Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Old England Painting

4.9

(127) Verified Reviews

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2001

Licensed
Trade License Number
164240
Trade License Locale
Massachusetts
Trade License Authority
Massachusetts: Home Improvement
Trade License Expiration
09/23/2021
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:30 AM - 7:30 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:30 PM

Phone Number

Address

121 Stoughton St

Boston, MA 02125

www.oldenglandpainting.com

Description

For over 20 yearsOld England Painting has transformed the interior and exterior of some of the finest homes in Boston, Brookline, Newton and Wellesley. We strive to work for home-owners who are as passionate about their projects as we are and always center our work on customer service, professionalism and craftsmanship. Please call Gavin today for a free estimate on your next interior or exterior project. Calll 617 510 6194...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(127) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

113

4

4

3

3

2

2

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

house painting (111)interior painting (29)woodworking (21)deck cleaning (8)door installation (6)gutter repair (6)decks & porches (6)general contractors (5)screen repair (4)siding companies (2)roofing (2)
Showing 1-25 of 127 reviews
5.0

10/19/2021


David W.

We have used Gavin and his crew multiple times over the past few decades for both exterior and interior painting. The quality of his work is outstanding, and his prices are fair. Gavin also has excellent color sense. He can view a room and then provide great color suggestions. We swear by his recommendations. Gavin and his team are true professionals in every sense of the word. They are reliable, punctual, polite and hard working. All in all, you won't go wrong by hiring Old England painting.

Description of Work
Interior and exterior Painting

Category woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2021

5.0

06/27/2021


William B.

In the past, I never did reviews of anything, but now that I've started, I want to go back in time and put in the good word about Gavin and his crew and work. Two and half years ago, he simply transformed the downstairs of our condo unit with his expert and creative painting of five rooms and a hallway. He not only has a remarkable amount of technical expertise; he also comes up with great ideas about color and other questions that come into play. My wife and I wound up with colors and contrasts in different rooms that we would never have chosen by ourselves, and our guests routinely remark on the beautiful painting when they step into the rooms. More than two years later, the work has held up and still looks like new (his carpenter also did an outstanding job, adding a couple of interior doors in difficult spots that worked out perfectly). And the price was competitive. Gavin's crew is hardworking and respectful, and as a bonus, he's a great conversationalist. I enthusiastically recommend him to anyone who wants the very best painting.

Description of Work
Painting 5 rooms of condo unit and hallway, with some carpentry

Category interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2021

5.0

05/25/2021


Jennifer B.

Our experience with Gavin and his crew was fantastic. They were on time every day, cleaned up after each days work and finished the work on schedule. The quality of the work was top notch and he transformed our house from old and tired looking to clean and bright. Gavin was knowledgeable about exterior pain colors and products. He took the time to put samples up on the house to help us decide on a final color. Gavin was onsite everyday and a part of the work. We also needed some carpentry done. He works with a handyman who was quick and efficient. He was able to replace shingles and a few window sills and did not delay our timeline. Would definitely hire again!

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category house painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2021

5.0

10/06/2020


David W.

Gavin and his team performed an amazing transformation on our three family condo building in Dorchester. The work was done expertly, on time and professionally. From prep to clean-up, everything was smooth. The team is great to work with. Also, the carpenter that was brought in to make necessary repairs to the trim and shingles was excellent, working quickly at a reasonable price. We enjoyed having Old England Painting work on our building and will enjoy the results for years to come.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting of a three family home

Category house painters

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2020

5.0

09/08/2020


Sonia W.

Gavin Curd runs a tight ship with his painting crew. He worked alongside them daily, took care to insure the durability and finesse of the job. He has excellent advice regarding color and placement of color if you have a historic home. Our house was really transformed by the pain job, and by following some suggestions for additional trim. The paint job brought out the architectural features in a way that had not been the case when the house was a two color combination of red and white. The crew was hard working, respectful and kind to have around - this is important because a significant paint job will take a few weeks, and your workers need to be the kind of people you are happy to have around.

