Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Boxford Chimney Sweep

Founded 1989 • With Angi since May 2009

4.8

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

26 bayview ave

Danvers, MA 01923

Description

Family owned and operated. The Boxford Chimney Sweep is fully licensed and insured and guarantees their work. We have been working for major utilities as well as licensed plumbers and contractors since 1995.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/05/2021


Carol F.

Excellent! We were quoted a much higher price but once we removed the wall and they had access to the area they were going to be working in, we learned that they could use our original pipe that connected our furnace to the chimney. All they needed to do was install the liner and this saved us several hundred dollars! They left the area as clean as it was when they arrived and were very professional throughout the entire process. I wouldn't hesitate to use them again and I highly recommend Boxford Chimney Sweep!

Description of Work
We needed to have a liner installed in our chimney after we installed a new heating system.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/14/2020


Anne D.

Wonderful job! Very polite, a pleasure to deal with, prompt and by far the best price of any company.

Description of Work
Cleaned and Lined Chimney

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

11/20/2018


Elizabeth M.

John and his crew were simply superb. Not only did they put in two chimney liners and chimney caps for us for a competitive price, but they also helped us out by removing an old unneeded satellite dish on the roof and shoring up a crumbling pillar in the basement. When one unit's heat did not come back on (the fault of aging equipment, not John's work), they came back to fix the problem and make sure the boiler fired. One worker even fixed a broken gate latch in his spare time! I couldn't recommend them more highly!

Description of Work
Chimney liners

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

06/13/2018


Frank B.

Excellent. Prior to the beginning of the job there were many questions with regard to the liner and the re-build of the chimney stack. John was very thorough in what needed to be done and how it needed to be done so as to not incur any additional cost (headaches). When the time came for the work to be done, John and Miguel showed up on time and went right to work. Within a matter of hours, the chimney liner, exhaust manifolds for the furnaces and hot water heater were all installed - all with no trace of him being there beyond his completed work. John was a consummate professional from beginning to end. If I had another chimney I'd hire him again.

Description of Work
relined chimney with SS liner and reconfigured all furnaces and hot water heaters into a central manifold

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

02/05/2018


Judy J.

The owner made the initial visit to assess what was needed, then she called later that day to set a date for the work. The crew arrived as scheduled and got right to work. They were professional, competent, and respectful of both me and my property. When the job was done, the foreman gave me a detailed tour of what had been accomplished, advised me on what to watch out for in future and how much time should pass before I should need similar service again. I loved them and would hire them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
I needed the fireplace and chimney inspected and some repairs done.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

01/02/2018


Ediss G.

EXCELLENT! We've been without heat for 5 days. John diagnosed the problem with the chimney flue (a former contractor who re-pointed the bricks dropped concrete into the flue, essentially cutting off all air) and made all the repairs. He, Miguel and Paul were very professional, competent and courteous. Brittani was excellent in setting it all up! Would definitely recommend!

Description of Work
diagnose and clean chimney flue

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

08/01/2017


Robert M.

This company was excellent very professional and great work. Top shelf family run company.

Description of Work
Chimney repair and liner installation

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

08/01/2017


Robert M.

The company was very professional and completed the job in a very timely manner.

Description of Work
Needed a flue liner and cap.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

01/02/2017


Mark H.

Excellent. Dave cleaned it from inside the house and not on top of roof working down. I have had chimney cleaned every year for over 20 years and never seen this techique. Definitely safer; he came with roof covered in snow

Description of Work
Cleaning of a woodstove chimney

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

02/04/2016


Jordan B.

They were a pleasure to do business with from scheduling (and rescheduling) the estimate to the work itself. Boxford was very responsive and proactive in communications, prompt, and brought one of the most courteous work crews I've ever encountered. They did meticulous work, explained everything without talking down to me, and came across as honest and very customer-focused. I was especially impressed that, after removing the boiler vent to inspect the flue during their visit for the free estimate, they patched up the wall with fresh cement at no charge when part of it crumbled due to age upon inspection. That is how you should do business, by going the extra mile and earning the customer's loyalty.

Description of Work
Installed a 30 foot stainless steel 6" wide chimney liner, new vent attachments to the existing gas-fired steam boiler and water heater.

