Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Associated Housing Contractors

Founded 2005 • With Angi since August 2014

5.0

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4025 Ulloa St.

New Orleans, LA 70119

Description

Construction? If that is the question then AHC is the answer! We love to build stuff here at AHC. Big stuff, little stuff, whatever your heart desires. Our team will work with you to realize even the most lofty of your construction (or pinterest) ideas. AHC is owned and operated by Elbert

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/08/2017


Benjamin B.

.

Description of Work
.

Category home builders

5.0

11/10/2016


Tim W.

We called AHC after some damage was done to our house and we needed an estimate to give to our insurance company. As we are new homeowners and had never lived in a cinderblock house like the one we have now, we had no idea if the damage was significant or only cosmetic. I called AHC on a Monday and was able to schedule an assessment that week on a Thursday. When Albert arrived he heard our story of what happened and then walked through the house with us. We showed him images and videos of the damage taking place. He reviewed them and ask specific questions. Then, he went in the attic and carefully looked for damage. When he returned he relieved us not only by saying he saw no structural damage but also by thoroughly explaining the specifics of our house's construction and where he looked for damage. We showed him our areas of concern and he patiently heard us and looked everything over, inside and out. In the end, our damage was merely cosmetic and could be fixed with simple DIY touch ups. We felt so bad that we had wasted his time, but he reassured us that it was not a problem and that he was happy to help. Even though we did not require a contractor, Albert stayed with us and look at everything we wanted to show him until we were satisfied and set at ease. He explained what significant damage would have looked like, the difference in what he saw in our walls, and how we could fix everything ourselves. He described an expensive procedure we could pursue, but advised us that he didn't think it would be worth it for the cost and the mess involved. We were extremely satisfied with the thoroughness of Albert's assessment and grateful for his patience and his reassurance. He didn't have to spend the time he did with us or provide as much detail in his explanations. The fact that he did speaks volumes to his honesty, helpfulness, and concern for his clients. When we look to remodel in the future, we will certainly be calling AHC first.

Description of Work
Survey damage in order to give an estimate.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/07/2016


Jaye P.

I found AHC on Angie's list after having such a negative experience with a previous contractor (2008-09) whom we heard about through word of mouth… an entire house renovation which resulted in immediate exterior railing failures and badly deteriorating decks/paint/decking among other things. With multiple decks and railings now necessitating demolition and rebuild, I wanted to make sure we didn't have a repeat of this earlier experience, so signed up for Angie's list and contacted AHC because of their excellent ratings. Our experience with AHC could not have been more different than our experience with the earlier contractor: There were no surprises or excuses - Elbert's team was extremely knowledgeable, well organized, respectful, stayed on schedule & budget, was always available to answer questions and give suggestions, worked around our schedules and provided high quality work with proper exterior and quality materials. If the elements interfered (June rain!) requiring any adjustment, they always came back quickly and took care of it without extra fees. Their work ethic was one of excellence. The carpentry and painting are beautiful, something we now feel confident will last for years. We called Elbert and his team back for other exterior repairs shortly afterwards - and again were extremely pleased. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Rebuilding and painting of poorly constructed (7-yr old) decks/railings + siding/trim repair

Category decks, siding, woodworking, house painters

5.0

07/10/2016


Katie R.

Elbert is great to work with and took the time to make sure I was happy with the design. His carpenter Jason was also great.

Description of Work
Built my dream closet

Category remodeling

5.0

07/10/2016


Lauren R.

Elbert, the owner, came to the house himself. He was very helpful, kind, knowledgable, and responsive. He explained everything well, and I trusted his judgment. We did not use his service because the estimate was for the new buyers of the house. I would certainly use him in the future!

Description of Work
Inspection and estimate to repair the framing in the first floor framing.

Category picture framing, remodeling

5.0

06/20/2016


Ann D.

We wanted good work done at a good price after having bad experiences with other contractors, and that's exactly what we got with Associated Housing Contractors. Elbert was easy to reach and always willing to consult on the project. We went through several versions of the work order, as more damage was uncovered, and Elbert always talked us through the changes. After being less than impressed by vanities at Lowe's and Home Depot, Elbert suggested a custom-made vanity and mirror solution that looks fantastic and didn't cost any more than the big box products. Also, we were able to adjust the estimate to fit within our budget, which was helpful. The workers were quick and caused minimal disruption in the house. And, at the end of the project, AHC sent through a cleaning person to get rid of all traces of construction dust and contractor footprints. Overall, we're pleased with the work and happy with the experience. We'd definitely work with AHC again!

