Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc

Founded 1982 • With Angi since October 2008

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

33490 Sylve Rd Ste A

Slidell, LA 70460

Description

Multifaceted company specializing in residential and commercial remodeling, restoration, building , Home elevation,House leveling, Foundation repairs, Helical pilings , Spray foam insulation, Mold remediation, Kitchens, baths, siding, windows, interior ,exterior and home repairs. Licensed and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/21/2019


Teresa T.

The owner scheduled a time to meet and inspect the job, gave me alternatives and later sent a contract for review. We agreed to the scope of work, price, & timing. I did pay a deposit a few days before the work and the balance when the job was complete. Everything went according to plan. The workers were prompt and professional. It's been a year since the leveling was done & I am still satisfied with the result.

Description of Work
Leveling a wood frame house on piers

Category remodeling, foundation repair

1.0

06/01/2017


CLYDE R.

VERY UNHAPPY KNOW I HAVE TO START LOOKING AGAIN. maybe my project was to small maybe unimportant to the owner he might want big job big money but small jobs got him there I bet.

Description of Work
Jim came to my house talked about kitchen remodel project I thought everything was a go this was on 5/24. Jim calls today 6/1 tells owner said could not do job until 4 or 5 month if then. So my job is not as important as others then quit going and getting people hopes up. I will Not ever use them never.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am sorry that we could not get to your estimate. We got extraordinarily busy and we didn't want to take on more than we could do. We have a large return client base and we feel it is best to tell people up front our timeline. Sincerely, Mike Delaney
5.0

12/05/2016


Tammara E.

Excellent! Quality craftmanship. Exceeded expectations.

Description of Work
Shower and tub remodeling

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

10/26/2016


Gerald C.

I talked to these people three times over a week and asked for an estimate. Was promised one three times and still have never heard from them about the estimate after two weeks. They must not need new business. If not, they should say so up front.

Description of Work
Spray foam insulation and prep work.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], I am sorry we could not get to your estimate. We got busier than anticipated and could not keep up with the calls. Since then we have implemented systems and software to keep up with the ever changing work load. Sincerely, Mike Delaney
1.0

09/14/2016


Dean J.

After meeting with my wife, Mike D. made the cardinal mistake of requesting paperwork showing what the insurance company was going to pay. That was it....he was not being considered. Think of it this way, you go to the store to buy an apple...you approach the cashier and they ask how much in your wallet. Business ethics like that are not needed in our situation...were going with someone else.

