Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO

Founded 1942 • With Angi since November 2002

4.0

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6 ACADEMY HILL RD PO BOX 311

Brighton, MA 02135

Description

2 EMPLOYEES. USE SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB BID....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

08/01/2004


AMY R.

HAROLD INSISTED THAT BOTH MY HUSBAND AND I BE THERE FOR THE ESTIMATE. THAT SEEMED ODD TO ME AND MADE ME WONDER IF IT WAS BECAUSE I WAS A WOMAN. HOWEVER HAROLD WAS WILLING TO COME BY IN THE EVENING AFTER MY HUSBAND WAS HOME FROM WORK SO I AGREED. HE WAS VERY POLITE, ARRIVED ON TIME AND WAS VERY FRIENDLY. HOWEVER IN THE END I FELT LIKE HE WAS USING SOME HIGH-PRESSURE SALES TECHNIQUES. HE REALLY WANTED US TO SIGN A CONTRACT WITH HIM ON THE SPOT AND DIDN'T WANT TO WRITE UP AN ESTIMATE UNLESS WE WERE READY TO SIGN. I ASSUME THAT'S WHY HE WANTED US TO BOTH BE HOME SO THAT NEITHER OF US COULD SAY WE HAD TO CHECK WITH THE OTHER. HE DID POLITELY LEAVE WHEN WE SAID WE WERE NOT READY TO SIGN. HE TOLD US TO LET HIM KNOW AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, BECAUSE THEY WERE VERY BUSY. THEY HAPPENED TO BE DOING WORK IN THE AREA AND SO COULD EASILY FIT US INTO THE SCHEDULE NOW, BUT NOT PERHAPS IN A FEW WEEKS. I HAD BEEN VERY CLEAR ABOUT OUR NEEDS AND PROBLEM WITH THE HOME INSPECTION OVER THE PHONE.

Description of Work
WE ARE SELLING OUR HOME AND AT THE INSPECTION A COUPLE OF STRUCTURAL ISSUES CAME UP. THE INSPECTOR FELT THE MAIN BEAM IN OUR BASEMENT WAS NOT ADEQUATELY SUPPORTED AND NEEDED TWO ADDITIONAL CEMENT-FILLED LALLY COLUMNS INSTALLED. AN ADDITIONAL LALLY COLUMN WAS ALSO NEEDED OUTSIDE UNDER OUR BACK PORCH. A STEEL PLATE NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED IN THE SILL ABOVE OUR BACK BASEMENT DOOR. OUR BUYERS ASKED US TO GET ESTIMATES FOR THE WORK. HAROLD CEDAR CAME TO THE HOUSE TO GIVE US AN ESTIMATE. ULTIMATELY WE TOLD OUR BUYERS THE ESTIMATE AMOUNT OF $780 AND WE AGREED TO TAKE $500 OFF THE PRICE OF THE HOUSE AND LET THEM HAVE IT TAKEN CARE OF WHEN THEY MOVE IN. I THINK THIS IS A COMMON SITUATION DURING A HOME SALE THAT ISSUES COME UP AT THE INSPECTION, ESTIMATES ARE OBTAINED AND SOMETIMES THE WORK IS DONE BEFORE THE SALE AND SOMETIMES IT'S DONE AFTER. I DID APPRECIATE THAT HAROLD CAME OUT PROMPTLY TO GIVE US AN ESTIMATE, BECAUSE I KNOW SOME CONTRACTORS WOULD NOT HAVE BOTHERED AT ALL IN SUCH A SITUATION.

Category remodeling

1.0

03/25/2004


MARGARET W.

I DID NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY AND DO NOT RECOMMEND IT. I FOUND THE SALESMAN DISMISSIVE, INDIFFERENT, AND CONDESCENDING. HE MADE NO ATTEMPT TO WIN MY BUSINESS. HE HAD NO MATERIALS TO SHOW ME, NOT EVEN A BROCHURE, AND WHEN I REQUESTED A WRITTEN ESTIMATE, HE PROCEEDED TO TAKE OUT A LITTLE BUSINESS CARD AND WRITE JUST ONE THING ON IT, THE COST OF THE JOB. THAT COST WAS DOUBLE WHAT THE OTHER TWO COMPANIES CHARGED. CLEARLY, THIS COMPANY WAS NOT INTERESTED IN GETTING MY BUSINESS.

Description of Work
I NEEDED TO HAVE MY OLD WOOD GUTTERS REPLACED WITH ALUMINUM ONES.

