Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2004

We are a family owned and operated business serving Dennis, Buzzards Bay and greater Cape Cod, Massachusetts, which allows us to charge our clients the fairest and lowest prices, comparative to other companies. You’ll find we will call you back when other companies won’t! Since 1986, we’ve offered a wide variety of chimney services to our satisfied clients. Our employees are all friendly professionals who are trained in the chimney business and we’re happy to address your questions and concerns. We take our time to make sure that each problem is fixed completely and correctly, ensuring proper functioning of your chimney. Quality chimney maintenance and repair can keep your chimney clean and clear, allowing you to sit back and relax around the fire without worry. Old Tyme Chimney Sweep is the premier business for all of your chimney needs. We are located in Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts, and are proud to provide our clients with dependable and affordable services to update, fix and maintain their chimneys. Our services range from installation and maintenance to chimney caps, chimney water sealing, chimney lining and chimney relining. We have the best equipment in the business to handle any kind of job, and no job is too big or too small. Call us today to schedule your appointment - (508) 759-0930 or visit our website at www.oldtymechimneysweep.com

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
192462
Trade License Locale
Massachusetts
Trade License Authority
Massachusetts: Home Improvement
Trade License Expiration
07/11/2024
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(138) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 138 reviews
Andrew E.
5.0
12/06/2018
Work consisted of a significant amount of repointing, replacing a couple of bricks, new crown coat at the top of the chimney and complete water sealing. The crew was prompt and professional, and took care to clean up the job site when they were done.
Description of Work
Chimney Repairs
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Millie M.
5.0
11/17/2018
They came out and they were terrific. They are a family business. They are very good, they cleaned up after themselves, very quick and reasonably priced. I Highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Chimney sweep.
Category
chimney sweep
Garrett K.
5.0
10/16/2018
Work was very well done and we would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Clean chimney and above fireplace of squirrel nest and repair screen at top of chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces
Remi M.
5.0
10/15/2018
They came and did an excellent job cleaning the chimney and answering any question we had. It took a month for them to come but they did try to move the date earlier thanks to a cancellation unfortunately we were not available but I really appreciated the effort. I would higlhy recommend them.
Description of Work
Sweep 3 chimneys
Category
chimney sweep
Erin S.
5.0
09/13/2018
Excellent service! I would highly recommend and use him again.
Description of Work
Chimney cleaned and inspected
Category
chimney sweep
Susan C.
5.0
07/26/2018
Great. Dan was in touch, prompt, efficient and professional.
Description of Work
Inspect Flue for Obstructions
Category
chimney sweep
Rachel A.
5.0
02/15/2018
Excellent Job. Responded immediately to all questions.
Description of Work
Chimney repair, chimney repointIng
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Jonathan O.
5.0
08/15/2017
I thought about the price overnight. I called Dan the next day. We scheduled a date to put two chimney caps on and re-point both chimneys. Dan and his team are hard workers and do a good job. Dan is a very thorough guy. I would call him back in a second and recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
I was getting water down my chimney during torrential rain storms. I also needed my two chimneys re-pointed. I reached out to three places through Angie's List. I heard back from one right away. I am still waiting on the other two. I made an appointment with Dan. He came to my house and assessed the situation. He gave his recommendation and price.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
b S.
3.0
06/20/2017
Good, clean process. Assumed wrong that for the price the box in basement would be cleaned too. Not sure if the chimney was actually cleaned too as invoice states "sweep firebox and vac out soot. Paid for chimney sweep.
Description of Work
Chimney capped, 1 firebox brick replaced and 1 repaired, sweep
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps
Dennis C.
5.0
05/01/2017
made an appointment for 2 days after call. Arrived when they said they would. Went straight to work, had all needed materials with them. Completed job. presented bill and were paid on the spot. If all contractors worked like this the world would be a better place.
Description of Work
seal leaking chimney cap, add fire screen and cap to flues
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Michael T.
5.0
03/20/2017