Description of Work
Whole home renovation after the recent flood.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], We normally offer different options in a situation like this. One of those options being that we would negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. We find that most of the time the adjuster that comes out to your house is not skilled in construction, remodeling, mold remediation, or home repairs. Our intention in asking for the insurance information was to help you to get a quality job not just what the insurance company feels needs to be done. Because after all they are not licensed to do this work. It is not their specialty. MICHAEL V. DELANEY PERSONAL INFORMATION AGE 49 Married Three Children Home Owner EXPERIENCE A-1 Remodeling & Building, Inc. YEARS EMPLOYED ( 1988 - 2019) 33490 Sylve rd. Suite A Slidell, Louisiana 70460 President and Owner Office-985-643-3502 Accustomed to positions of responsibility; self-motivated and willing to set goals and work to achieve them; able to motivate a project team; uses time and resources effectively; considers efficiency, planning and accountability very important. Our company=s expertise includes: Commercial & Residential ,Problem solving in many facets, House raising, Helical piling installations, Mold remediation ,Using Ozone generators, Polyurethane foam injection, Slab Jacking , Spray foam insulation, Solar, Rigging, Building, Remodeling, Repairs, Installing tarps and protection of homes and businesses from further damage due to weather conditions, structure drying to minimize repairs, winterizing homes, flood and fire restorations, historic restorations, window kitchen and bath remodeling, deck building, house leveling and shoring, Building ,Installation of handicapped lifts, Taking particle counts, Air quality, house & structure moving, Renovation, Repair & painting of lead homes/structures. BUSINESS LICENSES State of Louisiana License for Commercial Building & Construction #32484 Specialty classification Rigging, House Moving, Wrecking & dismantling Specialty Solar Energy Equipment State of Louisiana License for Residential Building & Construction #82644 State of Louisiana License for Mold Remediation #250057 State of Mississippi License for Residential Building & Construction #R16035 AWARDS Recognized by the American Plywood Association as a Code Plus Professional. Certified by the Pella Corporation as a Certified Pella Contractor. Safety Awards from Executive Risk Consultants, Inc. Loss Control Services 25 Years in St. Tammany Home Builders Association (recognition) (continued) BUSINESS EDUCATION COURSES COMPLETED by Michael Delaney Business Management Home Builders Institute Customer Service Home Builders Institute Energy Efficient Construction Home Builders Institute Finance Banking Home Builders Institute Scheduling Home Builders Institute Land Development, Site Planning, and Zoning Home Builders Institute Building with Insulated Concrete Forms Home Builders Institute Contracts & Home Warranty Home Builders Institute Off-Site Project Management Home Builders Institute Indoor Air Quality Home Builders Institute Ventilation Techniques & Energy Efficiency Home Builders Institute Building with Insulated Concrete Forms Home Builders Institute Unfair Business Practices & Consumer Protection Home Builders Institute Molds What are they General Liability Ben Kirk/ Home Warranty Mold Inspection & remediation NORMI International Residential Codes St. Tammany HBA Hurricane Resistant Residential Construction City of Slidell Wood Frame Manuel AFPA Wind Resistant Construction Simpson Strong-Tie 10,000 Small businesses Goldman Sachs Delgado Cellular PVC/Azek Trimboards Azek Crib building methods IASM Jack building & repair IASM Operation Of Unified Jacking system IASM Use of Rollers IASM Zoning of Hydraulics IASM Sanitary/Vehicle Wash Waste water Louisiana Department of Environmental equality Renovator Initial -English (Chinese drywall) National center for healthy Housing Master Technician Classification Goldmorr EPA RRP (Lead training) RTC LEAD SUPERVISOR KDC Lapolla University SPF Insulation 101 Course Lapolla University SFP and coating systems Spray foam polymers HMI Polyurethane Certification HMI Polyurethane Spray Foam Insulation Premium Spray Products Pella Certified window installer Pella windows PROFESSIONAL AFFILIATIONS: St Tammany Home Builders Association Louisiana Association of Home Builders National Association of Home Builders Better Business Bureau East and West St. Tammany West Chambers of Commerce EPA Certified for RRP International Association of Structure Movers Just a few Projects worked on and or Clients: Super Dome LSU Medical Textron/City of Slidell Toys R Us Pier 1 Popeyes Deuce Mc Callisters Ole Saint Habitat For Humanity St Tammany West Camellia gardens (Nursing Home) US Inspect as roof inspector. Hazard Grant Mitigation grant program (HMGP) Precept Fund St Tammany Parish Grants Department City of Slidell Florida Parishes human Services Authority Grants
2.0

01/27/2016


Adam S.

Attempted to get the provider out for an estimate several times -- beginning over a year ago -- they simply never show up or call when they say they are going to. I met them at home show in New Orleans about a year ago, they seemed nice and we talked about possible work. Following this I called the office to set up an appointment. Everything was going fine. The office tells me they'll have to have their estimator call me because only he knows his schedule or something like that. Well he never calls, a week passes, no calls. About a year later I still need the work done and decide to give them another try. Again everything goes fine and the office tells me that the estimator can come out a certain date and time, which is of course a weekday afternoon. I take time off of work in preparation for this meeting, excited to finally get some work done, and the actual estimator calls and cancels morning of. This is too bad, but you know things happen, the estimator says he will call back early the next week to reschedule, which is fine. He never calls back. I call him back, and offer another date, about a week after that to which he says it may work, he'll confirm. He never calls back. Weeks pass, no calls. Forget it. If it's going to take two plus months to get an estimate tell me that upfront.

Description of Work
No work was completed.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) I am sorry to hear of your experience. It is true sometimes we get busy and have to cancel estimates. Please understand our schedule can vary day by day. Sometimes people add two months of work. This can literally happen overnight. If you read about all the people that have had us do work you will see we concentrate on the jobs we have first. Once you become a actual client of ours you have access to the phone numbers of me and all the staff so you never have that issue. Estimates are harder to do then most know because they can take a lot of time and when we have many calls it is hard to keep up and we don't just hire anyone. I believe we have now solved this problem to the best of my ability. Again I am truly sorry but there is not always enough hours in a day. In the future if you have a project ;don't let it scare you that we are a busy company. Realize we do our best and we don't like to let anyone down but we cannot let down any of our actual clients that we are working for and we will treat you the same. Last you may call me personally if you need something and I will be glad to get you in with a estimate in a timely manner. Sincerely, Michael Delaney Owner A-1 985-290-8287
5.0

12/11/2015


mark M.

