring and painted. - Office, Bedrooms, Study & Storage areas ? We hate to lump these together because it was a lot of work - replaced ceilings, installed lighting, repaired water-damaged walls, plastered walls, framed and installed new windows, new flooring, replaced doors, repaired closets, stripped and refinished cedar walls. - Stripped and refinished or replaced every surface of the house - walls, flooring, ceiling. - Stripped and refinished mahogany staircase and cedar walls throughout the house. We lived in the house while Emslie was doing all of the finish work. We went through a major renovation project in the past with a different contractor and I can tell you that having Dave and his crew this time was heavenly!! We trusted Dave and his crew completely around our home and our children. They arrived on time in the morning and left the house clean at the end of each day. The best thing about working with Emslie Building is that we had the sense that they really care about their craft, our house and even our family. Sounds corny, but we were a little sad when the project was complete. We are looking forward to doing more updates to the house and when we do, we'll be calling Dave. They're the best.

Description of Work
Major remodeling and design on newly purchased home. Home had "good bones" but in serious need of updates and repair from house settling and water/ smoke damage. The Emslie crew touched nearly every surface of the home by the time the job was complete - on time and on budget! They were simply fantastic and we would work with them again without hesitation! Emslie provided the following services: - Extensive demolition of kitchen, home office, family room, bedrooms, study, lower level hallway, laundry and storage areas. - Design and complete remodel of kitchen, office, study, bedrooms - Strip and refinish of every floor, wall and ceiling in the house, including cedar and mahogany woodwork. - Provided countless hours of design support with infinite patience and sense of humor

Category remodeling

5.0

04/07/2013


kelly J.

Dave and crew were precise, capable, honest, efficient, reasonable price, and very, very easy to work with. The quality of work was excellent and I am very pleased!

Description of Work
Deck was tilting and stressing all joints.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

01/19/2013


Christopher H.

Included enlargement with reconstruction of screened in porch. Replaced entire framing, support, and decking using Azek / PVC material. Emslie Building Co. were not the cheapest but came with very high recommendations from some very particular friends; combined with our interactions and discussions with Dave, we were comfortable going forward with the project. Dave is an accomplished carpenter and very attentive to details during the planning and execution. He was very approachable and responded rapidly to any questions that we had, either by email or phone. We were very happy with the project and would certainly consider going back to him in the future for further remodeling work.

Description of Work
Repair/replacement of backyard deck.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

01/05/2013


BRIAN & KATHY M.

Working with Dave and his crew was fantastic. They are very professional and their work is flawless. They were quiet during the project and left the job site clean and neat. We had zero surprises and are quite pleased with the outcome. We even hired the crew for a few more projects and recommended them to others.

Description of Work
Emslie Construction & Remodeling did some complex remodeling of my office where we specified some very elaborate and unusual contemporary finishes. This includes moving walls, refinishing surfaces, installing doors/windows, and building a one-of-a-kind movable partition with magnetic surfaces. There was also subcontracting work like plumbing and electrical. The crew did their own painting.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

12/09/2012


maurice W.

One job that is easy to describe was the construction of a garage. After we had drawings done they took over the construction from tear down to finish and did a terrific job. The new structure matches the house perfectly and matches our needs as well. There was one small hitch in the location of an outside wall (due to set-back limitations) and Dave Emslie worked with all parties concerned to take care of the problem in a manner that was approved by the city. This alone would make us life-long fans of the company.

Description of Work
We used Emslie Remodeling for four different jobs: two interior remodeling, one new construction of a garage, one deck replacement and window replacement. In every case we were thrilled with the work. We felt that the work was of excellent quality, performed on time and to our specifications. The Emslies are a pleasure to work with and their suggestions for improvements were always appropriate and helpful. Every task they performed has stood the test of time and made our lives more comfortable and enjoyable.

Category remodeling

5.0

12/04/2012


Bernard L.

Dave Emslie was referred by an architect friend for whom he had done extensive work beautifully. Dave gave us an estimate and arranged a schedule. He met the schedule and price. His son Andy is a master craftsman. They quietly and methodically did the work. They gave additional value in knowing materials and sending us in the right direction for windows that would resemble the 100year old ones. They wee able to design the small cabinets to fit under the hearth that wee a challenge for our master cabinetmaker. I felt comfortable giving them a key and allowing them to work in the house when we were away. I liked having them around and enjoy their quiet wisdom.

Description of Work
Emslie has replaced parts of our 100 year old 5000 sq. ft. house three times over the past three years. They replaced windows, gutters, repaired rotting siding, repaired a shed, and built small cabinets under a kitchen hearth. They installed a sump pump and heater wires on the roof. They retiled a fireplace hearth. They willingly did small things along the way such as hang a blind and make drawers move more smoothly.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/30/2012


Cindy M.

