Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-Pro Inspection Services

Founded 2009 • With Angi since February 2011

4.6

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

70380 Louisiana 21 Ste 2-280

Covington, LA 70433

Description

My name is Vic Gustafson and I'm a licensed and certified Louisiana home inspector who believes that inspectors should be accountable for the inspections they perform. That's why every inspection I conduct is backed by our "If we pass it, we protect it" guarantee, meaning unexpected repairs come

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/19/2018


Jeri C.

Vic was prompt (early actually) and thorough with his inspection. There was an issue with the heating and air, and although it wasn't his job, he took the time to help the hvac guy (whom we were able to get to the house during the inspection, fortunately) to add his expertise to troubleshoot and find the solution. Problem solved, avoiding delays and unnecessary negotiations. He found everything of concern, and explained things in a down to earth, solution-oriented manner, rather than leaving us (as other inspectors have) with more questions than answers. We walked away understanding the condition of the property, and had solid information to talk with the seller about to negotiate the needed repairs.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

03/11/2016


Chrystal G.

.

Description of Work
.

Category home inspection

2.0

08/27/2015


Stephen S.

The inspection seemed to go well. After we received the report, it seemed very light in detail compared to what was discussed during the inspection. Even so, we felt we were able to use the report to leverage a lower price in negotiations with seller and addressing the major concerns (we thought only the HVAC system). 1-1/2 weeks after purchasing the house, I had a roofer come out to view what was described by the inspector as "non-typical installation" with the shingles on valley of the roof as well as describing the roof in fair condition. The roofing contractor came out and immediately asked who my inspector was, as he was shocked several items were not identified (vent caps installed backwards on the roof, not one but two valleys that were improperly woven, water leaking into the roof of my deck, and to top it off significant hail damage that would have been covered by insurance had I owned the home at the time of the hail event. This is far from a "fair" condition for a roof. I had a second roofer evaluate my roof to the same conclusion, the roof was not repairable due to the poor shingle condition and would need to be replaced. The roof being my main issue, there were other shortcomings that were not identified with the electrical. These were not of major concern with a parent that is a licensed electrician and we were able to identify a scope of work that could quickly be managed. Although the inspector insisted there was no issues with the electrical grounding, there was actually a significant issue with several circuits not being grounded as well as one circuit with a hot ground. I've purchased four houses in the last 10 years all in Louisiana and this has been the lowest quality inspection I've encountered and would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
David Rupert provided us with a home inspection prior to the purchase of a house. He seemed knowledgeable but the report left a lot to be desired considering the number of things that were discussed on the inspection. Ultimately we discovered that several things were missed.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/10/2015


Farrell L.

Description of Work
home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

12/23/2014


Deborah H.

Competent , professional.

Description of Work
Real estate home inspection for buyers

Category home inspection

5.0

10/20/2014


mary K.

Dave was our inspector. He went above and beyond our expectations. He was very thorough and very professional. He found some issues with our roof even with it being new. He even came out twice to check it out again. Would highly recommend!!!

Description of Work
new construction home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

05/15/2014


David G.

They were extremely professional and very thorough. The report that they gave was very professional and the report that they gave me was in a hardcover. I would use them again.

Description of Work
A-Pro Inspection Services inspected 2 of my homes.

Category home inspection

4.0

07/30/2013


Danny T.

The guy that came out was very informative and had a lot of good information. The reason I gave the and quot;Band quot; overall is because the report it's self lacked a level of detail that I would have liked to see. It was very generic. He did not actually go on the roof but did look at it from a top a latter. He did not set voltage flow, there was no water quality test. I was not as detailed as I would have expected. But! The service was professional and courteous and was completed in a timely manner. I think a home inspection should do more that I could have learned myself. I have nearly all of the same equipment that the inspector used. They did not use any snake cameras to look into areas that needed to be looked at in my opinion. Those cameras can be picked up at Home Depot for under $200. It would have come in handy to see under the porch where they say they and quot; Believedand quot; there might be termite damage but could not tell. or damage to a piling under the same porch that should have had more detail. So overall I could have done this inspection myself if I had the time. I usually expect professionals to have more knowledge than myself.

Description of Work
Complete Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

07/08/2013


Dana H.

All went well. This was a home inspection I had done before putting a house on the market. No new surprises came up when the buyers did a follow up home inspection so i would say that he was thorough. Also, nice guy.

Description of Work
Home inspection. Cost was cheaper with Angie's list special

Category home inspection

5.0

06/03/2013


Robert B.

Went very well. Vic found several issues that saves us several hundred dollars.

Description of Work
Home Inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/25/2013


chuck F.