I want to begin by saying that we are very happy with the results of our home improvements and the work that was done by A-1 Remodeling. I would hire them again without hesitation and highly recommend them. We had a quick response after contacting them. They sent someone to talk with us, do a walk-thru of the house, and discuss our wish list. I already had in my mind what a fair price would be for all of the work I wanted done, and I was upfront with the dollar range that I had in mind. He was prompt in getting us an estimate and it was within my budget. We agreed on when they would begin (it should be noted that we had not yet purchased the house), and they came to work on the date that we agreed upon. We were not living in the area during any of the renovations and once the work began inside the home it was empty. I know that we drove the contractors crazy asking silly questions and having our neighbors come over to check on them, but to their credit they never showed it and answered all questions with patience. I really did appreciate that more than anything as this is our dream home, and for us a great deal of money. We were actually on-site quite a bit and my husband and I both enjoyed our interactions with the crew. If they said they would be there at a certain time, they always were there on time and worked hard the entire time they were at the house. We did ask for assistance unloading some things that were delivered and they always helped with gracious kindness. Probably like many people I changed my mind a few times during this process, and asked for some additional work or ordered different materials. This as always handled with no problems and the estimate was re-worked and presented quickly. I deliberately waited a few months before reviewing this company because I have hired contractors in the past (not this company) whose work did not stand the test of time. Everything that was done by A-1 is still beautiful, works perfectly, and makes me happy every time I look at it. And for me, that is the highest recommendation that I can offer. We did ask for quotes on doing some additional work to the house, and for some reason the quotes offered were extremely high so we decided to either hire someone else or not do the work. I think that the estimates were so high because they would have had to hire someone out side of their regular crew to do the work. I would like to say that I liked the fact that there were the same group of people doing the work with a very few exceptions (granite and backsplash installation).

Description of Work
We bought a home that is located on the coast on a man-made canal and my house is raised and on stilts approximately 12' high. We knew when we bought the home that we wanted to make several changes and additions. I hired this company to increase the size of an existing deck, create new stairs to the deck, put in additional pilings, and put a roof over an existing outside elevator. They also replaced the front door. On the inside of the house we had a center island made larger, installed all new appliances, installed new granite counter tops, and backsplash. They installed new café doors going to our laundry room which is also located in the kitchen. Also, we had them completely remodel the Master bathroom which included removing an existing bathtub, building a new shower, installing shower door, installing new double sink vanity, and enclosing the toilet and placing a door on the new toilet room.

Category countertops, decks, glass repair, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

10/13/2015


Brittany and Chris M.

I live in a 1500 sq.ft. house with a front porch that spans the width of the house, a side entrance/porch, and a rear entrance all made of lumber that was falling apart. I needed to get them all replaced. After speaking with a couple of handymen that had looked at what I wanted, I was getting a bad feeling that I'd be let down. I was already spending a lot of money, and I wanted the job to be done professionally. I saw A-1 had gotten good reviews on Angie's List and gave them a call. From the very start, everybody was knowledgeable and professional. When Colin came to see what I wanted done, I was reassured as he had answers to all my questions. If there was something I asked that he didn't know right off, he made sure to find the answer as soon as he could. The work that the A-1 team did was beyond my expectations. The attention to detail was impeccable, from the way each deck board was cut, to the way deck post caps were cut perfectly to mold against the house. The three stairs are built flawlessly. They budgeted the right amount of people and finished the job in under two weeks. They even cut the existing lattice work perfectly to match the new stairs and paved the main entrance for cosmetic reasons. Again, far beyond my expectations. I've had several repairs and one big renovation on my home previously. This was the first time I used a company rather than an individual or handyman. Yes, I probably ended up paying around 10-20% more than I would have with a handyman, but it is absolutely worth every penny considering the problems I've had in the past with work quality, assurance, and professionalism. From now on, I'm going to do myself a favor. Next time I need a repair or renovation on my home, I'm going to wait a little longer to save a little more money and go with A-1. I highly recommend them, especially for the bigger jobs.

Description of Work
Replaced front porch, side porch, and rear entrance decking, rails, and stairs with composite.

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, mold removal

5.0

10/12/2015


Vicki M.

