Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2008

4.8

(51) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

577 West St Amherst

Amherst, MA 01002

Description

Locally family owned.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
mary ann P.
5.0
06/10/2020
Excellent! Great crew...respectful. Knew exactly what they were doing! Cleaned up after the job was done. Love this company!
Description of Work
Large 10 foot arbor views planted and 20 yards of mulch delivered.
Category
landscaping, drain pipe
Dwight W.
5.0
08/28/2018
The owner as well as the crew were very hard workers, respectful and polite, made sure site was clean before leaving. I could tell they took pride in their work, the finished job turned out beautiful!!! Taylor’s main goal is to make sure the customer is happy and will gladly make last minute changes!
Description of Work
Created a second driveway, built new patio and walkway, removed trees and planted arborvitaes.
Category
excavators, landscaping, lawn service, tree service, driveway pavers, hardscaping
James E S.
5.0
05/11/2017
Very, very well. We'd hire them again any time.
Description of Work
Needed a new driveway and it was complicated by needing some underground drain pipes put in. The Taylor Davis workers were great and very neat, including re-seeding our lawn where it had been dug up for the drains.
Category
lawn service, driveway pavers
Jim S.
5.0
04/17/2017
Everything went according to plan and I am pleased with the work. We chose Taylor Davis because they were the most responsive in giving a quote and the price was very competitive, but worth noting, not the lowest.
Description of Work
Taylor Davis put a finish coat of asphalt on my driveway.
Category
driveway pavers
Jim S.
5.0
04/17/2017
Taylor Davis was very prompt in providing a quote and I felt it was the most comprehensive of all I received. They were then very efficient at scheduling and following through on the job.
Description of Work
Added a topcoat to my asphalt driveway.
Category
driveway pavers
Edward M.
5.0
12/27/2016
Request for quote was was responded to promptly, Steve S. Was the estimator he was prompt, professional and honest. The construction crew was prompt and efficient and did a professional job. All communications were prompt and professional.
Description of Work
Original asphalt driveway was removed and replaced. Request for quote was responded to promptly. Steve S. Was the estimator / salesperson he was on time and professio
Category
driveway pavers
Elizabeth R.
5.0
02/13/2016
Once Taylor started the job, the workers finished it over three consecutive days. In other words, they did not start and stop it to go elsewhere for another job. We were told it could take up to 5-7 days but it took only three. Driveway looks great and is experiencing its first winter with sand and salt--fine so far. Quality seems excellent. Price was in line with other offers. Also, the company responded quickly to my initial call for an estimate and sent its saleperson out to carefully assess the driveway and discuss options. He was great. Other companies often did not call me back even after I called several times and politely waited for return calls. I highly recommend Taylor Construction & Landscaping company for driveway work.
Description of Work
Removed long driveway and replaced with new one.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, pavers, gravel
Stuart W.
5.0
11/12/2015
It went great. Everything is as good or better than proposed.
Description of Work
Taylor Davis installed a brick walk, graded up to the foundation, installed window wells, a waterproof ground cover, decorative stone and a wood retaining wall.
Category
excavators, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Paul V S.
5.0
06/29/2015
It was perfect and has held up well.
Description of Work
removed old asphalt, smoothed surface, paved
Category
lawn service, driveway pavers
Jung Y.
1.0
06/20/2015
We used them for spring clean up at our home in 2014 and they did a good job, so we hired them again this spring. I submitted my spring clean up worksheet by email on March 25 (the same worksheet I used last year), and the office manager confirmed that she'd received it. The primary work consisted of light raking, cleaning out a bed of ivy, and cutting down a large area of rose rugosa. I emailed the office manager on April 24 to ask when spring clean ups might start and received a reply on April 28 saying, "I think we are starting residential clean ups next week. I am not sure exactly when they will be in S. Hadley." On May 27, I asked for an update again and receive a reply the same day that said, "I just checked with Doug. We will be doing your clean up next week. Sherry will give you a call the day before to let you know when we are coming." I did not receive a call from anyone, and Taylor Davis never showed up. At this point, by husband and I just started doing the work ourselves because it was so late in the season, but we have a huge area of rose rugosa that we wanted pruned. Since it's hard for us to transport that much prickly waste, my husband called Taylor Davis on the week of June 1st and was told they would be coming that week. By June 19th, they still hadn't come so I emailed to officially cancel our service request, which is kind of laughable because it's so obvious they were never going to come (and even worse - they were never going to contact me and tell me that).
Description of Work
Spring clean up
Category
lawn service
Irene S.
5.0
03/02/2015
Taylor Davis employees did a great job of plowing our driveway. It was a complicated driveway so the driver had to be careful. Although the service was somewhat expensive, it was prompt and thus worth it to be able get out easily so soon after a storm. I don't recall the fees.
Description of Work
plowed our driveway for many years (until we moved away in 2013)
Category
lawn service, snow removal
john C.
5.0
01/31/2015
Due to the time of year late autumn, company could not guarantee that the asphalt project could be finished before the end of the season, so we altered the driveway plan. That said, we were grated for the timely response to our request for an estimate, as well as the fair and honest assessment of what the project would entail. We would call them again for a similar job.
Description of Work
Gave estimate on new asphalt driveway for new garage
Category
lawn service, driveway pavers
Susan S.
5.0
07/10/2014
Our long driveway looked great when they were finished and the bill matched the estimate. A year later, though, the edges of the driveway are much higher than the lawn on either side so there was apparently not enough fill used and it created gutters all the way down the driveway on both sides. Delivery trucks have driven off the edge into the gutters a couple of times, making it even worse in a few places. Also, the design is a bit off, so the access up the driveway and to the garage isn't a straight shot; we have to pull to.the left, then right, then straighten out the car at the top to drive into the garage. In the winter, this was especially a problem because the snow obscured the edge, and, like the delivery trucks, we ended up driving off the driveway as we pulled into the garage. We had to put up a lot of ugly edge marker poles for the whole winter, so we could navigate into the garage. There is no reason the driveway should not be straight at the top so that we could drive right into the garage, it is just a design or construction error. Otherwise we were satisfied with the result, and we don't miss the bumps and cracks of the old driveway.
Description of Work
Replaced/repaved long driveway.
Category
lawn service
Carol B.
2.0
06/10/2014
I spoke with someone who said they would get back to me to discuss the work. They never called me back.
Description of Work
Didn't call back.
Category
pavers, gravel
Duane C.
5.0
05/22/2014
From estimate to finish everything was handled in a professional manner. The price was lower than I had been expecting. Due to the weather there was a delay in the starting date. Once the job began the work progressed as I was told it would. Due to the minimal pitch of my driveway they recommended a small change that required additional work. I expected an addition to my original quote; but nothing was added. The driveway looks great and I am very pleased with the work.
Description of Work
Replaced existing driveway with new asphalt driveway.
Category
lawn service, driveway pavers
David G.
5.0
04/16/2014
I was quite happy with what they did.
Description of Work
They did a new driveway for me.
Category
driveway pavers
Kathleen B.
5.0
03/24/2014
My experience went very well. The staff was professional and friendly while visiting. I was pleased with the outcome of the service and would recommend this company to others.
Description of Work
They came to replace the terrace after a fire.
Category
hardscaping
Jing L.
5.0
01/09/2014
It's a pleasure to work with their sales representative Steve. He always response quickly and comes on time. He is also very helpful to help us determine what kinds of work needs to be done. Their work team are very professional too.
Description of Work
Fall cleaning, loaming the backyard, pruning the shrub, removing tree trunks and branches, etc.
Category
lawn service
Greta L.
5.0
12/22/2013
Plowing service for my driveway. They were there when I needed them and I will continue with them.
Description of Work
I used TAYLOR DAVIS LANDSCAPE AND CONSTRUCTION CO
Category
landscaping, snow removal
Ellen P.
5.0
08/19/2013
Took a lot of time and made a lot of efforts to fix the drive way and to make us feel safe and secure with the final result. Very pleased with the quality and professionalism of this company. We as a family feel fortunate to have them available to us and to have them a part of our community. The Panzer Family Amherst MA
Description of Work
Repaired and paved lower end of drive way, due to a sink hole that had been a problem for several years.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, driveway pavers, hardscaping
Kathleen B.
5.0
06/04/2013
Taylor Davis' quality of work was exceptional and attention to detail was excellent. I would recommend his company to anyone. Probably more expensive that others but the quality is unsurpassed. Taylor takes pride in his work and customer service
Description of Work
Taylor Davis installed a beautiful terrace, landscaped and seeded the lawn
Category
landscaping
lisa C.
4.0
05/12/2013
I called and talked with them about what services I needed and what the cost would be. I called around to several different places and I chose a different provider.
Description of Work
I called them to find out about prices and what type of services they provide
Category
lawn service
Pamela J.
5.0
03/08/2013
I really like the professionalism and also the promptness. They came right away, they never mentioned I have to pay or anything and I like how they handled it. They gave me a lot of options. They are more conservative in the sense that they said, "I wanted to do it right. I'm going to give you a quote, we do it the right way," and I appreciated that. I really like how they stay behind their work. They made a point how to do a job that is connected to their name to be topnotch and rather have not a job if we wanted them to do an inferior job. If our preference was to go the cheaper way, they rather don't do it. They are very quick to respond. They wanted to come later but they decided to come right away, so that worked out.
Description of Work
I got a quote from Taylor Davis Landscape for driveway asphalt.
Category
driveway pavers
Mia L.
4.0
02/12/2013
They were responsive and professional. I think they did give a rate of per hour quote for gutter cleaning and picking leaves and I wasn't prepared for that.
Description of Work
Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Company gave me a quote for yard work maintenance.
Category
lawn service
Carol P.
4.0
06/25/2012
The front area was first to be terraseeded and turned out fabulous - I couldn't have been happier. Grass started to come up after 5 days of seeding. This occurred in July 2011. Unfortunately our construction project dragged on, and hit roadblocks. We ultimately did not get to the seeding of the side and backyard lawn areas until April 2012. These two areas did not turn out as well as the front. It did not seem as if the proper amount of compost was used over the entire area and there was no seed distributed in one section of the backyard area. Ed Severance, who is extremely knowledgable, patient, and understanding, admitted there must have been a malfunction in the machine and allowed a decrease in the contract to allow us to purchase additional seed and reseed the area. Ed allowed us to use an irrigation system, since moving sprinklers would damage the seed. However, it was too complicated for us, and my husband bought a four valve faucet head for four pulsating sprinklers which covered the areas. The side and back areas, including the reseeded area,still do not look as healthy as the front, so I am rather disappointed with how they turned out. I have applied fertilizer twice and have been vigilant about watering. Perhaps it will be better next year. If I have any additional landscaping, I will still contact Taylor Davis and Ed to give them another opportunity. I believe Taylor Davis is a quality company but they should make sure their equipment is functioning properly at all times and that all their crews recognize equipment malfunctions and take steps to make sure the customer gets a quality job done. ,
Description of Work
Had a major construction project of replacing a sunroom and waterproofing the house foundation which we started back in June 2011. Three areas of lawn were torn up through excavation.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Best Way Masonry and Construction