Our experience was great. They were very efficient, very thorough, and paid attention to detail. We have had a lot of home inspections done. Every so many years we will have one personnel; that is pretty good.

Description of Work
We used A-Pro Inspection Services for a maintenance home inspection.

Category home inspection

3.0

02/26/2013


Gabriel F.

The crew arrived earlier than the scheduled time. A huge rodent/rat problem in the attic was not mentioned on my report. There are dropping throughout the attic and I was not made aware of this issue in my inspection report. Rodents can cause a significant amount of damage to electrical systems so this should have been brought to my attention. Now, I am spending money to fix this problem and if I knew this prior, I could have requested that the seller remedy this problem. In addition, I was not happy that the inspector made the decision to have a round table meeting and discuss the results of the inspection with the seller and her realtor. This should have been discussed with me as I paid for the inspection and it should be at my discretion who I allow access to my inspection report. The inspector even took it upon himself to send the seller's agent a copy of the report. For a second I thought the seller paid for the inspection until I wrote the check.

Description of Work
Home Inspection.

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Inspecting for pest is outside the scope of the inspection. The home is an older home and some rodent dropping are to be inspected. I am not a licensed pest control technician. There did not appear to have any signs of rodent damage to the wiring at the time of the inspection. I was under the impression that the buyer and seller was using the same realtor. Thats why the realtor recieved the copy of the report. I also asked you if it was ok to review the report in front of the seller. Typically this makes things easier during the inspection respose time. I'm sorry for any confusion during the inspection process. It was not our intent. We could have stopped the overview process at anytime had I known your reservations. Vic Gustafson
5.0

02/04/2013


Rashmi V.

As a new homeowner I was very concerned about the inspection process. I read a lot of good reviews about this service. I called Vic. He was very knowledgeable and understanding of my questions. He did a great job of breaking things down for me. He was very thorough with his inspection and even went over many things to watch with me. Overall I was very pleased with the inspection and would happily recommend Vic Gustafson.

Description of Work
New Home Owner Inspection

Category home inspection

4.0

02/04/2013


Jack P.

I considered his work to be average. I am a general contractor so I know what should come out in those reports, and it appears that he missed some things.

Description of Work
They did a house inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

12/18/2012


James Y.

The inspection went very well. It was very detailed and found the few problems that the home had.

Description of Work
A home inspection was provided which was exactly what was necessary. They made the process very easy.

Category home inspection

5.0

10/26/2012


Susan D.

Vic and his assisstant showed up at the house early and started inspection of the outside of the house before I even got there. They were very thorough, taking photos of each area they inspected, both inside the house and out. He explained where there might be potential problems as he found them. He emailed a very detailed report early the next day and included photos to illustrate his findings. He pointed out that the roof was at the end of it's lifecycle and pointed out others issues that needed immediate attention. The inspection took place approximately two weeks before Hurricane Issaic blew through Louisiana. Based on the inspection report, I knew what areas to look out for during the final walk thru prior to closing. I found that the roof had leaked significantly during the hurricane. The damage was bad enough that I decided not to purchase the house. I do plan to use A-Pro home inspection services again when I find another house I want to purchase.

Description of Work
Home inspection prior to purchase.

Category home inspection

5.0

10/17/2012


David A.

He did a great job and he was very thorough and professional. Very easy to schedule an appointment and great use of technology. His report was very detailed and included pictures.

Description of Work
Vic did a top to bottom home inspection on a new home purchase.

Category home inspection

5.0

10/15/2012


Joseph K.

Excellent! Mr. Gustafson was prompt, professional, and VERY THOROUGH! Even though I purchased his services via a coupon, his detailed report did not reflect anything other than a top-to-bottom professionally conducted inspection. Mr. Gustavson should be considered a top practitioner of his professional credentials and come highly recommended by this satsfied customer.

Description of Work
Activities typical of a home inspection being done for a home buyer

Category home inspection

4.0

10/12/2012


Cara H.

He came, he inspected, he left, her reported. That's all I can say. I was satisfied.

Description of Work
Home inspection of home needing remodeling. Everything except the electrical was done. After inspection, I received a very detailed report outlining attributes of the home. The report had drawings and photos.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/03/2012


Margaret H.

Vic, was on time and very informative as well as organized. His report was extremely thorough and easy to comprehend. I would highly recommend A-Pro Inspection Service.

Description of Work
Home inspection for a condo.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/09/2012


Rebecca S.

