Care Free Homes, Inc.

About

Founded 1978 • With Angi since September 2008

Care Free Homes, Inc. is a home improvement and construction company with over 40 years of satisfied customers. We have been an A+ rated, accredited member of the Better Business Bureau for over 25 years and carry an extensive list of industry credentials and awards. We specialize in exterior home improvements such as roofing, siding, windows, and construction of decks, porches, pergolas, and sunrooms. We service residential homes, condos, and small to mid-size commercial properties throughout Cape Cod, Southeastern Massachusetts and Rhode Island. Homeowners are invited to speak with Stephanie Pickup if they would like to discuss a potential project and/or schedule a free quote. Financing options are available for qualified homeowners. Find additional customer reviews by exploring Care Free Homes, Inc. on Google, Facebook, and Houzz. Be sure to check out our blog http://carefreehomescompany.com/blog/ for the latest promotions and featured projects. For home improvement inspiration - follow Care Free Homes, Inc. on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, and Houzz!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

Round Sunroom 1

+17 more images

TimberTech AZEK Deck, Atlantis Cable Rails, and SBC Cedar Shingles

TimberTech AZEK Deck, Atlantis Cable Rails, and SBC Cedar Shingles

decks & porches202202739
This homeowner maximized their panoramic ocean views and outdoor living space. We tore down the existing, separate balconies and built a gorgeous TimberTech AZEK deck with Atlantis Cable Rails. The deck sweeps across the entire width of the home and provides plenty of space for our homeowners to entertain and relax. SBC Cedar Shingles dipped in bleaching oil add classic, coastal New England style.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(106) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

74

4

14

3

7

2

7

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

roofing (54)window replacement (33)siding companies (25)decks & porches (23)gutter repair (10)patio enclosures (9)door installation (9)general contractors (7)foundation repair (3)house painting (3)home remodeling (3)flooring (3)
Showing 1-25 of 106 reviews
5.0

08/31/2022


Lisa M.

We recently added a front covered porch to our home - using carefree homes . This is not the first time we have used their services - we replaced all our windows in home - added vinyl siding to the house - w new trim and gutters . The company is quick to respond to your needs - from the quote to the job starting . The quality of work is excellent - Eddie and keven both did an excellent job building the front porch on house -both communicated w us any ideas they had - and went above and beyond to make sure it was exactly what we were looking for . Took their time to be precise w details . I would recommend carefree homes to anyone looking for remodeling - or new build . Great local family owned business . Eddie and Keven are excellent at their craft - and enjoyed working w them greatly .

Description of Work
Front steps

Category decks

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2022

Images

Review for Care Free Homes, Inc. - 239 Huttleston Avenue, Fairhaven, MA - 39856024

Service Provider Response

Wonderful - your house looks gorgeous!! Eddie and Kevin did a great job. Thank you for your continued business, support, and for taking time to share a review :)
5.0

08/04/2022


Colleen C.

Pauline C Florence St. Fall River, Ma Eddie and Kevin replaced two large bow windows, converting them to picture windows - excellent job. I would recommend them to a friend or family member.

Description of Work
Pauline Chandler 648 Florence St. Fall River, Ma Eddie and Kevin replaced two large bow windows, converting them to picture windows - excellent job. I would recommend them to a friend or family member.

Category picture framing, replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2022

Service Provider Response

Great to hear you had a positive experience! Thank you for your business and for taking time to share a review!
5.0

03/08/2022


Antonio C.

This was our first project with Care Free Homes and we are extremely pleased with our porch replacement. At first we were a little nervous about what we envisioned compared to what it would actually look like once finished. Jay and Guyer (framers)eased our minds by constant communication throughout the project. Afterwards the second crew Eddie,Josh and Andrew came in to aluminum wrap headers, replace gutters and down spouts to finalize the project. Their combined attention to detail and quality of work was impeccable. Lastly, where in the world do you find a contractor that doesn't ask for a dime until the job is complete and you are totally satisfied!