Description of Work
House exterior paint job

Category decks,woodworking,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

5.0

11/13/2019


Marc K.

Excellent!!! Old England was a pleasure to work with. Gavin Curd is an experienced and creative painter. He has a great eye, is good with color and has good suggestions for materials. He truly loves his work. His team members are equally competent. They are reliable, considerate, and serious about their work. The whole team arrived when they said they would throughout the job. They were careful to clean up at the end of each day. The exterior of our house was in bad shape and now looks like a new house! We couldn't be happier with the way it turned out.

Description of Work
exterior house repair and painting, new deck floor

Category decks,screen repair,deck cleaning,woodworking,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for Old England Painting - 121 Stoughton St, Boston, MA - 38230464
5.0

11/05/2019


Martin S.

Gavin and his crew were great. Gavin was communicative and very professional. He also gave very good advice on color and finishings. He and his crew were efficient and meticulous. We are very happy with the job that he did!

Description of Work
Painting the exterior of a two-story home.

Category house painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2019

5.0

08/27/2019


kevin M.

Old England Painting is AWESOME!!!! Gavin and his crew transformed my house and it looks amazing according to all of my neighbors, friends, and folks passing by. Gavin came highly recommended by several neighbors and he proved himself to be outstanding in every way. He is very enthusiastic about his work and he and his crew were reliable, courteous, meticulous and a total pleasure to work with. This was a big job in that the vinyl siding needed to come off and some repair work needed to be done. Gavin was helpful with every step including picking colors. He definitely has an eye for design. I give Old England Painting my highest recommendation. Hire them and you will be happy that you did!!

Description of Work
exterior painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

5.0

08/01/2019


Lynne W.

Gavin was wonderful - helped us pick colors, did fantastic prep work, helped repair some areas with rot and bird damage, connected us with his carpenter who now maintains our gutters. I can't say enough good things about him and the company. They were friendly, neat, hardworking (painted during 100 degree heat wave, thank you climate change) and our home looks fantastic. Wish I found Gavin 20 years ago!

Description of Work
House Painting - 1850 Greek Revival

Category decks,gutter repair,screen repair,woodworking,house painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

07/29/2019


Lynne W.

I got proposals from 5 companies. When we first met to look at our home/project, Gavin said (in a matter of fact mannery): “Look, if you hire me, I will transform your house.” Well, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! I contacted 7 references and everyone raved about Gavin. The reviews by others are spot on. The review posted on 7/28/2019 by someone else for work in June 2019 could have been written - word for word - by me! Can’t say enough good things about Gavin and Old England Painting. He showed up when promised, did a fantastic job on the prep. The entire crew was incredibly polite, hardworking and neat (neighbors of our shared driveway loved him). He found a hole in our soffit and had great carpenter to repair it, repaired our front porch, helped pick colors (not our strong point), and knew exactly what/where to apply accent colors. He explained why the colors of our last paint job didn’t quite work. He fixed all our screens and cleaned the windows when done. We are so thrilled … many neighbors have commented on how good our home looks. Our 1850 Greek Revival home is now sophisticated and grown up. Thank you, thank you, thank you. This is a truly exceptional owner, and a truly exceptional company. Price below does not include carpentry.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting, rebuild front porch

Category house painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2019

5.0

07/29/2019


Seth F.

Gavin and his team were pros from start to finish, and I can’t recommend them enough for any work you may need completed. To start, he provided a very reasonable quote with numerous references, was incredibly knowledgeable when it came to the issues that were causing the paint on my home to peal, and started the job almost exactly when he had estimated. What truly stands out is the attention to detail. Incredibly clean lines, thorough sanding/caulking, staining and painting of trim work/iron exterior accents, and they even cleaned the windows at the end of the job. A huge bonus over other companies is that they subcontract a carpenter that does excellent work at reasonable prices. Our home needed a lot of rotten clapboards/trim replaced and he handled everything, while using AZEK in areas where water may stagnate. I’ll definitely be using Old England for any future painting jobs I have! (The price below does not include the carpentry work).

