Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since November 2002

4.1

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7 Elm St

Framingham, MA 01701

Description

If it has to do with a chimney, wood stove or fireplace. We do it. We have been in business for 30 plus years. Experienced technicians and we fix problems others won't.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/02/2019


John H.

They were prompt, knowledgeable and courteous. They explained a flaw in the original fireplace design, and offered suggestions for a remedy. They detailed the dimensions and requirements for the cap and verified it was within spec. The job was well done, with no messes or accidents to clean up. We will have them back next time.

Description of Work
We hired them to clean two flues and inspect the liners and extant cap.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

09/07/2017


Jesse S.

The guys came out when they said. Punctual. They ran a camera up the chimney. The liner and mortar of the chimney showed repairs needed. No problem. Not a surprise. The problem is that they used plenty of scare tactics to try and drum up business. First, they told my wife that the chimney was unsafe because the FURNACE was venting through the chimney that needed work. Wrong. The furnace has a direct vent out the side of the house. I made sure to ask my wife, "are you sure they told you the furnace." She said yes. In fact, our water heater vents through the chimney. Even if my wife is confused, the scare tactics they used and the lack of clarity they conveyed is not good. Second, they asked that we get our plumber to pull a permit for them (they don't have a plumber's license) so that they could run a liner through the chimney. Um, no. I want the person with the appropriate license doing that job. Is it even ethical to do that? Third, they took the chimney cap off the chimney, claiming that the chimney cap had sunk so low in the chimney that it was serving as a cap on the exhaust. Please. I do not believe that. And if, in fact this is true, please don't take the cap off my chimney before the 2 really large rainstorms. Instead, offer a temporary solution. AND, we paid $300 for this!! I would definitely be suspicious of these guys and I urge you to get a second opinion. I will update this review once we get our second opinion.

