Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2006

4.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12621 SHELBYVILLE RD

Louisville, KY 40243

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/03/2016


Sally M.

They are the best flooring people I have ever dealt with. The prices are fair and they work with you to have it done exactly the way you want it. The sales people are very knowledgeable and the installers are some of the best I have ever seen. Everything was cleaned up at the end of each day. I was never left with a mess.

Description of Work
We had mannington floors put in out great room, den and hallway. They have also done tile floors in my kitchen, breakfast room and bathroom. They replaced all the carpet in our master bedroom.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

01/11/2016


Meredith L.

Dixie was very helping in helping me select the floor for the room. I considered multiple options. Installers were on time and very professional. Job was well done. Like the life time warranty on instillation they offer.

Description of Work
Removed carpet and put in hardwood floors

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

06/17/2014


Cathy I.

Moved all furnitiure and installed carpet. Installers were prompt and moved all furniture back into place. Execellent work.Would recommend.

Description of Work
sold and installed carpet

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

2.0

03/28/2014


sandra W.

I made 2 trips to the store the first trip one of the salesman acted like he was doing us a huge favor by waiting on us. then another salesman came over and helped us. Rick he did a pretty good job telling us about our different choices. I have not brought carpet in many years because the majority of my house is hardwood so it was difficult for me to chose quickly. I decided to go home and think about what I really wanted. I received a letter in the mail about a sale so I went back up to the store. I had been a previous customer so I did received sale flyers. I would like to say that the previous sale did not go well. but it was years ago. For a kitchen remodel we ordered cermanic tile. I couldn't get anyone from Sam Kinnaird's to come out to the house and measure they said that my room measurements were fine to order the tile with But we had way more tile then we needed and they wouldn't let us return any of it. We had so much tile left that we redid our laundry room and a bathroom with it and still have some left over. I felt like that sales man was rude and for a long time I said that I would never buy tile from them again. Back to this carpet purchase On my second trip to the store the salesman who wouldn't help me on my first visit wanted to and I told him I wanted to see Rick. He said Rick was busy and he could help me and I said I would wait. Rick finally was free and again he was very nice an he was helpful in showing me all my options for carpet in my basement..... I found something I liked and asked for him to come out and measure. he hesitated and it took him some time to commit. finally after saying 3 times I wanted him to come out and measure he gave me a date and time. He came out and measured and arrived on the date and time we agreed upon. They were also having this so called one day sale and according to him I had to be there in the store on Saturday to order and pay for the carpet to get the sale price. Then he told me he might be too busy to wait on me on Saturday it was just going to be jammed packed in the store so I should come in on Friday. He said that he could possibly have the prices on Friday. The strange thing about this was when you are in the store they walk around with or go and get this piece of paper and fumble the prices. even after he came out and measured he said I don't have the sale prices. I wont have them until Saturday. I was not happy about how they price things and told him. You cannot walk in that store and see prices on the carpet samples. I decided that they were not the store I wanted to do business with again. I don't think they are honest. I don't think their pricing practices are honest. I think their so called sales are a joke because you never see the true price. I have to say I went to CARPET MART which is just a few miles further down the road and the whole experience was so different. The sales team there is so much more professional and you know the regular price and the sale prices. CARPET MART made the whole experience of buying carpet great. Sam Kinnaird's just the opposite. I would never use them again and never recommend them. I WOULD NOT WASTE MY TIME TO EVEN GO INTO THAT STORE.

Description of Work
business was recommended to us by Paul Davis restoration to replace carpet in our basement after our basement was flooded. business is also in our neighborhood and close by, I don't think these people care one way or the other whether you buy carpet from them or not.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/28/2014


Ernestine H.

The price was right the salesman was very knowledgeable and helpful during our selection. We were told the carpet would be ready for installation scheduling in two weeks and it actually came in a few days early.The carpet was delivered and installed on time. Special thanks to the installers who were very courteous and quality conscious.

Description of Work
We had three rooms of carpet installed.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/09/2013


gwen P.

We had a great experience. Dennis Tobin greeted us when we walked in the store. We were undecided about what we wanted to do and he was very patient and extremely helpful. The price came back as very competitive and the service that we have received so far has been far above average. We are waiting to have our carpeting installed on Saturday. We will definitely go back whenever we have a flooring need.

Description of Work
I have had an estimate and am waiting on the carpeting to be installed

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/29/2012


Dolores C.