Description of Work
porch replacement

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Care Free Homes! We certainly have fantastic crews who do an outstanding job. We're happy to hear you had a positive experience. Thanks for your business and the great review!
5.0

03/02/2022


Erin D.

Thanks to the Carefree Homes New Year New Roof Giveaway. My Brother was the 2022 recipient of a new roof. The care and detailed information we received was beyond what we could have ever expected. Stephanie’s constant communication from the start of the project to finish, is the perfect example of what a company should be. The crew went to work right away and in two days all that was left behind was a beautiful new roof. Thank you for the great work done by all at Carefree Homes and we look forward to working with you on any projects we may have in the future.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2022

Service Provider Response

Welcome to the Care Free family!! We do our best to make our customers feel comfortable with the entire home improvement process. You have a wonderful family - it was a pleasure to work with all you! Thank you for sharing a review and Congratulations to [Member Name Removed]!!
5.0

02/09/2022


Jean D.

This week Care Free Homes completed installing new replacement windows and building a new front and rear porch. The team was lead by Eddie, Josh and Jarraid. They were punctual, very pleasant, worked great as a team and cleaned up after themselves. I would highly recommend this company. Thanks for a job well done Jean DePina

Description of Work
8 new replacement windows, new front porch new rear porch

Category decks, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2022

Service Provider Response

We're happy to hear you had a great experience. Thank you for your business and for taking time to share a review!
5.0

01/29/2022


Colleen P.

Awesome experience! Jay & Gael were professional, prompt and worked in some of the worst winter weather! I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Front porch replacement

Category decks, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2022

Service Provider Response

Jay and Gael are a fantastic team! We're happy to hear that you had an awesome experience. Thank you for your business and the recommendation!
5.0

12/03/2021


Grace F.

Eddie and Josh were very professional and very clean . My husband is excited he does not have to cork the windows just a little touch up on paint. I will definitely recommend CareFree Homes to my family and friends.

Description of Work
replacement windows installed

Category replacement windows

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2021

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that you're happy! Thank you for your business and for taking time to share a review :)
5.0

05/12/2021


Jean A.

Work was done on time and to budget. Started when they said, Crews were excellent, cleaned up every day. Neil & Danny, The Torres Brothers and Jeff & Andrew could not have done a better job. They worked thru winter with snow, blowing cold air and below freezing temps with smiles on their faces. They are all SUPER!!! I would highly recommend Care Free Homes to anyone looking for a home contractor.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding, trim, farmers porch, back porch, roof, bulkhead, exterior doors and storm doors

Category contractors, decks, gutter repair, roofing, siding, doors

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2021

Images

Review for Care Free Homes, Inc. - 239 Huttleston Avenue, Fairhaven, MA - 39329241

+5 More

Service Provider Response

Welcome to the Care Free family! We're certainly proud of the amazing work all of our crews perform on a daily basis. What a beautiful transformation - the photos are great! Thank you for your business and for sharing a review!
5.0

04/07/2021


Walter F.

Just had an old octagon window replaced and shingles replaced with pvc under 2 windows that were rotting from being behind a flower box. Josh and Tony were quick, neat, and excellent craftsmen. Nate specking the project and Dana project managing very professional. Thank you Carefree Homes.

Description of Work
Replace a window and shingles

Category contractors, siding, replacement windows

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to share a review! We're happy to hear that you're happy! Our family appreciates your continued business and support. Thanks for being a loyal Care Free customer!
5.0

02/11/2021


Paul S.

Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thy were honest professional and the windows and trim look fantastic. They stuck to their schedule and always returned calls. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
17 replacement windows plus trim

Category replacement windows

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that you are happy! Harvey Classic windows are definitely a customer and family favorite here at Care Free Homes. Thank you for your business and for taking time to share a review!
5.0

06/22/2019


Patricia S.

Planning and budgeting phase Job hasn’t been done yet

Description of Work
Round porch redo

Category contractors, decks, picture framing, foundation repair

Cost $26,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2019

5.0

04/19/2019


David D.