Category gutter repair

5.0

02/24/2004


SUSAN S.

Description of Work
INSTALLED WINDOW AND CEMENTED AROUND BASE OF HOUSE FOR WATERPROOFING SOLUTIONS.

Category replacement windows, basement waterproofing

3.0

04/07/2003


DEBBIE B.

D FOR CARPENTRY, B FOR REPLACEMENT WINDOWS. C FOR CLEANLINESS, A FOR COURTESY. MUCH OF THE CARPENTRY WORK HAD TO BE REDONE. (1) IN THE CASE OF MY DOOR FRAME REPLACEMENT, GOOD WOOD WAS NAILED TO ROTTED WOOD (2) 2 OF THE PORCH FLOORBOARDS WERE CUT IN HALF AND NAILED (SHOULD HAVE BEEN ONE LONG PLANK), (3)FRONT PORCH STAIRS WERE NOT UP TO CODE, (4) BACK PORCH STAIRS WERE NOT SECURED AND COULD BE LIFTED OFF THE GROUND! (5), STINGY WITH INSULATION IN WINDOW WELLS, AND SLOPPY WITH CAULKING, PLUS DIRTY FINGERPRINTS AND RANDOM SCREWS AND PIECES OF GLASS LEFT LYING AROUND.

Description of Work
REBUILD FRONT & BACK PORCH STAIRS, REPLACE 4 FLOOR BOARDS ON FRONT PORCH, REPLACE ROTTED WINDOW SILL & ROTTED DOOR FRAME, INSTALL REPLACEMENT WINDOWS

Category remodeling

5.0

03/26/2003


CHRISTINA S.

OVERALL, THEY DID A GREAT JOB... WENT ABOVE & BEYOND IN REPAIR WORK. HOWEVER, I HAD TO DO A FAIR AMOUNT OF CLEAN-UP (DUSTING/VACUUMING) AFTER THEY HAD LEFT - DRILLING INTO CONCRETE CAUSED DUST TO SEEP UP INTO THE 1ST FLOOR & COVERED EVERYTHING WITH A LAYER OF DUST.

Description of Work
STRUCTURAL REPAIR WORK: REPLACED SILL & HEADER BEAMS IN CELLAR...REINFORCED FLOOR JOISTS ON SAGGING FLOORS & INSTALLED 4 NEW SUPPORT (LALLY) COLUMNS UNDER SAME.

Category remodeling

4.0

02/21/2003


LINDA F.

ONLY WILLING TO PROVIDE ESTIMATE TO REPLACE ENTIRE ROOF, NOT REPAIR IT.

Description of Work
REQUESTED EXAMINATION OF ROOF CONDITION, ANALYSIS OF WINDOW LEAKS AND ESTIMATE. CONTRACTOR TO BE SELECTED BY CONDO TRUSTEES.

Category roofing

4.0

12/05/2002


EIKO Y.

MISSED ONE APPOINTMENT FOR ESTIMATE W/OUT CALLING TO CANCEL (A PAIN WHEN ONE HAS TO TAKE TIME OFF WORK). TOOK A LOT LONGER TO COMPLETE ALL WORK THAN PROMISED, MISSED ESTIMATED COMPLETION DATE TWICE. FINALLY DID A GOOD JOB WHEN COMPLETE.

Description of Work
REPLACE GUTTER + DRAINPIPE, FIX HOLE IN CORNER OF GARAGE

Category gutter repair

3.0

11/11/2002


DEBORAH D.

ARTHUR WAS COMFORTABLE TO DEAL WITH - LIKE YOUR GRANDFATHER. HOWEVER, HIS OVERSIGHT OF THE WORK IS NOT WHAT HE PROMISED. THE CONTRACT STATED THE CHIMNEYS WOULD BE REFLASHED - NOT DONE. I HAVE CALLED 3 TIMES TO HAVE THIS COMPLETED AND HAVEN''T BEEN SUCCESSFUL IN GETTING THIS DONE.

Description of Work
I HAD MY HOUSE AND GARAGE RE-ROOFED (STRIPPED AND NEW ROOFING), 7 REPLACEMENT WINDOWS AND GUTTER GUARDS INSTALLED.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

unknown
3.0

09/30/2002

Description of Work
REPAIRED A DAMAGED SECTION OF THE ROOF

Category roofing

1.0

09/05/2002


SUSAN D.

THE OWNER IS A VERY NICE GUY BUT WE WOULD NOT HIRE AGAIN.

