Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABACUS BUILDERS

Founded 2002 • With Angi since January 2008

4.9

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

190 old colony ave

Boston, MA 02127

Description

LICENSE NUMBER: CSL 95152 HIC 180843 Lead certified, OSHA Safety, 13 years Boston building experience www.abacusbuilders.com MARK@ABACUSBUILDERS.COM....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/28/2018


Dave S.

We hired Abacus to replace our back deck and install new crown molding in 4 rooms, and we couldn’t be happier with the finished product! The whole process was effortless from start to finish. We sent Mark a few photos of our deck and the rooms where we wanted to install crown molding. Within a couple of days we received a competitive quote that clearly outlined the details and costs, so we decided to hire them for the project. Before they started, Mark came out to discuss specific options about the deck and crown molding and helped us make sure we were happy with all of the plans before beginning the work. We scheduled a date and they started exactly when they said they would. Throughout the project the crew was very professional and friendly, and happy to answer our questions. They kept us up to date on project status and when we could expect the next steps to be completed. They had originally estimated the project would take 2 weeks and they did everything in only 6 days! They stuck to their original quote, and in fact, even came in under budget by a few hundred dollars. Every day we came home our house and the building common hallway were clean. The crew did a fantastic job about abiding by our building specific rules about work times etc, they are very professional and respectful. Overall this was the smoothest experience we’ve had with any contractor and wish we had found them sooner!

Description of Work
Replace Back Deck and Install Crown Molding

Category contractors,decks,remodeling,woodworking,interior painters

5.0

05/02/2017


D Chesney W.

Our experience with Abacus was overwhelmingly positive. We engaged them to replace the rotting trim on our house with plastic composite. Their price was competitive. They began work on time and finished well within our window. The workers were very considerate of our household. The quality of their workmanship was very good. Toward the end of the project there were small problems that needed to be remedied. All of the problems were quickly addressed and we are very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
We needed to replace all of the rotting outside trim on our house.

Category remodeling,home builders,woodworking

5.0

09/12/2016


Penn C.

Overall we couldn’t have been happier with our decision to go with Abacus. From beginning to end, the folks at Abacus made this a positive and memorable experience. Starting on day one they arrived on time and moved fast. We were shocked at how quickly they completed the demo and also how they would try and clean up at the end of each day – this was a common theme throughout the project. It’s a little thing, but really appreciated as we would stop in from time to time to check on progress. We liked that they were taking as much care with our home as we would if we were doing the work ourselves. Throughout the process we had clear lines of communication with Mark Little and other key folks on-site (Gerald was a godsend!) which really helped as we had questions or they needed to prod us to get them answers. It was an open dialogue the whole time. And even more helpful is that they couldn’t have been more responsive when we would reach out via text, phone or email. That’s not to say there weren’t occasional hiccups from time to time (this is going to happen on any large scale project like this), but we always talked them through and figured out ways to correct them. The fact that we could promptly talk them through over the phone or in person was really important to us and Mark, as well. Abacus also helped us stay on track by providing us a list of to-do’s with key dates when they needed answers or actual hardware/appliances in order for us to stay on track. We always tried to do our best to meet their deadlines, but even when we couldn’t they were understanding and kept other project aspects moving so as to stay on schedule. The work itself was incredibly top notch and can be seen in the attention to the details (both big and small). The tile work, the floors, the custom fireplace, the trim, the decks and roofdeck, even our basement storage area. You name it, they clearly took the greatest care when working on our house. The carpenter on the project built a custom desktop made from pieces of leftover mahogany and it’s better than anything we could have purchased directly from a retailer or vendor. It’s honestly one of my favorite things about the house. That and the main staircase. As mentioned earlier, it was so important that we keep the character of the house intact and this started with heart of the house, the original staircase, including the handrail and large first floor banister. This was no easy task when you consider how old the house was (1890s) and that the staircase extended up three flights to the top floor and also needed to match a new handrail going down to a newly created living space in the basement. Abacus was not only up to the task, but they absolutely exceeded our expectations. It’s the first thing people see when they walk in the house and always comment on how gorgeous it is. It truly is hard to put into words how thankful we are for the beautiful end product. Just the other day we had someone come in to put up wallpaper in one of the bedrooms and the person said they work on houses all over New England, including a lot of home renovations in South Boston, and she said that you could really tell that whoever worked on the house knew what they were doing and really cared about the project – “The people who worked on this house are true professionals” was her exact quote. And she couldn’t have been more spot on. Thank you Mark and the team at Abacus for giving us the house of our dreams! P.S. Photos of our renovation are available on Abacus's website.