Description of Work
Elbert & team rebuilt the bathroom and part of the bedroom after extensive termite damage was found in the back of the house. They rebuilt an interior wall, rebuilt the foundation underneath the bathroom, insulated the bathroom and 2 bedroom walls, tore up carpet and refinished wood floors. They also remodeled the bathroom, including installing tile floors, building tub surround and installing a new tub, building and installing a custom vanity and mirror, and rewiring electrical and rerouting plumbing. And installing 3 new windows.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

12/21/2015


Donald H.

We are very pleased with the work provided by Associated Housing Contractors. We had a very large shed on our property that was largely unusable because it was unstable and needed most of the interior concrete replaced. AHC replaced the bad concrete, re-routed water lines, upgraded electrical connections, stabilized the roof and building, poured concrete driveways, added garage doors and replaced the cement walkway running down the side of our house. Elbert and his crew were great to work with, and the finished product exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
Converted shed into two car garage, replaced cement walkway and stairs.

Category garage doors, plumbing, remodeling, garage builders

5.0

10/15/2015


Ryan Maher M.

Can't even begin to express how satisfied I am with the totality of the job. Elbert was a great communicator from the very beginning and eager and excited to start the job. He provided a competitive quote and was very professional and personable. He walked me through each step of the process and explained to me what I needed to do as far as selecting tile, grout color, fixtures, etc... Once the job commenced, he was at the site and provided the necessary guidance to his employees. His employees are without a doubt the most proficient, respectful, punctual, meticulous and diligent workers I have to date witness. The job site was cleaned daily as this project took approximately 2 weeks to complete. Elbert frequently stopped by or called with updates on the progress. The transformation from beginning to end is simply amazing. Elbert commonly thanked me for my business and was genuinely grateful for the opportunity for such a difficult tasking on an 1850's creole cottage. He obviously enjoys to be challenged. Without hesitation, when I require another large scale job or a friend needs a referral for a contractor, I see no other option than Associated Housing. As long as I continue to live in the N.O. area, I will call on him. A quote from my significant other, "Elbert made my pinterest dream come true" Thanks for a job very well done, Elbert !!! I have a happy little lady in the home.

Description of Work
Full rip out and tub to shower conversion adding a bench on an 1850's Creole Cottage

Category remodeling

5.0

08/26/2015


Lynn S.

AHC did a great job. We have already started discussions with them for future work. The bathroom remodel was extensive, but AHC was careful with our house and left it spotless when the job was finished. All of the work was done professionally and during the agreed upon time frame. The general contractor and owner of AHC, Elbert J Weinberger, is in demand for a reason - he and his team do excellent work .

Description of Work
AHC remodeled two bathrooms which included the associated plumbing, tiling, electrical and sheetrock installation. They also repaired damaged flooring and restored fireplace brickwork . The house was built around 1900, so it presented all the challenges of a vintage house.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/18/2015


Bess W.

I'm extremely happy with the work Elbert's team did and with all my interactions with Elbert himself. The team does good work at a good pace, and Elbert himself was always willing to talk about any difficulties and propose solutions for me to choose from. I would absolutely recommend him and he would be my first choice for carrying out any future improvements or repairs to my home. AHC was not the cheapest bid I recieved, but it was fair, believable, and fixed-price. The only change orders we had to do were one for removing the wall (since the work couldn't be estimated initially without bringing in a structural engineer) and another later on when I decided to ask Elbert to have his team put bamboo flooring on the staircase they built. Both were within my expected ranges.

Description of Work
Removed scary old stairs to finished attic and built awesome new ones, opened up the wall between two rooms, and ripped out prefab shower and tiled a new one.

Category contractors, flooring contractor, remodeling

5.0

08/14/2015


Alexandra M.

Elbert is great at communication - I think some of the past reviewers who have not been happy are probably not super clear communicators themselves because I have found that as long as we talked it over, the results are usually exactly what I expected or better. Make spreadsheets and drawings in collaboration with your contractors, people...it is a lifesaver in making sure everyone has the same ideas!! Also he is pretty much ALWAYS available by phone or text to answer questions. We really enjoyed working with him and we have an end product that we love. And it was REALLY well-priced, in my opinion. Invoices are very transparent and you know exactly what you are paying for. He really got the vision of what we wanted and went out of his way to help us achieve it.

Description of Work
Elbert and his team entirely re-did the first floor of our newly purchased home which was a 1980s nightmare - 7-foot drop ceiling in the kitchen, small boxy rooms, aging laminate flooring, washer and dryer taking up a quarter of the kitchen... They were able to open it up into a beautiful open-plan space with no drop ceiling, new flooring, new cabinets and appliances, new Sheetrock, and did a beautiful job. That included a need to re-do some upstairs plumbing, add a new tub and shower tile upstairs, move the washer/dryer upstairs, and so on which was all explained fully beforehand and very affordable.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, floor cleaning

5.0

08/10/2015


Freya Z.

