Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Restorers Without Borders

4.8

(680) Verified Reviews

Founded 2003 • With Angi since November 2005

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Company Contact

361 Boylston St

Brookline, MA 02445

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair Project

Furniture - Refinishing & Repair Project

furniture refinishing
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Description

COMPLETE woodworking services. Structural repairs to all types of damaged wood furniture items. Stripping and refinishing of wood surfaces. Painting and gold-leafing. Caning and rushing on chairs. Reupholstery. FURNITURE REPAIR PRICE ESTIMATES: $0 if client brings item to our workshop Drop-offs: 10 to 4 (Mon thru Fri) by appointment $100: for on-site house visit within 30 minutes commute time from Brookline workshop). NOTE: On-site house visit fee is deducted from bill if 'RWB' staff does the work Furniture pick-up & re-delivery available (at a fee) Repair jobs done in woodworking workshop and not at client home...

Verified Reviews

4.8

(680) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

560

4

61

3

32

2

10

1

17

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

furniture refinishing (669)upholstery (19)woodworking (4)general contractors (12)house painting (2)door installation (1)
Showing 1-10 of 680 reviews
5.0

12/21/2021


Candance S.

Fantastic. Great work and wonderful service. Highly recommend. Thank You.

Description of Work
Upholstering - General

Category upholstery,antiques

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/25/2021

5.0

12/14/2021


Stephanie C.

Excellent work, beautifully repaired a cherished dining table! Very polite and timely!

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2021

5.0

11/15/2021


Deborah L.

This summer I had a French Curio Cabinet restored along with a gold leaf guilted frame. The workmanship on these items is amazing. I appreciated how they were preserved as antiques and brought back to life. Restorers Without Borders crew moved the glass cabinet from Wellesley to their shop and then delivered it to me in Maine. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Gold leaf repair to Glass Curio Cabinet and Antique Wood Frame

Category contractors,furniture repair,antiques

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2021

Images

Review for Restorers Without Borders - 361 Boylston St, Brookline, MA - 39543588

+1 More

5.0

11/10/2021


Heather A.

I am so happy I found these guys. My beautiful walnut, mid-century bureau is reborn! Gorgeous work. From the moment I contacted RWB, they were responsive, friendly, VERY professional, on time (not just for the appointments and delivery but for the entire project!) These guys really love what they do. No snobbery, no upselling, just expert craftsmen who love bringing old pieces back to life. HIGHLY recommend them. I'll never use anyone else.

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

5.0

10/21/2021


Alice B.

Restorers Without Borders did a wonderful job refinishing a dining room table and repairing, refinishing, and re-upholstering 2 dining chairs, 2 side chairs, and an ottoman. Besides being first-rate artisans, they are honest, transparent, and responsive -- a pleasure to deal with at every stage of the process.

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair, Re-upholstering

Category furniture repair,upholstery

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2021

5.0

10/11/2021


Joe K.

We had two pieces of furniture refinished. They did a fantastic job incredible attention to detail. One of the pieces had been in my wife’s family for over a hundred years now it will be with us for 100 more!!!!

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2021

5.0

09/17/2021


Amanda H.

Restorers Without Borders did beautiful, high quality work on our dining table and chairs. A fresh finish and new upholstery makes such a difference! I would recommend this premium service for special pieces of furniture that are worth an investment in quality craftsmanship.

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair,upholstery

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2021

5.0

09/12/2021


Elizabeth O.

Fantastic! The team at RWB is excellent! They promptly called me back when I submitted an email inquiry initially, kept me updated on progress, and met my deadline due to moving out of state. They also helped me with delivery to my new home. The piece is beautiful and I can’t thank them enough!

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2021

5.0

09/09/2021


Tara T.

Restorers without Borders has been my go-to shop in the Boston area for all my furniture restoration needs. For several years, they’ve been restoring my family’s antiques: including a Victorian era upholstered and mahogany chair, a 1950s wood card table and leaf, antique Japanese nesting side tables I found on the sidewalk. And the latest item was my grandmother’s dresser and mirror that was no kinder attached. They built a new frame for the mirror to attach to the dresser. The results are absolutely beautiful! The team really understands the inherent beauty of furniture. Their masterful work truly restores - brings back to life - these loved pieces so they have a second life. I am so grateful to have found Afonso, Jeff, Paul, and everyone at the workshop. I can’t recommend them enough!!

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair,upholstery

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2021

5.0

09/04/2021


Deborah L.

I am so pleased with the work done to restore my antique French gold curio cabinet and Windsor chair. Both pieces had significant damage with injury to structure and finish as a result of time and use. To see them brought back to their original beauty and function is thrilling. I have trusted Jeff, Alphonso, and staff at Restorers Without Borders with my family treasures for years and each time they amaze me. Thank you!

Description of Work
Furniture - Refinishing & Repair

Category furniture repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2021

Services Offered

Furniture & Cabinet Repairs & Restoration, Finishes & Veneers, Repair Structural Damage, Re-Finishing, Wood Carving, Gilding, Hand-Stripping & Hand-Refinishing, Fillers, Stains, Waxes, Oil, Lacquer & Shellac Finishes, Decorative Painting, Rushing & Caning, Upholstery Work

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
No