We began shopping around for contractors for a much needed exterior renovation on our 30 year old house in the fall. From the quotes that came in, Carefree was in the average range, but Dana was very upfront and honest going as far as to provide the pros and cons of the different material that we had tentatively decided on prior to our quote requests going so far as to suggest alternate products and material which weren't an upcharge for them. Our plans were to also include two new garage doors, but it was suggested that we contract that out separately as they would increase the price to subcontract it. We decided to go with them after viewing other example homes they had completed and talking with a neighbor who's house had been renovated prior to us moving to the neighborhood over 10 years before which still looked great. We signed the contract at the beginning of 2019 and by mid-March the work had begun. Following a snow storm, the crew arrived and shoveled the perimeter of the house through some rock hard snow and within a day had the clapboard and wrap of our colonial and attached garage stripped. Work took between 3 and 4 weeks to complete during which three exterior doors were replaced, two decks removed and completely rebuilt with footers and new wrap and siding applied. Boards and trim where rotted were replaced as needed. Minor changes in scope were discussed as the project progressed and the communication always remained professional. The crew at times limited to a couple of guys proceeded professional and quickly. Neighbors home during the day commented on how professional the crew was and the attention they paid to the minor details. Overall the project came in on budget with no hidden or surprising charges. Payments were based on milestones without any upfront down payments. With two young kids I would sweep the area when possible to pick up any stray nails in the yard and driveway, most of which were exposed when the snow melted. The area was straightened up at the end of the day and the final clean-up was performed. Additional material is always prone to be found, but that is expected, but the yard was nicely swept of debris. Window screens damaged during this type of work were also repaired quickly and reinstalled. Neighbors are impressed with the total transformation of the house and we will definitely recommend Carefree to anyone looking to do any work.

Description of Work
Complete exterior renovation and rebuild of two decks.

Category decks, siding, doors

Cost $51,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/29/2019

Images

Review for Care Free Homes, Inc. - 239 Huttleston Avenue, Fairhaven, MA - 37829236

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to share such a thorough and positive review [Member Name Removed]! The house looks gorgeous (we love the color choices for the siding and doors) and we're so pleased to hear that you are happy with the project. Have a wonderful summer with your family and thanks so much for your business!
5.0

04/25/2017


John R.

Very professional company to deal with. The owner came to my house and explained exactly what he would do for me and what materials would be used. After l signed the contract they were out the next week to begin work and took about two weeks to complete despite some very bad weather. The quote for the work was very fair and the workers were neat and respectful. They also didn't ask for any deposit or money up front. I paid upon completion which is not typical of other contractors l have dealt with. I am really pleased with the finished results. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a reliable contractor and wouldn't hesitate to use them again for future projects.

Description of Work
New roof, full gutter replacement, rotten wood repair and covered all trim with white aluminum.

Category roofing

Cost $12,430

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2017

Service Provider Response

Welcome to the Care Free Homes family! We do our very best to make our customers happy! Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to review our company. We appreciate your business and would be honored to serve you again in the future!
5.0

02/15/2017


Ken B.

Excellent. The price was a bit high but the work was exceptional. The workers made custom edgings so that they did not need to use the ugly vinyl stops that usually surround the vinyl siding. The workers were here every day until the work was done and the Foreman was very professional and did any extra work that was needed without me having to mention it to him. He asked my preference and did the work.

Description of Work
Vinyl sided my house and replaced gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing a review. For almost 40 years our goal has been to provide customers with custom, quality home improvements at the most competitive price. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you are satisfied. Thank you for your business and enjoy your Care Free home!
5.0

12/20/2016


Courtney H.

