Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Sweet Home

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2014

4.5

(65) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2204 Riverbend Dr.

Violet, LA 70092

Description

Interior & Exterior renovations

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/19/2019


Ben B.

Always excellent! They were always on time, trustworthy, honest, good follow up, aim to please and professional. I use them exclusively.

Description of Work
They did some carpentry and interior and exterior painting.

Category contractors, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/04/2019


Michelle ?.

The work was perfect. No problems at all. Highly recommend. They helped me in a time when I needed them most.

Description of Work
General contractors, rebuilt home after flooding

Category home builders

5.0

10/02/2019


John G.

They were great. They were on time. Very reliable. Good experience all the way around.

Description of Work
They did some very significant roof repair, floor repair, and ceiling repair. A lot of general house projects.

Category flooring contractor, roofing

5.0

01/06/2016


Shari J.

They did an awesome job. They are hard and reliable workers. Friendly and helpful. I asked questions and their opinion and Debbie and Paco were unbelievable and honest. They probably should have charged me more. They did a great job. I am so pleased and happy that I found them on Angie's List. Really good folks and I will use them again for my next project. Great job!!

Description of Work
Sheetrock, floor tile and paint. They picked up some of the material and I did too so each project varies but they are honest and not jacking up the price to make profit. She will show you receipt.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, interior painters

3.0

11/24/2015


Caitlin C.

It was very hard to get in touch with the owner to make a reservation and when I finally did they were set to show up at 9am and didn't come until 4pm. It wasn't until I called at 11am that she told me they were running late. Since we were the last stop on the day's route I think our job got rushed. The holes that needed to be filled in were not sanded down properly so you can see them through the new paint and there are parts of the kitchen that only got one coat so I can see a little remnants of the previous paint. Nothing I can't fix myself though. The workers were very nice and professional and they worked super fast. I was impressed by how quickly they got everything done. It wasn't a total bust and the cost was good but I could have used better communication and not a rushed job.

Description of Work
They painted three rooms of my house.

Category interior painters

5.0

10/15/2015


Brian H.

brought materials, worked around furniture very carefully

Description of Work
painted

Category interior painters

5.0

10/11/2015


Anna S.

This is the 2nd time I've used Home Sweet Home. I bought a two room deal for painting; we have very high ceilings and lots of wood trim, and we expected to pay a little more than the $375 for that, which is totally fair. They did a great job. We estimated it would take 2-3 days, and instead it took 1. They purchased our paint for us through Sherwin Williams, even though the color was from Benjamin Moore. They passed along their significant savings on the paint to us, and we got it at their cost at no upcharge. We also had a small project from another contractor that needed cleaning up. Former contractor laid a fence chainwall (concrete), but did not bother to clean up the concrete overspill into our neighbor's yard, which really disappointed me. The extra concrete made it hard for them to cut their yard (we were so embarrassed). Home Sweet Home took care of that clean up, no problem. I highly recommend Home Sweet Home and won't hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Painted two rooms, removed some concrete from backyard.

Category contractors, interior painters

5.0

07/27/2015


Stacey C.

Work was done quickly and with minimal mess (drywall is a pain!!).

Description of Work
Repaired a hole in the ceiling of our guest room. My husband had put his foot through from the attic and it was time to fix it. We were able to get this repair done around the holidays before guests arrived, which was great. The guy cut out what he needed to so that he could put a new piece of drywall on the ceiling.

Category drywall, interior painters

3.0

07/20/2015


Patricia M.

That was fine. They didn’t cover a lot. I had to pay again for more time. But it was one and his license. The work was fine. They didn’t put everything back in it’s rightful place and there was still a lot of things to be plastered.

Description of Work
I used the big deal of Home Sweet Home. They repaired cracks in my kitchen wall.

Category drywall

5.0

07/13/2015


John G.

The job went well. We were pleased with the final outcome.

Description of Work
Paint the inside of my house.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed member's name] thank you very much for reaching out to Home Sweet Home & allowing us to take care of your painting project. We truly appreciate your business!
5.0

07/07/2015


Helen P.

First off, Debbie is a pleasure to work with. She came out to give me an estimate on the other work that I needed done and I accidentally locked us out of the house. She was so kind and patient with all of it. The guys did an excellent and very fast job on the painting. The color and coverage came out great and they did an excellent job keeping everything nice and clean. The shelving they installed in these funny nooks in my house looks really great and holds plenty of weight. The fencing also looks wonderful and is very sturdy. Debbie worked with me to get a price that I could afford. They also installed lattice around the bottom of my house to keep my dog out and it looks great. The final thing was security door and window guard installation. The guys did a great job with this and even picked up the security doors I had ordered and dealt with the return process when they were the wrong size. The guys were polite and efficient. I'll absolutely be asking them to come do more work when I need it.

Description of Work
4 rooms of interior painting (very high ceilings) installation of shelving lattice around bottom of house wooden fencing security doors and window guards

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for all your kind words. You are a joy to work for. Very helpful, understanding and made the project move along smoothly. We really enjoyed helping you get your project completed. Thanks again!
5.0

07/07/2015


Candi H.

We had a tight schedule. Debbie, Juan and the rest of the guys took care to get everything done on time despite some scheduling glitches. The work looks great. The crew did a fantastic job, paid attention to detail and had a good work ethic. The crew cleaned up every day. Debbie saved us more than a thousand dollars by questioning some carpeting options. We?ll be calling them back.

Description of Work
Repaired light interior damage, applied paint to walls and trim in a 1700 sq foot home. They also hung an exterior ceiling fan, mounted curtain rods and bathroom accessories. Carpet and pad was replaced in two rooms. Home Sweet Home tackled a few extra items while they were here such as helping move some shelving units. Price indicated above includes the cost of paint. Carpet, fixtures and hardware were purchased separately.

Category interior painters

5.0

06/06/2015


Anna S.

Responded immediately to my inquiry. The price was extremely fair, and the work was done immediately. They passed along their discount from Sherwin Williams, and even recommended a custom paint they had used previously which turned out really beautiful. Final result is wonderful, we couldn't be more pleased. Debbie and Juan are completely lovely to work with, and I am looking forward to calling on them for future projects.

Description of Work
Primed and painted back entry way.

Category interior painters

1.0

03/24/2015


SAND F.

HOME SWEET HOME is the classic case of bate and switch! When I began using this group a year ago I sang their praises, like so many small contractors/handymen they did a 180' turn on me. Their recent work is absolutely terrible having to return at least four times to make the repairs and still not completing the job. Also leaving the home in a horrible mess. I will have to have someone else finish and correct the work attempted by Debbie & crew. Not only have they become unresponsive to my calls when they do schedule they don't show up. She does not stand by her work once completed and paid. Her prices have more than tripled while the work is so sloppy that I can't believe it's the same people. Stay far away from this company they will cost you both time, money and your reputation if recommending them to someone else. Thanks Angie's List for offering this review option Because people should know the truth!

Description of Work
sheet rock repairs & paint

Category contractors, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

03/24/2015


richard C.

The job was scheduled to begin on a Tuesday and 3 workman showed up ontime at the agreed upon time of 9 am. They built a tent out of plastic sheeting in the family room sealing it off from the rest of the house to contain the dust from the jackhammer used to remove the old ceramic tile. The ceiling in that room is 18 feet and the tent was well constructed to contain the dust to the lower level. I was very impressed with the dust containment plan they implemented that included fans to exhaust the dust outside and dampening it to keep it from becoming airborne. It worked exceptionally well. The tent was constructed in a way to contain the dust to the lower level of the house and out of all connecting rooms, stairways, doorways and the open catwalk above the family room that leads to two seperate wings on the second floor. .After the ceramic tile and old hardwood floor removel they installed the new flooring. The job took several weeks. I prolonged the job because I made errors ordering the materials. The materials arrived late and left the workman with little to do until the correct materials arrived. They painted and made the best of it and completed a bucket list of small jobs my wife threw at them without complaint - and they did NOT charge me for any of those small jobs. I paid very close attention to the details of how the flooring was laid and advised them how I wanted the floors to run and where I wanted the seams and cuts. They laid extremely expensive marble in a large foyer and connecting bathroom, ceramic tile in the kitchen, and 5" plank hardwood in a separate home office and a 900 square foot family room. The work was performed flawlessly. I gave them a very demanding plan that required perfection and they executed it perfectly ontime and on schedule. Originally I had decided not to spend extra money to paint all of the trim (which was repainted only two years earlier) but they painted it anyway to match the other trim that was painted at NO additional cost to me. It was little things like that impressed me most. Every day before they started work they laid down rolls of brown construction paper and firmly taped it down to all surfaces to protect both old and new surfaces from the dusty mess renovation invariably causes. They arranged for a large construction dumpster to be delivered and they neatly filled it up with debris from the remodel. They cleaned up after themselves daily and didn't leave debris or paint stains on my grass, on my porches, patios,, or driveways. They completed the job about 10 days after the projected completion date but the delay was my fault. I delayed them by not ordering the right materials. They never complained or charged me extra for the delays. They did a fabulous job and I will use them for every remodeling job I do in the future if they are available. I live in a Country Club Community with strict rules about construction work appearance and cleanup. They followed those rules the letter and the entire experience was professional and first class in every respect. My neighbors are clammering for references for this construction company.

Description of Work
The job was to remodel approximately 1700 square feet in the lower level of my home including removing 800 square feet of ceramic tile and 900 square feet of hardwood flooring. This required chiseling up the tile and the mortar to leave a perfectly smooth and level slab for new ceramic tile, marble, and hardwood flooring without letting the dust from this massive project escape to the rest of the house. One of the main conditions of the job was to guarantee to stop the dust from escaping to the rest of the house (two story 4000 square feet house with 10, 12, 14, and 18 foot ceilings). After removing the old ceramic tile floors and the slab prep the next job was to lay 1700 square feet of ceramic tile, marble, and hardwood flooring - and to rebuild and install a new marble hearth to the fireplace. The other part of the job was to paint 2500 square feet of the interior of the house including some trim, all doors, and ceilings. This was a big job that required several experienced tradesman. Part of the job was also repairing sheet rock nicks, dings, seams, and nail heads that were unsightly. The house is 23 years old and settling caused these sheet rock problems on an 18 foot high wall near the wet bar in the family room. I also tasked them to completely remodel the foyer bathroom including installing a new Koehler Memories Pedestal sink and matching toilet - new marble floor and new paint. While they were there my wife found half a dozen other small jobs that needed repair - switches and light plates, repairing light fixtures and installing new drawer pulls in the master bath among several other odd jobs.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

1.0

03/10/2015


Connie E.

Awful. The fence was in pretty bad shape and not only needed to be straightened up but there were also areas that needed repair. For example, the trim around the lattice was separated, badly, and needed to be put back together. The guys must have kept telling Debbie they were finished but there was still a huge gap in the last section. She must have asked the guys about it because she then explained that there were a lot of vines weighing it down and they couldn't repair it any better. So, I had out landscaper trim away all the vines and they were then able to proceed. They should have told me that and I would have addressed it right away, not wait until they thought they were done and asking for payment. On several occasions the guys would apparently tell Debbie they were done and when she called me to ask for payment I had to say, "What about this or that area?" and sent her pictures of what I was talking about. The last issue with the fence is that they needed to put 4x4's in the ground to support it in a couple of places. Again, when she was asking for payment I asked why there was a gap of about 2+ inches between the bottom of the 4x4 and the fence. Why wasn't it attached all the way up? I was told that there was an irrigation pipe running along the fence. Again, if I had been told that sooner I could have had it moved. (I asked our landscaper for a price and my husband said to do it.) Debbie should have had more of a presence, especially after the number of times she was under the impression that the job was complete and I sent her pictures to the contrary. I had asked for an estimate to replace the weather stripping around the exterior doors but after the problems I had with the fence I didn't follow up on getting that done with this company. I thought the repair of the wood rot on the door went well enough. However, the door they repaired was a carriage house door and since I seldom go in there I didn't immediately notice that there was rot on the inside of the door not long after they repaired it. Since I'd had it with them by this point I didn't call them back to ask why they didn't address that issue. I hired someone else to replace weather stripping as well as to repair the rot on the interior of the carriage house door. He found that the rot originally repaired probably went the full thickness of the door and had just been filled in with Bondo from the outside. He completely redid the repair and now it's perfect. My greatest parting aggravation was the last time the guys came to fix the space between the 4x4 and the fence I pointed out. They completed what they intended to do and were waiting for payment. I sent Debbie before and after pictures of the gap which were indistinguishable and asked if she thought they fixed the problem. I said I wanted her to come but got no response so texted again asking if she received the message. She replied "Yes" and then "The guys are there." (Meaning waiting for payment) I said I needed her here. She said she was with a client in Metairie. I said it didn't have to be now and that given that this has happened a couple of times I wanted her to come whenever she was free to walk through with me to look at everything. I also said to check with me before she came because I'm not necessarily home all the time and didn't want her to show up or call that she was on her way five minutes before I have to leave for an appointment. Her next text was that she was on her way and would be there in 30 minutes. I said that this was what I meant by not saying she was on her way without checking with me because, in fact, I had an appointment in 20 minutes and wouldn't be there when she arrived. At that point she called me to say the guys had been waiting for an hour (not my fault.) I told her to tell them to leave and we can arrange for her to come to look at their work and if we both agree that it was done and done well I would pay her directly. I never heard from her again and just now, 3/10/15, shredded the check. In addition to the rot mentioned above, I found a section of the opposite end of the fence that wasn't repaired.

Description of Work
Repair/paint wood rot on exterior carriage house door and trim, repair leaning lattice fence, and repair shed where hurricane boards are stored behind carriage house.

Category woodworking, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

We repaired the double doors with bondo, sanded & painted. We also removed the trim on the double doors. I purchased 24ft of exterior trim, we installed it, caulked, putted & painted 2 coats of paint. We also renailed plywood on her storage shed that was falling off & left it much better than it was. As for the fence well we did the best we could with about 20ft of a tall 7-8ft lattice fence that was very wruapped, it was leaning over on the neighbors yard & soon would fall over. We bought 4x4 treated post & concrete to dig & bury it 2ft in the ground. We had intentions of installing 2 but after digging found a water pipe in the way of the second location & were unable to install the 2nd 4x4 however the fence was no longer leaning over and was much stronger than when we started & not in danger of falling over to her neighbors house. I went to her house to inspect the work 2 times. Her house is an hour one way from us. I sent 2 guys for 5 days, I bought the trim, the lumber,2 bags of concrete, finish nails for the trim, framing nails for the shed, screws for the fence the caulk the putty the bondo & as she stated we got paid $0. Not to mention a horrible unfair review.
5.0

01/19/2015


andrea P.

It was a very good experience. I was given a quote for repairs and the work was done on time. Clean-up was good and I am very satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
Fixed rotten siding at bottom of the house

Category interior painters

1.0

01/13/2015


Roile J.

I have not anything from the company to schedule the work to be completed.

Description of Work
Sheet rock and plaster work.

Category drywall, remodeling

5.0

01/12/2015


Craig L.

A team of 2 painters arrived at the scheduled time of 9am to paint my second bedroom (approx 12X13X8). After seeing the room, they went straight to work and finished painting the room around 11am. When they were finished they cleaned the room and asked for a visual inspection to ensure all work had been completed. Both painters were very polite and skilled.

Description of Work
They painted my second bedroom.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

12/31/2014


Kristen M.

The service went very well. The painters were on time and professional. We ended up having a scheduling issue and our movers came mid-way through Day 2. The painters were GREAT and flexible working around the movers and prioritizing things before they arrived that needed to get done. Very helpful.

Description of Work
We purchased a new construction home that was all the same color, walls and ceilings! Before we moved in, we wanted to have much of the house painted for some variety. The painters ended up painting the majority of the home, both walls and ceilings!

Category interior painters

5.0

12/08/2014


Kathy M.

Everything went Extremely well!!! I can't say in words how pleased we are with the Completed Job. I highly recommend YOU call Debbie if ANY Painting etc needs to be done at your Home/Property!! The Quality of the work exceeded the Cost of the Project. Thank You Home Sweet Home for a Job Well Done!!

Description of Work
Painted ALL wood work in 2500sq foot Home .Plus Crown Molding/with repairs and 13 doors. Also had sheet rock flaw in Dining Room which they repaired at no added cost. (Floated whole wall and painted!) They came on time every day and cleaned up each day when they left. They moved all furniture as needed in each room and put back when completed. Had little to no disruption of our daily activities in home. At times they were so quiet I didn't even know they were here. Very pleasant/Friendly. They worked from the time they arrived (9am) till they left (5-6pm).

