Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2006

4.4

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4602 Bittersweet Rd

Louisville, KY 40218

Description

1. G/M Home Exteriors has been a family owned business for 30 years. Our goal is to treat others as we would like to be treated. We only use quality products and pride ourselves on our ethical practices. Addition al DBA - Energy Saver of KY, G/M Gutter Topper, G/M Roofing & Energy Saver of KY, G/M

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/25/2015


Richard M.

Great company. Phillip is a great.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed water leak

Category roofing

5.0

03/27/2015


James C.

They covered my full roof. It went great. The roofing went exactly of plan. They were willing to work with my colors and answered all of my questions. The company bought extra shingles and colors to choose from. The workers cleaned up after themselves. I recommend them to others!

Description of Work
The put on a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

12/16/2014


Diane H.

G/M Roofing has been taking care of our roof for several years. They started out repairing problem areas of our roof, which had been improperly installed years ago. They were always very responsive, never charged me to re-repair the same trouble spots and were always very professional. They never tried to sell me anything I didn't want even when I really needed a new roof. Ultimately they replaced our entire roof as well as the old skylights that never stopped leaking and now we're are completely leak free. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Repaired leaks, replaced roof, replaced skylights.

Category roofing

5.0

01/25/2014


Sharon M.

They patched the roof where the winds had blown off a piece of the shingle. Also reattached gutter that was falling down. The company was really busy because of the wind storms we had, so it took them a while to get to mine, since it was a small job. They did a really good job.

Description of Work
.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

07/18/2013


Kimberly G N.

Roofers came out and tore off hail damaged roof and replaced with new shingles in one day. They were quick and professional. Very efficient and polite. Cleaned up in record time too. They vacucumed the area so it was left in pristine condition. They also went out their way to not damage any plants or my garden near the house. The very next day the second crew came to replace hail damaged and very old awnings approximately 15, gutters, downspouts and aluminum sliding on house and garage. They were precise and very professional. The awnings were delivered and installed with no damage. The gutters where installled with care and precision. They wrapped the area with excellent products before replacing the aluminum sliding on a portion of the house. All lot of work was done in three days and it was all professional. It looks amazing and I would recommend this company to everyone. They were FANTASTIC.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on house, garage and carport. Replaced all awnings, aluminum sliding, gutters on house and one small window.

Category awnings, gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows

5.0

10/05/2012


Randolph M.

They did really great work. Their were two guys that was outstanding. They were punctual and very professional. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I had all new vinyl siding, gutters. and new over hang on my doors to due hail damage.

Category gutter repair, siding

5.0

08/28/2012


Joyce L.

The experience was fabulous. I've used them before. They came to my home within an hour of calling them to put a tarp on my roof, it was amazing.

Description of Work
They put on a completely new roof after a tornado came through my area.

Category roofing

5.0

02/05/2012


amie S.

Had a great experience with GM--very pleasant and answered all of my questions on the phone. We had to coordinate their work with our actual roofers (and later I wished we'd had GM do our roof instead) since the topper had to be removed before roofing work began and then reset afterward. Absolutely no problems--took off gutter topper and placed it so didn't pose any problems for roofers. Turns out the doing this process renewed our warranty, which was wonderful!

Description of Work
Remove, clean and reset Gutter Topper

Category gutter repair

4.0

01/26/2012


Bruce C.

