Action Roofing & Construction Inc.

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since February 2013

We don't complete roof repairs, we are a shingled roof replacement specialist with special pricing for Angie's List Members.. Action Roofing And Construction has been serving residential customers throughout the greater Woburn, Massachusetts area for more than 9 years. David Krasny, the owner and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(26) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

roofing (26)roof snow removal (1)gutter repair (3)chimney cap repair (1)gutter cleaning (1)
Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
1.0

09/12/2021


Nicole B.

Called to have estimate for a new roof to a 7x 70 ft 3 season roof replaced due to a leak and received an email back from David that the job was too small and if I wanted the whole house done to call then. Job was not worth their time.

Description of Work
Fixing a leak on roof

Category roofing

Work Completed On 09/12/2021

5.0

06/22/2021


Anthony C.

David and his crew were a pleasure to work with. Price was reasonable and they were there to do the work when they said they would be. They did a quality job including complete clean up of the area. Very pleased and would hire them again.

Description of Work
Strip and re-roof two sheds

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

Cost $2,325

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2021

5.0

01/20/2020


Paul B.

Great! We first met David when he responded to our call to repair a section of our roof after a tree fell on it in an ice storm. After completing the repair we asked about replacing the entire roof, as it was over 25 years old. He gave us a detailed description of his installation process and recommended that we use GAF architecture style shingles. We were impressed with his knowledge and we felt that he was honest. He di not use any high-pressure techniques. In fact he told use we could probably get a few more years out of the existing roof. David sent us a detailed estimate for the new roof within a few days and he answered our questions promptly by email. His crew came on schedule in early April and finished the job in one (12-hour day). We were impressed with the crew, each one worked very hard and communicated effectively with one another. The quality of the work was excellent. In particular, the new flashing around the chimney was done meticulously and looks great. They cleaned up very thoroughly after the job.

Description of Work
Replace roof over a 2-story Colonial house and attached 2-car garage. Replace fascia boards and damaged clapboards.

Category roofing

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2018

5.0

05/13/2019


Maddy W.

We got 3 roofing estimates. We made an appointment with the owner David Crasny. He showed up on time. He was the only one of the 3 roofers who got up on the roof (3 stories) to take pictures and evaluate. We received his estimate in 2 days as promised. It was detailed and thorough and gave us the option for a few extras (over fascia sealing & back porch). His price seems very fair. All roofers use GAF or equivalent shingles. He is trained and certified in GAF products. We were told by 2 roofers (we didn't ask him specifically) that we could have some shingle repairs done and can delay a new roof for 2 years. Based on his promptness and professionalism in person and in his estimate we will probably choose him when we do our new roof. We got a very low and very high estimate from other roofers. His was in the middle.

Description of Work
We have some missing and broken shingles from high wind damage and need a new roof on our house (about 1900 sf) in Arlington.

Category roofing

Cost $11,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you very much for your review. Feel free to contact me when you will be ready for the roof replacement. Best regards David Krasny
5.0

11/30/2018


David C.

David Krasny of Action Roofing & Construction is a professional and really nice guy. He was the first to give me a quote and then did not hound me in the months that it took me and my other HOA member to make a decision on who to hire. And David explained why it wasn't worth the effort and extra money to make a minor fix that I asked about. The work itself was done well and thoroughly. The crew was timely, professional, and very polite. In retrospect, the only thing that I might have wanted would have been some during and after photos. (David took photos as part of his initial estimate.) It's been nearly a year since the work, and the leaks have not returned. All the rain this fall brought some much smaller new leaks, so I called David and he came out within a few days to inspect, no questions asked, and even did some caulking around the old, suspect dormer window for free. (The issue now is the chimney masonry, not the roof.)

Description of Work
Roof repairs to stop leaks: flashing, chimney lead, patching

Category roofing

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2017

5.0

10/31/2018


Nicholas S.

Obtained an estimate for a re-roof from Action and the level of detail was far above all other contractors I spoke with. Every possible aspect was clearly detailed in the spec leaving no room for hidden charges. The spec also included two variations to the approach as we spoke about , something dropped by other contractors. David also included CAD diagrams of how the tapered insulation would be applied which really helped me understand the process better David was quick in providing the estimate and responding to emails and addressed my repeated questions. The pricing was competitive with other estimates i received, but not overly aggressive I ultimately was unable to go with Action roofing due to scheduling conflicts (mine, not Action roofing) but would consider them in the future due to their professionalism and attention to detail

Description of Work
Estimate for Re-Roof

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2018

5.0

05/07/2018


Doug G.

Very quick, excellent work.

Description of Work
Shingles re-attached after wind damage

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2018

5.0

01/10/2018


Daniel M.