Category chimney repair

5.0

10/05/2015


Jesse W.

Boxford did a great job!! Always got a quick reply via email or phone, even during off hours. They had the best price, came highly recommended by my plumber, who's been in business a long time, and they didn't leave a mess. Great, on time work!

Description of Work
Relined chimney with aluminum liner. Installed full cap/top to chimney on roof.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

09/11/2015


Ellen T.

Perfect considering that the installation was on a building more than 150 years old and 4 stories high. John, his daughter, Britany and their team worked h****** a very hot day. They were efficient and professional. They didn't complain about the difficulty of maneuvering vehicles in Beacon Hill and they were on time. They took extreme care in trying to keep the house clean.

Description of Work
Clean chimney& install a stainless steel liner.

Category chimney repair

5.0

07/18/2015


Carol S.

The description of what Boxford Chimney did does not adequately explain the job and how satisfied I was with it. They came - a crew of 4 in 3 trucks - to install an aluminum liner in the flue so that a hot water heater would vent properly. After evaluating the situation, they found that directly adjacent to the broken down flue requiring the liner was an intact, never-used, pristine flue. They explained that, because the second flue was in perfect shape, they could reconnect the hot water heater to it and a liner would not be needed. As a result, they charged me only $350 rather than the $600 it would have cost to have the liner installed. From my first contact with Boxford Chimney when they responded to my initial call right away and explained patiently and in detail over the phone what they expected the job to entail, to their arrival on-time to do the job, to their honesty and integrity in not installing and charging me for an apparently unnecessary flue liner, to their competency and professionalism, the company was absolutely first-rate. I had heard horror stories about chimney companies taking advantage of customers who obviously didn't have the knowledge to question their often extremely costly recommendations, but Boxford Chimney is NOT one of them. I will definitely call them again when and if I have other chimney issues. Finally, I found it odd that a reviewer concluded the company was "terrific" and its pricing"very good" but still gave it an overall rating of "B" rather than an "A". More bizarrely, another reviewer gave the company an "F" simply because it didn't perform a particular service at that time of year, even though the company called the reviewer back to explain this within 2 hours of getting the initial call. Many companies wouldn't have done the caller the courtesy of even calling back when they knew they couldn't do the job. Boxford Chimney shouldn't have their ratings negatively affected by a disgruntled reviewer who simply didn't like the company's prompt and honest answer.

Description of Work
Evaluated the venting flue in our chimney and reconnected the hot water heater to it.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], first and foremost thank you very much for your lovely review. We take pride in the business that we have established. We always appreciate everyone's feedback as it helps us to grow as a company. It was a pleasure working for you!
4.0

05/19/2015


Peter R. D.

They were terrific. Their pricing was very good.

Description of Work
They put a lining on my chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

01/13/2015


elaine J.

The Boxford Chimney team was superb! Prompt,Pleasant, Professional, Reasonably priced. Excellent work. I recommend them highly!.

Description of Work
Replaced chimney liner

Category chimney repair

5.0

01/01/2015


John G.

They did a really nice job. Squeezed us in as a recently installed high efficiency furnace was blowing clouds of exhaust all over our front yard and we needed to find a way to vent this out our chimney. They suggested we use the flue from an unused basement fireplace and came out the morning of Christmas Eve to do the work. A new stainless steel liner was installed and they gave us helpful guidance for our HVAC company in venting the condensate via the flue. The team was incredibly friendly, worked quickly and left the room immaculate. We were very happy with their work.

Description of Work
Installed stainless steel chimney liner

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

12/24/2014


Vladimir G.

I needed new chimney liners, and I was going to have 2 stainless steel ones installed. But another contractor who was going to install a new boiler for me proposed to connect the water heater exhaust to the same chimney flue the boiler exhaust was already connected to so that it was enough to install just 1 liner. This contractor recommended Boxford Chimney Sweep to do this work. Boxford Chimney Sweep did both heater exhaust connection and liner installation in less than 2 hours. I have no issues with the quality of this work.

Description of Work
Installing a new chimney liner and connecting a water heater exhaust to a chimney flue.

Category chimney repair

1.0

11/05/2014


Mike S.

