Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Benchcraft Jewelers

Founded 1995 • With Angi since January 2003

5.0

(77) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

383 Trapelo Rd

Belmont, MA 02478

Description

We specialize in repairs and designs also in restoration and remounts. Feel free to call us with your questions, all work is done on premises....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/21/2017


Marty M.

Great. The owner was very honest, clearly cared about the quality of his work.

Description of Work
Jewelry repair

Category jewelry stores

5.0

06/17/2017


Alisha W.

Great! Quick turnaround. Pleasure to work with Tony.

Description of Work
Loop and clasp repair on a necklace

Category jewelry stores

5.0

03/03/2017


Elizabethe D.

My sister passed away unexpectedly in Peru. When I was able to get her belongings back, our family heirloom diamond ring, that was our grandmothers, had to be cut off her finger. They cut it in a place on the ring that completely damaged the side diamond and setting. Tony was amazing. He gave me 2 different options, and gave me the pros and cons and pricing of each option. Tony knew how important this ring was to me and told me he would make sure it was done within a week, and he kept his word. The ring looks as though nothing had happened to it. It even lost a diamond, and Tony replaced it for a very reasonable price. I will be forever grateful to Tony for his professionalism and talent.

Description of Work
He completely restored and repaired a family heirloom diamond ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

11/26/2016


Rich W.

The medal came out great. You can see for yourself in the photos. Now I have 2 problems. I have to keep my mouth shut about it until Xmas, and I have to keep a dry while my daughter opens it. I couldn't recommend Tony more. I also want to thank the others that gave Benchcraft rave reviews and sent me his way. I live in Marlborough, but found that driving to Tonys place in Belmont was well worth the trip. The price below also includes a necklace chain. Extremely good price

Description of Work
My wife passed away last spring after battling MS for several years. Its now just me and my daughter and my wifes service do Nacho. When my wife and I got married we had them engrave " I adore you" in French; inside our wedding rings. My wife although not French had a minor in it, and loved the language. After she passed I didn't wear my ring anymore and decided to have them melted down into a medal for my daughter. This time I wanted my daughter to have something from both of us. I went to Tony at Benchcraft and asked if he would melt down the rings and engrave " nous vous adorons " (french for "we adore you") . He couldn't have been more excited or helpful. I felt like his only customer. I also noticed anyone coming in the door felt the same way, huge smiles and glad to be there.. He gave me some different options and suggested putting my daughters initials on one side, which I thought was a great idea.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/29/2016


Beth E.

Tony, the owner, was incredibly kind and helpful. He showed me gold and gold-filled chains in a range of prices, not trying to get me to buy the more expensive ones -- being very even-handed. I did choose a gold chain, and Tony looked at my pendant through his loupe and found that the little loop attached to the pendant was worn and compromised -- it could have broken and I would have lost the pendant off the new necklace. So he took the time and effort to solder the loop to the pendant and reinforce it. He polished the pendant with care and respect. He did not charge me for these services. He is a charming and knowledgeable man, and I would definitely use his services again. What a pleasure!

Description of Work
I needed a new chain for a little gold pendant. The chain I had was too short.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/27/2016


scott C.

When I saw all of Tony's rave reviews, I kind of wondered if maybe he had a huge family who all agreed to write them. But guess what: it's all true. He fixed my glasses promptly and perfectly and charged a perfectly decent price. He was also a perfect gentleman, very good to deal with. Awful nice to be able to submit such a perfectly positive review. And full disclosure: I am not a member of Tony's family.

Description of Work
I had a pair of very expensive eyeglasses that had lost a couple of tiny rivets and were in danger of falling apart. I figured a jeweler might know how to fix them, so I checked Angie's List and called Tony. He said he doesn't work on eyeglasses but if I wanted to bring them by, he'd be happy to have a look. I did and he did and he said he thought he could indeed fix them. Which, two days later, he'd done.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/21/2016


JEFFREY M.

Tony was fantastic. He was very personable, and paid close attention to the details that were important to me: to start with my Mom's diamond, re-use her gold, and add some additional stones. The ring is perfect. Thank you Tony!

Description of Work
Tony helped us redesign my mother's 60 year old wedding ring set which I inherited 2 years ago. Obviously, the ring has great sentimental meaning, but was in a setting and style which I was unlikely to wear. I wanted to find a jewelry who would work with us, and help us design something appropriate. Tony came highly recommended on both Yelp and Angie's List, so we made the decision to visit his shop.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

03/29/2016


Kristen L.

