Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A I RUSSELL CO INC

Founded 1842 • With Angi since August 2007

4.8

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2 OAKLAND ST

Brighton, MA 02135

Description

Established in 1842. Plumbing, Heating & Gas Fitting. Serving our customer for over 173 Years.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/19/2018


Diane J.

Came promptly, stayed in touch, followed up as needed, all work completed successfully, made helpful recommendations.

Description of Work
heat zone not working, furnace check, 2 toilets not filling properly

Category plumbing

5.0

02/03/2016


Thomas C.

Description of Work
Replaced old, (1940) original bathtub fixtures with new ones.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/20/2015


William F.

I spent about $300. The faucet works excellently now. He was prompt and he didn't have the right part initially but he came back within a few hours to finish the job.

Description of Work
I used A I Russell Company to fix a shower faucet some time in November to December.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/29/2014


Thomas C.

It works fine now.

Description of Work
I had a leak from a shower faucet. The fixtures are original to the house (1940) and difficult to repair. He replaced the washers on both hot and cold faucets, and stopped the leak, which required a stem to be removed and drilled out. The next day I noticed that now the shower head was dripping. The same guy came back to fix it, accompanied by his boss (owner?).

Category plumbing

5.0

07/20/2012


Armida M.

I've used Russell twice now. The first time was for a leaky toilet. They came the same day I called. The second time was after a major leak cause us to shut off the water in the house. We had to shut off the water because the bathroom sinks did not have their own shut offs. They came the day I called to determine what work was needed and were back the next day to do the work. They also checked other shut offs in the house to make sure they actually worked.

Description of Work
Fix a leaky toilet the first time and the second time was to fix a leaking pipe and put shutoffs on bathroom sinks in 2 bathrooms.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/29/2011


steven D.

They are going to the dishwasher for me as well. I think the price was good for the work that they did.

Description of Work
I used A I Russell for pluming and they are the plumbers for my building as well. They moved the gas pipe for me for a stove because I moved the stove over by 2 ft. They did it about a month ago.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/27/2011


MICHAEL B.

Very well.

Description of Work
A plumber and his assistant arrived promptly to look for the source of a catastrophic water leak from the second floor of my house that caused over $40,000 in damage to my house. They determined that the leak was coming from brass pipes, that, more than 29 years previously, had been capped with steel instead of brass caps. Within hours they had fabricated new brass caps and then applied them stopping the leak. I could not have asked for better service.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/29/2009


Robert B.

I needed to replace a gas clothes dryer and a garbage disposal. Both appliances were on site. I had used this company in the past but not in the last 5 years. I called A.I. Russell and the person answering said they had a cancellation and they could come in a half hour. Tim came within the half hour and spent 1.25 hours on each project at $105 per hour. He did a great job.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced an existing gas clothes dryer and removed and replaced an existing garbage disposal.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/17/2009


KIRSTEN R.

We started using them because their office is in our neighborhood, but we've stayed with them because they are responsive, trustworthy, and do quality work. They aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for, and I think their labor rate is on par with their competitors. They've been in business for a very long time and they know how to deal with old plumbing systems. They will fix what needs fixing and give you their good judgement on available options. When I call with an urgent matter they respond very quickly- usually the same day. Even for lower priority issues they always get the job done within a few days.

Description of Work
AI Russell Co has done all of our plumbing work on our 1800's 2 family house for the past 6 years. Over the years they have installed two new gas boilers, fixed numerous clogs and made many repairs in our house and worked on our kitchen renovation project. They've given us numerous DIY tips for maintaining plumbing and avoiding clogs and other problems.

Category plumbing

3.0

11/19/2007


Aaron W.

They did a poor job of installing the new vanity, sloppy job of cutting the holes in the back of the new vanity. The vanity is secured to the wall in only one place, resulting in a larger gap between the vanity and the wall one side. They did a nice job of installing the new PVC for the drain. The estimate that was given when they came out to look at the job was $260.00 I was charged $342.00.

Description of Work
Removed an old vanity/sink, installed a new vanity and ran a new PVC trap for it.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

08/15/2007


ALIN D.

He did a good job cleaning following the job. The total job cost me $106 -- $101 for 1 hr minimum on labor and $5 for parts. Overall it was a good experience.

Description of Work
I had a leaking toilet and needed it addressed immediately. The plumber that came out had to replace the wax seal on the toilet to fix the issue. Seems like a relatively simple remedy but I had no idea what the problem could be. A neighbor of mine suggested that I call Russell plumbing as she had used them before and recommended them to me. The person that answered the call was Tim and he was courteous and helpful. He happened to have time today and agreed to come out to handle the service call. He was at my house within 30 minutes and took care of the problem in a rapid fashion. He was helpful in explaining the issue and answering any other questions that I had.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    JC Construction Services Corp

    bathroom and kitchen specialist. custom cabinets, fine carpentry, interior and exterior work  

    Angi Certified

    Climate Zone

    Our team of dedicated professionals can assist with your homes heating, cooling and plumbing needs. We have served the Merrimack Valley and Greater Boston Area since 2001. Looking for heating and cooling maintenance right now? We are available 24 hours a day and can take care of your emergency situation with speed and accuracy. From a precision tune-up to a new system, we've got you covered. We also offer plumbing services including water heater replacement and leak detection and repair. Give us a call today!  

    Angi Certified

    Home Service Doctors incorporated

    We always put customers and their satisfaction first, which makes us one of the top HVAC companies in Boston metro area . We never compromise on the quality and swiftness of our services, ensuring that we provide every residential and commercial client with the best and premium experience of working with us.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Plumbing, Heating & Gas Fitting.Fixtures & Appliance installation.Hot water heater installation,Gas Boiler repair & installation.Water & Drain repiping & installation. Drain Cleaning .

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A I RUSSELL CO INC

    How is A I RUSSELL CO INC overall rated?

    A I RUSSELL CO INC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A I RUSSELL CO INC open?

    A I RUSSELL CO INC is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does A I RUSSELL CO INC provide

    A I RUSSELL CO INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A I RUSSELL CO INC offer free estimates?

    Ask A I RUSSELL CO INC for details on free project estimates.

    Does A I RUSSELL CO INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A I RUSSELL CO INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A I RUSSELL CO INC offer a senior discount?

    No, A I RUSSELL CO INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A I RUSSELL CO INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, A I RUSSELL CO INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A I RUSSELL CO INC?

    No, A I RUSSELL CO INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does A I RUSSELL CO INC offer?

    A I RUSSELL CO INC offers the following services: Plumbing, Heating & Gas Fitting.Fixtures & Appliance installation.Hot water heater installation,Gas Boiler repair & installation.Water & Drain repiping & installation. Drain Cleaning .