We were very happy with the work. The team at Associated Housing Contractors are experienced and capable. During the job I communicated frequently with owner Elbert Weinberger who has always been available and responsive. Renovating our house was a large job with many stages and I felt that Elbert was clear and straightforward regarding the expectations, cost, and schedule of each stage. We also uncovered a lot of new problems along the way and they handled these issues well without blowing up our budget. We would recommend this company to anyone!

Description of Work
Demolition/ renovation of raised basement with many improvements to existing plumbing and electrical throughout our house.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling

5.0

08/10/2015


philippe L.

My wife and I wanted the work done quickly as we wanted to do everything before moving in. Within a week everything was done. The estimate was fair and the scope of work precisely defined. AHC performed the work very well to the highest standards. There was no surprise or overage on our final bill. Also Elbert (the owner) helped me to figure out some of the things we could do to get a better result. We were very impressed by the professionalism of Elbert's team - Very pleasant and willing to answer any question we had. It was the first time we hired a contractor to do work and we were very nervous not knowing anything about construction. I must say that we were very fortunate to fing AHC. There is more work we need and I am calling Elbert again.

Description of Work
AHC created a new door in a brick wall, opened a wall in the living room, extended the outside wood fence. Moved an outside gate. They also removed half of a kitchen outside under the porch.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/14/2015


Quin B.

I met with Elbert a couple of times to go over the scope of the project. All requirements were spelled out in the contract and accounted for in the overall project cost. Project went according to the schedule previously discussed with the contractor. The workers were on-time and professional. The front porch column required custom millwork that was unexpected, but the contractor discussed the cost of the job plus the new tool required in advance and we agreed on a price for the change order. At the end of the job, two additional unexpected change orders were submitted that had not previously been discussed, but the contractor was willing to work with me to reach a mutually agreeable price (the change orders resulted from hidden damage).

Description of Work
Repaired damaged porch flooring and column on front porch. Replaced six damaged columns with fiberglass columns on back porch. Replaced all tongue-and-groove porch flooring on back porch.

Category contractors, decks, flooring contractor, remodeling

5.0

03/19/2015


Kathy H.

Description of Work
Best Contractor I have ever used and I have lived all over the country and owned about 12 houses. Elbert Weinberg and his team are outstanding. Professional, Caring, and customer focused describes the team. Also the work they do is first class. I live in a 1896 historic home in a historic district in New Orleans. I had crown moulding put in all rooms. I had a wall removed between the kitchen and dining room to open up the house and they suggested how to do it that makes it stunningly beautiful. I had all rooms painted. The kitchen was totally redone by moving cabinets, new appliances new grantie and sink , new recessed lights etc. I also had new screens on my screen porch, a new door and 2 new windows in my garage. Elbert was with me every step of the way meeting me at the vendors to help select materials to be used. He is so responsive to any questions, makes wonderful suggestions and really operates with old fashioned customer service . Also I have a dog and 3 cats and they were so careful and caring with them daily as the work moved from room to room. I can't say enough about how wonderful the whole team is!! I definitely recommend them and plan to use them in the future. Thanks Elbert!!

Category decks, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/05/2015


Kevin O.

I contacted Elbert at Associated Housing Contractors about several doors in my house and their general terrible condition. He came out at a time that was convenient to me (early, actually), listened to my concerns, and worked up a quote for me. He emailed the quote, which was my preference. I elected to have around half of the repairs done at this time. He sent someone out to meet my tenant to repair the doors on their side. According to my tenant the worker was courteous and efficient. Overall I was very pleased with the work that was done, and will call Elbert again when it's time to do more on the house.

Description of Work
Replaced seal around first door, added weather stripping and other insulating measures. Repaired and adjusted second door, added weather stripping and insulating measures.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/01/2015


Deborah V.

All work was done efficiently and competently. They even tied drain lines from one side of the house to the other in order to save costs. Workers are polite and knowledgeable. The owner inspects all work when completed to ensure satisfaction. Have used this company for our rental property repairs, and are 100% satisfied with their work. I will continue to call them for future repairs, and highly recommend this company to others.

Description of Work
There was a plumbing issue - The drain line had to be re-routed; toilet and tube connections had to be re-done. The water line on the tub was discovered to be damaged and leaking, so they installed a new valve and section of copper line.

Category plumbing, remodeling

5.0

02/05/2015


Terry L.