The demo and install went very well. The dumpster and product showed up a Monday before the work was scheduled (Tues) and was carefully placed on wooden planks as to not damage the driveway. They showed up Tuesday morning at 7am ready to go. They were very careful to make sure that debris did not remain from the demo given how messy asphalt shingles are. They brought along an electric air compressor on the first day which was challenging as I had no exterior outlets - they used one that was built into one of my external lights and tripped a breaker, but didn't communicate that to me right away to address - I figured this out later that evening. They then had to use an interior outlet leaving my door slightly ajar - not a big deal to me. The second day they brought the gas compressor which has a noise factor in a close neighborhood. So they clearly have the ability for both and if you have a preference I'm sure David would do his best to accommodate. The reason they had to come back for a second day was due to rain in the afternoon of the first day. The temp protection they put on the roof held up and kept us dry. The new roof has since survived a couple of snow storms. We even got a small discount on our homeowner's insurance from it!

Description of Work
Needed a new roof on the house. Added options for gutters, rake and facia on the house as well as the roof for the shed. Solicited three bids with three different products. Preferred this product and price was about the same as one other bid (the last bid was very high). David's personality, patience and eagerness to educate and inform won him the bid. Ended up not doing the rake and facia after inspection by David's team and recommendation that these were still good and the wood beneath was not rotted. Added the options for new gutters and downspouts and the shed roof (included in total cost of service below).

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2017

5.0

11/18/2017


Christine B.

I can't say enough great things about Action Roofing. I contacted them through Angie's List because of their good rating and proximity to me. The owner David called me immediately and we discussed the job, which was a roof on my new carriage house. The crew showed up on the day we had agreed a little early, set everything up and did the whole job in a day. No corners were cut--everything was done above and beyond. For example, I sheathed the roof with ZipRoof which supposedly requires no underlayment (tar paper, or similar product). But David insisted that we should still use it because it's just better to do it right. He used all top-quality GAF products. The finished roof looks perfect--I mean perfect! The crew cleaned up and left everything nice and neat. The price was more than fair. All contractors should be this awesome! I will not hesitate to have these guys do the roof on my house when it needs replacement.

Description of Work
New roof on a carriage house (new construction)

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2017

Images

Review for Action Roofing & Construction Inc. - 19 Hamilton Ave, Billerica, MA - 36587754
5.0

06/05/2017


Eleanor O.

They were very prompt and professional and cleaned up completely. The previous flashing was very poorly done, looking sloppy and letting water through where chimney met roofing. Action Roofing managed to get the old slop off, and replaced the shingles with a very good color match even though it's years later. They also told us the chimney cap looked great and needed nothing, unlike a chimney guy who claimed to have "dropped by" to create an estimate (we never saw him) and added a new cap to his figure.

Description of Work
We needed new flashing to stop leakage around the chimney.

Category roofing

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2017

5.0

09/28/2016


Robert K.

We requested a cost estimate for replacing the roof on our house from David Krasny. David met with us and inspected the roof, after which he provided us with a written estimate of the cost. We decided to use another provider.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2016

5.0

09/09/2016


Paul G.

A couple of years ago wind blew some shingles off the roof, I called 10 roofers an Action was the only one to return call. I told David that when I needed a new roof I would call him. His crew replaced roof on my house and garage. They were great; professional, hard working and courteous. Would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
New roof on house an garage

Category roofing

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2016

5.0

06/02/2016


George E.

I called Action Roofing for a roof replacement estimate after search online and on Angies List. David returned my call within an hour and we met the next day. He was very professional, explained what the process is in details, gave me copies of his credentials and a list of references without me asking for them. He went up to the roof to check its condition and if the gutters would enable installing a protection against ice dams(optional). After our meeting I knew that I can rely on him and his crew to do the job. Later the same day I received the estimate. I met one more roof specialist and got an estimate. Based on my communication with David and his competitive estimate I decided to go with his company. He was very responsive and helpful with all my questions, stopped by to check the plywood from within the attic and was able to put us on his schedule within 2 weeks – I wanted to do this asap. On the day of the job his crew and David arrived at 7am and soon after the work started. They took care to protect the house, windows and the flowers, shrubs around. The crew was very well organized, experienced, friendly. The job was done by 3:30pm, the cleanup was precise, David came to check that everything is fine. Overall I am very satisfied with David and his people and would recommend him to any of my friends, in fact I already did it.

Description of Work
Shingles roof replacement.

Category roofing

Cost $5,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2016

5.0

05/03/2016


Ann K.

The owner was very responsive to my phone request for his services. He arrived on time, analyze the 2 lifted areas, and promptly fixed each area, saving and reusing the original shingles. He showed me the cause of the problem - lifted edge of the plywood. After finishing, there was no visual sign that any work was done - the singles look untouched. He did a great job!!! I will use him again for any future roofing issues and replacement.