Description of Work
We recently bought a house. We knew the chimney needed to be inspected. My wife called and set up an appointment. $300.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I went out to Mr. [Member Name Removed]"s home on August 28, 2017. I was requested by them to do a Level 2 Chimney Inspection and Video Scan of the chimney. He had just purchased the home. Before I say anything further I would like to Quote Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s message that he left on my recorded on Sept. 7, 8:11 AM. Thursday. Quote: "Hi Jack, My name is [Member Name Removed [Member Name Removed] you came to my house at [Member Information Removed] Gxxxxxxx [Member Information Removed] in Needham and met with my wife her name is Axxxx. We want to go ahead and rebuild the chimney from the roofline line up. So, lets talk about when you guys can do that." "Thank You Very Much! My phone number is 410-xxx-xxxx again thats 410-xxx-xxxx Thank You." That was the voicemail that I received on Sept 7. ?????? We told him we weren't able to do the masonry repair till the spring. He was disappointed and told my office manager Zoe that he was going to try and get someone else. But, We were his first choice. And asked us to call him in the spring, just in case. Then, later in the day he gave me this terrible review??? When I got to the [Member Information Removed] Gxxxxxxx [Member Information Removed] in Needham on August 28. During my preliminary inspection both myself and my employee smelled high level of gas in the basement. Upon further inspection, I saw that the new gas furnace had been Directed Vented to the outside of the house. "By the way, after 35 years in this business I know the difference between a furnace that is Direct Vented and one that is vented into the chimney". The problem is that the 3" Vent Pipe for the hot water heater was left venting into the 9x13 flue of the chimney, by itself. This is too large of a vent. A 3" vent should be vented into a 3" flue, not a 9x13 flue. I also saw that the pipe was not pitched up, it was actually pitched slightly down. This could be affecting the hot water heater from not venting properly. I recommend that a 3" liner be installed and that Mrs. [Member Name Removed] should check with her plumber, I don't have a license to pull a gas venting permit. But she didn't understand and wanted for me to schedule the liner install. Then, I looked at her and said "NO" you need to talk to your plumber. I have a Mass. Unrestricted Contractors License, there is no higher license to get in Ma. But contractors can not pull permits to do gas work. However, I explained that most plumbers are not equipped to do chimney/ masonry type repairs and don't like to do them. So a Licensed Contractor can do the work under the supervision of a Licensed Plumber when it comes to gas venting. "THAT'S STATE CODE". Actually, I been pulling permits for Installing chimney liners including gas liners, up to about 8 years ago. Because, it was considered masonry repair. Only recently did the State clarify this this grey area because of the new high efficiency equipment. I still do pull permits for every other kind of liner into a chimney except Gas. I also told her that some plumbers "might" do the liner themselves. But, there may be another way to solve the problem, like install an electric hot water heater, thus eliminating the draft issue. She had to speak with her plumber. If, the plumber thought installing the liner was the best option then we would be prepared to do it if needed. This doesn't sound like I'm trying to drum up work. I am turning it over to her Plumber. If I was trying to get the work, I have a plumber that I work with, who would pull a permit for me. I didn't want to step on her plumbers toes, so to speak. Most of the other things we saw were already pointed out by the Home Inspector who was there before us. The Home Inspector had recommended the Level 2 Inspection. I gave her 2 estimates to do the chimney repair. "Which the Home Inspector had also pointed out". Either, Repointing or Rebuilding it from the roofline up. I told her that I "think" it is to late for us to do the chimney repair as we were booked up and were not doing any Masonry work till spring. But, taking care of the liner was more important. The chimney had probably been like that for a few years and it could wait till the spring. It wasn't an emergency. As far as the removing the Chimney Cap. The chimney cap has a 10" screen that sits on top of the chimney which is either cemented or screwed into the bricks. On top of the screen is a lid that sheds the water away The problem was that the screen was too small and the screen was sliding into the chimney as it was not secured and the lid now was only a couple of inches away from the bricks. This was partially blocking the chimney from venting. I felt the responsible thing to do was to remove the cap to make sure that it didn't obstructed the draft of the hot water heater. Just in case. In sum, I conducted myself in a professional and ethical manner. Always, thinking of what is best for the customer regardless of where it would lead me. I think there was some misunderstanding with the message getting to Mr. [Member Name Removed]. Mrs.[Memer Name Removed] was very nice and seems to be listening to what I was telling her. I wish he would have called me before he made this review. Jack Nothardt Certified Chimney Sweep Mass. Unrestricted Contractor License CS-105144 Home Improvement Contractor Registration #112243 OSHA 10 Certified Member Mass. Chimney Sweepers Guild 35 Plus Years Chimney Sweeping Proffessional
5.0

07/31/2017


Carol L.

great. Had to order a part and come back a few days later. Everything was quick, professional and no more than quoted.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and replace chimney cap

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

05/30/2017


Ken M.

Well. Fireplace area was clean and damper was a bit stubborn to get back in place but was accomplished. Good feedback on furnace flue and a draft condition I have been experiencing.

Description of Work
Furnace flue and chimney flue cleaning.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/09/2017


Allison P.

We had a good experience. The guy who came to the house was very courteous and clean. He was a professional employee. He did a good job doing his job. He did recommend some additional services that would have been additional fees. The additional fees seemed a little outrageous for what the work was. We didn't opt for any those add-on services but he did a good job doing the work that he was hired to do.

Description of Work
We recently had some chimney service done. We had just a cap replaced on it. They company is Chim - Chimney. They did a cleaning and replaced the cap on the chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

10/31/2016


Cheryl D.

Description of Work
.....................................

Category chimney sweep

1.0

06/29/2016


Al G.

Lousy, never got a response to my inquiries.

Description of Work
Nothing, never responded to multiple emails

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I apologize for the problem. I always get back to all my customers promptly. I am a new subscriber on Angies List and there was a computer problem that Angies List and I were working on. Something was wrong with the Password and even they could not fix it. I expected a call from them and there was miss communication, and they sent me an email. We been working on this since May. As a new subscriber, I didn't realize that customers would contacted me though the message center. There is so much to learn when you just start out. I just now got it fixed today. And read your review, sorry,for the inconvenience. Jack I hope you can give us a consideration in the future.
4.0

01/01/2016


Phyllis A.

