Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

On Duty Chimney Service and Stove

Founded 2010 • With Angi since May 2013

An unswept chimney can lead to home fires or threaten your home with dangerous and unhealthy indoor air quality. As a Chimney Sweep, I will inspect, clean and repair your venting system. Proper maintenance is vital to maintain a safe and efficient heating system. Clean chimneys do not catch fire... have yours inspected and cleaned annually.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
CS-106348
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(13) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews
Vinnie P.
5.0
01/13/2021
They were excellent and they are better than good.
Description of Work
They service the gas log stove.
Category
gas logs
Ida K.
4.0
01/13/2021
They are good.
Description of Work
They clean the chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Mike S.
5.0
11/29/2017
Excellent. Scheduling was easy...especially since it's a busy time for them. Arrived on time. Easy to deal with. Answered questions with straight forward answers.
Description of Work
Required 2 flue chimney swept
Category
chimney sweep
Melanie D.
3.0
12/09/2015
Young gentleman arrived promptly on time, very engaging, professional - inspected our chimney / fireplace in the living room and said it looked in great shape and did not need a cleaning (Great !). He then went and got his ladder and took a look from the top of the chimney down from the roof - came back 10 minutes later and said things do not look so good from up there and that we needed a chimney liner to remain in 'code'. Said that for that day I just owned a chimney inspection fee of $85 and that they would send an itemized quote out for a liner, labor and also an optional chimney cap cost (which I inquired about). We received the email quote the following Tuesday (few days later): $2K for a 6" X 35 foot steel liner + $450 install/labor (+ possible additional $500 labor if need to breakout existing flue tile) $550 for a 33X17 inch steel flue cap + $100 install/labor Within this time we have had three other companies tell us we certainly DO NOT need a liner (chimney is less than 10 years old), and we still asked them for a quote for one - all three were less (ie, $1,800-$2,000 installed versus $2,450). Furthermore - we also asked for a quote on a chimney cap - all three were less expensive there as well (we ended up going with someone for $350 installed, versus $650 which On Duty quoted).
Description of Work
Hired On Duty Chimney to do a chimney inspection and cleaning at our new residence
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our installers our trained and certified through the Chimney Safety Institute of America and provide inspections to the standards as set forth in NFPA 211 of the National Fire Protection Association. Regardless of the age of the chimney, if a chimney flue does not meet the NFPA standard we'll note those conditions. Our liners are heavy-guage stainless steel and come with a lifetime warranty that will outlast the stove or furnace that they are connected to. When pricing liners homeowners should always compare the quality of product and the training level of the installers. Have a great day!
Jack S.
5.0
11/17/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Called them for a cleaning and inspection of draft issues. Only bought the house a year ago, so no idea the last time it was cleaned. They came out, inspected it and said it did not need cleaning. They removed the cap to see if it would help with drafting. That solution did not work, but they came back a few days later with 2 guys and determined our chimney needs to be raised. They did not charge at all for the second visit. Very professional and honest and will use them to raise the chimney at a future date.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to working with you in the future.
Lee B.
5.0
11/10/2015
The professionalism and service provided was impeccable. I was provided with a thorough explanation of services provided, as well as given very fair estimates on chimney repairs that need to be completed. I have already contacted On Duty Chimney to come back to install a steel liner, and will use them again in the spring to replace the brick and masonry on the chimney. I highly recommend On Duty for any chimney cleaning and repair services.
Description of Work
Cleaned fireplace chimney, inspected boiler chimney, provided estimates for steel liner installation and exterior chimney repairs.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thank you for the kind words and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Brian S.
2.0
05/26/2015
The provider came over to clean the chimney and advised of work that needed to be performed. I had another company provide an estimate and they advised that the estimate provided was excessive and some of the work simply not necessary. I ended up having all the repairs done for less than half of the estimate they provided.
Description of Work
This provider only supplied an estimate.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

