Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kiel Thomson Co

Founded 1980 • With Angi since April 2010

4.7

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

100 Weist Pl

Louisville, KY 40205

Description

Additional contact name - Nathan Williams. Additional phone - (502) 639-6227....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/31/2014


Razvan T.

Project went very well. Kiel and his team ensured that everything was completed to our satisfaction. Very easy to work with Kiel. Would definitely use them for future projects.

Description of Work
Master bathroom remodeling. Steam shower and heated floors installed.

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

06/04/2014


Stefan W.

Job went well. Project was started on time and completed on schedule. Workers were very professional and didn't mind answering questions I had during repairs. Owner was able to stay within my budget, and when an error was discovered on the initial estimate, they called me and discussed the issue and we compromised on the additional expense. The finished job looks great.

Description of Work
Garage reframe due to termite damage. Built temporary framing to support roof during demo and re-frame, tore out old studs, top and bottom plates, laid cinderblock foundation to bring new framing 8" off concrete floor, reframed all walls, including new header over garage, installed new garage door and opener, and dry walled fire wall of house to code. Also applied for all necessary permits and took care of waste removal.

Category woodworking

5.0

04/07/2014


Bradie B.

We went through a compeitive bid process and selected Kiel Thomson for his professionalism, attntion to detail and responsiveness. His bid was very compeitive from a price stand point. We decisded to live through the construction rather than move out of our home for this six - eight month project. His crew was respectiveful of our home and left it everyday as neat and tidey as a construciton site can be. Every member of his team was professional. There was a project manager assigned who was on site evry day and Kiel Thomson was on site almost everyday. As a project of this type goes, there were items that came up which we not anticipated. Kiel is a problem solver and quickly determined the right appraoch to kep things on track. Quality never suffered. We added a new fireplace and hearth room off of a new kitchen with a new stone patio. We added an addition bedroom as well. The kitchen included custom cabinetry with granite counter tops. The work was amazing. Kiel made sure that everything that was added fit the style of the home. The one comment everyone makes who sees the home is, and quot;it does not lokk like an addition.and quot; The woodork was custome milled to match the original wordwork in the our. The brink in the new chimney was match to the exisitng brick and the slate roof and copper guttering were a perfect match to the home. I highly recommend Kiel and his team.

Description of Work
Kiel Thomson served as a general contractor for a two story addition to our 1029 Tudor style home in the Highlands

Category woodworking

4.0

03/17/2014


David M.

The workmanship was very good and I was happy with it. The guy, Kiel Thomson, is nice but he decided to put a foreman in charge of the job and tell him what his job was. The foreman was really annoying and he started making out excuses before he'd even done the first thing. We had gotten everything in place and ready here because we were trying to get things done by Thanksgiving. They didn't get it done and this guy had a way of making things longer than they needed to, like in the half bath because we were changing out the toilet and the cabinet in there. We had to have the floor refinished and blended in what we already had before because the footprint was different. He has this guy come and do the refinishing and he needed to take up the base floors. Then he had to come back and redo parts of it which delayed the whole job about a week and a half. We complained a lot but instead of talking to him on the phone, we sent an e-mail and a copy to the office then things kind of picked up and they were doing a little better. That guy was bad but the company itself, all the workmen and Kiel Thomson was fine. I wouldn't mind using them again if I could be promised that the foreman wouldn't come near the house because he made everything hard and take longer. It was unpleasant, frustrating and he was a bad communicator. They weren't the cheapest and they weren't the most expensive but they were okay.

Description of Work
I hired Kiel Thomson Company to do a wet bar, half bath, change in the threshold, weatherstripping around the door and arranged for a stone mason to come and redo the top of our chimney.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, wallpaper

4.0

01/27/2014


Joanna R.

The complaint I have is not with the work itself, but with the lack of communication and consistency. Every time workers came to the house, they were new on the job, with the exception of the painters. This meant that there was no continuity and often the workers had to ask us for direction on their projects. We are not handy and felt out of our comfort zone.

Description of Work
A number of jobs on the house we recently bought. It is over 100 years old and needed major work on the windows, all of which are original. The big jobs were making the windows operational, painting the windows, and installing screens. Additionally, we had our floors refinished, insulated the attic and basement and some smaller carpentry jobs around the house.

Category woodworking

5.0

04/11/2013


Kevin M.