Demolition of large concrete front porch and back patio began in early October of 2002. Our family chose to stay in the house during construction. The excavation under the guest room (which would become the new basement bathroom) and office space was next, and the new construction was built in the back of the house first. Then they broke through the wall and sealed off the rest of the house from the construction area. We had a temporary kitchen for about 6 months, which Dave put together in the former office (soon to be guest room)--complete with sink! (It worked out fine!) Hardwood floors were one of the final steps, with sealing in June of 2003. (the only time we really had to be out of the house). All through, Dave and his sons were respectful, honest, responsive, kind, thoughtful--really a joy to have around! The subcontractors they hired were fine and did good work (with the exception of the electrical sub-contractor). Dave took time to do really fine work while making sure we were surviving the construction well. We missed having them here when they were done!

Description of Work
Dave Emslie and his sons did a renovation/addition for us, and before that did a master bathroom for us. They added a front foyer/closet with a porch, a side entry mud-room and stairway to my husband's office (this completely changed the rear entry to a side entry off the driveway), a new kitchen and family room combination, with hardwood floors; they added a desk area near the kitchen for the "House CEO"; they turned an office into a guest room with a closet; they renovated the first floor bathroom; they excavated and created a larger office space in the basement for my husband and added a bathroom with shower; they finished both a utility room and playroom in the basement. They painted most all other rooms in the house and helped us add central air to the house. They also added a small deck off the family room. We would not recommend using the electrician sub-contractor that Emslie usually uses: Fred Dellorfon Electric.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/29/2012


Mark L.

This exceeded our expectations!! We are extremely pleased with the results and the entire construction process which took 3 months. Dave Emslie's personal invovlement in the design and planning significantly improved our original concept, saved us money, and in general produced a result that was better than we had hoped. Dave's involvement in the design and then the actual construction really made things go well. We recommend you involve Dave as early as possible in the planning. We were particularly pleased at how well Dave worked with us during the 3 months of construction. This occurred over the Christmas holidays and while we were doing another major remodeling project (kitchen) inside the house. Dave worked flawlessly with us and the other project so that we were always able to use our house the way we wanted to throughout the construction period.Dave and his people, in our opinion, went "above and beyond" what was expected to make this both a great result and a great experience. We very strongly recommend Emslie Remodeling.

Description of Work
All aspects of the construction of a "3 season room". Emslie remodeling did this work superbly, start to finish. Dave Emslie was deeply involved in the planning/design, choice of materials, etc. (Dave's advice saved us money and produced a result that exceeded our expectations.) Dave handled all permits and sub-contractors (plumbing, electrical, roofing, plaster, insulation, etc.). Dave procured all material for the addition and removed all derbris. Construction included new decking over existing joist, the 3 walls and roof, windows, doors, interior finishing including flooring/ceiling/trim, gas piping, electrical, interior painting. Additionally a new exterior deck and walkway were constructed.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Abe Schickel & Co Inc

    We are a meticulous and long-established house painting company that provides lasting and clean work for homeowners who want to carefully care for their home and living environment. We will really care for your home.  

    U-Save Painting

    I am EPA licensed and have been in business since 2002. If you hire me, I will be working alongside my employees. I am available in the evenings to discuss any problems that may arise or simply to go over the punch-list for the next day. I rely on 'word-of-mouth' business, which is why I am happy to return to your home if need be, after the job is complete. Our motto is: U save when we get it right the first time! No Job too big or too small.  

    K Rod Painting

    Here at K-Rod Painting, we take pride in providing the best services and satisfying our customer needs. We specialize in Others, House Painting, Interior Painting, Exterior Painting, Painter, Pressure Washing Service, Staining Services and much more. We look forward to your business and serving you.  

    Offers by K Rod Painting on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Whole house renovations, additions, kitchens, baths, windows and doors, decks and porches, custom woodworking, built-ins, interior and exterior repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Emslie Building and Remodeling

    How is Emslie Building and Remodeling overall rated?

    Emslie Building and Remodeling is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Emslie Building and Remodeling open?

    Emslie Building and Remodeling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Emslie Building and Remodeling provide

    Emslie Building and Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Emslie Building and Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Emslie Building and Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does Emslie Building and Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Emslie Building and Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Emslie Building and Remodeling offer a senior discount?

    No, Emslie Building and Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Emslie Building and Remodeling?

    Yes, Emslie Building and Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does Emslie Building and Remodeling offer?

    Emslie Building and Remodeling offers the following services: Whole house renovations, additions, kitchens, baths, windows and doors, decks and porches, custom woodworking, built-ins, interior and exterior repairs.