I contacted Boxford Chimney this morning to set up an appointment to have my fireplace chimney looked at and, if necessary, repaired. I was called back within two hours, and was told in no uncertain terms that they will not look at fireplace chimneys at this time of year, only heating system chimneys. Since this is a time of year when people commonly prepare their fireplace chimneys for winter use, I was surprised that they turned away my business. I don't think I'll bother contacting Boxford Chimney again in the future if they're so busy they can't work on a chimney.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately we only perform fireplace service in the Spring and Summer months. This may not be common practice with other companies but this is our policy. I apologize that we were unable to fulfill your request at this time.
5.0

10/13/2014


Naomi P.

They worked with us the home owners and the HVAC company to figure out the best plan to make our house safe and efficient. They arrived on time, communicated well and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Installed chimney liner for gas burner.

Category chimney repair

2.0

08/09/2014


Christopher F.

As of 08/09, we had not heard back from Boxford Chimney. We have moved forward with another company. Considering that they came highly recommended, we are disappointed with their responsiveness and inadequate communication. We do not recommend unless you have time to waste. Sorry Boxford Chimney, but this is business, this is our time, and this was a negative experience.

Description of Work
We contacted this company via Angie’s List on 07/17. We expressed our desire to repair and/or replace the crown on our chimney. We told Boxford Chimney that they had come highly recommended, however, that we lived in Marlborough and that I didn’t see that on their servicing area. The website said that they would consider alternative work locations. On 07/22 they responded via Angie’s list asking for us to send them our contact information so we could discuss it over the phone. On 07/23, we responded with the requested information.

Category chimney repair

5.0

04/15/2014


Peter R. D.

They did an extremely efficient job. They are a great company. There was a crew of 4 people and it took most of the morning to complete the job. The results were good. They had a better estimate than other companies.

Description of Work
They put in a chimney liner.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

02/24/2014


MARY R.

Exceed expectations Half price of others that were top rated

Description of Work
chimney liner

Category chimney repair

5.0

02/19/2014


Grigorios L.

They did an amazing job at a fraction of the price other chimney firms would charged us. We call them on Friday and they came on Monday that was President's day. Stayed for 3 hrs to complete the job. They did an excellent job using the highest quality materials. Other chimney firms wanted $1500 more for the same job (those with high reviews here on Angies). I would definitely recommend Boxford Chimney to anyone. They are very inexpensive and do a high quality job.

Description of Work
A breakdown of the job: Chimney 1 (40 feet high): cleaned about 30 gallons of debris and installed a cleaning door for future access. Chimney 2 (40 feet high): They cleaned the chimney, used core drill to create an access panel since the chimney was more than 1 feet hidden in the interior. They also replaced an 8 feet pipe from the boiler to the chimney with a MetalBest 7UT-48 (very expensive double wall pipe). Finally, they partially rebuild the chimney and the support around this pipe.

Category chimney repair

5.0

11/22/2013


Cheryle G.

Returned initial call immediately. Came out next day to estimate. Made money saving recommendations. Quickly scheduled work.Showed up on time AND cleaned up thoroughly. Prices were a tiny bit higher than other estimates for individual parts but less costly overall as recommended less expensive liner that was actually more appropriate to my situation.

Description of Work
New liner, new cap, smoke tite

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

1.0

09/20/2013


Maurice C.

John and his team were challenging to get in touch with by telephone and email. You can even see or their website that it says and quot;Leave a message and we will call you back.and quot; This is a sure sign of the communication issues that will follow. After scheduling a date for a free estimate, the workers accommodated my schedule and were able to meet with me before work to review the job. Due to their price and confidence about the work that needed to be completed, I selected Boxford Chimney for the repairs. I was guaranteed that the new liner would fix my chimney issue but it did not work. The boiler is still spilling carbon monoxide into my basement and is no better than before the $3,000 repair. I have had three different plumbers check my boiler, which is only 8 years old, and they said that it is in perfect condition and looks like new on the inside. They also said the issue still lies somewhere in the chimney. John and his team, thankfully, came back to inspect the chimney and check the draft issue. They were thorough in their investigation but were unable to determine what was wrong. Upon leaving, John said he would be in touch with my plumber and would contact me soon. I have contacted him through both phone and email but he has not returned any of my messages. Long story short: I wasted $3,000 and could not be more let down by the communication issues and poor customer service I've experienced with Boxford Chimney. I highly recommend having your work completed elsewhere. They made a repair that did not solve my issue and since have avoided me.