The work required to do this job right the first time for a lifetime was 2 stainless steel liners (8" and 7") both with complete demo of 2 existing masonry liners including insulation for wood flue. We carry chim scan cameras on both trucks to show exactly where the problem is and view in real time for the customer to see the problem areas. We provide our customers with the highest grade quality products and state of the art inspection equipment, the other company may have not done this providing the customer a disservice and possibly more serious problems down the road.
William P.
5.0
04/16/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Chimney cap, damper installation, firebox repair, |Smoke chamber repair/lining, cleaned fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces
Mike M.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Furnace chimney liner
Category
chimney sweep
Lynn T.
5.0
10/31/2014
This is the second time we have had Brian and his crew. All four men :Kyle, Brent, John and of course, Brian, the owner, were on time, professional and very courteous. This first time Brian came was to assess installing screening on the chimney and check the flue, as we had had a major problem with birds getting in and damaging our new furnace. He also checked the dryer vent and checked in the attic -above and beyond what he needed to do. I was very pleased and asked him to come back and do the installation. He sent Kyle and Brent back. They were fast, thorough and professional. I was charged $150.00 for both visits, the installation, material and labor. Because I was so pleased with them and discovered that they serviced gas fireplaces, I made the appointment to have them do that on 10/28. I had not been satisfied with the previous company who had installed the fireplace 10 years ago. However, they were the only ones who did it that I could find, until I met Brian. They did a fantastic job. I had not seen that fireplace "ever" cleaned that thoroughly - plus the fixed the on/off switch that had given us trouble for years. Done! Can't say enough about Brian and his crew. They have a wide range of services, including installations, etc., so check out the website.
Description of Work
Cleaned, serviced and fixed gas fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep
Andres S.
5.0
02/12/2014
Bryan is a total professional. His company is experiencing some growing pains, and due to this fact there was a miscommunication with regards to the appointment time. I feel sure that this will be rectified promptly and to make amends I received a sizeable discount for the service. The price above is without this discount. Bryan and his colleague were polite, efficient, knowledgeable in answering my questions and completely clean around the house. I am really impressed with their efforts to keep my house clean. From the moment they came in my house they used drop cloths to walk through. They never set foot on my carpet. They were respectful and took the time to answer my questions. Bryan also took a look at my furnace flue as a courtesy to me. I would have no hesitation in recommending On Duty Chimney Sweep for anyone wanting these services, and I believe also that in my area, he is the only certified chimney sweep.
Description of Work
.
Category
chimney sweep
Hans C.
5.0
10/07/2013
This is my second year using On Duty Chimney Sweep, and once again I was very pleased. Two people came out, and went over the details of what I was expecting for service. They brought in their equipment and carefully and respectfully moved what items of furniture needed to be moved, and laid covering down so that they wouldn't dirty the floor. They were very attentive to the insert and cleaned the liner. They gave me some very good feedback on the condition of the insert and liner, as well as my burning habits. They were very professional, and put everything back in its place that they had moved. As a nice final touch they even cleaned the glass to the fireplace door.
Description of Work
On Duty Chimney Sweep cleaned and inspected a fireplace insert.
Category
chimney sweep
H B Z.
5.0
05/05/2013
On Duty Chimney Sweep was a very professional, one-person operaton. Also very personable and accommodating. Cleaned chimney with state of the art equipment, but also had to remove remnants of a brush left by the last person who cleaned chimney (BTW, that brush from the previous cleaner had caused a chimney fire). Bryan LeBlanc of On Duty CS inspected the chimney as well, and advised me of it's condition after the fire. He found no fire-related damage and gave a complete accounting of what residues and quantities thereof that he found inside the chimney -- invaluable information to those of us who heat with wood; it tells us how efficiently and safely our system has been running. He conducted what is a very messy trade in a meticulous manner, covering surfaces and cleaning up completely after each operation: chimney, flue, and cleanout trap. On Duty is exceptional among Chimney Sweeps, in that it is a Certified Chimney Sweep business, something very rare in my neck of the woods. Very knowledgeable and able to answer many questions about chimneys and fuels.
Description of Work
cleaned and inspected chimney.
Category
chimney sweep

Phone

Address

214 Lunenburg Street

Fitchburg, MA 01420

Other Information

Services offered

Cleaning, Wood Stove Flues, Crown Repair, Inspections, Oil & Gas Flues, Fireplaces, Chimney Caps, Waterproofing, Relining Stainless Steel, Preventative Maintenance, Trouble Shooting Performance Problems. Heat shield Products for complete restoration of fireplaces/smoke chambers and flues interior to bring back to code. Complete Sales and service from inspection to final install and operation with annual maintenance also. Your One Stop Chimney/Stove Shop Wood, Gas, Pellet stoves and inserts

Services not offered

N/A

Covid-19 update

We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

On Duty Chimney Service and Stove is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

On Duty Chimney Service and Stove is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

On Duty Chimney Service and Stove accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Ask On Duty Chimney Service and Stove for details on free project estimates.

No, On Duty Chimney Service and Stove does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, On Duty Chimney Service and Stove does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, On Duty Chimney Service and Stove offers warranties.

On Duty Chimney Service and Stove offers the following services: Cleaning, Wood Stove Flues, Crown Repair, Inspections, Oil & Gas Flues, Fireplaces, Chimney Caps, Waterproofing, Relining Stainless Steel, Preventative Maintenance, Trouble Shooting Performance Problems. Heat shield Products for complete restoration of fireplaces/smoke chambers and flues interior to bring back to code. Complete Sales and service from inspection to final install and operation with annual maintenance also. Your One Stop Chimney/Stove Shop Wood, Gas, Pellet stoves and inserts

Other Local Pros In Your Area

European Brothers are committed to top quality Masonry, guaranteed! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Eddie and Simon

5.0

(29)

Angi Certified

Eddie and Simon

Masonry; Stone wall, bricks, blocks, concrete, stairs, pavers, chimney, repairs.  

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!