Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING

Founded 1989 • With Angi since June 2006

3.6

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1200 Gardiner Lane (corner of Poplar Level Rd.)

Louisville, KY 40213

Description

The name in Flooring for over 40 years.We are locally owned and operated with all of our management team born and raised in Kentucky.We are a member of the National Floorcovering Alliance, a group of the largest Flooring dealers in America. This allows tremendous buying discounts.We are Kentuckiana's exclusive Stainmaster Flooring Center as well as an Armstrong' Elite Dealer. We are the best of the best....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/19/2016


Terry S.

A member of Sam Kinnaird's came to the house for an estimate, an order was placed, and the carpet was installed as planned. The workers were careful to contain mess and dust, and seemed to work very diligently to complete their task. The work was completed rather quickly and carefully. We were very satisfied. I might add that this was a very high quality carpet that we purchased to manage all of the traffic it would soon receive.

Description of Work
Take up old carpeting and insulation from a very large family room and install new insulation and carpeting.

Category carpet installation

1.0

11/16/2015


Lee B.

It was a nightmare. The Armstrong floor we chose, a vinyl plank premium product, was not the floor that was delivered. When we pointed this out to the sales rep (Valerie), she blamed us for ordering the wrong product and told us to take it. In fact, the Armstrong rep ultimately admitted that the floor sample we selected was not the floor that was delivered. Different color, too. We had to repaint the room to fit the new floor. Once the floor was ordered, and a substantial deposit paid, Valerie said that the floor was out of stock and the "plant" would resume production in about 45 days. They missed that deadline, too. After two months, the floor arrived. We noticed that the packages of flooring had a manufacturing date shortly after the floor was ordered -- when we pointed this out to the store manager, Keith Singleton, he said that "the computer" said that the floor was unavailable, and that is all they ever knew. I guess they made up the part about the plant not producing it, because that was obviously false. So, we incurred an extra two months of storage costs for our furniture, at a cost of $500, repainting costs, as well as being without a living room for most of the summer, because Valerie was too lazy to push at the system to see where our floor was. We and our contractor had two meetings with Singleton to seek compensation for our out of pocket costs and inconvenience. Ultimately, he gave us a credit of $300. Avoid these guys at all costs. They really could not care less about you and the product they sell.

Description of Work
Kinnaird is simply an order taker -- they have a collection of flooring samples which changes daily, and the store staff is completely unaware of their stock or its suitability for your floor. Once they take your money, they order the floor, and eventually (see below) they arrange for an independent flooring contractor to install it. In our case, we ordered a type of floor and it was installed by the contractor.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/13/2014


Holly R.

It was wonderful. I'm loving the new carpet. I spent probably around $800 for the purchasing and installation. They were prompt, they were efficient and they left no mess. They did what they should and the product has held up.

Description of Work
I used Sam Kinnards Flooring yesterday to install family room carpeting.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your business.
1.0

12/21/2012


Denise D.

My husband met with Mary and brought home floor samples. We selected one that we were told was and quot;engineered hardwoodand quot; and would be a nailed down installation. WE WERE LIED TO. We were then told delivery would be Weds the 12th with install on the 13th. NO COMMUNICATION, NO SHOW. After my husband got hold of the manager (Keith) who is NEVER, EVER in the office, they finally admitted that the trim that was sent did not match the flooring. We asked that the install go ahead and take place. When the flooring arrived, it was bamboo. The install was a floating floor. The install team was a husband and wife that spent almost the entire time screaming at each other. NOTE TO KINNARDS: If you send this team out again - please send a marriage counselor with them! We now have a floor that is bubbled in places, the cuts that were made by the installer are SO bad, it looks as if a rabbit gnawed at the boards. Two of the boards are SPLIT because he forced them into place AND the floor is scratched beyond belief. We know the installer did it because some of the PERMANENT marks are in the shape of his boots. Not only that, but he didn't cut the doors evenly and we cannot even open one of them. We have a call into the manager, but I'm not sure what the resolution would be. Save yourself some grief and go to a different floor company!

Description of Work
This was supposed to be a NAILED DOWN installation of engineered hardwood. What we got was a cheap bamboo floating floor.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

This is a clear lack of communication between husband and wife. Everything was handled by the husband.. The Purchase agreement was made out to the husband and he signed the agreement and put a 50% deposit down. It clearly states on the agreement that it was Natural Bamboo.He chose the bamboo because it was harder than hardwood and would scratch and dent less. He wanted that because he is a chef and would drop cans and knives on the floor while he is cooking. He was clear on everything and obviously did not communicate this to his wife. Due to her displeasure, we offered to pay half of the cost of another floor.They eventually agreed to that and we installed a new floor.
5.0

10/29/2012


Pei Z.

It was the first time I had used them. It went well. The quality is very good. The customer service is great and they were very helpful. They installed it as soon as they could. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I bought carpet for the whole house.

Category carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review. we appreciate your business.
1.0

07/21/2011


Janet P.