The communication was great! the weather was all over the place and Dave called me several times to update me on when they would be able to come out to do the work. When we finally got a break of good weather, he called me on a Thursday to report they'd be there first thing Monday morning if that worked for my schedule. The crew arrive right on time at 0800 and after a couple of hours finished the job, gave the invoice to my husband and went on their way. Very professional and courteous.
Description of Work
Called Old Tyme chimney to make repairs when we found interior water damage from the chimney. Dave came out the next day and worked up a quote to remove and replace 9 bricks, repair the smoke shelf, fix the chimney crown, seal flashing and water seal the chimney. Additionally, he repaired a chipped brick on my front stoop.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Rebecca T.
1.0
02/13/2017
Terrible. Didn't finish by putting my cap back on chimney, didn't return multiple calls, when I finally spoke to them they said it wasn't necessary. But it was! Without cap the repair froze over in winter (not ever a problem w the cap on chimney) and caused smoke & damage to my home!
Description of Work
Cannot get a hold of them or get them to call back. Left without putting my chimney cap back on. I called, they never returned call. A month later they called asking for payment owner said he had been away while work was done, though I sent check (echeck) that day and confirmed w worker when he left, as well as telling them when I scheduled. They did call not about my multiple voicemails regarding the chimney cap. When I brought it up they said I didn't need it. They didn't mention that without it I couldn't have a fire in the winter ! The new flu they put on the chimney froze over with ice and snow so didn't work, which is not a problem w the cap on!! This almost caught my house on fire and caused my house to be filled with smoke!
Category
chimney sweep
Janice D.
5.0
02/02/2017
The reviews are spot on. Dan was on time and on budget with the chimney cleaning, inspection and repairs. Would definitely recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Clean chimney and repaired bricks.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Barry H.
5.0
12/09/2016
They did it timely and I thought it was reasonably priced. I think they are about average price, but they do a nice job. The cost was $350 for chimney repair, re-pointing on the exterior. He would be the person I would go to, to have my chimney cleaned. He called me back because we were away in the winter time to remind me that we wanted to do the work when the weather broke.
Description of Work
I had service done Old Tyme Chimney Sweep with them. I had my chimney cleaned. They also did some chimney repair for me. He cleaned the chimney. He repaired the firebox and then, I had some exterior work.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Norman P.
5.0
12/04/2016
Estimate given over the phone and appointment made. They showed up a little early and worked efficiently doing a good job and were gone. Cost was as they had quoted. I would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Replace two cast iron doors at foot of chimney
Category
chimney repair
John S.
1.0
10/28/2016
I bought a deal from Angie's list and never heard back from the company. I finally called a few days later only to hear that the company had never gotten a notice from Angie's List. The owner was interested in what we needed. When I told him that we had two fireplaces and one chimney he told me that I owed him another $205.00. This was after I had to call him to let him know that my order was lost. I don't know if the problem was the company or Angies List, because he said that he never got a notice that I had made a purchase.
Description of Work
I needed our fireplace inspected to make sure that it was ready to use.
Category
chimney sweep
Richard D.
5.0
07/11/2016
Great and we will be using this service to replace the lining in the near future.
Description of Work
Check the flutes and determined that the lining needed to be replaced on the fireplace flute.
Category
chimney sweep
Janice V.
5.0
07/06/2016
It went extremely smoothly, the three-man team (two on the roof, one inside) were efficient, polite, explained what they were going to do, and did it. I had several questions and was very pleased with the responses and the willingness to respond. I just bought the house, and given the soot I don't think the chimney has been cleaned in a decade! The Cap (3'+ wide chimney) was $425 with a life-time warranty, so I think that I received excellent service for a very fair price. The guys worked efficiently and kept all areas clean. I highly recommend Old Tyme Chimney Sweep!
Description of Work
I had a three flu-chimney swept: a wood-stove, large wood-burning fireplace and a gas furness vents. Additionally I had a portion of the chimney re-pointed, and a stainless-steel cap put on it.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
kevin C.
5.0
06/03/2016