The tech arrived a little later than anticipated due to a misunderstanding. He promptly got to work on inspecting our chimney. The damper was removed and placed where we asked. He thoroughly cleaned our chimney and answered our questions. Only one slight challenge which the company resolved for us. Overall we are very happy with Chim Chimney. They have been our go to company since we purchased our home in 2008. Because of the way they resolved our challenge we have asked them to give us an estimate, in the spring, to do some repair work on our chimney. Lesson learned here is to know what you need, be clear from the start, don't ask for more than you contracted for and if there are challenges call and provide the feedback in a facts only manner. We did and have built a better working relationship with this business.

Description of Work
Removed damper that had been installed in 2008 from the top of our chimney to allow us to have gas logs installed. He also did a complementary cleaning.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

10/28/2015


Angela F.

Went into the office to schedule a cleaning and inspection and inquire on purchasing a pellet stove. Lobby/General area was filled with boxes and debris. Staff was very involved in personal matters discussed loudly and preventing normal professional customer interaction. Scheduling was difficult, but finally managed. On day of service, find that the appointment was not actually scheduled (blamed on someone else) and would need to reschedule. Could not purchase or see a pellet stove as the sales person didn't have any knowledge of Harmon stoves. Do your self a favor and call some one else.

Description of Work
Nothing useful

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/27/2015


Sarah T.

Technician arrived on time, was professional, clean and friendly

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/24/2015


Ofelia H.

The technician was on time. Was very friendly. Went into the faminly room and cleaned my fireplace and damper area. Then he went on to the roof and inspected the top and told me that the furnace flue did not need cleaning. He recommended a chimney cap which we may put on in the spring. He explained how the fireplace works, we had never used it before. Very good experience.

Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected my fireplace.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/29/2014


Carol H.

It had been years since we had used our fireplace so we were not sure just what to expect. However, the service tech did an excellent cleaning job. He used a drop cloth in case of chimney dust so clean-up was also excellent. Happy to recommend this company.

Description of Work
They came out to clean our chimney and adjusted our damper.

Category chimney sweep

4.0

02/24/2014


Janis M.

They were prompt and courteous. Our only complaint is that they didn't vacuum the ashes out of the stove, which, in the past, anyone cleaning the chimney has done. So we were surprised and disappointed by that. A week or so before the visit by Master Chimney Sweepers, another chimney sweeping company had come. After examining the chimney, they told us that the pipe leading from the stove to the chimney was rusted out and that we needed to get a pipe to line the whole chimney to a tune of $2000. Then they wouldn't clean the chimney because they were "afraid the pipe would break" when they tried to. Master Chimney Sweepers checked the pipe, told us that said it was a bit rusty but fine, and did the job with no problem.

Description of Work
Master Chimney Sweepers came and cleaned the chimney that our wood stove is attached to.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

We do not have any record of this customer in our files. Thank You
1.0

05/25/2013


Steven B.

We'd used Chim Chimney about 18 years ago to line our old chimneys before first use, and then occasionally after than to sweep them. They'd been okay but never exemplary. This experience will be our last. Service person arrive 30 min ahead of scheduled appointment, which as surprising but luckily someone was home. We confirmed that the job was to clear the flue, but said we had also wanted them to peek inside two other fireplaces to check out their state. He insisted on doing that first. The first one he looked at he said, "looks pretty dirty, I recommend you clean it". I took a look with his flashlight. The steel liner was thinly coated with creosote, but it looked like I imagine it would from first use on... So I asked him, "how would it look if it didn't need cleaning?" At that point the serviceman turned rude. "I guess you're not going to believe anything I say so I'll just shut up and go do the flue". Since I had asked a legitimate question to help me decide, and not with 'attitude', I was taken aback. "Excuse me?", I said. No response or apology. So... I cancelled the job, asked him to leave. Done with Chim Chimney.

Description of Work
Scheduled to clean our flue, but asked if they would also take a look at our other chimneys. Based on the lack of professionalism exhbited in the first 5 minutes I sent them home and cancelled the service.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

02/05/2013


Renee B.

Please see above.

