Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans

Founded 1962 • With Angi since October 2009

3.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1117 N Al Davis Rd

New Orleans, LA 70123

Description

Home, auto and business owners in Orleans Parish can rest assured that Glass Doctor® of Greater New Orleans can fulfill all of their glass repair, replacement and installation needs. Serving New Orleans, Metairie and Slidell, our local experts will re-energize homes in a timely and cost-conscious manner with fresh windows, custom-built shower enclosures, and glass decor. Our auto glass services can cover vehicles windshields, windows and mirrors. If you are a business owner, get the best Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans has to offer, such as specialty glass services, 24-hour appointment opportunities and a discount on company auto glass services. We fix your panes®. Eastbank (504) 835-2525 Westbank (504) 366-2929 Northshore (985) 624-3939...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/11/2016


Tracy W.

It. didn't. Called twice and spoke to Sherolyn who gave me a rogh estimate based on type and size and I said that would be fine. She said she would call me next week and that was two weeks ago.

Description of Work
Trued to have a broken window replaced

Category glass repair

1.0

07/22/2015


Paul M.

Description of Work
I called to have the glass shower door re-installed after completing tile work. I called on 6/12/2015 and was told someone would be out after the next wednesday to look and give me a quote. I called back on 6/23/2015 when I did not hear back. The told me they were busy and would get back to me the next day. I called back on 7/2/2015 and they guaranteed to get back to me on the 6th. I contacted another glass/mirror installer who completed the job in 2 days. I would never recommend or use this company. As of 7/20/2015 I have still not heard from them.

Category glass repair

5.0

04/23/2014


Susan G.

Description of Work
I had gold/black numerals applied to my front door transom in Shelley Script font. The people on the sales end were courteous and gave an excellent price, and the craftsman was polite, quiet, and efficient. The transom looks great -- they added a small fleur de lis in the center of the 0 in my address, per my request.

Category glass repair, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [Member's name removed]. If we can be of any further assistance down the road please do not hesitate to call us at 504-835-2525. Thanks again!
5.0

12/20/2013


Leila L.

Very reputable company. Choose them over SafeLight Auto anytime...

Description of Work
I used Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], we really appreciate you proving your post to Angie's List. Anytime we receive a great review from our customers it makes the long work day all worthwhile. Thanks again [member name removed]!!!
1.0

09/03/2013


Linda K.

Drew called & met me to see what needed to be done. He said the office would call in a few days with an estimate. I never got a call from the office or received a written estimate. I called the office numerous times and was always told they were waiting on a price from the glass supplier. Finally I gave up calling them.

Description of Work
I called to get an estimate to replace 3 panes of high impact glass. I was told someone would call me to come out & give an estimate.

Category replacement windows

1.0

06/03/2013


Corey B.

I asked if I could speak to technician before he came out to avoid the $75 investment. I was told they would speak to the technician and advise me. I was later told that the technician had came out and measured the door, while someone was home, but didn't advise anyone of the inspection. At this time I was told that the price of the side lights had doubled. I attempted to explain that this is the reason I didn't want to put a deposit down before someone could see the door. At this point, I was yelled at and cursed at. I was informed that the company was not doing the ****ing side lights and that they were going to install the panes on the door and door only. At this point I advised the company that they would not be installing the panes in the door and that I'm disputing the charge for a service call. I was not notified prior to the technician's arrival (as promised) or even notified when the technician arrived. Sharilyn was extremely rude to both my fiance and myself, the customer service was absolutely horrific. I was screamed at when being informed what this company would and would not do. As the customer, I should be able to determine which services the company will and will not perform. Nearly every other business offers a free estimate which includes inspecting the project to determine an accurate estimate.

Description of Work
Company was contacted to receive an estimate for replacement of glass panes in an entry door and possibly side lights. Company refused to inspect the door before giving any estimate, instead estimated over the phone and required a 50% deposit before anyone would come out to answer questions and look at the door. Initial estimate over the phone was $275 for the door, and $50 for each side light. For the technician to look at the door and answer any questions was to be a $75 charge. I repeatedly explained that I didn't want to invest in the services before someone could look at the door and answer questions. I was informed that this was not an option.