Great Job, professional, friendly, quality work, on time. I was very pleased with the work done and considering the scope of work, and, what was involved, the price was good. I would recommend Dan to anyone looking to have similar work done. Only work actually needing to be done was suggested, and, when Dan noticed that his quote did not include a new chimney cap he offered to install one for free since "It really does need one". I told him that I appreciated that and I didn't think it was fair for him to loose money (he could have said nothing so this shows me integrity and pride in work) and we agreed that I would just pay cost of the cap, not for installation. This is how to do business.
Description of Work
Repaired \ repointed chimney top, installed stainless steel flu pipe, new cap, clean and sweep
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
John P.
5.0
11/14/2015
The whole procedure went very smoothly and much quicker than I anticipated. Dan Hill arrived at precisely the time we had agreed to (8 am). He was friendly, quick, and professional. He went right to work; looked at the flu; knew exactly what the problem was; went to his truck for a couple of tools; re-attached the flu pin to the screw link; tightened the set screw and was done. When he was done he showed me how the damper worked. Dan wrote up a receipt, I gave him a check, and that was that. His service was on time and efficient. He charged me a pre-agreed upon price (he had quoted me a price of between $125.00 and $250.00 depending on the type of problem).
Description of Work
Re-attached the damper linkage for my fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Mary-Jo P.
5.0
10/31/2015
Very clean even kept the vaccum outside to make sure none of the dust go into the livingroom.
Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected the chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Fermin O.
5.0
10/18/2015
They arrived promptly at 7:30 in the morning and got to work right away. We thought our chimney cap had to be replaced, but Dan saved us a lot of money when he informed us that the cap was intact. It simply needed to be positioned back on. Once he and his crew did that, they applied a seal with a 15-year warranty. We're very happy with Dan and his crew. They all are professional and have wonderful attitudes that will brighten any day.
Description of Work
On his first visit, Dan did a thorough cleaning of our chimney. On this most recent visit, he properly set and sealed our chimney cap.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Jackie D.
5.0
10/16/2015
They called to say they would be delayed and explained why. Dan asked if that was all right with us and offered to reschedule. They were careful to cover all rugs and the hearth area with drop cloths. This was much appreciated as we had just had our carpets returned after sending them out to be cleaned. Dan and his assistant were very courteous and thorough.
Description of Work
They swept the chimney and fire box and cleaned the damper.
Category
chimney sweep
Paula K.
5.0
10/13/2015
They were professional. Called to say they would be late. I expected them to be late due to bad weather. They were pleasant and did a very good job quickly. Everything was clean when they finished.
Description of Work
Cleaned the chimney and replaced the part to open the chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Robert S.
5.0
10/07/2015
All three arrived on time. Put covers down to protect the rugs and floor. Dismantled the stove pipe. Set the vacuum cleaner outside and just brought the hose in. Ran 8 inch hard bristle brushes up the chimney, collecting all the soot as it came down. Very neatly done. Clean up the covers and made sure the stove was in perfect order. Great job, very professional done.
Description of Work
Cleaned an 8" stove pipe, attached to a Vermont Casting wood burning stove going all the way up through the roof about 2 stories high.
Category
chimney sweep

Phone

Address

5 BREAKERS DR

Buzzards Bay, MA 02532

Other Information

Services offered

CHIMNEY MASON REPAIR WORK, CHIMNEY SWEEPING, EMERGENCY OIL BURNER SWEEPS, CAPS, RE-ALIGNMENT, DAMPERS, RE-FLASHING, RE-POINTING, WATER SEALING, DAMPER REPLACEMENT. SPECIALIZE IN CHIMNEY LEAKS & REPAIRS.

Payment options

Check
MasterCard
Visa

FAQ

OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa

Yes, OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP offers free project estimates.

No, OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP offers emergency services.

Yes, OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP offers warranties.

OLD TYME CHIMNEY SWEEP offers the following services: CHIMNEY MASON REPAIR WORK, CHIMNEY SWEEPING, EMERGENCY OIL BURNER SWEEPS, CAPS, RE-ALIGNMENT, DAMPERS, RE-FLASHING, RE-POINTING, WATER SEALING, DAMPER REPLACEMENT. SPECIALIZE IN CHIMNEY LEAKS & REPAIRS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Concrete services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Mendoza's Drywall & Taping, experienced in any house touch ups to remodels. We specialize in framing, drywall, and taping leaving a beautiful finish ready for the next plans