Tony was lovely to work with. The work was done quickly, and he took excellent care of my grandmother's ring. I highly recommend Tony.

Description of Work
Repaired and resized my grandmother's wedding ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

01/28/2016


Zane H.

Tony designed and executed a beautiful new setting of a heirloom 3-diamond ring for my 30th wedding anniversary. I was really pleased with how the ring turned out and have received many many compliments. Just stunning.

Description of Work
New setting with diamonds I already had from an inheritance for an anniversary ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

01/13/2016


Lucy D.

Tony was enthusiastic and considerate. Serving me well seemed his top priority. And then I noticed he treated other customers with the same regard. What a nice experience! My only regret is that he did not provide an effective solution for my gemstone ring's slipping around my finger. Over time, my fingers have gotten thinner but the joints bigger, so the band could not be made any smaller. A jeweler near my home attached a ring guard, which has gone a long way to helping. I wish Tony had suggested this. Do not be put off my the location and the exterior of his shop. Tony has humble digs, but he is an excellent craftsman.

Description of Work
Tony re-soldered my wedding ring, which had been cut due to a finger injury. He provided a birthstone for my diamond ring setting (diamond had been lost), and refitted another ring band to a smaller size.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/10/2015


ANASTASIA K.

These rings were more difficult to resize because they?re made up of two metals (platinum and gold), with different properties and because they?re milgrain, which means their edges have tiny decorative beads. A couple of years ago, a jeweler specializing in platinum in one of the jewelers? buildings at Washington Crossing recommended that I not resize the rings at all because he thought there was no way to resize them without markedly marring their appearance. Recently, I decided to look into this again and found Benchcraft Jewelers on Angie?s List. Tony resized the rings so skillfully that I have to work hard to tell where on the rings the resizing took place. The rings look beautiful. Tony was patient, explained the work, and performed the work promptly. I think he?s a find, and I?ll go to him for any jewelry work I have in the future.

Description of Work
Resized (to a smaller size) two difficult-to-resize wedding rings.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

09/03/2015


Laurie B.

I am grateful to Tony's professionalism and work ethic. One of the earrings he was repairing caused him a lot of grief. The coral stone in the earring discolored (due to the unexpected presence of resin that had been used behind the stone) when he tried to solder on a new stud. Before doing any more work, he contacted me and apologized for the problem. With my approval, Tony pulled out the coral stones in both earrings and replaced them with garnets, the closest color stones he could find. He spent way more time repairing these earrings than he charged me for. He wouldn't let me pay him any extra for all the additional time and trouble these earrings caused him. He also gave me a free watch battery. I cannot thank Tony enough for the care he took with this job. He's a treasure, and I plan to use him for all my jewelry needs in the future. His services are exemplary, and his work is beautiful. The earrings look as good as new. My grade for Tony is A+++++!

Description of Work
Tony repaired two pairs of silver earrings with broken studs. He also replaced my watch battery.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

02/25/2015


Robert W.

I found Tony and Benchcraft through Angie's List. My wife's wedding band was missing a small stone and needed some modest restoration. Tony took the time to explain my options, and expected costs in a very professional, friendly, and respectful way. Everything was very clear by the time I left the ring with him. It was ready within a few days, and the work was beautifully done; my wife was very pleased with the results. Tony also resized and did some minor restoration on my wedding band. It took a couple of days and also came out beautifully. My sense in working with Tony is that he is honest, fair, and takes pride in meeting/exceeding his customer's expectations. Would recommend him without hesitation.

Description of Work
Tony Minassian repaired and restored my wife's wedding band, and resized my wedding band.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/28/2014


Kathleen F.

He did it perfectly, and just as promised in all respects! I would definitely use him again for any jewelry repairs or services and would recommend him to family and friends.

Description of Work
Tony repaired some pieces of jewelery and resized two rings for me.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/20/2014


Betsy B.

He did a very professional job and the ring is better than new. I have had several bad experiences with jewelers, and this gentleman is the real deal and knows his business. I highly recommend him!

Description of Work
A stone fell out of my ring, and Tony pointed out that the whole setting was worn thin, and he not only replaced the stone but rebuilt the ring with a new setting to hold the stones.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/18/2014


Logan G.