Job not completed yet.! Valerie measured 7/6. I gave her a deposit (mistake) and she promised to call me the next day after she checked to find out how long it would take to get the carpet - she never called but instead sent a card with a note and a copy of my receipt that did not arrive until the weekend. Called her and she was on vacation! and said any problems with order I would need to call the store. It was Sunday and store was closed! Now that's customer service! She has since left one message on my cell 7/19 stating that the carpet for two rooms was in but the bedroom was shipping from California and wouldn't arrive until approximately 7/29! I specifically explained on 7/6 that the bedroom needed to be installed first. That's why I needed to know how long to get it because if it were too long, I'd need to order a different carpet. Could not afford to wait that long. This has been a bad experience from the start. I know I should have called her on 7/7 but I work everyday and don't have time to handle personal phone calls and business at work. My employer is all about customer service is #1, well this company is not. They don't care about the customer they just care about the money! Now we can't finish painting because all the furniture is moved into the one room that has not been painted because we're waiting on the carpet to be installed in the rooms that are painted. Called today to follow up and she's on vacation again, won't be back till Tuesday! Asked for the store manager and he's on vacation too! Well, I need a vacation!!! These people are terrible!!!! and I'm STILL WAITING on carpet....

Description of Work
Over 1300 sq. ft. of carpet for 3 rooms and a stairway. Visited store on 7/2/11, met with Valerie and got samples. Valerie came to my home on 7/6/11 to measure. We're still waiting on carpet to arrive...

Category carpet installation, hardwood floor

4.0

12/18/2007


Suzanne M.

The flooring installer, Daniel, was excellent. He really seemed to know his stuff, and got the floor down quickly. The guy who did the quarter-round was also very quick and professional. Also, the office staff was very efficient. When they said the delivery was going to be there "around 9," they were there at 9:00 sharp. They called to remind me several times before the delivery. Unfortunately the sales person I worked with was less competent. He sold me the wrong type of flooring for my older home, and tried to blame the mistake on the installer. Fortunately Daniel, the installer, was honest and competent. He made sure that I got the correct flooring, and that I was not charged extra for the error. The floor looks beautiful and overall I am very satisfied, despite the fact that it took 2 weeks longer than it should have given the mistake on the flooring. My rating of "B" reflects the lack of knowledge on the part of the salesman; otherwise the company gets high marks.

Description of Work
They ripped out old carpet and put down hardwood over my old pine floors.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review. We appreciate your business
4.0

06/29/2006

THEY DID A REALLY GOOD JOB. I HAVE HAD THEM FOR SIX MONTHS NOW. I AM PLEASED WITH THE GUYS WHO DID IT, THEY WERE NICE. THE MEN SAID NOBODY TOLD THEM TO PUT FLOORING IN THE CLOSETS, BUT THEY DID ANYWAY AND I WAS PLEASED.

Description of Work
I HAD HARD WOOD FLOORS PUT IN.

Category hardwood floor

4.0

06/06/2006

I HAVE WORKED WITH THEM BEFORE, SO I KNEW WHAT KIND OF COMPANY THEY WERE. THEY ARE A VERY REPUTABLE COMPANY. THEY'VE BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR A LONG TIME. I HAVE LIVED IN THIS AREA FOR 22 YEARS, AND IF THEY'VE BEEN HERE FOR THAT LONG TOO, THEY HAVE TO BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED THE CARPETING IN TWO AREAS OF MY HOUSE, AND THEY PUT IN SOME LINOLEUM.

Category flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rawlings Hardwood Flooring Co

    Hardwood Flooring Sales, installation, and refinishing. In business since 1978.  

    CK Flooring

    We are a small family owned business. We have 10 years experience in flooring installation and we can take care of all your flooring needs, from wholesale pricing on quality products, to tear out and installation. We pride ourselves in quality work done efficiently. Our team is extremely knowledgeable on many different types of flooring, and will help you make the best decision for your next home flooring project. CK FLOORING-Turning houses into homes one at a time.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by CK Flooring on Angi
    Door to Door Flooring

    At Door to Door Flooring we specialize in hardwood installation, hardwood refinishing, tile installation, laminate installs and vinyl floating installs.Our motto is the folks you can trust with granny. We are a small but growing business with nothing but 5 star ratings. We value trust, hard work and efficiency. Let us show you why we are the best install and refinish crew you will experience.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We sell and install carpet, wood, vinyl, laminate, bamboo, cork,ceramic tile, area rugs,granite countertops, seamless glass shower enclosures, and window treatments. We have a highly trained service department to assure your satisfaction.We offer free estimates and designers on staff that provide complimentary design service for all your needs.Not only do we service the retail market but also commercial, new home construction, and muti family housing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING

    How is SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING overall rated?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING open?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING provide

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer free estimates?

    Yes, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers free project estimates.

    Does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer a senior discount?

    No, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer emergency services?

    Yes, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING?

    Yes, SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers warranties.

    What services does SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offer?

    SAM KINNAIRDS FLOORING offers the following services: We sell and install carpet, wood, vinyl, laminate, bamboo, cork,ceramic tile, area rugs,granite countertops, seamless glass shower enclosures, and window treatments. We have a highly trained service department to assure your satisfaction.We offer free estimates and designers on staff that provide complimentary design service for all your needs.Not only do we service the retail market but also commercial, new home construction, and muti family housing.