Description of Work
In November 2015 we purchased an old Victorian single family home in South Boston. Considering it was built in the 1890s this house was a complete overhaul from top to bottom. As part of this reno we also wanted to improve upon the outdoor space, including building a deck off the back of the house, creating easier access to the backyard and adding two roofdecks. We looked at a couple of contractors, but we were advised by a few people in the industry to go with Mark Little and his team at Abacus because of their attention to detail and their passion for a project like ours. While we knew this was going to be a total renovation down to the studs, we loved the personality of the house and wanted to keep some the integrity of the original design. We didn’t want it to feel cookie cutter and/or just open it up and make it look like so many other places out there right now. When it came down to it, we knew we needed a contractor who understood our own vision, but could also provide additional suggestions and offer up ideas we hadn’t even thought of so we could make this the home of our dreams. After meeting with Mark for a walkthrough at our house, it was clear he and Abacus were the team for the job.

Category contractors,decks,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,plastering,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,home builders,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters

5.0

01/05/2016


Mac Chinsomboon C.

I inquired to see if they could swing by and give me a quote for a very large scoped project. He indicated that they were already booked up solid, but did recommend me to call a colleague. I'm happy to see professionals recommend other professionals - I've yet to meet his colleague (that's tomorrow), but I will say that this is a class act - plus he was fast to respond! Perhaps next time!

Description of Work
I inquired to see if they could swing by and give me a quote for a very large scoped project. He indicated that they were already booked up solid, but did recommend me to call a colleague. I'm happy to see professionals recommend other professionals - I've yet to meet his colleague (that's tomorrow), but I will say that this is a class act - plus he was fast to respond! Perhaps next time!

Category remodeling

5.0

11/19/2015


Elizabeth M.

called in the midst of the many feet of snow and they came and cleared the roof and then rebuilt stairs that had been storm damaged

Description of Work
cleared snow................repaired gutter and stairs

Category remodeling

1.0

10/03/2015


Sarah C.

They wouldn't visit our property until they received a copy of the appraisal from our insurance company and when we gave it to them - they ignored all our phone calls and we never heard from them again.

Description of Work
Ignored our phone calls and emails.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you must have been dialing the wrong number. We always return phone calls even if it is a job we are not able to perform at the time. If we are not able to do the job we always try to refer people to another contractor that will be able to help them out. As you can see from our other excellent reviews we go out of our way to do what we can to help out all customers, whether you are an existing customer, new customer, or a returning customer. If there is anything we can do to change your opinion of us, please call us at 617-269-1213.
5.0

08/10/2015


Robert K.

excellant

Description of Work
flood damage in the basement replaced beams, trusses, ceiling and floor

Category drywall,remodeling,roofing

5.0

06/26/2015


David B.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/18/2015


Elizabeth M.

Contractor was called without prior experience with this company and addressed my concerns of the snow on my roof immediately sending out his workmen within days to clear it. The gutter and stairs were damaged due to the ice/snow and they fixed both issues, the stairs were rebuilt within days and the gutter reinstalled as soon as the weather permitted. I would call mark without hesitation int he future

Description of Work
cleared snow from roof, installed new gutter and new back stairs

Category remodeling,roofing

5.0

03/04/2015


Kyle V.

The company was very easy to work with. I was able to speak with the owner regularly. Everyone was helpful and supportive and they were very professional. It was an overall positive experience.

Description of Work
They did some re-caulking and resealing on the exterior of some 3rd story window.

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/11/2014


David B.

Going great!

Description of Work
Renovation

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review (Member name removed). Let us know what you think of the final product!
5.0

09/13/2014


Brooks B.

I've had very limited interaction with contractors so I didn't know what to expect, but Abacus was very professional, prompt, courteous, and swift in their work. Arranging a date/time for the work to begin took several back-and-forth conversations over days on account of our busy schedules, but once the time frames lined up the work went quite quickly and smoothly. It was clear their experience showed they knew exactly what to do and how to get it done efficiently. They were very good at making sure I understood what needed to be done, what was going to happen, and confirmed their choices in how to resolve the repairs matched with my expectations. As a homeowner, I'm very relieved to have built a relationship with a firm I now trust and respect. I'll definitely call Abacus for my future house maintenance and improvement needs.

Description of Work
-Reseated and adjusted two external, very drafty doors. They're now air tight! -Ripped out and replaced the improperly constructed decking of the back deck. The deck is now composite boards, correctly installed, and doesn't collect water. -Installed a gutter on the back side of the house. Rain now smoothly channels off the roof and away. -Reseated the backyard's fence posting. The fence is now sturdy and no longer falling over.

Category decks,remodeling,roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review (removed member name). We will be more than happy to work on future projects with you! - Abacus Builders
5.0

09/01/2014


Stanley D. C.

Mark's crew fixed a roof gutter which had been leaking for quite some time. They were able to assess the problem and fix the leak where others had failed. Not a big job but one that could have led to bigger problems.

Description of Work
Repaired roof gutter

Category remodeling,roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for the review. We look forward to doing business with you again.
3.0

01/16/2014


Richard G.