Category glass repair

Service Provider Response

We have been in business since 1962, and over the years we have modified our procedures so that they work best for the majority of people. We have found that by spending some time on the telephone with a potential customer, we can ask a number of questions for certain types of work that will enable to provide a pretty accurate estimate without going on site. In this instance an example of questions would be; is the glass single pane or double pane?, what is the approximate size of the glass?, is the frame made of wood, metal, vinyl? Is the glass within 18" of the floor or within 24" of a door (which will require safety glass)? etc, etc.We learned over the years that driving around Greater New Orleans turning out free estimates provided the potential customer with all of the data they required in order to place several calls to our competitors and have them price the job utilizing our data. Data which obviously costs the company money. All we did was enable our competitors to provide a lower price by virtue of not having to provide an on site estimate. In essence we did our competitors leg work. By walking the customer through some easy questions we can provide a very accurate estimate approximately 95% of the time. Once we provide the estimate to the customer we require a 50% deposit on any glass that will require it to be custom cut. This will then trigger the technician to go on site and take exact measurements and site specific data collection so that we can begin fabrication. Any price adjustment that may be necessary happens at this time. Sometimes it is more and sometimes it is less than the original quote. 95% of the time no adjustment is required. Should the customer change their mind after we have sent a technician on site, taken measurements and provided the customer with that exact data the first $75.00 of the total cost of the job is dedicated solely to that site visit and is non-refundable. In this case it sounds as if the information the customer provided may have been highly inaccurate. Thus, the adjustment once on site. Many glasses can be measured from the exterior without troubling or inconveniencing the homeowner. In this case it sounds like we may have had a technician gather the data in a similar manner. Once the corrected estimate is provided to the customer they can either move forward with us or they can chose to utilize the fruits of our labor (for $75) and shop around using the information we have provided. It appears that[member name remove] chose to shop around using our data, but also admits to stopping payment on his credit card. Hence, he received our on site estimating services and all of the data required for the job than chose to withhold payment for such services that he admits to receiving. While we regret that [member name remove] did not walk away pleased with our entire service, we hope that he at least received a lower quote than ours by shopping our uncompensated measuring and data gathering to our competitors. For the record we also disagree with some of the more inflammatory comments and insinuations directed at our employees.
5.0

04/27/2013


D D.

The dispatcher called the day before to schedule a 2-hour window within which the technician would arrive at my home to perform the work. When he was detained, both the dispatcher and the technician called again to say he would be a bit later than anticipated, but he still arrived within the scheduled time. The technician was personable and professional. The windshield was replaced in my driveway, the work was neatly done within a reasonable period of time, and the price was reasonable compared to other similar services in the area. I appreciated the additional calls since I had taken off of work, and it was nice to have an updated estimate of when he would arrive. I have driven through several heavy rains (and carwashes) since installation, and the windshield shows no sign of leakage. Loved the convenience of having them come to me!

Description of Work
The windshield on my CRV needed to be replaced .

Category glass repair, auto glass

Service Provider Response

Cool!!! We are so glad that you had a great experience in using our company for your glass needs. And of course thanks for the GREAT review. We look forward to taking care of your again someday!!!!
5.0

05/07/2012


emanuel L.

I called and they showed up the same day at the scheduled time. Work was completed nice and neat and the price was not to bad. I think around $120. Fast, efficient, and neat what more can you want I will definitely use them again

Description of Work
Had a 12x12 pane replaced in my creole cottage.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Members Name], Thank you so much for the compliments that you provided in your Angie's List review of our company. Please let us know if we can ever be of service again. Thank you for your business!!!
1.0

12/19/2009


MA Q.

Initially they responded very quickly even for a rainy day. My window screen was hooked and the technician could not replace the broken glass. The technician, Jeff called to relay this info. I told him the window was painted shut. IF we could not unstick the window, I asked him my options. He said he could tear open the screen. We got the window open and unhooked the screen. I called Jeff to let him know the screen was unhooked so the screen did not have to be torn. He asked if he could come at 6-7am the following day. I told him no one was there so he could come anytime. Jeff was very personable and professional. I asked him to give me an estimate on reglazing all the windows. They placed the receipt on the door before the job was completed so I could give it to the tenants that evening. They were very accommodating in this regard. That evening when I arrived at the house, the screen was torn! The owner said it was already torn, and the poor caulking was due to the rainy weather. She said they would come and re do the caulking only. She did add I should of been told the screen was torn before they started the job. She added the screen was old anyway. I saw the screen the day before and there was no tear and I did a walk through that day since it was the tenants last day and I was getting the keys from them that evening. IF there was a tear I would of asked the tenants about it? IF there was a tear then why did I have to go and unhook the screen? I have pictures of the damage. There is a screwdriver like tear in the screen and the edges of the screen are very clean. The caulking not only is very wavy but has gaps in it. It seems a second technician, Drew, may have done the actual work.

Description of Work
While moving out, tenants broke a window pane. This company was called to replace it. They tore open my screen, removed the broken glass and replaced it was new glass and caulked the window. The caulking was poorly done - gaps and very wavy lines.