Description of Work
Installed a stainless steel smooth sided liner to fix a venting issue with my boiler. Also completed a spray treatment in the chimney interior to ease cleaning and protect the walls.

Category chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Certified Chimney Inspections

    We have been providing Top Class service to New England for nearly 2 decades. With over 4.5+/5 review on every rating service with nearly 1000+ verified reviews online CERTIFIED is clearly in a league of its own!! As central heating has evolved over the last 100+++ years, many of the venting systems/chimneys have not received proper if any updates. They are often overlooked (out of sight out of mind). In many homes original chimneys were built to be used much differently than what is needed nowadays. As your heating units change- from oil to gas or even coal; or the efficiency/btu output changes; or by adding or removing units, so should the exhaust system/chimney be updated to conform to current units manufacturers recommendations and requirements in order to function safely and efficiently. Many original chimneys are no longer suitable to vent the kind of heating units widely used nowadays. We use only 2-ply smooth-wall stainless steel Flue liners (greatly exceeds all IRC/NFPA requirements), as opposed to the majority of chimney companies that use code-minimum products (single ply or aluminum) for their customers. Although it does meet the minimum code requirements they are inferior in many ways. We use only UL listed material and offer a Lifetime Guarantee on the parts as well as a Lifetime Guarantee on the installation. Due to our volume we are always comparable if not lower in cost to our competitors using cheaper material. Our areas of expertise include: Chimney cleaning, chimney relining, Chimney caps, fireplace cleanings, damper replacement, Crown repair, brick repair, flashing repair, smoke chamber pargeting, Brick sealing, blockage removal, safety inspections, Insurance claim inspections, Oil to gas conversions, safe soot removal, new chimney installation, new fireplace installation, gas fireplace installation, wood burning inserts, wood-burning stoves, pellet inserts, pellet stoves, commercial chimneys.  

    Offers by Certified Chimney Inspections on Angi
    Jim Sullivan Masonry

    I have been in the trade since 1976, bricklayers union local 3, first business started in 1985. I am the sole owner of jim sullivan masonry LLC. I am present on every job doing the work with one helper. It is a 2 man crew. We work for cash or checks & can make payment arrangements if needed. Award winning. Additional DBA- Sullivan Chimney Cleaning.  

    Offers by Jim Sullivan Masonry on Angi
    The Fireplace Guys LLC

    WE ARE CURRENTLY ONLY OFFERING GAS FIREPALCE SERVICE AND REPAIRS IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO BOOK AN APPOINTMENT PLEASE GIVE THE OFFICE A CALL AS WE ARE UNABLE TO CHECK THIS SITE ON A CONSISTENT BASIS 617-455-5086  

    Offers by The Fireplace Guys LLC on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Chimney Cleanings, Chimney Lining, Chimney Caps & Dampers, Chimney Repairs, Video inspections, Clean-out doors, Installing metal chimneys, Carbon monoxide problems, New heating equipment venting.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Boxford Chimney Sweep

    How is Boxford Chimney Sweep overall rated?

    Boxford Chimney Sweep is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Boxford Chimney Sweep open?

    Boxford Chimney Sweep is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    What payment options does Boxford Chimney Sweep provide

    Boxford Chimney Sweep accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express, Discover

    Does Boxford Chimney Sweep offer free estimates?

    Yes, Boxford Chimney Sweep offers free project estimates.

    Does Boxford Chimney Sweep offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Boxford Chimney Sweep does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Boxford Chimney Sweep offer a senior discount?

    No, Boxford Chimney Sweep does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Boxford Chimney Sweep?

    No, Boxford Chimney Sweep does not offer warranties.

    What services does Boxford Chimney Sweep offer?

    Boxford Chimney Sweep offers the following services: Chimney Cleanings, Chimney Lining, Chimney Caps & Dampers, Chimney Repairs, Video inspections, Clean-out doors, Installing metal chimneys, Carbon monoxide problems, New heating equipment venting.