I had A1 come out to install spray foam insulation under my house. Before that could be done they came across some rotten sub floor that had to be replaced. They were able to replace it and repair the cause of the leaks. One of the flooring repairs led to having to pull up tile in the bathroom. They pulled up the tile, replaced the sub floor, fixed the leak, then laid new tile. All the workers were very professional.

Description of Work
Replaced rotten sub floor and installed spray foam insulation under my house.

Category contractors, flooring contractor, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/10/2015


Wendy T.

They showed up when they said they would. The work was done by approx. 4 men and even though they took their time they did finish everything in one day. Mike, the owner, was extremely accommodating in explaining what was being done. The workmen were all nice as well and courteous as they cleaned up when they finished. I had gotten a number of estimates - two of which were less expensive by a couple hundred dollars. But I liked Mike's approach and went with my gut on this one. I'm glad I did. It's been four months since the work was done and everything still looks good.

Description of Work
Replaced/repaired piers for the foundation of my raised house.

Category remodeling, foundation repair

5.0

08/18/2015


Anne-Marie F.

Provider inspected and provided quote to complete spray foam insulation in our attic. The contractor was professional, polite, honest, and informative. Considering the high cost of spray foam insulation and difficulty of completing it in our attic, we were provided with an honest and competitive price. If you have the money to spend on quality work done by professionals, both in skill and manners, I would recommend this provider.

Description of Work
Provided quote for spray foam insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

07/28/2015


Deborah M.

A-1 builders did an excellent job. We were extremely pleased with the service, knowledge of craftmanship, professionalism, workmanship, and promptness. They went out of their way to make sure that we were satisfied with the work done. They made professional suggestions they proved to be very beneficial. I would highly recommend them for any remodeling job.

Description of Work
A-1 completely remodeled my master bathroom by removing the tub and replacing with a walk-in shower, replacing the vanity, mirror, light fixtures, removing popcorn ceiling, reservicing walls, building closet, and painting.

Category closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/20/2015


Keith P.

Very professional from the estimator - Colin Lovelace - to the foreman on the job - Greg Spencer......to the guys that worked on the crew. They came in, did the work, cleaned up, and did a fantastic job. We could not be happier with the quality of the work, and the experience we had. I would highly recommend these guys, and in fact are going to have them come back and build a roof line addition off the side of our home as well.

Description of Work
We had these guys do a number of things including spray foam under the house, re-facing our bricks that provide the entrance to the front porch, installing and building a railing for the back stairs, and hanging a cabinet in the laundry room. Additionally, we had them add a exposed beam cover over our back porch that looks awesome.

Category decks, insulation, masonry, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

04/14/2015


Helen Z R.

Have you ever heard anyone say they missed their contractor? I miss A 1 and the entire team that renovated my house. I came to rely on their skill and expertise. . The planning was precise. The quality of their work was stellar! A 1's commitment to detail and cleanliness was exceptional! I didn?t have to worry about small details or that my design wasn?t being followed. I gave it to Michael Delaney and his crew and they brought my dream design to fruition. I love my newly renovated home! I love it! I only wish that I had given all my work to Michael. I had some electrical work done outside of my contract with A-1 and it was a big mistake to do so. Let A-1 do it all for you. I contacted A-1 to give me an estimate on the renovation in January of this year. Mr. Delaney was honest about the cost of construction and shared in a very detailed manner the work that would be needed to accomplish my plan. He also provided credentials, insurance, and pictures of work and experience in the field. He was willing to work with me to determine a mutual price and suggested alteration of the plan to meet my budget. Over several weeks we discussed the project and I signed a contract. Details and selection of cabinets,flooring, etc were important to me so Michael made sure I met with each sub contractor--which was terrific. On the first day of demolition?I was amazed at how neat the crew was. They had a plan for each step and were systematic in accomplishing the goal. The crew?Chad, Bob, Mike, Greg and Anthony were wonderful to work with. Seriously. They cleaned up every day and even took in my garbage for me. I had to live in one room during the reno and they did everything they could to mitigate the dust. I also have pets?they were very careful not to disturb them. Were they trustworthy? You bet! I left them most days to go to work. Excellent crew! Excellent contractors! Michael checked with me daily to give me an update of what was going on at the house. One of the traits that I loved about working with A-1 is that they knew all areas of construction. In other words, they were able to suggest solutions and outline what was needed or changed. I created a design but didn?t have a clue as to how to accomplish or the most economical methods. With A-1 Remodeling, you get the whole package! My whole experience was exceptional. Thank you!