Description of Work
REPLACED ROOF ON TWO OUTSIDE PORCHES. WHEN THEY COMPLETED THE JOB, THEY LEFT THE RAILINGS EXTREMELY LOOSE (ONE WAS ON A 3RD FLOOR!)AND SAID RAILINGS ARE NOT MEANT TO BE LEANED ON - SO THE LOOSE RAILINGS SHOULD BE OK. OWNER CAME BY TO COLLECT BALANCE OF MONEY OWED. WE COMPLAINED ABOUT THE RAILINGS - WITHIN A WEEK TWO DIFFERENT WORKERS CAME BACK - STRENGTHENED THE RAILINGS (ACTUALLY ADDED SOME UGLY SUPPORTS) - BUT THEY WERE SOLID. WE PAID. THEN WE DISCOVERED WORKERS HAD TRACKED TAR FROM THE ROOF ONTO OUR HARDWOOD FLOORS. VERY DIFFICULT TO REMOVE!

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2002


ELIZABETH F.

I WAS EXCEEDINGLY HAPPY WITH THE SERVICE WE RECEIVED. ARTHUR (THE OWNER) PLAYED AN ACTIVE ROLE IN THE WORK. HE WAS ALWAYS AVAILABLE AND RETURNED PHONE CALLS. I WAS MOST IMPRESSED BY HIS HONESTY. HIS WORKERS SHOWED UP ON TIME AND WERE PROFESSIONAL. I COULDN''T BE HAPPIER WITH THE WORK THEY DID. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM.

Description of Work
WE CONTACTED THE COMPANY BECAUSE WE HAD LEAKING FROM OUR ROOF. THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM QUICKLY--THE WATER WAS LEAKING IN AROUND THE BORDERS OF A CHIMNEY. THE ROOFERS REPLACED THE FLASHING AROUND THE CHIMNEY AND DID OTHER REPAIR ON THE ROOF.

Category roofing

3.0

08/16/2002


MICHAEL P.

ROOFING WAS OKAY, BUT THEY FAILED TO GET A PERMIT AS REQUIRED BY THE CONTRACT AND THE TOWN INSPECTOR STOPPED THE JOB AFTER THE ROOF WAS STRIPPED. ROOFING CLEANUP WAS NOT CAREFUL. THE ENTIRE PROCESS TOOK OVER A MONTH TO COMPLETE. THERE WERE LOTS OF UNEXPLAINED DELAYS (INCLUDING LEAVING A TARP ON THE STRIPPED ROOF DURING SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS AFTER NOT SHOWING UP WHEN WE EXPECTED)AND THE OWNER WAS INCONSISTENT IN RETURNING CALLS. THEY REMOVED A GUTTER THAT WAS PERFECTLY FINE AND TRIED TO CHARGE US $850 EXTRA TO INSTALL A NEW ONE. WE ASKED THEM TO PUT BACK THE OLD ONE AND THE RESULT IS COSMETICALLY NOT GOOD AND THE GUTTER MAY NOT BE PROPERLY INSTALLED. ON THE PAINTING THEY MISSED SPOTS AND HAD TO BE ASKED BACK SEVERAL TIMES. THE SCRAPING AND PAINTING JOB WAS NOT CAREFUL, AND I AM GOING TO HAVE TO DO QUITE A LOT OF TOUCH-UP WORK MYSELF. THE OWNER WAS VERY COURTEOUS, BUT HE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE IN CONTROL OF HIS PEOPLE OR THE QUALITY OF WORK THEY DO. I WOULD NOT REHIRE THIS COMPANY.

Description of Work
STIPPED OLD ROOF OFF HALF HOUSE AND INSTALLED NEW ROOF. PAINTED TRIM AND DOORS OF ENTIRE HOUSE.

Category roofing

2.0

07/15/2002


DIANE G.

CONTACTED ARTHUR AT BAY STATE. HE CAME AND TOOK A QUICK LOOK AND TOLD ME HE WOULD COME BACK SOMETIME AT THE BEGINNING OF THE WEEK TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE. HE NEVER CALLED OR SHOWED UP. WE CALLED HIM ON HIS CELL PHONE AND HE SAID HE WAS BUSY, BUT WOULD COME DOWN WITHIN THE NEXT WEEK AND NEVER DID. ALL THIS TOOK PLACE OVER A MONTH AGO AND STILL NO ESTIMATE.

Description of Work
ESTIMATE FOR ROOFING

Category roofing

1.0

06/25/2002


SUE R.