Description of Work
repaired 2 areas of shingles on my roof that had lifted

Category roofing

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2016

5.0

05/02/2016


Ann K.

The owner was very responsive to my phone request for his services. He arrived on time, analyze the 2 lifted areas, and promptly fixed each area, saving and reusing the original shingles. He showed me the cause of the problem - lifted edge of the plywood. After finishing, there was no visual sign that any work was done - the singles look untouched. He did a great job!!! I will use him again for any future roofing issues and replacement.

Description of Work
repaired 2 areas of shingles on my roof that had lifted

Category roofing

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/28/2016

5.0

03/09/2016


George M.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/10/2015


Michael P.

On Father's Day we woke up to a puddle of water on the dining room floor. The roof was leaking. Over the next couple of days we scrambled and called about 20 roofing companies (and some handy-men) in our area. We received only four calls backs, and only one of those was willing to take on the job. That was Action Roofing. David came out to the house the next day and determined why the roof was leaking. He had to order a part to perform the permanent repair, but he was determined to at least put a 'band-aid' on the problem until the new part came in. The band-aid worked great (we know because it rained again that night), and just two days after his first visit he was back to install a new vent to make his repairs permanent. Out of all the issues we've ever had in our houses, this was the most stressful. Not just because of the issue of water coming into the house, but also because no one seemed to be willing to help us. We cannot thank David and Action Roofing enough. Once the roof is at an age where we need it replaced, we will only be calling one company to get the job done!

Description of Work
repaired leaky rubber roof

Category roofing

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2015

5.0

07/09/2015


Helen L.

David with Action Construction was very pleasant and professional to deal with. He answered my call to make a bid promptly and he responded quickly with a bid. He included in the bid several solutions for problems with our old roof and this showed his experience. His price was very competitive but not the lowest. I chose him because he inspired confidence. I even visited a job he was doing before mine and I was very impressed with his crew and their work. After signing the contract his crew and David showed up on the agreed date and set to work. The roofing job went off really well and we are very pleased with the quality of the work. David has a talented group of men that work for him. They finished the job on time and now our roof looks amazing and so much better. Thank you to David and his crew. I would not hesitate to recommend him to friends and family. I felt lucky to have found him.

Description of Work
Action Construction re-roofed our entire home, including installing new trim and removal of old shingles

Category roofing

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2015

5.0

04/10/2015


Marla T.

Description of Work
Removed large ice dam

Category gutter repair, roofing

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2015

5.0

02/21/2015


David K.

David responded to my inquiry quickly (most of the other contractors didn't respond at all). I asked if he could call us prior to arrival and he did that. His crew arrived when he said they would. In an hour and a half it was all done. The roof was cleared of snow and all the leaks stopped. I would recommend this service to anyone and intend to use them in the future.

Description of Work
Removed snow from roof and cut channels in ice dams.

Category roofing, roof snow removal

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2015

5.0

07/01/2014


Marla T.

David arrived at the prearranged time for the quote. He is friendly, personable and knowledgable. He spent plenty of time reviewing exactly what I wanted done and answering all my questions. He was willing to negotiate on the price based on other quotes that I recieved. He contacted me in advance of showing up; showed up on time and finished the work in a timely fashion. His crew was friendly and professional. They left my yard clean and tidy. Everything went like clockwork and I would highly recommend this company to do a professional job.

Description of Work
stripped existing roof, applied all steps of GAF roofing system, replaced 3 skylights, removed an antennae, replaced a gutter and added a new downspout.

Category roofing

Cost $13,159

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2014

5.0

05/20/2014


Pamela W.

The project went without a hitch. Monday morning at 7:00 am the crew arrived and also the dumpster . From that point on it was non stop work except for break and lunch, and at 5:00pm it was quitting time. They finished the job in three days. The dumpster was picked up the following morning. The area around the house was as clean as it was before they started . The crew were professional throughout the job leaving the area spotless each day. Very quiet, no radios and our neighbors commented on their professionalism as well. Action Construction uses no subcontractors.

Description of Work
The roofer stripped the roof on our 150 year old Mansard style home and replaced it with GAF Timberline HD shingles. He repositioned vents in their proper places. He repaired any boards that showed rot, stripped and replaced the 6 small roofs over the windows which jut out of the Mansard with rubber roofing. They also replaced the flat roof over the kitchen with rubber and provided a perfect spinning type vent to remove excess heat.

Category roofing

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2014

5.0

03/13/2013


Gary C.

Very polite, excellant price, very prompt, great follow-up and clean-up. Highly recommended!!

Description of Work
New roof on 2 family home in Arlington, MA. Stripped and reshingled , some siding repair. Excellant workmanship!

Category roofing