Kitchen looks gorgeous overall but several issues. Had to beg them to get permits. Lost a lot of sleep worrying about the legal ramifications. Wouldn't get them until I told them I'd started speaking to the inspector myself. They had no trouble lying to my face. Terrible job on my floors. Went right over my 120 yr old ratty subfloor. My brand new wood floors squeak and you can push the ends down with your toe. No heat for months. Had to hire a plumber myself to reconnect. Cost me $400. Electrician cut the power to my living room light and wouldn't fix it. $250 out of my pocket. Tile guy did an atrocious job. Contractor assured me they'd fix it. Guy came back and said he wouldn't fix it. Now I have to hire a tile guy myself and a floor guy to see if he can fix the loose boards. They can make a big project work on a small budget, but if you are looking for top quality you might be disappointed. I would have paid the extra cost for a subfloor, better tile work, or permits if I knew

Description of Work
Full kitchen and partial bath remodel, and porch rebuild. Took the kitchen down to the studs, moved every appliance location, took down a wall, closed a window and put a door where another window was, added recessed lights, new floor in kitchen and bath. New electric, rearranged plumbing.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

This was a high end job done on a budget. Unfair overall grade I feel on this one. Some of the issues were legit and corrected, others not so much: 2 tiles in a bathroom were deemed "not aligned". This was pointed out at the end and price adjusted to meet the owners satisfaction. We have since hired a new tiling crew. Our on site electrician was asked to do extra work outside the scope of contract and encountered all sorts of issues with "old wiring". This is not uncommon in a house this old. All wiring was original knob and tube. Once the job began, the owner asked us to install a structural beam which was not included in the contract. This was installed but this type of permit takes a lot longer to obtain. We install a lot of flooring each year. 22- 28,000 sq ft. The hardwood floor was installed correctly according to standard building practices and if any squeaks developed after we completed the job, we would be more than happy to come back and fix it. No contact was made with us. Before we are paid our last payment on a job, we make sure every issue or concern is adjusted, as was the case here. We really do try our very best to make sure each and every client is completely satisfied before we leave. We hope that one average report among a dozen excellent reports would not deter any Angie's List readers from hesitating to call us to request a price quote on your next upcoming project.
5.0

10/29/2013


Kevin H.

Mark and the team at Abacus are fantastic. I had multiple bids to renovate a 3 story single family home in South Boston and the Abacus team showed up on sight, walked through my plans and had a quote ready with 24 hours. Mark handled all permits, spoke with the neighbors about the work his team was doing and stayed on time (and most importantly on budget). We had multiple things change throughout the process due to the age and layout of the home and each time Mark was upfront offering a solution to every problem. His entire team was courteous and I had no problems interacting with anyone throughout the entire remodel. We had purchased a faulty tankless hot water heater and the Abacus team took care of the entire process of getting a new one directly from the manufacture and having the plumber come back and reinstall it at no extra cost. During this time when we did not have heat, they purchased a space heater for us. These are the little things that the Abacus team does that do not go unnoticed! I would highly recommend Mark and the Abacus team!

Description of Work
Complete gut renovation of a 3 story single family home in South Boston.

Category drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,remodeling,replacement windows,home builders,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review [removed member name]. We look forward to doing business with you again! - Abacus Builders
5.0

12/01/2012


Matthew M.

In both cases, Mark's team got all of the work done on time and on budget. He never raised his price and took great pride in the quality of the work. They left the site clean and tidy. They suggested improvements that would be good for us and gladly did it quickly. We had to move in and had only three weeks to get the interior work done and he made the deadline with no problems. We moved into a fully renovated house in less than a month. In the yard, we need to get the fence and gate up before the ground froze and to protect our house. They finished a day early and everything was perfect. Mark is a truly honest and professional contractor who takes pride in doing a good job and meeting a client's expectations. We would not only hire him again. We would not hire anyone else.

Description of Work
Mark Little and Abacus Construction has completed two major jobs on our old house in South Boston. First he helped us complete some major interior work reconfiguring the small bedrooms into a master bedroom and a guest room. He built three closets, replaced three windows including a skylight. He also refinished the old pine floors and drywalled the new rooms. He was careful to consult an engineer to make sure that the walls were properly braced. His carpenters were amazing putting in new trim that matched the old trim perfectly, making sure that the character of the house was maintained. Secondly, Mark came in to complete an outdoor project for us. When our landscape contractor could not finish the job, Mark came in and completed all of the outdoor carpentry right as winter as approaching. He built a fence with a gate and stairs on a steep hill. He had to work in a tight space around a big tree. He also installed a small fence against the house to create more privacy on our deck and added gutters to our shed for better drainage.

Category contractors,decks,drywall,hardwood floor,plastering,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,interior painters

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], we appreciate your positive review, and are glad to hear you are satisfied with our work. We look forward to doing business with you again.
5.0

10/20/2012


Jeffrey L.