I was quite pleased with every aspect of my experience with Sam Kinnaird's Floor Coverings. I went into each store several times as I tried to decide what sort of floor covering to purchase and was treated well each time. Everyone I spoke to was helpful, friendly and professional. After comparing with others in the area I decided to go with Sam Kinnairds mainly because of the difference from others in their treatment of me, as a shopper before I became a buyer. Karen (and Donna) worked with me to find the appropriate product at my price point. Karen came to our house and measured my area and took care of my concerns about installation as there would be a seam due to the layout of the room. Purchase was easily done. The removal and disposal of our old carpet plus the installation of the new was done by two very professional and highly talented workmen. The seam is beautifully done! They called before their arrival to tell us when they would arrive and they were very punctual. I usually try to use local business if at all possible and this company will be the one I turn to when I have other needs in the floor covering area. In short, Sam Kinnaird Floor covering is excellent.

Description of Work
I replaced carpet in our family room and because of the layout of the area had some concern about the installation details.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/04/2011


Chuck D.

We had a patio room installed by Champion so we needed some vinyl put down. We went into the showroom on Poplar Level Road, showed them what we wanted and set up an install date. It was all rather simple, smooth, and satisfactory. We had used them previously to install some hardwood flooring so we had already looked at the vinyl flooring with this project in mind. So as I said I knew what I wanted. Since they had done such a great job on the hardwood flooring I decided to use them on this small project. It looks fine. Chuck and Ila Dezarn

Description of Work
Installation of approximatelt 170 sq. ft. of vinyl flooring for a patio room.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

1.0

07/21/2011


Janet P.

The only reviews I've read about this company is the location on Shelbyville Rd. and based on the good reviews they got, it sounds like I should have shopped there. But, I visited the 4343 Poplar Level Rd store. I had used them in the past and had no problems. I dealt with sales rep, Mary. I was doing a master bath and bedroom remodel and ordered three types of tile for shower floor, shower walls and bathroom floor, decorative glass tile and carpet for the bedroom. Mary ordered all but when the tiles arrived and the contractor opened the boxes, after the tilesetter arrived to install it, they were both the wrong color! The Contractor called Mary who called the company and was told that both tiles in the right color were on back order. Didn't know when it would arrive. The tilesetter could only lay the shower floor tiles. After a week of waiting on Mary to find out when we could get the tiles, we had to call her because she never called us, we decided to get some elsewhere to keep the project moving which we did, but it took another week to get. So the project was delayed over 2 wks. The only things we ended up buying from Mary were the glass tiles, after we got the right color, and the carpet. I must say the carpet installers were excellent, but the salesperson was terrible. This employee needs a class in customer service training.

Description of Work
Don't use the Poplar Level Rd location. Purchased tile and carpet. Kinniards installed carpet but not the tiles. See below.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor

5.0

07/10/2011


Catherine S.

We decided to check out the products as a result of a previous positive rating on Angie's list. The sales staff ( Middletown store-Karen) was very nice and their pleasantness did not diminsh after realizing that we were not looking for "high end" flooring, but a good vinyl. The purchase went great and we only called one time re: when we would hear from the installers. We have restrictive schedules and were able to get everything installed on a Saturday. The installers gave us a time window of 9-11 am and showed up around 10. The work was done quickly and accurately. We are very pleased with our new floors in all three areas.

Description of Work
We had three areas of flooring installed- Kitchen, bathroom and a landing area.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/17/2011


William R.

They did an excellent job!

Description of Work
We used Sam Kinnard's to carpet our steps and bedrooms. They also installed hardwood in our study.

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

5.0

03/31/2011


Art H.

Went very well on both occasions. There was a wide variety of high quality carpets to choose from and the sales staff was very helpful. They were even willing to take back pads we didn't need and credit them for new pads we did need. The prices were very competitive and we even received an additional discount on the carpet we bought on March 28. We will certainly consider using them later for installation of carpets in an additional room.

Description of Work
On two separate occasions we bought area rugs and runners and pads for our new hardwood floors.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor

5.0

07/30/2010


Chuck D.