Last year I became allergic to my white gold wedding band (presumably the nickel in it). I went for over a year unable to wear it without my finger breaking out in a crazy rash. I took it to Benchcraft Jewelers because of the other reviews I saw on Angie's List to discuss having it plated in some other metal to help alleviate the allergy. The jeweler is extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgable. He told me that white gold is usually rhodium plated, but he wasn't sure that re-doing the rhodium plating on my ring would fix my allergy to it. SInce it would only cost $25 to plate the band, I wanted to try it. I have now been wearing my ring for over a week with no problems! Additionally, the ring looks amazingly beautiful. The jeweler also spent some time with me discussing other metal options for my wedding band (or any jewelry I might buy in the future) and checked the carat on a yellow gold band I knew I was not allergic to (for free). I will definitely be visiting this store again for any jewelry questions or repair needs.

Description of Work
He rhodium plated my white gold wedding band

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/02/2014


Lori H.

It could not have gone better.

Description of Work
Tony took a great deal of time to speak with me and evaluate a ring I was intreested in selling. He was thoughtful and very honest in that he told me I would make much more money if I sold the ring through the jeweler of origin. This did in fact end up to be the case. He could have very easliy persuaded me to sell it to him for much less than I received elsewhere. Despite this he spent a great deal of time educating me of my options. You just dont see that kind of professionalism and kindness every day.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

07/24/2014


Kathleen M.

I have an aquamarine ring with 2 small diamonds on each side. During the course of wearing the ring for the past 25 years, the gold prongs had worn down and there wasn't much gold holding the diamonds. Along with rebuilding the prongs, the jeweler suggested building up the prongs holding the center stone. He explained that if I decided to build up the center prongs, I would be able to feel the prongs on the stone. I decided to do that rather than possibly losing the stone. When I picked it up, I couldn't believe how great it looked. Building up the prongs did not detract whatsoever from the beauty of the ring. I can now wear the ring with confidence that the diamonds and stone will not fall out ... at least not over the next 25 years. I had taken the ring to another jeweler who was going to charge twice as much to repair just the prongs holding the diamonds. I am thrilled that I have finally found a local jeweler who takes pride in his work and someone whom I can trust to do a good job at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
Rebuilt the gold prongs supporting outer diamonds and center stone.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

07/16/2014


Karen K.

Tony was very friendly, helpful, and patient- a really nice guy! He seemed very knowledgable about all aspects of jewelry. He seemed to really love his work, and it showed. I would definitely recommend him, and will use him again in the future!

Description of Work
He sized my ring, which had belonged to my grandmother, and he replaced a tiny diamond and re-pronged, so that I would not lose any stones. Then he cleaned the ring and made it sparkle!

Category jewelry stores

5.0

06/22/2014


William S.

...thank you so much tony.tony is amazing. he spent 55 minutes with us.he was so thorough and detailed .my wife wanted to add 2 diamonds to her engagement ring.we also brought in 2 diamond chips that were passed on from her grandmother from germany.one of the chips was not a diamond. tony worked on that diamond for 15 minutes hoping that after cleaning and polishing it would be a diamond.it was'nt. the chip was an exact size match of the other chip.tony stated it so close only a trained jewler would know.he never tried to push us into buying another chip from him! i requested another diamond chip.the rings were ready 3 days earlier then we were told they would be.they came out absolutely gorgeous.my wife had tears of joy running down her face ! tony is a man you can trust. i was going to the jewers building in boston but i checked out angie's list ,read his reviews and utilized his highly skilled service.awesome experience and results!!

Description of Work
new setting for my wife's diamond engagement ring in which 2 smaller diamond were added, 1 of which we purchased from tony.also reset and repaired another ring and replaced the stone. traded in broken gold jewelry(beyond repair) which we were credited $ 600.00

Category jewelry stores

5.0

05/23/2014


GEORGE H.

This is the second time I have come to Tony with jewelry projects. He is a very skilled jeweler and a delight to work with. The first time he helped me select a beautiful pendant surround and chain for setting an old-fashioned cut diamond I inherited from my mother. He did a perfect job of setting the stone, and several years on, it continues to look lovely and wear well. More recently, he carefully examined the prongs of two antique rings and made expert decisions about how to set new stones that would wear well and stay securely in their settings. He is very cost-conscious, never pushy about selling, and charges fair prices for his labor.

Description of Work
He replaced a stone that I supplied in a very delicate antique ring. He also sold me a cubic zirconium and set it in another antique ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

03/30/2014


Judith B.

Tony did an excellent job repairing my jewelry. He took the time to explain the pros and cons and making the repairs. Tony would let you know if he felt an item was not worth repairing. He was very accommodating, meeting me at his store outside of his normal working hours to fit my schedule. I feel Tony is honest and does excellent work. I would definitely recommend Benchcraft Jewelers to my friends and family.

Description of Work
Tony is the gentleman I dealt with at Benchcraft Jewelers. I had a number of neck chains repaired and also had a badly damaged 40 year old ring repaired/restored.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

12/27/2013


Anne S.

Since my ring is quite expensive but needed to be resized, it was difficult to find a trusting jeweler and decided to check out Angie's List for reputable jewelers. Based on the overall ratings and the large number (23) of customers' positive reviews, we chose Benchmark Jewelers. We are THRILLED the reviews were accurate and Tony, the owner of Benchmark Jewelers is extremely knowledgeable, professional, welcoming, and passionate with the quality work he puts into repairing jewelry and he takes great pride in his work. The minute my husband and I walked through the doors, Tony, the owner welcomed us into his store. The first thing Tony did was to look at my ring and checked for loose diamonds and rubies that sit in the channel band. He showed us that the diamonds on each end of the channel were loose and could fall out which you could see once he pointed them out to us. He said he can reset the loose diamonds in the channel and then he measured my finger to resize the ring band. Since it is a very expensive ring, we asked Tony if he could do the ring in front of us because we have heard horror stories that a jeweler can easily swap the stones for a lesser quality. Tony said he could not do the work in front of us because with Christmas holiday coming up, he is very busy since he is the only person who actually does the repair work. However, he did reassure us that he is fully insured and (we were also insured) so we took a chance and left the ring with Tony for resizing as well as securing the loose diamonds in the channel band. He said he will expedite the work and we could have the ring back within 4 days. Tony called us later on the same day after we left the ring off with him and said "since he was not as busy as he had anticipated" he was able to resize the ring band and tightened the channels so that the loose diamonds now can be secured. We went back to Tony's store the next day and we could not believe the incredible work he did. WORK DONE: resized the ring and it fits perfectly on my finger, secured the diamonds in the channel, with the ring band that is now a tad larger, Tony was able to copy the ridges to the other ridges that was on the original band so it looks like the ring was never resized - fabulous workmanship!! The ring looks brand new and all the diamonds & rubies are now secured inside the channel band. How did it go???? - BETTER THAN WE EXPECTED!!!! THANK YOU TONY!!! We highly recommend anyone who is looking for a trusting jeweler who understands and knows how to repair jewelry. The price was reasonable and I am now able to wear my beautiful ring.

Description of Work
An anniversary ring band, with diamonds and rubies, was too tight and it needed to be resized.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

11/06/2013


DOUGLAS W.

Brought in a too-tight ring. Everything was explained clearly up-front: cost, time, contingencies. He did a fabulous job; the ring fits perfectly. Cost was as quoted, job was done on the date promised, and the ring was also cleaned and polished to a fare thee well; it looked brand new. Additionally, called for advice in an area this shop does not do work in, and was given excellent advice as well as alternative shops for the work needed (pearl re-stringing).

Description of Work
Re-sized a ring.

Category jewelry stores

5.0

10/17/2013


Patricia O.

I had some jewelry that I no longer wanted to keep. Tony was extremely helpful. He appraised the pieces, gave the me the amount that I might expect if i sold them privately, and also the amount I could expect if I sold them to a jeweler. I found Tony to be very professional and very fair and honest in our dealings. He was definitely up front the whole time. I recommend him highly and would go to him again in the future if the need arose.

Description of Work
I brought pieces of jewelry to Benchcraft Jewelers for appraisal and possible sale.

Category jewelry stores,jewelry appraisal

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Jewelry Sales/Design/Repair
    Not Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Jewlery Repairs, Remounts, Restorations,engraving, watch bands and batteries,jewelry polishing and cleaning, appraisals, work done on premises.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Benchcraft Jewelers

    How is Benchcraft Jewelers overall rated?

    Benchcraft Jewelers is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Benchcraft Jewelers open?

    Benchcraft Jewelers is open:

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 PM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Benchcraft Jewelers provide

    Benchcraft Jewelers accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Benchcraft Jewelers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Benchcraft Jewelers offers free project estimates.

    Does Benchcraft Jewelers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Benchcraft Jewelers does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Benchcraft Jewelers offer emergency services?

    Yes, Benchcraft Jewelers offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Benchcraft Jewelers?

    No, Benchcraft Jewelers does not offer warranties.

    What services does Benchcraft Jewelers offer?

    Benchcraft Jewelers offers the following services: Jewlery Repairs, Remounts, Restorations,engraving, watch bands and batteries,jewelry polishing and cleaning, appraisals, work done on premises.