Description of Work
Full exterior painting of our home

Category house painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

2.0

07/14/2019


Chip C.

Gavin responded promptly by visiting the property and showed interest in the job. But despite being nudged twice, he never responded with a quote.

Description of Work
Exterior housepainting

Category house painters

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

5.0

06/08/2019


Peter D.

They did an extraordinary job in scaping, sanding, and caulking before the first drop of paint was applied. Their painting work was excellent. The crew was professional, friendly, responsive, and respectful. This paint job was the best I have ever experienced. We were sad to see them go....hugs, handshakes, and waves as they left on the last day.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of entire old Victorian

Category screen repair,house painters

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2019

5.0

01/03/2019


Robin K.

We just had an outstanding experience with Gavin Curd and his crew from Old England Painting! He has a great eye for color, made several excellent suggestions, and was meticulous in his attention to detail with every aspect of the project. We used him this time because he did such a great job with painting the exterior of our 100 year old Colonial revival several years ago. So glad we did, as the work he did for this project - including painting several rooms, repair of plaster/calcimine ceilings and moulding, and installation of moulding - could not have gone better. Gavin has great appreciation for older homes it was a real relief to work with someone in whom we have such confidence. His crew is wonderful as well - punctual, efficient, conscientious, and clean! Though you'd think it would be a huge disruption to have this kind of work done two weeks before Christmas, it actually was a very smooth process, with results that could not have been better. Our job include painting of our kitchen, master bath, formal parlor, and foyer. In addition, Gavin arranged for the installation of moulding in a kitchen addition, and the repair and restoration of plaster/calcimine ceilings in four rooms of our house. We would not hesitate to work with Gavin and his crew again, and are pleased to give them our highest recommendation!

Description of Work
painting, plaster repair, mouldings, etc.

Category woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2018

Images

Review for Old England Painting - 121 Stoughton St, Boston, MA - 37637792

+2 More

5.0

07/23/2018


judy R.

From the moment I met Gavin, I had confidence in both his experience and his ability. He was a joy to work with and, because he has been painting houses in the area for over 20 years, I trusted his judgement as far as where color accents can be used etc. if you choose to use an accent color. He was accomodating in that my windows were ordered too late to install prior to the painting and he arranged to come back for a day of touch up once they are put in. In the meantime, so that things looked good, he painted around the windows that would eventually have to get touchedd up so that the house would look good until the windows came. He has a carpenter who can work with him if needed who charges a totally reasonable rate. I had bids that were less expensive and one that was more expensive but I felt confident that Gavin knew what he was doing and had painted many many homes in Newton. He takes great pride in his work and truly wants you to feel the joy oof seeing your home renewed. Last but not least, Gavins personality and British accent add to the whole experience :-)

Description of Work
i needed the entire outside of my house painted

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2018

5.0

07/23/2018


Joan M O.

Gavin and his team did a wonderful job because they aren't just "house painters." So many things got repaired/replaced due to Gavin's thoroughness. For example, in addition to repairing my front steps, his team replaced rotting window sills and rotting trim on the house. The exposed side foundation of my garage, which was crumbling, was given a new concrete coating. The first floor windows were washed at completion of the job. Gavin suggested painting the house's foundation, which gave my home a much more polished look. Gavin took lhis time helping me decide on colors, and when the color I chose turned out to be just a little too dark for my liking, he had it made a shade lighter, which was perfect. And although the repairs mentioned above cost additional money, overall the price was fair and the estimate was on a par with one other estimate I received. The crew was thorough with clean up and just so nice to have around. My one comment is that the crew is not too aware of foundation plantings when they place ladders or work near the fuondation. So, if you have shrubs or flowers that you don't want stepped on be sure to somehow clearly mark them and review with the crew. I would highly recommend Gavin and his team- they did a fabulous job on my home and it looks beautiful.

Description of Work
House painting, front step repairs

Category woodworking,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2018

5.0

04/30/2018


Doreet G.

