Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Professional Furniture Services

Founded 1987 • With Angi since September 2008

5.0

(86) Verified Reviews

Antiques
Furniture - Custom Made
Furniture - Sales

Description

Award wining. Sole Proprietary of the business. 1 Man shop. Handles all aspects start to finish....

Other local Pros in your area

John Barry

In business since 1982. In home repairs as well as complete restoration of fine furniture and pianos.  

Gojehos Carpentry

At Gojehos we have over 20 years combined construction experience. We would be happy to join forces with you by offering our proven expertise thereby helping you to continue to provide the excellence that you demand in the market place. When you have projects in the Mass area, we will be pleased to submit our bid to you.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Modern House Construction

We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/19/2019


Sherrie S.

Howard is a master at his trade. He repaired a broken frame on a leaded glass barrister bookcase and referred me to a colleague for repair of the broken glass and bent lead. He is now repairing broken hinges on a Martha Washington sewing cabinet. Howard is patient and thorough. He's the best!

Description of Work
Repair of family heirlooms

Category furniture repair

5.0

06/06/2018


Sarah T.

Howard took the table in and will get back to me about the extent of work needed. I am looking forward to a contract for him to restore an old family heirloom.

Description of Work
REFINISHING AND RESTORING AN ANTIQUE DINING ROOM TABLE

Category furniture repair

5.0

04/07/2018


Thomas L.

Called and left a message. I received a call back within 1-2 hrs. I dropped off a colllege alumnus chair with broken cross bar and loose legs. Howard said he would have it back in one week. He called me the next day to say it was ready. Chair looks new. Legs feel strong. Broken crossbar looks perfect.

Description of Work
Broken crossbar on chair. LEgs also loose.

Category furniture repair

5.0

07/04/2016


Jan A.

Howard did a fantastic job of repairing and refinishing our sideboard. It looks really beautiful and the doors work well now. He clearly cares a great deal about doing quality work. He asked us to come to his shop twice while he was working on the sideboard, once to show us a sample of what the color would look like, and once just before the piece was finished, to make sure we were happy with it. The entire process took 8 weeks, plus 2 more before delivery of the restored piece took place. This was longer than Howard had originally estimated it would take. However, repairing the doors turned out to be more difficult than he had anticipated. The other furniture restorer from whom we had gotten a quote had estimated a 10 week turnaround, so the amount of time it took does not seem to be an outlier. Plus, Howard's price was substantially less than the other restorer's, and he didn't charge us a fee to come to look at the piece and prepare us an estimate, which the other restorer did. The moving company that Howard uses did a good, careful job of moving the 6 foot-long sideboard to and from our 3rd floor condominium unit, up and down a winding staircase. If you are looking for a quick and dirty restoration, you'd be better off looking elsewhere. If you're looking for high quality craftsmanship, I can recommend Howard.

Description of Work
Howard repaired some gouges on the top of a sideboard that had been caused by a contractor working in our home. He also repaired the sliding doors on the sideboard, which were not working right, and refinished the entire piece, which it badly needed.

Category furniture repair

5.0

03/28/2016


Melissa O.

He did the work a couple of years ago and we continue to be really pleased - very good quality work - still looks great and is holding up.

Description of Work
He refinished an antique oak dining table that had water damage, as well as multiple leaves

Category furniture repair,antiques

5.0

03/23/2016


Janice J.

Howard worked on his own schedule, but did a super job. The table has two complex nesting leaves but he managed to get it all working correctly. Took a bit...

Description of Work
Refinished a 100 year old maple kitchen set: a large kitchen table that seats 12 plus nine heavy chairs, all of which had missing rungs, scratches etc.

Category furniture repair

5.0

02/24/2016


Lois C.

Howard Freeman is wonderful! He suggested I send him photos of the table, which I did. He contacted me with the estimate and we set up a time for him to come pickup the table top and boards. He, unlike many many people, came when he said he would! Howard explained the process and the time needed in detail; answered all my questions patiently and left with the table. He brought the table back today. This person is a treasure! His work is beautiful. Whereas the table is well over 100 yrs. old., the boards are reproductions. Also, the table is old wood and the boards are fairly new wood. Everything matches perfectly and the finish could not be better. Not only would I and will recommend Howard to anyone who needs his services, but he will be the first and only person I call should we need his talent again.

Description of Work
We own an antique round oak pedestal table. The table top as well as two boards needed to be refinished.

Category furniture repair,antiques

5.0

11/16/2015


William A.

Fine! He came & picked up the chair(s), kept them for a while, returned them in fine shape.

Description of Work
Repaired chairs that had come undone

Category furniture repair

5.0

10/10/2015


Dan H.

Howard did a fantastic job with our two dining room pieces. We had him refinish and stain both a dining and buffet table that had been in our family for 50+ years. He came to our house to pick up the pieces and see our other existing pieces we wanted them to fit in with. He had us come to his shop 4 times to see and approve stain and finishes so that we would be happy with the work as it progressed. he made suggestions for the hardware so they would be a good fit. he had many design suggestions along the way that changed our initial plan that we agreed with; he clearly wanted to ensure the work was perfect for us. We could not be more happy with the finished work. Came out much better than we had imagined, a great mix of family history with our current more modern dining room pieces. Noone in the family wanted these pieces. they were almost donated. Everyone who sees the pieces now and had seen them before cannot believe they are the same ones and wishes they had them now. The quality of work and price were excellent. Would not hesitate to use Howard again. The work took much longer than originally estimated by Howard and we had trouble getting a hold of Howard for a time. Must be patient. Eventually it worked out and it was worth it. He is very responsible, very good to deal with, and truly wanted his work to be perfect for us.

Description of Work
Refinished a 50+ year old dining table and buffet table. repaired broken trim and damaged door. stained two colors to match existing dining room pieces.

Category furniture repair

5.0

09/16/2015


Bonnie K.

Our well-loved kitchen table had seen better days; it was scratched and papers were sticking to it in the summer humidity because the finish was worn away. Howard came to the house with a book of examples of his work, which really showed his attention to detail. He explained that the finish he uses is very hard... used on boats... he said he would make the table look like new and it would wear even better than it did when new. He was realistic with the time frame and kept in touch while the table was being refinished. He even invited me to come see the table after he took off the old finish and cleaned up the scratches. The table was delivered today and it truly does look like new. I couldn't be happier; would recommend Howard wholeheartedly!

Description of Work
Refinished kitchen table

Category furniture repair

Service Provider Response

thanks for the review

    Services Offered

    Furniture restoration, old or new, refinishing repairs color matching distressing antiquing glazing detailing decorative art metal welding sandblasting metal painting upholstery caning rush gilding.

    Services Not Offered

    Furniture making.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes