Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services

Founded 1995 • With Angi since September 2011

Locally and family owned & operated. Asphalt Paving Company providing residential and commercial asphalt paving services throughout New England. At Atlas Asphalt Services, we use only the best government grade coal tar emulsion based sealer. We also have Asphalt Emulsion, an environmentally friendly product. Seal coating fills surface voids, reduces the depth to which oil or gas can penetrate the pavement, costing less dollars needed to repair or replace damaged asphalt.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(282) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 282 reviews
shawn P.
1.0
08/07/2017
Sealing work was performed but the work was destroyed by torrential rain approximately 3 hours after completion. Sealing materials were washed off of significant portions of the driveway and the company Atlas/Nate refuses to speak with me about what can be done to repair the work. I am out the entire amount I paid and I need to find another company to come redo the work Nate refuses to return my multiple calls and emails. I guess he's got his money and he doesn't care what happens after that. Additional details: 1300sf driveway and quote was $300. My research indicated I should expect to pay between $0.14 and $0.25/sf so this quote seemed reasonable. The 2 man crew arrived around noon (appointment was for 8:30am) and they began using a blower and broom to clean the driveway but stopped after a few minutes and let me know that they thought the quote was way too low. I immediately tried to call Nate but could not reach him by phone. I also sent email. I was initially concerned that the crew was trying to shake me down for a little extra cash but apparently they had a way to reach him and he gave them the go ahead at the originally quoted price. They finished the work, I paid them, and 2 hours later it started raining - but very lightly. At about 3:30pm that afternoon, Nate finally called me (based on voice messages I had left earlier) and we talked. I express concern about the rain but he indicated that unless we have places on the driveway where water pools we should not have a problem. We did not talk about the issues that might occur with hard / torrential rain. Nate also indicated that he knew that rain was coming but thought it would be later in the day. At about 4:00pm the torrential rain started. And while I was still worried, there was no pooling water (driveway is very flat). At no time was I was never informed that hard rain could destroy the work. I came out the next morning and the work was ruined. Large areas of the driveway had all the sealant stripped off and there was sand everywhere. I was clear to me that this work needed to be done again. I placed multiple calls to Nate and sent multiple emails - No response. I did manage to connect with one of the guys that came to do the work (Scott) and he said that he would ask Nate to call me. He also said that this was an "act of god" and not their problem. He said if they came out to repair the work that I would need to pay again. Scott was rude and argumentative and he also indicated that they knew rain was coming but thought it was be latter in the day/evening. My position: 1) I am not an expert so I had no idea (and was not informed by Nate) that hard rain would ruin the work. These guys do this for a living so presumably they knew that a hard rain would damage the coating. 2) Nate knew that rain was coming and took a calculated risk - HIS risk NOT MINE. If he had informed me that rain could damage the work (as he should have), I could have taken on part of the risk - If after being informed of the risk I chose to go ahead with the work then I would certainly also be willing to take on the added expense of repairing the damage. I can say for sure that had Nate told me that hard rain would damage the work I would have asked to reschedule. I've lived in New England for over 25 years and I know that the weather forecasts are often way off. Horrible experience with this company. Poor communications, terrible customer service. Stay away!!!
Description of Work
Driveway sealing
Category
driveway pavers
James L.
5.0
06/27/2017
Nate (Atlas) was responsive and professional. He contacted me after the purchase with an info sheet and suggested dates/weeks for the services to be provided. The work was very good compared to the previous job. We a small mix-up over payment, I paid both Angie's List and left a check. Once we worked out the details between Angie's list and Atlas, a check arrived very quickly. I would recommend Atlas for this service or more complicated projects.
Description of Work
Driveway sealcoating and crack filling for a short but very wide driveway.
Category
driveway pavers
Robin B.
5.0
06/13/2017
Nate was a pleasure to hire. He contacted us well in advance with all necessary information about the job, like the available dates and the start time, turning off sprinklers before the service, and not using the driveway for 48 hours after the service. I sent him a few minor questions by email, and he answered us promptly. Rain in the weather forecast meant Nate had to re-schedule the work, and he kept us up-to-date throughout. The work was done as promised and as planned, and it looks great! I'd highly recommend Atlas to anyone considering sealcoating.
Description of Work
We used The Big Deal for driveway sealcoating.
Category
driveway pavers
Charles P.
5.0
05/29/2017
The service was quick, efficient and accurate (i.e. no sealcoating spillage on wall, steps, posts, etc.). Writing this review ~2 years later and coating is holding up quite well. Still looks good as new. The pricing was very reasonable and the site workers very cordial. We would hire again for sure.
Description of Work
Seal Coating driveway and sidewalk.
Category
driveway pavers
MICHAEL F.
5.0
11/15/2016
Great job for late in the season! Nate is the best.
Description of Work
Driveway Sealing
Category
driveway pavers
Leo T.
5.0
07/24/2016
They responded within 48 hours with a quote and answered all of my questions. Everything went very smoothly. They were on time and did a great job. We plan on hiring them again for the next sealcoat.
Description of Work
Sealcoating 680 sq ft driveway.
Category
driveway pavers
ROBERT M.
4.0
11/22/2015
Everything went well! people were a little rough around the edges, lacking in telephone etiquette!
Description of Work
Sealed Driveway
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