Category drywall, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

11/09/2014


Carl H.

They were able to work with my busy schedule.

Description of Work
Drywall repair and paint.

Category drywall, interior painters

2.0

10/22/2014


Gisele P.

I purchased the 4 hours of wood rot restoration deal from Angie's List. After contacting service company, I got a response right away from the owner of the company to discuss the work to be done. Since money is tight, I prioritized my repairs, and since Angie's List was offering a deal, I thought it was good to put out the money then for this one. But after that first phone call, it was downhill from there in terms of responsiveness. It took several more calls and e-mails before she came out to look at what the column needling repair. Then she sent the workers to do the work when I wasn't home ( without informing me) , which I did not like. I would have liked to review the work with them, and observe what they did. And I was not gone that day for 4 hours, so I know I didn't get 4 hours worth of work. They did not complete the job, but only replaced one section of the column wood rot, although I had sent pictures of two sections, and what they did is already coming apart about 3 weeks later. Additionally, I had my own exterior paint to repaint the wood, but since I wasn't here when they came, they did not use my paint, and it looks like they didn't even use an exterior paint. To add insult to injury, I now find I have to pay Angie's List additional money for conflict resolution, even though I purchased the deal through their site, and the payment went to Angie's List from my credit card- not the service provider - so basically, I have a conflict with Angie's List which I have to pay Angie's List to try to resolve. Come on!!!

Description of Work
Wood restoration on a rotting column - not completed.

Category contractors, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/20/2014


ROGER L.

EXCELLENT RESULT--EXCELLENT PRICING. A LITTLE PROBLEM WITH PUNCTUALITY-BUT KEPT US INFORMED OF THE STATUS AND IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM. SETTING UP THE JOB WAS A BREEZE. DEBBIE ANSWERED OUR EMAIL WITHIN ONE HOUR AND WE SENT HER A VIDEO OF THE WORK TO BE DONE. WE THEN SCHEDULED THE WORK.

Description of Work
REPAIRED

Category interior painters

5.0

09/30/2014


Travis D.

Everything went well. No complaints.

Description of Work
Painter for a week.

Category interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Dry Services of Greater New Orleans

    Water Restoration, Mold Remediation, Leak Detection and Smoke Damage  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Construtech

    We offer FREE Online Estimates. Let our system do the work. We can measure out your entire area right over the phone for a fast and easy quote. Construtech is a small business located in Metarie, LA with over 3 years of quality pressure washing experience. We provide the best service in town because we are affordable and reliable. We make sure our customers expectations are reached and ours. We look forward to working with you so don't hesitate to reach out today! Give us a call or click for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Pressure Perfect La

    Welcome to Pressure Perfect Pressure Washing. Our experienced pressure washers are here to provide you with the highest quality pressure washing services available. We stand by that with our satisfaction GUARANTEE! You don't pay until we're done and you're happy. We understand the importance of keeping your property clean and free of dirt, organic growth, grime, and debris, and we will do everything we can to ensure that your property is clean and free of any contaminants. We offer a wide range of pressure washing services, so please don't hesitate to contact us if you need help finding the right option for your needs. Thank you for choosing Pressure Perfect!  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Painting, Wood flooring, ceramic tile, drywall installation, carpentry, doors, trim, crown mould. Pressure wash, siding install, build fences, install new roof or roof repairs ... we accept checks, visa, master card, discover & American express.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Sweet Home

    How is Home Sweet Home overall rated?

    Home Sweet Home is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Sweet Home open?

    Home Sweet Home is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Sweet Home provide

    Home Sweet Home accepts the following forms of payment: Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Home Sweet Home offer free estimates?

    Yes, Home Sweet Home offers free project estimates.

    Does Home Sweet Home offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Home Sweet Home does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Sweet Home offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Sweet Home does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Home Sweet Home?

    Yes, Home Sweet Home offers warranties.

    What services does Home Sweet Home offer?

    Home Sweet Home offers the following services: Painting, Wood flooring, ceramic tile, drywall installation, carpentry, doors, trim, crown mould. Pressure wash, siding install, build fences, install new roof or roof repairs ... we accept checks, visa, master card, discover & American express.

    Are there any services Home Sweet Home does not offer?

    Ask for details