Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Maple Small Animal Clinic

Founded 1972 • With Angi since June 2007

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7608 Maple St

New Orleans, LA 70118

Description

Veterinarian...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/09/2016


Nicki F.

They're very concerned about your pet. Their always punctual. I think their very professional, they're very good.

Description of Work
I had an aging pet that they put down.

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/09/2016


Nicki F.

.

Description of Work
.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/17/2016


Nicki F.

Description of Work
.

Category veterinarian

5.0

09/24/2014


eric S.

.

Description of Work
We love Dr.Schmidt! She is our veterinarian for both of our fur children, a dog and a cat. |Our cat Ziggy had gotten an infection from the local groomer's salon and Dr. Schmidt was extremely thorough and diligent with follow up calls and email.

Category veterinarian

5.0

10/09/2013


Lynne J.

They are excellent. We've had regular vet care and had to put an older pet to sleep. Very knowledgeable and extremely caring. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Vet care

Category veterinarian

5.0

07/30/2013


todd F.

Wonderful experience, Dr. Sharon Shcmidt is awesome

Description of Work
general exam and vaccainations

Category veterinarian

4.0

05/28/2013


Steven C.

Took dog in for dental cleaning and turned into an expense ordeal. Cost about $1000 for multiple extractions, etc. Quality of service was very good, nice polite staff. My only issue is that I do feel it was very expensive. My dog was under anesthesia at the time I received a telephone call indicating the additional work / cost. I felt because of that I had to make a very rushed decision to allow them to proceed as they recommended. Not sure I would make the same decision if I had some time to think about / research it.

Description of Work
Dog dental cleaning / teeth extractions.

Category veterinarian

5.0

03/12/2013


Tracy W.

Very well

Description of Work
We recently had to put to sleep a beloved pet due to age and failing health. I can't say enough about how kind and considerate the staff was during this ordeal. The entire thing was handled with the utmost understanding and compassion and for this we will always be greatful. Dr. Hill could not have handled the situation better. Thank you so much to the entire office.

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/18/2013


Danielle P.

We have become friends with Dr. Zeller and his staff at Maple Small Animal. We were so pleased with the entire experience that we decided to continue using him even though we moved to the Northshore. They are so great about getting you in and out quickly and are extremely accommodating if you have to drop off your pet to be seen between appointments while you are at work. This is my favorite thing about them-- I can take Leo to them on my lunch break and then pick him up when I get off from work, and he has been seen. The front desk staff is so nice, and the vet techs are also excellent. You can't go wrong with Maple!

Description of Work
We originally brought our Weimaraner, Leo, in for stomach issues that we were not able to figure out at our previous vet. Leo was in recently for a checkup and to make sure he is maintaining a healthy weight with his new food he's eating.

Category veterinarian

5.0

07/20/2012


Danielle P.

We're new to the area, and Maple was recommended to us by my co-worker. We needed a vet immediately, so we trusted them and called Maple. First, you have to make an appointment. Initially, I was a little miffed that we wouldn't get in until close to 3pm even though I called at 9 am, but after actually experiencing the pace that appointments afford, I love having to make an appointment! At home, we would have to just wait in the packed out waiting room of our vet for hours until it was our turn. Not here!!! We arrived at 2:45 (our appt time), immediately went back to a room, saw the doctor within 5 minutes, and left at 3:45. We were there for so long only because Dr. Zeller took the time to chat and find out Leo's history during the appointment. It is clear that Dr. Zeller cares about your pet and wants to make sure you are completely at ease before you leave. I also like that they took a picture of Leo to put with his chart so that they can recognize him when we walk in the door. There is nothing like a small practice that knows both you and your pet by name. We had a warm, friendly, thorough experience that guarantees us as regular patients.

Description of Work
Leo, our Weimaraner, woke up with a huge swollen eye with a bloody discharge. Yikes!!! Dr. Zeller examined the eye fully and administered antibiotic drops. He also performed a full exam on Leo since he had been to the emergency vet recently for an infection in his neutering incision. He checked all his lymph nodes and listened to his belly, heart, and lungs. For a comprehensive check up and medicated drops to take home, $85 was an excellent price!!

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/01/2012


micah B.

When I suspected my cat Colonel was poisoned by a neighbor I needed a miracle. I was given the highest level of care and courtesy by the entire team at Maple Small Animal Clinic. They made a very painful event bearable with quiet professionalism. I will use them again in the future and would recommend them to anyone who loves animals.

Description of Work
They tested my cat for poisoning. They euthanized my cat once the extent of his injuries / poisoning were deemed terminal.

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/02/2012


Tracy W.

After going to the same vet for 20+ years, I became very dissatisfied with the hard sell of drugs from the office. It was near impossible to get them to ok prescriptions from 1-800-pet-meds. I was taken in a room and told that 1-800-petmeds was using inferior drugs and that I was harming my pet. After considerable research, I came to the conclusion that the same drugs are being used by petmeds as the veterinarian, only for a more reasonable price. 1-800-petmeds is regulated. So I used Angie's List to find Maple St. Veteranarian and they have been great. Their concern is for my pets and they are not trying to coerce me into buying anything from them directly. They are close to my house and very accomodating. I'm very happy with the service.

Description of Work
Routine check up

Category veterinarian

5.0

02/03/2011


Elizabeth C.

My dog is still sick, but not for want of effort on Drs. Hill and Zeller's part. They have been very compassionate during what has been a hard time for our family. I have never felt rushed during appointments. They have been very understanding and realistic about treatment options. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the vet assistants are absolutely lovely with my animals. I recommend Maple Street Small Animal Clinic highly.

Description of Work
I changed from another Uptown vet to Maple Street on the recommendation of friends, and I've been very happy with the service I've received from all the vets I've seen there. Most recently I have been taking my dog in for a chronic illness of an unknown origin. Both Dr. Zeller and Dr. Hill have seen my dog on several occasions. They both gave very thorough examinations, did two blood tests, and prescribed several medications.

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/30/2011


Thomas S.

I've used Dr. Zeller, Dr. Emily and Dr. Hill (now Dr. Lisa) since moving to New Orleans in 1999. They genuinely care about the animals. Their vet techs are also skilled at dealing with difficult animals, as my cat is. I'm a stray dog magnet and Dr. Zeller would make sure to give me the best deal when fixing the animal because he knew I wasn't keeping it, but I would spay or neuter it and find it a good home. I recommend them to everyone looking for a good, caring vet. My three dogs and cat all go there for any problems or for annual exams.

Description of Work
My elderly cat was sick and not eating. I took her in to see if they could tell me what was wrong with her.

Category veterinarian

5.0

01/27/2011


Dustin D.

I was very happy with the service and felt that Dr. Emily Lemann did an excellent job. She examined every animal in detail and asked me several questions regarding their daily routine and diet. She probably spent an entire hour with us. The staff got all of the microchip information, took the animals pictures, and helped us load into the car when we were all done. Very positive experience.

Description of Work
This was our first time visit. I took 2 cats and 1 dog. Both of the cats required their annual exam and all shots updated. The dog did not need any shots and just received an exam and refill on heartworm medication and well as some antibiotics for an upper respiratory infection.

Category veterinarian

4.0

08/13/2010


Bill L.

Maple Small Animal Clinic is our regular vet for a dog and two cats. They are always professional and efficient. They don't over charge and they treat our animals well.

Description of Work
Maple Small Animal Clinic is currently treating our dog for blood in her ear. We use this clinic as needed. I am addressing their overall service, not one incident.

Category veterinarian

5.0

07/19/2009


Min Y.

Ah, it's so nice to see that the friendly neighborhood "mom and pop" vet's office is alive and well. The first vet I took my dog to see was in an impressive building that resembled a fancy people hospital and the staff were professional, but I'd come in for an initial visit to just introduce my little pup to the place so she'd be familiar when the shots etc. needed to be done. I had been lured by a discount coupon for a routine exam, which I received, but that led to a series of mildly alarmist recommendations which resulted in additional tests and treatment. By the time I left, what I thought would cost $40 ended up costing $225! That may just be business these days, but as I thought about it later I couldn't help feeling a little taken. So what a relief it was to find Maple Small Animal Clinic in my neighborhood. It's the opposite of the first clinic -- homey, familial, inextravagant -- except that the staff are just as professional (though more naturally so, perhaps), with the three doctors there setting the example: knowledgeable, dedicated, approachable, and understanding. Dr, Zeller spent a good amount of time with me and my pup in each of our visits, always a patient listener and explainer. You can tell my pup is completely comfortable about visiting, as though she senses that it's a safe place for her. And of course I have never once felt taken there. Even in an "emergency" when my pup swallowed a large bone and I had a moment of parental panic, the doctors took her in right away, did a quick exam, and reassured me -- then charged me only for the special food ($6) I had to feed her for a couple of days. That is the sort of conduct that only comes from people who truly care about the interests/well-being of their customers/patients, a disappointingly infrequent occurrence as you can see from my first experience. Even after I move to the other side of town next month I will continue to bring my dog to Maple Small Animal Clinic.

Description of Work
Regular check ups and shots, etc. for a 5 month old large breed puppy.

Category veterinarian

5.0

12/29/2008


Sharon K.

See my other entry.

Description of Work
We and all our family members and their pets have been patrons of Dr. Zeller for at least 12 years, probably more. He relocated to this location after Katrina when his building was flooded. I believe at that time he bought the Maple practice from a retiring veterinarian. His daughter is part of his practice as is a 3rd vet named Dr. Hill. We love all 3 of them. They perform all kinds of routine services on our 2 dogs and 1 cat but special circumstances have included heartworm treatment on one of the dogs, nursing the cat back to health after he almost died on two separate occasions because he had gotten out and was very dehydrated, and taking very good care of our 3rd dog who was hit by a car but didn't survive (we even got a condolence card afterwards). The staff are very nice and wonderfully compassionate with animals.

Category veterinarian

5.0

06/18/2007


MARY L.

I have used this veterinary clinic for a long time and all of the people there are helpful, friendly and courteous. On some occasions I am forced to wait 10-15 minutes to be seen but never more than that.

Description of Work
Most recently I have brought my dog in for a skin allergy. There was no need for her to stay over night.

Category veterinarian

    Veterinarians
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Veterinary Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Maple Small Animal Clinic

    How is Maple Small Animal Clinic overall rated?

    Maple Small Animal Clinic is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Maple Small Animal Clinic open?

    Maple Small Animal Clinic is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Maple Small Animal Clinic provide

    Maple Small Animal Clinic accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Maple Small Animal Clinic offer free estimates?

    Yes, Maple Small Animal Clinic offers free project estimates.

    Does Maple Small Animal Clinic offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Maple Small Animal Clinic does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Maple Small Animal Clinic offer a senior discount?

    No, Maple Small Animal Clinic does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Maple Small Animal Clinic?

    No, Maple Small Animal Clinic does not offer warranties.

    What services does Maple Small Animal Clinic offer?

    Maple Small Animal Clinic offers the following services: Veterinary Services