Description of Work
kitchen renovation, open concept living room renovation, painting, flooring

Category electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I have to say you have to see this kitchen! Awesome! My staff and I all enjoyed working for her and with her. She has exquisite taste. This was a joint collaboration. When ever she had a question; she texted me on my personal cell and we handled it together. I look forward to working with her in the future. Thanks for your great review and again as I told you I really enjoyed working with you.
1.0

02/22/2015


Scott N.

I asked this company to come out and bid to build a garage in Lacombe. The garage was supposed to be a 2 story nothing on the bottom and enclosed, but with an apartment on top. I asked them NOT to finish the kitchen or bath but just to put up walls or make it so the ceiling didn't fall in and I would do the rest. I had about a dozen bids ranging from $75K to $150K but this company came in at $236,000!!! Said I wouldn't be able to get it cheaper! The $150K bid was from a custom builder well known in the area. Wow. So I thought I would give them another shot and I called them to rip out and replace a bathroom. I never got a call back! I can't believe that this company is so highly rated. If I did business like this I would be out of business. It just makes me wonder how many people are truly clueless about actual construction costs and just blindly accept what they say?? Very scary!

Description of Work
They estimated.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

First of all I would like to know who I am talking with because Member listed never talked to us. Second you can always call me anytime to discuss by my cell phone which is included in this response. Do you have a written estimate from us? Also We never say you can't get something cheaper. Let me explain. I think there was some confusion to what we thought you wanted and the budget we were under the impression you could not go over was considerably more;going by what you said in the review. Someone other than Member called with a max budget and plans with no spec list. The budget that I understood was considerably less than what you are saying you spent by a good bit. Please understand I think after reading your review I believe there was some confusion of what you wanted on our part.(It Happens) and your actual budget going by what you said was considerably higher than we were under the impression it was. I am just saying for what ever reason We had the wrong idea of what you were looking to achieve and to spend . In saying that we felt it better to give you a ballpark price then to upset you or hurt your feelings by wasting your time. In the past if we spent the time of the client to get all the specs and we knew we could not reach the clients budget ;the client sometimes gets upset for wasting their time. So in this case we felt it would be better to give a ballpark. After giving a ballpark if the client feels it is within reason; we get a written spec list from you because the specs make the price. Specs can double a price. You can purchase cabinets in a normal kitchen for $ 1,500 or up to $ 50,000 Then we give you a specific written estimate sometimes more or less than original ballpark. Going by what you are saying it would have been much lower than what you said we said. Also it sounds like you spent a good bit more than the original budget. In saying that I think we just misunderstood what you wanted. As far as our rating just read the reviews of the people we have worked for. We do excellent work period. I am sorry if there was any confusion on our part but I assure you it was not intentional. I invite you to call me personally by my cell phone at anytime if you have a problem with me or my staff or if there was any confusion. If you would have called me I think this would have never happened. My cell number is 985-290-8287 We have worked for 33 years for people in this area so I have to say I think we are doing something right. Sincerely, Michael Delaney
5.0

07/03/2014


Jessica L.

They were great! They were very professional and they did everything that we asked and they were great. They were on time, their quote was much reasonable and they helped with minor things that came up. They were honest.

Description of Work
He painted the exterior of our home. They pained all the exterior doors and fixed some door that has some locks that we were not aware of.

Category house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.We have a excellent staff and we work constantly on furthering the education of our employees. We also work very hard for every client to make them feel like we are the best of the best and that they matter. We actually show are employees the reviews and it means alot to them and me to know that you appreciate the time we took to make your experience the best possible. Also if you ever were to have a problem with any of my staff as always you may ask any of my employees for my personal cell phone number and I will call you back. Sincerely , Michael Delaney Owner A-1
5.0

05/19/2014


Beth D.