Our plumbing is in tip-top shape! The plumber showed up right on time the day that we scheduled and got straight to work. He was extremely professional and friendly. He repaired the connections to both of our upstairs bathtubs and repaired a few of the connections for the drain pipes on the same two tubs. Once he was finished, he mopped up the water from the repairs and cleaned up the work areas. We have not had a leak since. My wife and I are extremely pleased with the work we received from AHC and will definitely be using them again in the future if we need more work performed on our home. We have even received a few follow up emails from their staff just making sure everything is OK and making sure we were satisfied with the work.

Description of Work
About three days after moving into our house, we used the middle upstairs bathtub for the first time. Upon going downstairs, I discovered water coming from the ceiling and all over the floor. I located Associated Housing Contractors (I will refer to them as AHC) online and decided to give them a shot. They showed up the next day right on time and immediately found that the drain was not properly hooked up to the bottom of the bathtub and after a further investigation of the rest of the plumbing, they also discovered the exact same issue on the other upstairs bathtub. We scheduled the plumber form AHC to come by and repair the plumbing for us for both bathtubs.

Category plumbing

4.0

01/05/2015


Jan F.

Really liked owner. Had a little misunderstanding re proposal but after we both realized how it could have been misinterpreted he was very generous in rectifying the price to both our satisfaction. All his crew except one were very knowledgeable and professional. Pleased with the work and would most definitely use the company again. He was so impressed with the decking material that we had bought that he contacted the company and became an installer for the New Orleans area.

Description of Work
Reframed front balcony. installed waterproof decking that we purchased. Finish work for balcony.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

Hello, We appreciate your honest review! I apologize about the misunderstanding of the verbiage on the quote. We have taken steps to assure that we are clearer and more definitive in our descriptions of scope. I love how the deck came out, solid as can be. FSI is a great product and I'm happy to have learned about it. Thanks, Elbert Weinberger
5.0

12/19/2014


Tiffany J.

We used Associated Housing Contractors for reconstruction of our deck. When we bought our home it included a very poorly constructed deck that was not only unsafe, but detracted from the space and aesthetics of our back yard. After taking down the old deck, they created a beautiful new deck that is a true joy for our family. It increased the space in our back yard while providing us a perfect amount of deck space. The quality of the construction is superb even though the odd shape of our house required some fairly complex planning in the construction. We were presented with several options for reconstruction and the contractor willingly accommodated our requests. The pricing of the construction and clean-up was very reasonable and was clearly presented before work was started. The deck was completed in the expected amount of time at minimal inconvenience to my family. Every time we have guests, we are always complemented on our beautiful deck. We will use Associated Housing Contractors for any of our future contracting needs.

Description of Work
Tore down old deck and built a new deck on our home

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

12/19/2014


Tiffany J.

We have had multiple services provided by Associated Housing Contractors and will continue to use them for ALL of our contracting needs. When requesting services, the contractor promptly responded for an initial assessment of our needs. He thoroughly researched all possibilities for our repairs and construction needs and then presented our options in clear, concise terms which included pricing, time-frame for completion, and longevity of repairs. When the services were being rendered they arrived ON-TIME as scheduled. There was no "We will be there between 1:00-4:00" like most often happens when you have repairs done. They said they would be there at 11:00 and they were there at 11:00 on the nose. The most recent plumbing repairs that we had done included re-routing some very antiquated plumbing in our bathroom. The repairs were completed very quickly and the quality of the work done was exceptional. We expected it to take all day, but it was literally finished within an hour! The repair personnel were extremely polite and professional and respectful of our home.

Description of Work
Plumbing repairs.

Category decks, plumbing, remodeling

5.0

12/16/2014


James P.

At 58 years old the honeydo projects seem to be a little more difficult. Especially hanging sheetrock over head. We had about 6 spots with water damage that needed repair. Associated Housing Contractor came in visqueened areas and went to work. Guys completed work on time and it looks great. Saved me time and frustration and my honeydo list is now shorter. Thanks Elbert and his crew.

Description of Work
Remove and Replace Sheetrock, floated and applied popcorn texture

Category drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

We know sheet rock work can be more frustrating than anything and it also generates a lot of dust. We strive to contain the mess and get out quick on small jobs like this! Glad we could help.
5.0

11/24/2014


Kathy G.