We decided to replace carpeting in our living room (appx. 650 sq. ft.) so we looked at many other places around Louisville but never found exactly what we were looking for. We went to Sam Kinnairds and were helped by Sales Rep. Brian Aaron (I believe that he no longer works there). Brian patiently showed us dozens of samples but none were quite the look that we were looking for. He finally came up with a 6 5/8" w. X 13/16ths thick French Bordeaux Vintage Cabernet flooring that really appealed to us. He offered to let us take home the sample so we did. It looked like it was just what we were looking for so we took the sample back and contracted to have it installed. I was called by Chris LaRue to arrange for installation. Chris arrived on the day that he said he would despite having his van break down on his way there. He quickly arranged alternate transportation and made it to the job. Chris finished the job in 1 1/2 days which was quicker than I had anticipated. He stained the quarter round to perfectly match the floor. He had to custom make the transition threshold and stain that as well and it looked great. Although this was a quite expansive area he managed to install the flooring without showing obvious seam patterns. He was polite, professional, and very talented. He cleaned up everything and took away the old carpeting, etc... We told him that we are going to replace the front and rear doors in a month or so and he offered to come back and install the new thresholds afterward. We could not be more pleased with the results... I have bragged to everyone about how satisfied that I am with the service and materials that we received from Sam Kinnairds. I highly recommend Sam Kinnairds and if you can get Chris LaRue as your installer then I am certain that you will be satisfied as well. A+

Description of Work
Removal of old flooring (carpet, padding, linoleum entry areas) Installation of 6 5/8th" wide by 13/16th" thick French Bordeaux Pine w/Vintage Cabernet finish hardwood flooring Custom trim (great matching on staining)

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/02/2008


Lori R.

We finally decided to take the plunge and replace our horribly dated flooring with new hardwood. We drove to Louisville to the Kinnairds showroom, where Mike helped us choose samples. Unlike home improvement stores, we were able to bring several large samples home to help us decide, no questions asked. We called them a few days later to let them know of our choice; and received a prompt call back with estimates for various options (with and without replacing sub floor, with and without putting hardwood in an extra room). We were actually shocked at how reasonable the estimates were. The installation guys called when they said they would call, and showed up when they said they would. It took four days to complete, and in spite of the disruption to the entire downstairs of our house, it went as well as it could. They were very professional, polite, and pleasant. They worked efficiently, and cleaned up after themselves. They even offered to haul away an old tree stump along with our old carpeting. We were incredibly pleased with their work! Still loving our floors, and we will definitely use Kinnairds in the future when replacing the carpet upstairs.

Description of Work
Kinnairds removed the carpet & ceramic tile in our home and installed hardwood flooring.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

06/29/2006

I'VE HAD THEM DO SEVERAL THINGS OVER THE YEARS AND THEY'VE ALWAYS DONE A GOOD JOB. I THINK THEIR PRICES ARE PRETTY COMPETITIVE. THE JOB LOOKS VERY FINISHED. THEY'RE HERE WHEN THEY'RE SUPPOSED TO BE. THEY DON'T MAKE A MESS AND THEY CLEAN UP EVERYTHING WHEN THEY LEAVE.

Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED REFINISHED HARDWOOD FLOORING IN THE KITCHEN AND HALLWAY. IT TOOK ABOUT THREE OR FOUR DAYS.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rawlings Hardwood Flooring Co

    Hardwood Flooring Sales, installation, and refinishing. In business since 1978.  

    CK Flooring

    We are a small family owned business. We have 10 years experience in flooring installation and we can take care of all your flooring needs, from wholesale pricing on quality products, to tear out and installation. We pride ourselves in quality work done efficiently. Our team is extremely knowledgeable on many different types of flooring, and will help you make the best decision for your next home flooring project. CK FLOORING-Turning houses into homes one at a time.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by CK Flooring on Angi
    Door to Door Flooring

    At Door to Door Flooring we specialize in hardwood installation, hardwood refinishing, tile installation, laminate installs and vinyl floating installs.Our motto is the folks you can trust with granny. We are a small but growing business with nothing but 5 star ratings. We value trust, hard work and efficiency. Let us show you why we are the best install and refinish crew you will experience.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    PLUSH CARPETS - BEAUTIFUL HARDWOODS - DURABLE LAMINATES - CLASSIC CERAMIC TILE - UNIQUE AREA RUGS - STYLISH VINYLS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING

    How is SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING overall rated?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING open?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers the following services: PLUSH CARPETS - BEAUTIFUL HARDWOODS - DURABLE LAMINATES - CLASSIC CERAMIC TILE - UNIQUE AREA RUGS - STYLISH VINYLS.