nancy D.
1.0
10/20/2015
They never called back to give the estimate.
Description of Work
They were supposed to give an estimate for seal coating.
Category
driveway pavers
Alec C.
5.0
10/06/2015
I contacted them about two weeks ago. They got back to me the following day came out and gave me an estimate and had an scheduled an apointment. They were on time, did nice quality work, and we're at estimate.
Description of Work
Sealed driveway and repaired small crack
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, we appreciate your wonderful review,
Kiran S.
5.0
09/08/2015
They did an excellent job of seal coating my drive way. They gave us a time slot and came in that time and completed it. I am satisfied with their work.
Description of Work
They seal coated my drive way.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, we appreciate your awesome review.
Joanne B.
5.0
08/18/2015
Very well would use them again.
Description of Work
Seal coated deiveway in June. Then I asked Nate to fill in a space in front of my house with asphalt and seal coat. He did a nice job.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, we appreciate your Great review,
Katie S.
1.0
08/14/2015
I contacted them about fixing my driveway and they directed me to an online form to fill out complete information, and said I would get an estimate within a week. After two weeks I hadn't heard back, so I sent another message. That was a week ago and I still have received no response.
Description of Work
Did not respond to inquiry.
Category
excavators, driveway pavers
Alan G.
5.0
08/06/2015
The people at Atlas were prompt in contacting me, prompt in coming out to look at the job and prompt in providing a quote and details. They arrived on the day and time we arranged,and did a good job. I recommend Atlas for their driveway sealing service.
Description of Work
sealed driveway
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member, we appreciate your honest appraisal and evaluation of our Team.
James R.
4.0
07/27/2015
It went very well. I originally bought a $ 299 Angie's List deal for a spraycoat on the old asphalt. When they came out they told me that the spraycoat would be a waste of money because the old surface was too far gone. They gave me an estimate for the asphalt surface including the original $ 299 and came out several weeks later to do the work. I gave them a B on punctuality, because they couldn't give me a tighter window than the entire day. However, I they told me that was just the nature of their business. They did come when they said they'd be there. The final work took 2 days, because the weather got bad and they were worried about a full truck of asphalt getting wet. They were honest and straight forward with me. The company's people were very nice, professional and very good to work with. I feel they did a very good job. The surface has now hardened and it looks great. My only complaint is minor, as the asphalt settled there are some very minor defects that I suspect are more cosmetic but are the reason I didn't rate the job the top excellent rating. Actually, I have no complaint I'm very happy and I'm just being a little picky about the top rating. The job was fairly priced and an excellent value. I do heartily recommend these folks for any asphalt work in the Boston area.
Description of Work
Removed old asphalt, spread gravel and then a fresh asphalt surface on approx. 800 sq. ft area in front of house
Category
pavers, gravel, driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hello Member, I am sorry you rated us so low, even though we did a GREAT job for you, and we are VERY explicit in telling ALL customers we do not schedule a time, we schedule a DAY. The reason we do this is what if a drive takes a little longer than planned? Wouldn't you want us to spend the time necessary to get you the great job you say we did? If we spend 10 mins extra on each job, and do 10 jobs ( a lite day) that's 100 mins that we have to account for! The weather in New England is sooo very difficult to plan any outdoor anything, let alone a quality job that we want to last as long as possible. I hope you read this Member, and reconsider your scoring of us, and our work.
Beverly E.
5.0
07/20/2015
They showed up promptly at 9 as I requested. They filled in all the cracks then sealed my driveway. They roped off the are for 24 hours and then we were allowed to park back in the driveway. They worked hard and did an excellent job.
Description of Work
They worked quickly and professionally. I would recommend them to anyone. Bev
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Members, we are so happy to have done the work that you were looking for, and to make sure you were pleased with our final product. Atlas is looking forward to serving all past,present, and future customers in the manner which you described. Thanks again for your positive review.
Harish R.
5.0
07/17/2015
Expected a few more cracks to be filled, some overflow. Very prompt and honest
Description of Work
Approx 1200 sq ft
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, thank you for the nice review. I am sorry you did not give us an "A" on price, but I am glad you are happy with our work. We aim to please!
Melissa F.
5.0
07/14/2015
The guys came out on the first day to check out the sealcoating job and let me know that there was a large crack that would be $50 extra to do. Asked for permission to proceed. At that point I thought of the idea to extend the driveway 1' wider since it's a super narrow driveway. Rather than being annoyed that they'd just been out, Nate the owner was very helpful and sent the guys right back out the next day and re-sent the estimate. I agreed the work. The guys came out and were anticipating rain so they did the extension first and let that set. They came out about 4 days later to do the sealcoating but the night before there was rain and with the slope of the driveway part was still rather wet so they felt that they couldn't get it done the right way so suggested we reschedule rather than do it poorly. I agreed. They came out about 4 days later and finished the job without me needing to follow up. Responsive and professional. Did the job right.
Description of Work
Angie's deal sealcoating ($199) plus fill in a large crack ($50) plus extend the driveway by about a foot width wise ($375).
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much member for the awesome review!
James L.
5.0
06/24/2015