Mark was great from beginning to end. Very professional, right on budget and didn't even take payment until after the project was done

Description of Work
Renovation of exterior facade of our 3 story condo building.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/25/2012


Joseph G.

Recently purchased the top floor unit on a condoized 3 family in Southie. The builder wanted to build a roof deck but did not get permits in time for sale. Originally wanted simple spiral staircase on back deck going up to roof, but was denied at ISD. Resubmitted with stairs going up back staircase to roof with a roof hatch, was approved. Had about 10 contractors come out, most not interested in the job. Ended up with 3 usable bids and chose Abacus. Mark Little is very friendly and will explain everything in detail, if you ask. Built the roof-deck such that its not sitting on the roof, but floating off the roof and resting on metal railings that attach at 4 distinct points. Pointed out roof work that needed to be done due to sloppy installation of siding on house. Negotiated a price directly with his roofer and paid him separately. Now that deck is done, inspected and Mark's been paid, he is continuing to help me with minor items relating to the deck.

Description of Work
Construction of 150 square foot roofdeck with roof hatch. In addition, the existing winders which went up to the 3rd floor were extended up to the roof. Deck was constructed using wrought iron railings and synthetic wood. Deck was wired with integrated lights.

Category contractors,decks,plastering,remodeling,home builders,interior painters

5.0

09/24/2012


Alex T.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel & painting.

Category home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

07/24/2012


JOHN B.

Mark was excellent. Worked well with electrical and plumber contracts. Very responsive and always return my calls. Stayed within budget and one time.

Description of Work
Mark Little, general contractor, gutted the apartment, insulated and blue boarded the ceiling, walls and kitchen. Responsible for city permits.

Category insulation,remodeling

5.0

07/20/2012


JOHN B.

Mark gave me a written estimate, followed up with written contract with completion dates and costs also included his liability insurance.

Description of Work
Mark Little, the contractor built 3 decks onto to my 3 family. Responsible for city permits. Performed all works on time and in budget.

Category decks,remodeling,home builders

Service Provider Response

we built a 3 level pressure treated DECK with winding stairs.

    Other local Pros in your area

    RAPID ELECTRICAL & CONTRACTING

    2 EMPLOYEES, USES SUBS. COSTS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. TRAVEL CHARGES MAY APPLY, OVERTIME CHARGES FOR 24 HOUR SERVICE.  

    Nor'east Services

    Roofing and roof replacement services. Gutter repair and replacement. Call us or click for a free estimate today  

    Masterpiece Roofing

    We offer quality and affordable roofing services.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    HOME BUILDING, GENERAL CONTRACTING SERVICES, FIRE DAMAGE RESTORATION, WATER DAMAGE RESTORATION, ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN, ENGINEERING, FOUNDATIONS, FRAMING, ROOFING, SIDING, WINDOWS, PLUMBING, HVAC, ELECTRICAL, INSULATION, DRYWALL, PLASTER, PAINTING, FINISH CARPENTRY, HARDWOOD FLOORS, FIREPLACES, CUSTOM IRON WORKS, DECKS, LANDSCAPING, PROPERTY MANAGEMENT. SPECIALIZES IN HOME IMPROVEMENT, HOME BUILDING, GENERAL CONTRACTING & FINE CARPENTRY.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABACUS BUILDERS

    How is ABACUS BUILDERS overall rated?

    ABACUS BUILDERS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are ABACUS BUILDERS open?

    ABACUS BUILDERS is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does ABACUS BUILDERS provide

    ABACUS BUILDERS accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does ABACUS BUILDERS offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABACUS BUILDERS offers free project estimates.

    Does ABACUS BUILDERS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ABACUS BUILDERS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABACUS BUILDERS offer a senior discount?

    No, ABACUS BUILDERS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ABACUS BUILDERS?

    Yes, ABACUS BUILDERS offers warranties.

    What services does ABACUS BUILDERS offer?

    ABACUS BUILDERS offers the following services: HOME BUILDING, GENERAL CONTRACTING SERVICES, FIRE DAMAGE RESTORATION, WATER DAMAGE RESTORATION, ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN, ENGINEERING, FOUNDATIONS, FRAMING, ROOFING, SIDING, WINDOWS, PLUMBING, HVAC, ELECTRICAL, INSULATION, DRYWALL, PLASTER, PAINTING, FINISH CARPENTRY, HARDWOOD FLOORS, FIREPLACES, CUSTOM IRON WORKS, DECKS, LANDSCAPING, PROPERTY MANAGEMENT. SPECIALIZES IN HOME IMPROVEMENT, HOME BUILDING, GENERAL CONTRACTING & FINE CARPENTRY.

    Are there any services ABACUS BUILDERS does not offer?

    NA