Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Chimney Doctor Plus Inc

Founded 1976 • With Angi since November 2002

4.1

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O.Box 490940

EVERETT, MA 02149

Description

A small family business that has been in Concord 30 years. Estimates for work are at no charge. Pricing for cleanings are a set fee. All other work is given to the customer on a written proposal. Referrals and insurance certificates are available upon request. We do not service gas fireplace units.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/23/2020


Marcia S.

Service was prompt, skilled and efficient at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
N/A

Category chimney repair

5.0

10/23/2020


John Q.

No issues.

Description of Work
Flashing around where the chimney enters the house and replacement and repair around the stack opening.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

10/19/2020


Katie E.

It went very good. He was very reliable, he came on time, he put new caps on two of my chimneys and cleaned it out.

Description of Work
He did some mason work on my chimney and he cleaned it out.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

10/14/2020


Matt F.

It was perfect, very clear, he knows what he's doing, did it well and thoroughly.

Description of Work
They installed a flue liner and chimney cap.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

03/31/2015


Tamara D.

They were great. Very experienced, knowledgeable, responsive, honest. All the things you would want!

Description of Work
Cleaned our chimney and liner.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

06/16/2014


Michael W.

Work was done in a courteous and professional manner. Work had to be rescheduled at the last minute due to weather concerns, and it took longer than I would have liked to coordinate the new schedule. Owner includes valuable good advice, tips, and observations based on his years of experience

Description of Work
Replaced several firebricks in the firebox. Repaired a crack. Cleaned the flue.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

01/19/2014


Betsey C.

I say No, re using them in the future, because I hope that it's a one-time repair that will not be needed again in my lifetime. They are responsive, pleasant to deal with, punctual, and clearly observe high standards of workmanship. The price ended up less than the estimate, a pleasant surprise. Overall, a positive experience and I can recommend Chimney Doctor Plus.

Description of Work
They rebuilt my chimney from the roof line up.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

01/06/2014


Aaron S.

The technician showed up right on time, did a great job and left no mess! He even inspected the chimney for any damage that might be a hazard in the future.

Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney of our wood burning fireplace stove insert. The job was quick, professional and perfectly clean! We will be calling next year when we need the service again!

Category chimney repair

5.0

11/09/2012


LISA N.

Answered call promptly, arrived on time, were professional and not greedy. They explained that chimney didn't always need to be cleaned and let me know it could still go a year. Explained how often it should be cleaned based on use. I never had a chimney sweep explain that to me before. It was much appreciated! They even had a diagram available for further explanation. When Walter went to leave the house when he was almost done, he left the door open behind him. I have cats and I am vigilant about outside doors remaining closed, I was nearby and shut the door. Walter explained he thought his associate was right behind him. I would certainly use them again!

Description of Work
Had them clean out the chimney

Category chimney sweep

5.0

06/15/2012


Bayard P.

No flim flam here. The Chimney Dr is honest and professional. You may not love the price but you get what you pay for, that is thorough, detailed, honest work. . I will not use anyone else!

Description of Work
a flu liner at one house, a cap at another, inspections

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

1.0

01/28/2011


ELIZABETH K.

see above

Description of Work
put a liner in chimney that services the furnace.Measured the top of the chimney incorrectly so the cover didn't fit. Was late for appointments, didn't show. Measured a fireplace glass cover incorrectly so we waited three more weeks to get one that fit. Was supposed to submit a corrected invoice but didn't. Failed to contact us over the summer even though they had 3 phone numbers. Totally unprofessional.

Category chimney repair

4.0

05/25/2010


Dave R.

Chimney cleaned and cap put on. Everything is good

Description of Work
Had chimney cleaned and cap put on

Category chimney sweep

4.0

09/27/2007


Laura G.

This is a very messy job. They did, however put down plastic and cleaned everything up. I was surprised at how much stuff was inside my chimney. They made sure to clean up the mess for the most part.

Description of Work
The Chimney Doctor cleaned my chimney with long brushes from the inside of my home.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/21/2007


WILLIAM E L.

I thought this was going to be a big mess and I guess in a way it was. They did, however put down plastic and cleaned everything up. I was surprised at how much stuff was inside my chimney. They did a great job.

Description of Work
The Chimney Doctor cleaned my chimney with long brushes from the inside.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

11/22/2006


EDWARD H.