Colin Lovelace was the manager that I did all the pricing and contracting stuff with, and Greg Spencer was my on-site job manager. They were just fantastic -- communicated well, showed up when they said they would (or called if something prevented it), everyone was pleasant and polite, and they cleaned up after themselves. There's no way construction isn't going to be disruptive, but they tried to minimize as much as possible. Every Friday afternoon they took down their scaffolding and set it off to the side, staked their stuff neatly, and swept the walks, so that I could at least enjoy my yard over the weekends. I let them use a bathroom right inside my front door, and if I hadn't known, I would never have guessed there were up to 5 guys using that bathroom every day -- except for the extra toilet paper and cleaning supplies stacked on the counter, stuff they brought and used (they were neat all the time & gave the bathroom a good cleaning before leaving on Fridays too). Most importantly, I couldn't be more pleased with the work they did. They clearly want to do everything right, and take real pride in doing solid attractive work. A great example was my dog door: my siding and windows contract didn't specify anything special about the dog door, and the one I had was serviceable even if the frame was a bit cracked -- but Greg just wouldn't have been ok with leaving a ratty old dog door in the beautiful facade he was constructing. So he went and got a new one, trimmed it to match the window trims, and even added a little overhang to keep rain out! (I had a fixed contracted price for the overall job, little niceties like that in the detail work on site didn't add any cost to me). The concrete work included a sidewalk that was horribly buckled by the roots of my large oak tree. Before Colin would write up a plan for that, he brought out a licensed arborist, to look at the tree and determine how much the roots could be cut back without damaging the whole tree. They obviously cared about doing work that would last, and not fall apart or cause collateral damage after they'd left. The whole house looks beautiful, I get so many compliments on it now! I've really just got nothing but good things to say about them. They're probably not going to be the cheapest, but they're reliable, considerate, and do great work.

Description of Work
They essentially rebuilt the entire exterior of my home (which sorely needed it), and then some. I had new HardiBoard siding installed and painted, spray foam insulation put in walls & under floor & in attic, 27 new energy-efficient windows and one new french double-door installed, two porches rebuilt, and new concrete walkways, sidewalk and driveway poured, stained & stamped. They also did some interior work to repair cosmetic water damage left over from Katrina, and dealt with a couple "unfortunate discoveries" that were uncovered when all the old siding was pulled off (I was not surprised by that at all, given how many half-assed old repairs I'd already come across in the house).

Category decks, insulation, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] I appreciate the time you took to leave such a positive review about your experience.We work very hard to make every Client impressed ; Even the bathroom was disussed at our staff meeting before your project started. If for any reason we have to use a clients restroom we strive to leave it better than we found it. We take it seriously. I tell my staff," how would you feel." As far as the Doggy door . Your right," Greg Said it needed replacement." So we did. As far as Greg and Colin they are both great people and not to take anything way from them but it was truly a team effort .Mike , Bob , Chad and Anthony all are hardworking and true professionals and they all bring different skills to the table. We work hard every day to keep up our reputation. I am also very fortunate to be able to work with them every day. Sincerely, Michael Delaney Owner A-1
5.0

01/11/2014


sarah W.

Before I called, I researched foundation repair companies on BBB, Angie's list and theLoisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC). Most companies have multiple reports on BBB (which only displays records for the past 3 years). A very few had none. A-1 Building and remodeling was one of these companies. Since I was having foundation work done, I wanted to ensure the company had know-how in this area so checked the type of contractor licenses the companies had. A-1 was one of the only companies that had residential, and commercial licenses along with multiple specialty licenses. I called on New Years Eve and was told the owner/estimator would get back to me in a few days after the new year. The owner, Mike Delaney called me back on Monday the 6th. We arranged for him to come out that day to look at the problem. I have a ~100 yo pier and beam house which is raised ~2.5". The floor in the kitchen was 'wobbly'. This is part of an addition that was never supported properly. In addition, many of the existing piers had degraded morter and needed repointing. He spent almost 2 hours here, under the house, and writing up a proposal and estimate. He took his time to explain all the details of the proposed work. The plan was to install a total of 7 new piers, 6 under the new ~16' of new 4x6 support beam, and to repoint 12 existing piers. I agreed. He said often customers have to wait quite a time to get into the queue of work, but he had time due to a delay with another job. His crew of 3 men started on Thursday and finished on Friday. they were pleasant and efficient. They jacked up part of the house slightly, they were very worried about causing inside damage. I crawled under the house today to look. The new piers and beam look good. They are solid and well mortered on thick concrete pads. The kitchen floor is now solid and no longer bouncy. The addition is now firmly supported. I am a happy customer. The next job I have, I will definitely call A-1 again. .