Nate and his team were exceptional. Nate adjusted estimate for work that was less difficult than estimated..thanks. Work was scheduled in a prompt fashion and done carefully. Will use again.
Description of Work
Repaired cracks and pothole, then sealed driveway.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, we at Atlas are so very happy you were satisfied with the work performed. We look forward to providing all of our customers with unmatched service and product.
KIRK B.
1.0
06/21/2015
I contacted Nate after getting a "big deal" email from Angie's List. I called him directly and told him I received the big deal email and had some questions about the service. I wanted a little more than just seal coating so I knew I would need an estimate. Since I share a driveway with my next door neighbor we agreed to share the cost. When speaking with Nate I told him I would also like to have a 4 inch gap between my and the neighbors driveway filled because it gets weed growth during the summer and it's a pain to maintain. He said he would have someone out to provide a quote. The quote came back for $510 which seemed reasonable so we agreed to proceed with the work. issue #1. His men showed up on Saturday am at about 10:30 and were gone in about 75 minutes. When the guys started the work I asked if Nate had told them about filling the crack and they replied, "No that requires asphalt we're not doing that" I did go back and read the details of the agreement and it did not mention filling the gap but I assumed it was part of the crack filling because we discussed it on our call. I've wanted to fill that gap for years and my getting the big deal was in large part based on that. So I do share blame for not making that crystal clear Issue #2 The work was very shoddy and beyond subpar. I included a picture below. As I mentioned they were there for about 1 hour for a cost of $510.00 they didn't come close to filling all the cracks and the work looks horrible. Issue #3 I emailed Nate to tell him I was extremely disappointed with his work based on our conversation about filling the gap (I share responsibility for thinking this would be one of the cracks he filled since it was discussed on the call) and the shoddy work filling the rest of the cracks. This is a direct quote from his email response, "Did you really think that we would fill a gap like that with asphalt, crack seal and sealcoat both driveways for $510.00 Asphalt alone cost $150-$200 a ton, that doesn't include trucking and labor. We have a deal on Angie's List for Sealcoat & Crack Sealing...Not Asphalt!...You get what you paid for!!" Issue #4 When they were finished they rang my bell for the check, I asked how much and they said $600.00. I knew it wasn't $600 so I rechecked the agreement and returned with a check for $510 and he said, "$600 is our next job" shady. The thing is, if I got what the Angie's List Big Deal promised I wouldn't be upset, gap aside it was $510 for about 1 hours work and it came out like crap. See photo attached. Imagine if I paid full price!! Horrible service and unprofessional owner. What owner says, "you get what you pay for?" DO NOT USE l
Description of Work
filled cracks and seal coated driveway
Category
driveway pavers
ANIL S.
1.0
05/23/2015
Work was okay, they splashed coating on the garage door, we called they said they will come to fix but never came or called.
Description of Work
Fill cracks on the driveway and sealcoating
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Member, We called and left a message to schedule at time to take care of it. We have all the necessary cleaners / solvents to remove it. Please give us a call to schedule a time. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Michele K.
5.0
05/03/2015
It went well. The men did a good job and arrived when expected. I went with the company because Nate was repsonsive when I called and sent me a detailed invoice. Many of the other companies did not seem as responsive or professional as Nate. The work was fine.
Description of Work
Provider completed line striping and filled in cracks in our parking lot.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank You (removed member name), We try our best to quickly response to as many members as possible. Give us a call when your ready to sealcoat your condo parking lot and we will discount the line striping & numbering for all spaces.
Rick T.
4.0
02/15/2015
The do good work, nothing above and beyond but they complete the work as advertised and I will probably use them again.
Description of Work
Sealed my driveway. they were responsive and did a reasonably good job for the price.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank You Member!
Lawrence L.
5.0
09/22/2014
The job was excellent. The staff was very professional from beginning to end. The price was right. I would recommend them to everyone.
Description of Work
We had our 200ft long driveway cleaned and sealed.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank You member!
Dan M.
4.0
09/17/2014
Showed up early, had a difficult landscape to navigate and the whole team got right to work. Joe was punctual throughout the quote and work process, and called me back quickly. He was one of the only pavers/masons of the several I called to come out promptly, offer a reasonable quote based on the work, and schedule it as soon as possible. Area was extremely difficult to get to, in addition to NSTAR street construction that happened to be on the same day making it even more difficult to access. Would recommend and use again.
Description of Work
Resurfaced and regraded a bank patio area
Category
driveway pavers, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member, for your honest review of our company. Our goal is to make all of our customers feel the same way that you do. Servicing the amount of people we do, sometimes it gets difficult to please everyone, but we keep trying!
Harold T.
5.0
08/15/2014
Overall, they were good. I called Atlas Asphalt for the work, but Rick Cooper showed up and claims they do the work on behalf of Atlas Asphalt. Atlas Asphalt only does seal coating. The job was done over the course of two days. I'm not sure about the price I paid because I didn't get other estimates and they weren't completely disclosing the additional costs for extra asphalt before work was done. There were surprise fees. They sprung fees on me when the driveway was all torn up.
Description of Work
They replaced my 130 feet long driveway that widens to an additional 30x30 near the house with asphalt.
Category
driveway pavers