We recently won the $25,000 home make over with care free homes! The experience from start to finish was nothing short of amazing. From our first meeting with Stephanie, I knew we would be in good hands! She makes you feel like you've known each other your whole life :) We won a new roof,vinyl siding, and replacement windows! Every person we dealt with throughout the home makeover was so friendly. Any question I had about the work that was being done was always answered right away. The workers were awesome, very professional, and cared for our property as if it were their own. We were blessed to win this home makeover with such an amazing company! Thank you care free homes for making our home look beautiful :)

Description of Work
We recently won the $25,000 home make over with care free homes! The experience from start to finish was nothing short of amazing. From our first meeting with Stephanie, I knew we would be in good hands! She makes you feel like you've known each other your whole life :) We won a new roof,vinyl siding, and replacement windows! Every person we dealt with throughout the home makeover was so friendly. Any question I had about the work that was being done was always answered right away. The workers were awesome, very professional, and cared for our property as if it were their own. We were blessed to win this home makeover with such an amazing company! Thank you care free homes for making our home look beautiful :)

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We truly enjoyed working with your family on this fun project. Great to hear that you are happy! Enjoy your Care Free home!
5.0

11/30/2016


Claudia P.

I live out of state so Nate and I did a lot of email, texting and phone calls. He is a very patient man. My family said they cleaned the work site up beautifully. My Mother was very impressed with the interior trim work. She said my father would not of found any fault with it, he was an interior finish carpenter.

Description of Work
We had 10 joulses windows replaced with triple pane Harvey casement windows. We elected to only replace 9 and the 10th they closed it up.

Category siding, replacement windows

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/21/2016

Images

Review for Care Free Homes, Inc. - 239 Huttleston Avenue, Fairhaven, MA - 34078769

Service Provider Response

We are happy to hear that you are happy. Outstanding quality and customer service are very important to our family and company. Thank you for your business and for sharing a positive review. We look forward to serving you in the future!
4.0

10/18/2016


M S.

Price was much higher than competitor. We used a different company. However, they were responsive and professional

Description of Work
Replacement windows

Category decks, replacement windows

Cost $18,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2016

5.0

08/24/2015


George J.

Let me start by assuring everyone that I am not related to these people, although my review might sound like it. I would also like to note that they were NOT the cheapest people we spoke with, but the quality of the materials and the initial presentation impressed us. We were not disappointed. Nathan walked us through the project, took a great deal of time to answer all of our questions, and waited a year before we were ready. In that amount of time, his price quote did not appreciably change, either. From the first day their site crew showed up to the time we made our final payment, the crews were on time, polite, efficient, and highly competent. The vast majority of workers we saw were company employees; only the electrician was a subcontractor. I've always considered that important in dealing with large projects. On examination, they decided that the existing deck was not stable enough, so they tore it down, putting in New footings, etc. as they went along. No increase in the estimate! Allowances for things like flooring were more than generous. We decided on some fancy flooring that we had our own flooring guy install. Even he commented that the flooring allowance was more than fair. The finish work was just SUPERB. No sloppiness or slap-dash, "Let's get this finished and get out of here." Many times I saw their installers fuss over small details until they were happy with them, and their standards were light years above mine. At one point, they accidentally installed the wrong color shingles on the architectural roof. I called and the entire roof was replaced AND I received an apology! Now, that's integrity! These are VERY easy people to deal with. No surprises, no gimmicks, no slight of hand. The room is MAGNIFICENT, perhaps even better than we had ever hoped. Yet the style and design was so good that it looks like a natural extension of our home, not an add on. All materials are maintenance free; truly a care free home. I am a great believer in the old axiom, "You get what you pay for." We got a beautiful, maintenance free three season room, backed by a solid warrantee from a solid, honest company that more than just delivers on their promises. We'll go back to Care Free Homes for all of our future projects.

Description of Work
Constructed a three season room on a raised deck area with a storage area beneath.

Category decks, flooring contractor, roofing, architect

Cost $48,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2015

Service Provider Response

Wow! It is wonderful to have such overwhelmingly happy customers share their experience! We can not thank you enough for taking the time to share such a detailed narrative of your project. Our family and company truly takes pride in our workmanship and customer service. Thank you for your business and enjoy your home. We look forward to serving you in the future.
1.0

07/28/2015


Dana W.