Description of Work
Installed 7 piers and a new support beam under house. Re-pointed existing piers.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] was one of the most knowledgable people I ever met. She is what is called a well informed client . When I showed up to estimate her home she had a good idea of what she wanted to accomplish. She actually got on the ground to show me what she was concerned about. She is a very detailed oriented person. She did not rush me .She took the time to tell me what she was looking to do and she took the time to listen to my recommendations. [member name removed]was also very knowledgable about bureaus such as the BBB and how they actually work. She was the first client in years that new that the BBB throws out the complaints every three years on a business. Which I might add I feel is unfair to companies like us that have never had a complaint in over 30 years in the BBB. I don't believe anyone could pull the wool over [member name removed] eyes. I truly feel blessed to have met and been able to work for [member name removed] and I feel lucky every day that people like [member name removed] keep us working daily.[member name removed] you have my cell phone; If you ever need anything else just call me direct. Thanks Mike Delaney Owner A-1 Remodeling & Building
1.0

09/07/2013


Judith F.

I called the office (Sept 2, Labor Day) and left a message on their recorder saying that I wanted to do some remodeling in my house and was interested in an estimate. When I hadn't heard from them by Sept 4, I called again and spoke to a woman in the office. She assured me that an estimater would call me that day, or the next morning at the latest. That was 3 days ago, and I still haven't heard from them. I guess they're not interested in new business!

Description of Work
Nothing! That's the problem!

Category insulation, remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] We concentrate first on the jobs we already have . This is our first priority. This is why our work reputation is so good. Sometimes we get alot of calls at once for estimates and one of our office staff was out last week. I had Colin call you this morning to set up your estimate and you said you already had someone else. So again sorry for not getting back to you fast enough for your estimate and we do care. I hope you understand and if you woud ever need our services again I hope you don't hesitate to call. Thanks Mike Delaney Owner
3.0

05/31/2013


jeffrey A.

A-1 Remodeling & Building is a very big company and they rely more on their quality of work than trying to compete for price.

Description of Work
I asked A-1 Remodeling & Building to do an estimate to redo something.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] Called us up for a estimate on a duplex that he did not own. We talked with him and explained to him we did not think we could repair the flooded 6 bedroom, 4 bath , and 2 kitchens within his budget of $ 20,000.00. We went as far as going out to go see it and talking with him but when we explained that we could not meet his $ 20,000.00 budget he said, "Don't worry about it then." Since it has been months after we talked with him and he still does not own the duplex. I guess he could not find anyone else to meet that budget either. What [member's name removed] does not realize is the materials would have been more than his budget and when you add labor amongst other things it would have been impossible for anybody. I do not believe this is even a fair review and it should be stricken from my account. Sincerely, Owner of A-1 Remodeling & Building inc. Mike Delaney
5.0

03/27/2013


Tracey K.

Very quick, done within a week.

Description of Work
Rear of the house was leveled and supports were replaced as well as beams in front of the house.

Category insulation, remodeling

1.0

03/05/2013


Philip H.

The guy was nice. He gave me a big nice brochure but I never heard back from them. I had to make three phone calls before I got somebody that would even agree to come out and do an estimate. I should have known then. I would suggest that you find someone else.

Description of Work
I had A-1 Remodeling & Building come out to give me a bid and make an estimate for a house remodel. They did come out and took measurements. They didn't give the estimate because I never heard back from them.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] I am sorry to hear of your experience. We concentrate on the work we have and this gives us our great reputation. The problem is we get alot of calls at one time and sometimes people fall in the cracks. We also have thousands of past clients that call us and we just send our men out on a hourly basis. We have earned that kind of trust in the community. I am going to try to resolve this problem and be a better company. I plan on calling you today. I wish I would have got back sooner but today I was called by Angies ist and I was told of the review because they know we take our reviews seriously. Our wok quality is excellent but sometimes we get so many calls we unfortunately fall down on getting the estimates out. Thanks Mike Delaney After seeing the report in Angie's List.I called the client and apologized. I did not know of this before this time. I asked him if he was still interested in a quote. He said yes but he needed it quick because he was choosing someone by weeks end. I asked if he needed a electrician or plumber so I could have them come out with me. He said, "He had already chosen them.We went to his home and took all measurements and then he asked if we could get a electrician, plumber etc.... I said," yes " I had the electrician / plumber call him. For two weeks the electrician / plumber called but he did not return the calls. So I called him personally and he apologized and the electrician/plumber went out. We gave him the estimate. He said," he would let us know." I personally called him back 10:34 AM on 8/16/2013. I asked if he choose someone else and if so could he tell us what we could have done different. Just so we could learn from our mistakes. He said," He did not choose anyone else and they decided not to go forward with the project". I asked ,"What he thought of our estimate". He said we were higher than the other two but we had a more complete estimate and if the other two added the things in like ours they would be close." He also said," Ya ll did a very good estimate". Last thing client said,"is if anything changes and they would decide to go forward they would give us a call" I just wanted to write this because the whole story was never told and I feel this should not really count against us as a company or be judged in our rating. Sincerely , Michael Delaney Owner A-1 Remodeling & Building, inc
4.0