Description of Work
We had this company clean our chimneys. We also had them install a damper. On the day that the installation was to take place, they did not have the correct cable. The cable had to be ordered and another date was scheduled to install the cable. We had issues with a different fireplace and when the technician arrived, he arrived one day and one hour early. He entered our home with wet & dirty boots after I requested that he remove them. He stated that we needed to have a significant amount of work done including raising the chimney to remedy the issue. I obtained a 2nd opinion and we were able to remedy the situation with a few simple techniques for free! On 2/1/13, the technician was scheduled to be at our residence at a specific time to fix the damper handle that had broken during it's 2nd use. After the technician was 35 minutes late, I called their office. The lady informed me that the technician was running at least 2 hours late but she had forgotten to call me. I was also informed by this woman that my husband had probably thrown a temper tantrum and broke the cable and now I was trying to blame her company to get it fixed for free. I was absolutely appalled by such an accusation, especially since the woman had never even met my husband. When the technician did arrive, he admitted that he had not checked the work of the apprentice that he was training and it was obvious that the cable was never secured. The technician also admitted that he did not leave us the proper tool that comes with the kit to tighten the cable. I will not use this company again. I would not recommend this company to anyone else.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

12/09/2011


Frank N.

I called Chim Chimney for a price and to schedule a sweep. The price was $159, (supposedly a 2 week special) a good price for this area and they were able to schedule me for two days later.The service person arrived on time, was professional, congenial and thorough. While he was here I asked about a chimney cap for the two flues. He gave me a price. I'm not sure whether it was a good price or not because it was a spur of the moment decision to ask about it and I hadn't done research. The price was $356 and he installed it right away. Altogether I was very happy with the service.

Description of Work
Clean wood stove pipes, flue and fire box that was once a fireplace. Removed some pipe in order to clean, replaced the pipe and cleaned up.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

4.0

11/14/2008


sandeep C.

They were professional. He made everything clean. He was a little bit late but it was notified. They were good at making sure I knew what was going on.

Description of Work
They cleaned up the chimney and cleaned up everything.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/31/2008


CAROLYN L.

He was professional, left our place spotless and gave me recommendations on how to solve a couple of problems. He gave me several no-cost ideas on how to prevent smoke from coming into the house. I was very happy with the service.

Description of Work
He cleaned our fireplace flu.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/18/2008


EMILY N.

They contacted me, because they had cleaned out my chimneys several years ago, so I agreed it was time for another cleaning. He showed up early and did a good job (I assume anyway - I didn't actually peer inside the chimneys). Everything was left very clean. He also suggested I could use caps and moisture resistance put on our chimneys and told us how much that would be if we decide to do that in the future.

Description of Work
Cleaned two chimneys.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/05/2008


Patricia N.

The service person, John, was honest, friendly and knew his business. Chim Chimney was our second inspection after the first company we had called did a very cursory inspection for $159 and said we needed to replace the chimney for $1895. The "metal" hanging down in the chimney according to the first company, was only soot according to John. He said all we needed was a chimney cleaning. He encouraged us to look up the chimney with him both before and after the cleaning. John was right, and the chimney is now clean. The stove is working fine. The inspection alone would have been $59, but it was included in the $149 fee for the cleaning.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning of our wood stove metal chimney pipe after a small chimney fire.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

09/25/2006


KATHLEEN A.

Approx. 1 1/2 years later we found large metal chimney cap in yard. Very upset and very grateful it din't hit any of the children. Called company (Carol - told us she is the manager) and was told no gaurantee for hurricane weather and condition of chimney. She actually got mad with me over the phone when I was trying to understand why the cap came off. This did not come off in hurricane since we haven't had one in years. We were told nothing could be done except for us to buy another. I called back and tried to help Carol understand the seriousness of the cap coming off and that we had good reason to be upset. They could've been responsible for a serious injury. At that point she said she would send somebody out to look at chimney. Had a second company check chimney and cap and was told it was the wrong cap and was attatched the wrong way. Her repair person said same thing and they are goinig to replace it at no charge. Still waiting - 4 weeks now.