We had the quote on extending our deck. the price was reasonable so we signed the contract on April 7, 2015. From that point on we had to initiate all contact. We finally got tired of waiting and on July 24 we sent the the following email. Hello Russell, We have been very disappointed at the complete lack of communication from your company concerning our deck extension. We signed the contract on April 7, 2015 with an estimated completion time of 6 - 10 weeks (IE by June 15th). As of the beginning of June we had not heard from you so we phoned to inquire . We were first told that we were next in line and it would be done the week of June 8th. We didn't hear anything after that and on June 22 we called again and were passed on to your brother Dana's voice mail where we left a message. He finally replied on the 25th saying that they couldn't find a site plan that was need for the permit. I replied that I thought that I had one and would send it by email. This in spite of the fact that you said that you would take care of the plans and permits. I found one that afternoon (June 25) and sent it to him at 2:00 PM. It was not returned so it is on your server somewhere. WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM YOU SINCE. Your company has not behaved in a professional manner giving the impression that you do not care about our business. You have breached the contract and we are therefore cancelling the contract and will be posting this email on Angie's list.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category decks

Work Completed On 07/24/2015

Service Provider Response

Please accept our sincere apologies for any miscommunication and delay of your project. Our family has been serving homeowners for over 37 years and we truly strive to provide a positive experience for each and every customer. Due to an exceptionally high volume of work in such a short period of time, we are experiencing an extremely unusual back log for carpentry projects. It appears that your email went to a generic company account and was lost among the hundreds of emails we receive daily. This, however, is no excuse for a lack of communication and your frustration is completely understandable. We encourage concerned customers to speak directly with Care Free representative, Stephanie Pickup, by calling (508) 997-1111 Ext. 105. She will work to resolve any issues as soon as possible.
5.0

05/09/2015


David H.

They worked in a tidy fashion, cleaning up as they went.

Description of Work
Care Free Homes has done two major projects for us. The replaces the decking and stairs at the front of our house, and replaced a large pool deck and railing. Both jobs were done to a high standard. They are our 'go to' general contractor.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2014

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you enjoy your new deck this summer and are happy to be your "go-to" contractor. We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to serving you in the future.
5.0

04/10/2015


Christina S.

The workers were professional and timely, and worked in brutally cold and windy conditions. As near as I can tell they did a great job! The roof looks fantastic. The clean-up took a while longer than I had expected, but that was mostly just because of a lousy pattern of weather (snow, heavy wind, rain). I did end up cleaning a fair amount of debris myself because I was uncertain when they were coming back, and I was impatient. However, they did come back and finish reasonably promptly. So I'm still giving them all A's, despite that one minor complaint. I would recommend them, and I also would hire them again.

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement, including asphalt shingles and a rubber section for a flat part.

Category roofing

Cost $5,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2015

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback and your business. Great to hear that you love your new GAF Timberline roof! Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We look forward to serving you in the future!
4.0

03/31/2015


Lisa F.

The patio was done by someone the company contracted. It came out out very nice. They were professional and efficient. There was extra work in digging up the old patio and they did a great job. The first deck was completed with no issues and came out fine. We had one shed demolished and removed and another pre-made shed built. They built a foundation and put together the new shed. They did a good job on both. The pool deck took quite a while to construct. Overall it is fine. A couple of issues: nails were left sticking out and unfinished, pool cover wouldn't fit even after it was mentioned that the deck was too close to the pool rim. A service person had to come back out and try to cut away some of the decking to accommodate the cover. Latch on the gate was not installed properly and a service person had to come back out. Replaced a window. Work was completed by a different worker. There was no call to arrange the installation prior to day of install and he just showed up. Window replacement trim was left unpainted. I was told I could paint it. There was a lack of communication with the foreman / coordinator. I had to continue to call to get start date and work started.

Description of Work
A couple of decks, a patio, window and shed's.

Category decks, handyman service, replacement windows, foundation repair, patios

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2014