The liner is probably clean. But, as in our experience with The Chimney Doctor in the past (with a single-story house & chimney, and when we asked them to install the 30' liner when we moved to this new house), this organization has proven to be very off-putting and difficult to work with. The first appointment this year included their arrival in the rain, only to scold us for having a bend in the pipe and to leave the job because of a wet roof (when they had full knowledge before arriving that the roof is tough). The second appointment was a no-show with no cancellation nor any call for re-schedule. The third appointment (when my wife was home alone) caused my wife to burst into tears because they belittled her and our fireplace so badly. My wife came very close to either throwing them out or calling the police. They scolded us for having a dirty chimney! ''People like you have no idea how to use a woodstove,'' they said, instead of offering helpful services or friendly advice.

Description of Work
Cleansed the 6'' woodstove chimney liner -- about 25-30' tall, including having to gain access from the rooftop, which is atop a very steep roof that extends over a major hill below.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

04/01/2002


PHILIP & MEGHE S.

SAID MY CHIMNEY DID NOT NEED TO BE CLEANED BUT IT NEEDED A NEW LINER AND MASONRY WORK. THREE OTHER COMPANIES SAID THE WORK WAS NOT NEEDED. I WOULD NOT CALL HIMAGAIN.

Description of Work
CHIMNEY INSPECTION

Category chimney sweep

1.0

11/29/2001


STEPHANIE C.

COMPANY RECOMMENDED EXTENSIVE WORK INCLUDING TEARING DOWN THE EXISTING CHIMNEY AND REPLACING IT. MEMBER SOUGHT SEVERAL OTHER OPINIONS, ALL OF WHOM TOLD HER SHE DIDNT NEED THAT MUCH WORK DONE.

Description of Work
ESTIMATE FOR CHIMNEY WORK.

Category chimney repair

4.0

07/01/2001

Description of Work
CLEANED AND REPAIRED THE CHIMNEY

Category chimney repair

4.0

07/01/2001

Description of Work
CLEANED AND REPAIRED THE CHIMNEY

Category chimney sweep

1.0

04/27/2001


MARNI S.

THE PERSON THAT CAME OUT WAS VERY OFFENSIVE AND RUDE.

Description of Work
CLEANED OUT CHIMNEY AND INSTALLED CLEAN OUT DOOR

Category chimney sweep

4.0

04/19/2001


ARCHIE & DIANA L.

HIGH QUALITY. EXPENSIVE, BUT GOOD.

Description of Work
CHIMNEY REPAIRS

Category chimney repair

5.0

01/08/2001

Description of Work
CLEANS CHIMNEY

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/08/2001


JAMES Y.

Description of Work
CLEANED

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    American Made Masonry LLC

    American Made Masonry LLC is a full service masonry company servicing greater Boston and beyond. We are fully licensed and insured and we provide free estimates and follow-up service. We specialize in all types and stages of masonry construction, including stairs, walkways, chimneys, patios, fireplaces, walls, driveways, paving stones, all types of concrete work, and more. We also do all types of general masonry repairs, including repointing, chimney extensions, and waterproofing. Direct contact email americanmademasonry@yahoo.com. Award wining.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Eddie and Simon

    Masonry; Stone wall, bricks, blocks, concrete, stairs, pavers, chimney, repairs.  

    Angi Certified

    MasonWorks LLC

    MasonWorks specializes in design and construction of all types of stone and brick patios, walls and walkways, steps, decks and porches, outdoor kitchens and water falls, garden and retaining walls. From the first consultation to the final touches of each job, you will be in excellent hands. With more than three decades of experience, MasonWorks will assist you in every stage of the project, from materials choice to furniture selection. Your dream of owning an elegant and relaxing backyard retreat can become a reality. Family owned. Additional contact name - Jeff Souza. Additional e-mail - jeff@masonworks.me. Angie's List Award winning since 2009. Additional area served- Boston Metro, North sure and West  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    157669
    Trade License Locale
    Massachusetts
    Trade License Authority
    Massachusetts: Home Improvement
    Trade License Expiration
    05/03/2024
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Caps, Interior & Exterior Masonry Repairs, S.S. Chimney Lining, Brick Waterproofing, New Lead Flashing & Fireplace Repair

    Services Not Offered

    We do not maintain gas fireplace equipment

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chimney Doctor Plus Inc

    How is Chimney Doctor Plus Inc overall rated?

    Chimney Doctor Plus Inc is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Chimney Doctor Plus Inc open?

    Chimney Doctor Plus Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc provide

    Chimney Doctor Plus Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Chimney Doctor Plus Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Chimney Doctor Plus Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Chimney Doctor Plus Inc?

    Yes, Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offer?

    Chimney Doctor Plus Inc offers the following services: Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Caps, Interior & Exterior Masonry Repairs, S.S. Chimney Lining, Brick Waterproofing, New Lead Flashing & Fireplace Repair

    Are there any services Chimney Doctor Plus Inc does not offer?

    We do not maintain gas fireplace equipment