Category glass repair

Service Provider Response

Our records indicate the following. We were asked to provide and install one (1) 14" x 32" paned of glass that had been broken out by the tenant. When we arrived the weather looked threatening and advised the owner that we could replace the glass from the exterior and try to caulk it in, but that if it rained the caulk may not have had enough time to cure. The owner instructed to proceed. The technician cleaned up the glass that was on the EXTERIOR of the property, installed the glass and caulked it in Then the rains came. The customer did indeed request us to come back out and re-caulk. Which we did at no charge. We wish to point out here that the glass that the technician cleaned up was on the exterior. Most likely the same glass that came through the screen when the window was broken by the tenant from the interior during the move out process. Hence, the torn screen. We replaced the glass and caulked the window twice. We simply assumed that the owner knew that the glass tore the screen as it seemed obvious to us. As for the finish bead appearing wavy our only explanation is that perhaps one was mistakenly inspecting one of the glasses immediately adjacent to the one we replaced, as those beads were not quite as uniform as ours.
2.0

12/04/2009


Kate C.

I got a call back the morning after I first called, which was fine. That was Wednesday morning. The woman told me that one of the employees would get back to me, possibly not Wednesday. On Friday, around noon, the woman called again asking if I was still interested. I told her that I was, and about 30 minutes later a guy called to tell me he'd be there in a few minutes. I was not impressed by the fact that all day Thursday went by without a call, at least saying it would be another day. I had two windows I wanted work on. One he told me they would have to order, and the price he quoted for a repair was almost $200. It is a relatively small window. I am pretty sure I could get a new window installed for not much more than that, with some of the specials I find in the home flyers. Then, he wanted to charge $80 to replace a 8 in by 12 in piece of glass. I had paid half that for a much larger window just a couple of years ago, so I asked whether it had something to do with the fact that it was a wood frame, or some other reason for the high cost. He claimed that is just what it costs. I really need the window fixed, so I said, okay then. Then, he proceeds to tell me that he doesn't have his taller ladder, so he'll have to come back next week. At that point, I showed him the door. I would never use this company.

Description of Work
I ended up just getting quotes on two window repairs.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    nm home improvement

    NM Home Improvements, LLC Your one stop shop for most of your home service needs. With over 10 years of experience, feel secure in knowing your home will deserve the love it needs. While our specialty is repairing and installing exterior doors, we also offer an array of other services to include home maintenance and repairs, minor renovations and upgrades, general handyman services, residential cleaning, pressure washing, drywall repair and installation, flooring, interior & exterior painting, installation of light fixtures, bathroom & kitchen fixtures, and more. Please give us a call today, we will be happy to discuss how our services can benefit you and your home! ** Free estimates available by phone where possible .** ** Emergency services available at an additional cost.**  

    AZ Handyman

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Sir Fix A Lot

    General Maintenance, Assembly, Mounting, and Construction!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Visa, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Shower Doors & Enclosures, Mirrored Walls, Vanity Mirrors, Beveled & Antique Mirrors, Double Paned Windows, Insulated Glass, Patio Door Glass, Glass Doors, Tabletop Glass, Storefront Glass & Doors, Auto Glass Repair & Replacement, Sunroofs, Hurricane Impact Glass, Plexi-Glass, Restoration Glass, Bullet Resistant Glass, Heavy Equipment Glass, Marine Glass, Curtain Wall Glass, Glass Stairs & Rails, Commercial Board Up Service, Contract Glazing, Safety Glass, & Tempered Glass.

    Services Not Offered

    Automotive Window Tinting. Full-Framed Residential Replacement Windows.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans

    How is Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans overall rated?

    Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans open?

    Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans provide

    Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Visa, Check

    Does Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offer free estimates?

    Yes, Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offers free project estimates.

    Does Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans?

    Yes, Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offers warranties.

    What services does Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offer?

    Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans offers the following services: Shower Doors & Enclosures, Mirrored Walls, Vanity Mirrors, Beveled & Antique Mirrors, Double Paned Windows, Insulated Glass, Patio Door Glass, Glass Doors, Tabletop Glass, Storefront Glass & Doors, Auto Glass Repair & Replacement, Sunroofs, Hurricane Impact Glass, Plexi-Glass, Restoration Glass, Bullet Resistant Glass, Heavy Equipment Glass, Marine Glass, Curtain Wall Glass, Glass Stairs & Rails, Commercial Board Up Service, Contract Glazing, Safety Glass, & Tempered Glass.

    Are there any services Glass Doctor of Greater New Orleans does not offer?

    Automotive Window Tinting. Full-Framed Residential Replacement Windows.