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review member....we do asphalt work, Cooper & Environic helps us out when we are overloaded. This is the end of the season rush and everyone is trying to fix there asphalt before the winter comes. I will talk to Cooper and make sure that they let members know up front in writing about addtional fees.

Other local Pros in your area

Stefano Torcasio Masonry

We have be proudly serviced our customers since 2005. We offer fine and rustic European masonry work.  

Angi Certified

Souto Masonry LLC

SoutoMasonryLLC, is a business run in New England servicing primarily in Essex County as well as Middlesex County. We provide services such as: Retaining walls - Pool areas - Outdoor kitchens - Concrete - work - Tile work - Stone veneers - Brick - Block - etc. to both residential and commercial projects. Helping countless numbers of clients fix problems they may be facing with there living space, always eager to get the job done. Our goal is to build lasting relationships with the homeowners in our community. We look forward to working with you!  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

PMI Bay State

PMI Bay State is a property management company with a primary focus on Association and Residential property management. We are part of the Property Management Inc. ("PMI") franchise network. PMI has extensive experience in the property management industry and has over 260 offices located throughout the United States that manage properties worth over $5 billion. PMI has developed industry-leading processes and systems that are utilized on a daily basis in the operation of your local PMI Bay State office. Combined with the utilization of a patented state of the art web-based software system, assures a level of service that sets PMI members apart in the real estate industry. On-going training, communication, and education in this relationship ensure successful operations and develops and expands upon a strong national brand.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

PO Box 1468

Arlington, MA 02474

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services does not offer free project estimates.

No, Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services does not offer a senior discount.

No, Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services does not offer warranties.

Atlas Asphalt & Sealcoat Services offers the following services: Sealcoating. Line striping. Crack sealing. Repair & replace damaged asphalt, pothole, & catch basin. Sweeping & power washing garages & parking lots. Snow plowing, shoveling, removal and ice treatment(salting).