My experience with Associated Housing Contractors during my bathroom renovation could not have been better and deserves the highest praise. From my first contact to the final details, this company delivered service with incredible professionalism, skill, consideration and commitment. Elbert, the owner, was prompt in providing a clear and highly competitive quote - and the price of the project never changed, even with the minor adjustments (and enhancements) during the work. He was always available for questions, wonderfully personable, and clearly an expert in the various trades. He was an excellent supervisor, generous with his advice and expertise, careful with every last detail, and continuously involved with inspecting the quality of work. The company had skilled craftsmen that transformed the bathroom. They were tremendously hard working, meticulous and great problem solvers. The work went off perfectly. The workers were punctual, neat, and I am thrilled with the workmanship. Overall the project was quick, clean, and unobtrusive. I am truly enthusiastic about recommending this wonderful company without any hesitation.

Description of Work
1. Renovate master bathroom installing Travertine throughout and in shower stall

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

That bathroom really did turn out amazing! Travertine is one of our favorite stones to work with because its very soft and we can easily shape and polish the edges to make tricky corners and edges really pop! The floor has been sealed but make sure to avoid abrasive cleaners on it and enjoy!
5.0

11/20/2014


Whitney M.

Associated Housing Contractors (AHC) did an excellent job removing and installing new privacy fences for our home. Appropriate permits were pulled with the City and work started quickly after the acquisition of said permits and price determination. Elbert (company owner) was a dear about communication and explaining everything in great detail/regularly checking in with the work site. Our lead person for the site was Mike and he was absolutely fabulous to have around- polite, informative, understanding and a good worker. The company worked on the project each day with the exception of one particularly cold and rainy day which was completely understandable. Once the project was nearly complete, the company was good about taking care of punch list items and correcting anything that didn't turn out 100% perfect. I would say they did a good job of keeping the work area clean and removing all items when the job was complete. My husband and I only had a few items to put away upon their departure. Pricing with AHC is a bit pricey and there are most likely other contractors who can do the job for less; however, I encourage you to take a good look at the company and their quality of work before immediately saying no to the price. The quality of work that AHC delivers is unbeatable and I believe that our fence will last for a long time to come.

Description of Work
We used Associated Housing Contractors to remove and install new privacy fences along our side and front property line. The owner and contractor of the company provided a very thorough and overall great service including pulling permits and getting approval from the HLC.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Probably one of the most substantial wood fences in your area. Privacy and security all in one. Thanks for giving us a review and enjoy!
5.0

08/20/2014


Hannah B.

Called before showing up, very professional. No issues and completed ahead of schedule.

Description of Work
Replaced main sill under home.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! Glad we could take care of it for you.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Requin Construction LLC

    Did you know, that "Requin" in French means "Shark"? Just like a shark, Requin Construction wont stop until the job is finished! Requin Construction’s key values are integrity, reliability, and a strong customer relationship. These three values are the foundation of our company and are a daily reminder of who we are and what we are about. We strongly believe that our company is successful because of the relationships that we develop with our clients. While providing superior construction services with loyal customer service, Requin Construction’s mission is to deliver cost-effective solutions to your every remodeling, renovation, or addition need. By building your vision into a reality, we guarantee the highest satisfaction with your finished project.  

    Angi Certified

    Long's Cleaning & Maintenance Service

    Since 1989, we have been specializing in floor stripping and waxing services for residential and commercial, along carpet cleaning for commercial ONLY. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Clay A Behrnes Masonry LLC

    We've been family owned and operated since 1952. Our commitment is provide quality work and our moto is provide same quality of work we would do for our own personal homes. All types masonry, fireplaces, brick, blocks, stone, sidewalks, planters, and veneer. We specialize in an outdoor kitchens, hardscaping, patios, and sidewalks. I have over 40 years Experience call today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Kitchen and Bath Remodel Additions Sill and pier work Sheetrock repair or installation Exterior siding installation Trim ranging from apartment grade to custom closets

    Services Not Offered

    Vinyl siding Concrete Slabs Slab Leveling House raising

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Associated Housing Contractors

    How is Associated Housing Contractors overall rated?

    Associated Housing Contractors is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Associated Housing Contractors open?

    Associated Housing Contractors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Associated Housing Contractors provide

    Associated Housing Contractors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Associated Housing Contractors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Associated Housing Contractors offers free project estimates.

    Does Associated Housing Contractors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Associated Housing Contractors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Associated Housing Contractors offer a senior discount?

    No, Associated Housing Contractors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Associated Housing Contractors?

    No, Associated Housing Contractors does not offer warranties.

    What services does Associated Housing Contractors offer?

    Associated Housing Contractors offers the following services: Kitchen and Bath Remodel Additions Sill and pier work Sheetrock repair or installation Exterior siding installation Trim ranging from apartment grade to custom closets

    Are there any services Associated Housing Contractors does not offer?

    Vinyl siding Concrete Slabs Slab Leveling House raising