DIDNT RETURN CALL

Description of Work
CALL FOR ESTIMATE

Category remodeling

5.0

06/11/2002


LOUISA S.

THEY WERE VERY FAST AND NEAT AND VERY GOOD AT WHAT THEY DID. THEY ALSO CLEANED UP VERY WELL. WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THEM.

Description of Work
THEY TORE OFF THE SHINGLES ON THE FRONT SIDE OF MY HOUSE AND RE-ROOFED IT.

Category roofing

5.0

05/24/2002


KATHY G.

Description of Work
A CONDO OWNER IN THE COMPLEX WAS REPORTING A LEAK ON HER SECOND FLOOR. THE COMPANY HAD AN EMPLOYEE EXAMINE THE ENTIRE ROOF. IN ADDITION, WE REQUESTED THEY LOOK AT AN AREA WHERE SQUIRRELS WERE LIVING. THE EMPLOYEE ASSESSED THAT A SPOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO STOP THE LEAK. HE ALSO STATED THAT THE SQUIRRELS HAD CHEWED THROUGH WOOD AND THAT THEY WOULD COVER WITH CHICKEN WIRE. THEY QUOTED A PRICE AND STATED THEY NEEDED SUPPLIES AND WOULD RETURN THAT AFTERNOON. THEY RETURNED AS STATED AND COMPLETED THE JOB QUICKLY AND EFFICIENTLY. THEY REPLACED A SMALL SECTION OF THE ROOF AND PLACED CHICKEN WIRE OVER THE OPENING.

Category roofing

3.0

05/22/2002


Linda S.

HE DID GOOD ON THE REPAIR, IT ISN'T LEAKING ANYMORE. HE WAS VERY PROMPT IN THE BEGINNING AND GOT THE JOB DONE QUICKLY. BUT I DID REQUEST A WRITTEN ESTIMATE FOR A WHOLE RE-ROOF AND HE NEVER GOT BACK TO ME, IT HAS BEEN ABOUT SIX WEEKS. THE COMMUNICATION WAS NOT THAT GREAT.

Description of Work
HE DID MINOR ROOF REPAIRS AND I REQUESTED AN ESTIMATE FOR AN ENTIRE RE-ROOF

Category roofing

5.0

09/09/2001


Lynne E.

Description of Work
27 REPLACEMENT WINDOWS DELIVERED AND INSTALLED

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/09/2001


Lynne E.

Description of Work
ROOF REPAIRS

Category roofing

5.0

07/12/2001


STEVEN B.

AN OVERALL EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE; HIGH QUALITY WORK AT VERY REASONABLE PRICES. SKILLED, COURTEOUS WORKMEN.

Description of Work
BRACES ADDED TO HORIZONTAL SUPPORT BEAMS IN BASEMENT; DECK RAILING BUILT; SOFFIT REPAIR; INSTALLED MOULDING IN TWO ROOMS; MOVED ONE DOOR AND ADDED ANOTHER

Category home builders

5.0

01/08/2001


PATRICIA L.

Description of Work
NEW ROOF.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Color Matters Painting, Inc.

    "We are a company of home improvement that aims to offer a good service with a good price. Our commitment with quality has more than 14 years. We guarantee our services with a 3 years warranty and we are fully insured to serve you better. Our goal is to make your life simple letting you feel that you can count on us when the question is renovation."  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    ProBuilt LLC.

    ProBuilt - Construction you can count on.  

    Fox Gutter Cleaning

    When you contact Fox Gutter Cleaning, you'll get outstanding service for all the gutter needs you have. For years, we have been the go-to gutter pros for homes and businesses throughout the Metro Boston area. Whether it's repair, cleaning, winter ice dam removal, or brand new installations, we always get the job done right. We have a machine to customize the size of your gutters. No seams, no leaks! Contact us today for your next project. We guarantee all of our work to meet your satisfaction.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Call for details

    Services Offered

    GENERAL CONTRACTORS, ROOFING, SIDING, CARPENTRY, WINDOWS, GUTTERS, ALL TYPES OF WORK.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO

    How is BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO overall rated?

    BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO provide

    BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offer free estimates?

    Yes, BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offers free project estimates.

    Does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offer a senior discount?

    No, BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offer emergency services?

    Yes, BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO?

    No, BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO does not offer warranties.

    What services does BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offer?

    BAY STATE HOME CONSTRUCTION CO offers the following services: GENERAL CONTRACTORS, ROOFING, SIDING, CARPENTRY, WINDOWS, GUTTERS, ALL TYPES OF WORK.