Description of Work
Chimney cap.

Category chimney repair

1.0

02/04/2003


Carole M.

I HAD WORK DONE 2.5 YRS AGO. SINCE THEN THE WATERPROOFING IS NOT WORKING, TUCK POINTING HAD TO BE REDONE. CALLED THEM LAST WEEK TO COME OUT AND REPAIR WATERPROOFING. WAS MET WITH HOSTILE AND DEFENSIVE ATTITUDE. THEY HAVE NOT YET CALLED BACK. THIS IS A TERRIBLE COMPANY.

Description of Work
TUCK POINTING, WATERPROOFING, INSTALLED FLASHING AROUND CHIMNEY AT ROOF.

Category chimney repair

1.0

09/20/2001


SARA D.

Description of Work
MISSED TWO APPOINTMENTS

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/08/2001


RICHARD K.

Description of Work
CLEANING

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/08/2001

Description of Work
CLEANED OUT CHIMNEY

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    Certified Chimney Inspections

    We have been providing Top Class service to New England for nearly 2 decades. With over 4.5+/5 review on every rating service with nearly 1000+ verified reviews online CERTIFIED is clearly in a league of its own!! As central heating has evolved over the last 100+++ years, many of the venting systems/chimneys have not received proper if any updates. They are often overlooked (out of sight out of mind). In many homes original chimneys were built to be used much differently than what is needed nowadays. As your heating units change- from oil to gas or even coal; or the efficiency/btu output changes; or by adding or removing units, so should the exhaust system/chimney be updated to conform to current units manufacturers recommendations and requirements in order to function safely and efficiently. Many original chimneys are no longer suitable to vent the kind of heating units widely used nowadays. We use only 2-ply smooth-wall stainless steel Flue liners (greatly exceeds all IRC/NFPA requirements), as opposed to the majority of chimney companies that use code-minimum products (single ply or aluminum) for their customers. Although it does meet the minimum code requirements they are inferior in many ways. We use only UL listed material and offer a Lifetime Guarantee on the parts as well as a Lifetime Guarantee on the installation. Due to our volume we are always comparable if not lower in cost to our competitors using cheaper material. Our areas of expertise include: Chimney cleaning, chimney relining, Chimney caps, fireplace cleanings, damper replacement, Crown repair, brick repair, flashing repair, smoke chamber pargeting, Brick sealing, blockage removal, safety inspections, Insurance claim inspections, Oil to gas conversions, safe soot removal, new chimney installation, new fireplace installation, gas fireplace installation, wood burning inserts, wood-burning stoves, pellet inserts, pellet stoves, commercial chimneys.  

    Offers by Certified Chimney Inspections on Angi
    A&D Service

    We offer quality service at an affordable pricing. Contact us today about a Free estimate at 508-851-4260. We count with 15 years of experience and our first priority is customer satisfaction.  

    GARDENS BY THE YARD

    ONLY 10-time Super Service Award Winner in Massachusetts Landscape Industry. Mid-sized landscape design & build. Lawn replacement strategies. Activity and gathering areas, home entries, glorious beds. Exceptional horticulture and site engineering. Owner, Leisha Johnson is an accomplished landscape designer, with hundreds of installed designs. A talented horticulturist and Certified Master Gardener, she holds a Masters' degree in Engineering and has extensive large-scale project management experience. Leisha and her team work to stay current on industry technology, environmental, plant and materials advances. The staff which includes horticulturalists and certified horticulturalists enjoy bringing natural beauty to our clients. Many projects are employing turf alternatives, pollinator gardens, and naturalistic landscapes. The owner holds a Construction Supervisor License (CSL) and pulls permits for projects when needed. We always enjoy a challenge.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney cleaning, liners, waterproofing and repair and restoration, wood stoves, fireplaces, pellet & gas stoves.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc

    How is Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc overall rated?

    Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc provide

    Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc?

    Yes, Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc offer?

    Chim - Chimney Sweepers Company Inc offers the following services: Chimney cleaning, liners, waterproofing and repair and restoration, wood stoves, fireplaces, pellet & gas stoves.