03/04/2013


Meg M.

They were professional and did seem like someone we would want to work with but we ultimately ended up going with someone else. They were courteous but not as thorough as another company we found. They were very friendly and personable however.

Description of Work
A-1 Remodeling & Building did give us an estimate on turning our garage into a bedroom with a bathroom and adding a new garage.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

12/19/2012


DONALD A.

The estimate was professionally done and was at a reasonable price. We are doing bathroom remodeling and foundation leveling for our home. We are still looking for other estimates but they are on top of our list.

Description of Work
We are shopping around for estimates to do some repairs and remodeling around our home.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

I have just become a member of Angies list and I just wanted to say thanks for you so very kind review. Thanks and I hope to hear from you this coming year. Michael Delaney
5.0

06/14/2011


Maria H.

I’ve done business with them several times and they are excellent. They did an excellent job with the insulation. A number of years ago, I had a house that was about 2 blocks from lake and it was on pillars and water didn’t get in the house, but the wind used to hit the house. I had them come out and straighten the house. I didn’t actually have it leveled, but I got it straightened on its pillars. They did an excellent job on that as well. The insulation is certainly helping my cathedral ceiling in my living room. They put 6 inches of insulation over it and also packed it between the roof and the cathedral ceiling. The back of the house has only about 6, 8 inch gap and that’s where all the morning heat comes in from and the air conditioning would run. I had some insulation up there from the builder that built it 20 years ago, but it wasn’t doing the job. They did a very good job on that. I also had them shore up the front porch for the house in Mandeville Louisiana. They were reasonable on it too. It was about $6000 for that. I had them back to give me an estimate on putting some indoor-outdoor carpeting down and to the sunroom. They said that they use another company and suggested to be careful as the sunroom floor is lower and I could get moister up there. They didn’t recommend doing that as it might pop back again. They sent the carpet company out who gave me an estimate of $329 which I thought was good. I’m going there today to take a look at the indoor-outdoor carpeting that they recommended. I also have an indoor fish pond in the sunroom and every now and then I get water on my carpet floor. It’s a mess right now so I’m getting that taken off. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I had A1 Remodeling & Building Inc put some extra insulation in my attic to make the air conditioner work better. They also put in 2 Whirlybird roof fans. They were here 3 or 4 months ago.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

I just have become a member of Angies list and I wanted to say thanks for the review. I hope you and Mr. are well. You both were great clients to work with and if you would need anything in the future I hope you don't hesitate to call us. I feel lucky to have clients as great as you both are. Also I just wanted to let you know if you know anyone that is working with the elevation grants we have been raising a few homes by means of grants from the State of Louisiana.They basically get all or most of the job paid for by the State of Louisiana. Thanks again, Michael Delaney

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Dry Services of Greater New Orleans

    Water Restoration, Mold Remediation, Leak Detection and Smoke Damage  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    MC-All Electric

    We are here to help with all your needs. 12 years of electrical experience in the residential and commercial world. There is no job to small or big we just want to make sure that your home is safe and we have done a good job. Also we will always try to work in your budget and make your lifestyle needs our first concern. And always and again thank you for your business.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Baruc Painting and Drywall

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime once you see our quality work. We're passionate about delivering an exceptional experience. When you hire us, you're hiring a team of professionals who are trained and skilled to deliver lasting value to your home. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing, remodeling - general, kitchen, bathroom, sunrooms & patio enclosures.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc

    How is A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc overall rated?

    A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc open?

    A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc provide

    A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offer free estimates?

    No, A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc?

    Yes, A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offers warranties.

    What services does A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offer?

    A-1 Remodeling & Building Inc offers the following services: Plumbing, remodeling - general, kitchen, bathroom, sunrooms & patio enclosures.