Vic Gustafson was wonderful from start to finish. I called him to set up an appointment to come by and received his voice mail. He promptly called me back within hours and set up a convenient time to come and even worked around my schedule and came on a Saturday so my husband and I could both be home. He sent us several e-mails prior to his appointment explaining the services he provides and an agreement for us to sign. He also sent a confirmation before the appointment date and came to the appointment a few minutes early. He took thorough pictures and went through the house and the property for at least three hours. He went through everything by himself without any assistance from us and covered things we wanted him to look at without hesitation. After the inspection, he spoke with us about his findings and told us that he would be sending us a detailed report in a few days. We received a very detailed 30 page report shortly after and were very pleased to get his recommendations. In the report, pictures and diagrams were provided as well as a detailed report of each area inspected. A report overview was also given to us as well as a home maintenance guide. We are not planning on selling our house. We were trying to see what needed to be done with our house to make any improvements or fix any problems. We were happy to find out that some of the things we thought might be problems were explained to us by Vic. Vic eased our minds on some issues we had and gave us some very simple ways to correct some minor problems. It was well worth the price we paid to find out about our house and Vic was very professional throughout the entire process.

Description of Work
A home inspection was done on the interior and exterior of our house, garage and property. The inspection included these areas: structural/foundation, flooring elevation, roofing, exterior, electrical system, heating and cooling system, insulation/ventilation, plumbing system, interior and appliances. The garage, deck and driveway were also inspected. We purchased this at a special price from an advertisement through Angie's List.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/30/2012


SANDY S.

He was waiting at the appointed time already inspecting the outside of the home. Spent a lot of time going through everything inside and outside of the home and telling me about the physical inspection results. Followed by a detailed written report I could use to proceed to discuss with the sellers.

Description of Work
Detailed home inspection prior to final purchase. Enabled me to further negotiate price.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/18/2012


Chelsey S.

Excellent! He was on time, professional, thorough and very nice.

Description of Work
Home inspection on the house I am purchasing.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/07/2011


Philip H.

Vic was at the job site several minutes early. Was very business oriented and went straight to work. He was there for roughly 1.5 hours but this was a smaller town house (around 1,350 Square Feet) that was in pretty good shape so this amount of time may not be common in a larger house or one with numerous issues. Vic went over the report with me at the end and spent plenty of time answering questions with myself and my real estate agent and offering advice on proper fixes/upgrades. Later that night I received the report via email so that I can keep it for my records. Overall I was very pleased with his services and will be using him again in the future. He's very professional and definitely knows what he's doing.

Description of Work
Vic came out and did a very detailed home inspection for a town home we are purchasing.

Category home inspection

5.0

02/09/2011


Jennifer B.

Vic was extremely thorough in the inspection. He got there early to inspect the outside so I would have as little waiting time as possible. He does a comprehensive 500-point home inspections, foundation surveys, mold, radon, meth, lead, carbon monoxide testing and remediation, and termites. He covered everything from the foundation to the rooftop. His inspection is guaranteed for 120 days and he is licensed and insured. He explained everything he found to be wrong and even told me everything that was good about the house. He was very patient and thorough with his explanations. I was very impressed with the services and would use him again for any inspection I needed done.

Description of Work
Inspection of home to purchase.

Category home inspection, mold removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Dry Services of Greater New Orleans

    Water Restoration, Mold Remediation, Leak Detection and Smoke Damage  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Inspector 12

    Inspector 12 is a local company offering Termite Control, Pest Control, Mold Remediation and Indoor Air Quality Services. We have over 40 years of experience and we use the latest technology for detection and treatment. We are dedicated to educating our customers about mold, termites, pests and air quality so you and your family can be safe in a healthy home. Additional Email - admin@inspect-12.com.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    All American Inspections LLC

    FULL Inspections Services from the foundation to the roof, specializing in Mold, Asbestos, Lead and Indoor Air Quality. We are impartial and work for you. Our job is to provide you with a comprehensive, independent, objective evaluation of your home. . See website for more service areas.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home inspection- mold, radon, lead, carbon monoxide testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-Pro Inspection Services

    How is A-Pro Inspection Services overall rated?

    A-Pro Inspection Services is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-Pro Inspection Services open?

    A-Pro Inspection Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does A-Pro Inspection Services provide

    A-Pro Inspection Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A-Pro Inspection Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-Pro Inspection Services offers free project estimates.

    Does A-Pro Inspection Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A-Pro Inspection Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-Pro Inspection Services offer a senior discount?

    No, A-Pro Inspection Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-Pro Inspection Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-Pro Inspection Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-Pro Inspection Services?

    Yes, A-Pro Inspection Services offers warranties.

    What services does A-Pro Inspection Services offer?

    A-Pro Inspection Services offers the following services: Home inspection- mold, radon, lead, carbon monoxide testing.