The whole experience from beginning to end was fantastic. Gavin was responsive, professional, efficient and reliable. More than that he has a passion for what he does. He is an artist who has great color sense but who thoroughly enjoys collaborating with the customer so that they get what they want. In other words he offers his opinion on the colors but uses it as a first step to engage in a dialogue about creating the next masterpiece. And he did just that with my home. I could not have been more pleased.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of a turn of century 3 story house

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2018

5.0

03/22/2018


Shelly A.

Gavin and his team from Old England Painting have worked on three major projects for me. First, they painted large parts of the exterior of my house including walls, trim, stairs and the front porch. As part of the project, the side deck needed to be replaced and some trim rot repaired. Gavin coordinated with a carpenter he recommended who did an excellent job at low cost. Then Old England stained the deck and painted all the new woodwork. Various parts of the house also had some minor damage and peeling which Gavin and his team repaired and then painted. I was very pleased with the work which led me to hire Old England for interior work. First they painted our basement, master bedroom and a guest bathroom. They also painted trim and miscellaneous walls throughout the house that were scuffed and damaged. On a second job, they painted the kitchen and living room. They also patched major holes in the wall and ceiling made by my electrician. In all cases, I have been extremely happy with Old England Painting. Gavin, the owner, participates in all the work and his team is a handful of trusted people who always work with him. Their prices are extremely reasonable and the team is courteous, prompt and accommodating. On every job, they did more than they agreed to without extra charge. Many times they simply did repair and extra painting to make something look better although this wasn't included in their estimates. Any time I pointed out even minor areas for improvement, they simply fixed it without reservation. They kept the house clean and were never in the way. You absolutely cannot go wrong hiring Old England Painting. I am a huge fan and have already recommended them to a very good friend.

Description of Work
Exterior and Interior Painting

Category deck cleaning,woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2018

5.0

03/07/2018


James H.

Top notch. Gavin is easy to work with. You get what you pay for. Likewise for his carpentry sub, Washington.

Description of Work
Several interior rooms in December 2017. Complete exterior in fall 2015.

Category woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2017

5.0

03/07/2018


Diane S.

Gavin is thorough in all work done. He is prompt and works quickly. He definitely knows color and makes great suggestions. If carpentry needs to be done to complete the work, Gavin arranges that work as well.

Description of Work
Both exterior and interior house painting.

Category woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2017

5.0

10/07/2017


Sally M.

Fabulous! First, Gavin will help you choose colors for the exterior of your house, which isn't as easy as it seems it would be. Although the windows are predominately white, Gavin helped me find a contrasting trim to accent the windows and doors, the house looks simply gorgeous. I highly recommend Gavin and his crew. His prices are fair, especially since the crew are perfectionists and want the house to look it's best. Once you are a customer Gavin is always ammendable to come back for any touch ups (after a bad winter storm). I have several neighbors who hired Gavin's team after the saw how great my house looked. HIghly Recommend. 100% Trust. Nice crew to have on property -- very friendly and nonintrusive.

Description of Work
The exterior antique clapboard, all trim, and decking of my 1910 Dutch Colonial was painted. The house received great attention to detail, and it looks beautiful--really stunning. The work this company does is of the highest quality. I have used them several times for different projects and have always been absolutely thrilled with the outcome.

Category decks,siding,woodworking,house painters,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2017

5.0

10/07/2017


Laura F.

Could not have gone better. Gavin and his crew are punctual, meticulous, friendly and invested in their beautiful work. They even help you pick colors. We are repeat customers and we will come back again.

Description of Work
Paint the exterior of the house with shingle repair

Category decks,woodworking,house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2017

5.0

09/22/2017


Dennis M.

Gavin and his crew were exceptional in the quality of their work, attention to detail, responsiveness to our requests and were a real pleasure to work with. They were courteous and polite in every encounter and we would not hesitate for a moment to have them do work for us in the future. They are the best.

Description of Work
Exterior painting on two different houses

Category contractors,gutter repair,woodworking,house painters