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Dukes Waste Management & More

    Where customers become friends! Dukes LLC provides residential and commercial services in Western Massachusetts and Northern Connecticut. Dukes LLC provides a variety of services such as: Tree work Junk removal Demolition Snow removal Carpentry Roofing Masonry Pressure washing Home improvement Bobcat service Hauling Grading Landscaping We take pride in providing great service at a fair price. We are proactive to our customers needs. Please give us a call.  

    Angi Certified

    Helstowski Tree and Landscaping

    If you need any tree work, landscaping, hardscaping, driveway work, pool installs, or anything along those lines, look no further. At Helstowski Tree and Landscaping, you can rest assured that we provide the absolute best value and service in Western Massachusetts. We will come to you and give you a 100% free estimate on any work you're looking to get done this upcoming spring. Our schedule is filling up fast so if you have any interest or questions about our services, please call or text Owen at 413-768-8784 to get locked in on the best deal on the market. List of services: Tree Services Hardscaping In ground pool installs Driveways Patios Walkways Snow removal Regular lawn maintenance Stone work Fencing 2D and 3D renderings anywhere in the US Our website - https://www.helstowskitreeandlandscaping.com/ Our Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/HelstowskiTreeAndLandscaping/  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Stonework, Walkways, Water Features, Paving, Lawns, Timberwork, Plantings, Treework, Mulching, Landscape Maintenance, Drainage, Excavation, Hauling, Walls, Driveways, Irrigation, Landscape Design, Fence, Mowing, Snow Removal, Sanding, Salting, Tree Removal & Pruning

    Services Not Offered

    n/a

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co

    How is Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co overall rated?

    Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co open?

    Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co provide

    Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co?

    Yes, Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offers warranties.

    What services does Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offer?

    Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co offers the following services: Stonework, Walkways, Water Features, Paving, Lawns, Timberwork, Plantings, Treework, Mulching, Landscape Maintenance, Drainage, Excavation, Hauling, Walls, Driveways, Irrigation, Landscape Design, Fence, Mowing, Snow Removal, Sanding, Salting, Tree Removal & Pruning

    Are there any services Taylor Davis Landscape & Construction Co does not offer?

    n/a