Kiel's insight and overview of the project set the tone for this project. The experience and professionalism showed up every day before 8:00 am. The crew worked independently and together as a team throughout the work days. The work area was always cleaned and maintained at the end of a day. Any revisions or changes to the plans were discussed and evaluated before execution. The final results far exceeded our expectations. The new built ins appear to have been part of the home from the beginning. We love the work Kiel Thomson Company performed in our home. We look forward to our next project together.

Description of Work
Kiel Thomson Company was contracted to design, build and install built in bookcases in our formal living room. Kiel's company is very familiar with our home's architect, Stratton Hammon, paying close attention to all elements of the construction to ensure the historical aesthetics were maintained. Our goal was to have the bookcases look like they were original to the house (built in 1935) and they absolutely hit the mark. The crew, not only for this job but also for other jobs Kiel has done for us are exceptionally skilled craftsmen, professional and courteous. As we continue to renovate our home we will continue to work with the Kiel Thomson Company.

Category woodworking

5.0

11/12/2012


Charles H.

Excellent. I called Kiel because I had a contractor quit in the middle of the job and had to finish up quickly with superior quality. Kiel responded right away and had his crews ready to work on my house right away. I very much appreciated his quick response time and superior quality. It is important to me that when my home is appraised the remodeling I have done will be graded superior. Kiel's crews are able to do that while helping me stick to my budget by reusing parts when appropriate at my request and doing only the work I needed done. Because this was an emergency for me, the contractor who quit was far behind schedule and constantly upselling his services, I hired Kiel Thomson Company on time and materials. He still stayed at his estimated price.

Description of Work
Fix badly warped and leaking 2nd story bathroom floor. He removed subfloor, leveled joists, reworked plumbing to prevent future leaks, framed new floor to be level, installed subfloor and ceramic tile. He also installed new trim and window casing in living room, dining room and kitchen to match that in home. Last he raised an entry doorframe to be level with a new floor. These were 3 different jobs I had him complete.

Category ceramic tile, picture framing, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Renewal Gutters

    Renewal Gutters is a full service gutter and gutter protection company dedicated to offering the best products, service and warranties in the industry. We repair existing gutters, install new seamless gutters and offer the highest rated gutter protection with Arrow Gutter Guards. We protect your gutters and your home and keep you off of a ladder!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    K-Guard of Louisville

    Born from the inventive mind of Gary Knudson of Knudson Manufacturing in Broomfield, Colorado, the K-Guard® concept was established in 1996 and first manufactured in 1997. Knudson’s experience with designing gutter machines began when his career did—working for his father out of their garage in May of 1965. In 1970, Gary took the helm at Knudson Manufacturing and has processed and received over 100 patents since. One of the most innovative of those designs is the fully engineered two-piece leaf free K-Guard® system, featuring a fully supported gutter and hood, a hidden patented hanger system, with improved aesthetics and additional strength as compared to similar systems on the market. K-Guard® received patent and signed its first licensee in 1998 and has been providing unprecedented home drainage systems ever since.  

    Papa's Painting & Construction

    We are a family run and operated business with 20+ years of experience. We home improvements from Interior and exterior painting, pressure washing, dry wall install and repair, deck staining and repair. Carpenter work, fencing, fence staining to full on remodels. We are dedicated to your satisfaction and creating a relationship for life. We want to help you long term with all of your home needs.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Installation and repair of carpentry, concrete, framing, drywall, sheet rock, flooring, hardwood and tile, cabinets, mechanical, electrical, kitchen and bathroom renovations, painting, wallpaper, carpets, interior and exterior trim, plumbing, HVAC, roofing, guttering, window replacement, pool decks, jacuzzi & fencing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kiel Thomson Co

    How is Kiel Thomson Co overall rated?

    Kiel Thomson Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kiel Thomson Co open?

    Kiel Thomson Co is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Kiel Thomson Co provide

    Kiel Thomson Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Kiel Thomson Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Kiel Thomson Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Kiel Thomson Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Kiel Thomson Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Kiel Thomson Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Kiel Thomson Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Kiel Thomson Co?

    No, Kiel Thomson Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Kiel Thomson Co offer?

    Kiel Thomson Co offers the following services: Installation and repair of carpentry, concrete, framing, drywall, sheet rock, flooring, hardwood and tile, cabinets, mechanical, electrical, kitchen and bathroom renovations, painting, wallpaper, carpets, interior and exterior trim, plumbing, HVAC, roofing, guttering, window replacement, pool decks, jacuzzi & fencing.