When I got the original estimate, prior to Thanksgiving I think, it was suggested I replace the rolled roofing over the porches with shingles. I figured these guys knew what they were doing so I agreed. Given the holidays and the weather they couldn't give a solid installation date but would stay in touch and let me know. I can't remember how long after I had agreed to let this company have the job I got a call that the estimate did not include the cost of weather-proofing material for the porches, an extra $100. As Christmas drew closer I called to see when my installation might happen but was told the schedule was too iffy but they would stay in touch. On Dec. 16th I took the day off from work, Friday, for some yard work. At 7:30 am that morning I got a knock on my door and it was the guy dropping off the shingles for the installation that day. My small yard required the shingles go in my driveway and so did roofer's dumpster, which meant I couldn't get my truck to the back yard. That's OK, I'll get it another day. The installation went great; good crew, worked all day and finished the job by 5 or 6 o'clock. They were throwing old shingles off the roof onto tarps they had laid out so it was not safe to be outside. As they were cleaning up I walked around to inspect the roof. It looked great until I went on my back porch. That porch does not have a ceiling, like my front porch. You can see the rafters and the boards that the shingles lie on ... which means you can see the nails that came through when the new shingles were installed; you could see where the wood splintered in some places. Overall, it looked ugly. I don't know how the previous roof was put on but there were not any nails coming through. I called the office to complain, thinking I did agree to install shingles but ... if I had known I'd be stuck with this ugly back porch site I may have done something different. The office said they would come out and look at it and we could discuss the issue. They did not show the first agreed time. They called again saying they would try to make it another agreed time. They did not show that time either. Some scheduling problem I think was the excuse. I've not heard from them since. I'm done with them. They got their money within the 10 days of receipt of invoice. I'll invest in putting in a ceiling on my back porch, which will include renting schaffolding and other necessary materials. Probably get into several hundred dollars. So, in my opinion, the roofers were great. The company administration was not. Mis-quoted price, no notice of installation day and an ugly back porch because shingles were used instead of rolled roofing. This is an addendum to my original report: I was contacted by GM Roofing concerning my dissatification about the nails showing in my back porch ceiling. He was apologetic for not contacting me sooner; I will describe it as a matter of miscommunication. They offered to come out and perform cosmetic improvements to my back porch ceiling, at no charge; this included clipping off the exposed nails and painting the porch ceiling. I agreed to their offer and they came out the next day. The work they performed was very good. I'm satisfied with their explanation and appreciate their effort to address my complaint. The ratings you see have been adjusted to reflect their efforts to address my original concerns.

Description of Work
The service was for a roof replacement. This included removing the old shingles, ventilation vents, exhaust pipes and rolls from all of the roof and porches. Wood was replaced where necessary. New ventilation vents and exhaust pipes were installed. The roll roofing on the front and back porches was replaced with shingles, as was the rest of the roof. New flashing was installed around the chimney. I've a small house, about 900 sq ft on the ground floor.

Category roofing

1.0

01/10/2012


Znobbie B.

I left a message, but they never called me back. I ended up hiring someone else.

Description of Work
I called for an estimate on a roofing repair.

Category roofing, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

12/28/2011


Don P.

They were good. We got a couple of bids from the people we used from Angies List and the price that this company gave was okay. It always costs more than I thought. Quality wise we had a small problem but they came back and fixed it right away. The guy that was the contact person was good about coming by when he said and returning the call when we had a question. They were good as regards responsiveness. We would use them in the future.

Description of Work
We had G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors in late October to repair a leak and fix a gutter problem. We spent about $800 on it.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

12/07/2011


Joyce L.

Got estimate quickly. Started on schedule. Performed work on schedule. Great clean up.

Description of Work
Complete roof removal and replacement; new flashing, new gutter guard system, roof deck repair. I was originally referred to the Mabes by a commercial roofer friend. GM is not the cheapest roofing contractor, however I believe that they are the best. The roof looks as good now as when it was first installed. We had some minor issues with squirrels sharpening their teeth on the vent pipes. GM responded quickly and repaired.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

10/05/2011


Bill M.

VERY SIMPLY !! If AND WHEN I ever need a roof on my home I live in now I know who to call !!!! IT WENT GREAT !!!!They told me what would be done , when it be done and IT WAS!!!! GREAT WORKERS WHO CLEANED UP AFTER AND THE PRICE WAS RIGHT !! AND THE ROOF ? GO BY AND SEE IT AT 4018 TALLY HO CT !!

Description of Work
I needed a part of the roof repaired on a house I had and called GM roofing for a estimate ,I was going to meet Rod at the house in the morning and get a estimate , as I was waiting I got a phone call before the appointment from Rod to say he was on his way back from Framnkfort and he be there around 1-00 pm I told him I had to leave for work and if he could just do the estimate and leave the paper in my mailbox at my home address , He said that he would and he did , I agree with the service provided and the proffessiolism that Rod showed in this job , I faxed over the signed agreement and the job was put on the scheldule !!!

Category roofing

5.0

08/26/2011


Wanda T.

It was a combination of stuff that they had to do and they did a really good job. It was really stressful because we lost our mom and it was really hard on us. They understood that we were all under a lot of stress. They ran into a problem and we had to call a plumber to fix it. The pipe coming out of our roof had to be repaired. They finished it about a couple of weeks ago. It cost me about $6800 for their services. The only negative was that they didn't do a very good job of cleaning up. They are not totally done. They still have to come back and do an awing for us. They had to order it. The other thing is that they left it hanging up there. We didn't understand why they didn't go ahead and take that down. We didn't necessarily tell them to take it down. I was there the other day checking it out and I had some concerns about it. So, they came over to do some measuring for me and showed me the way it was supposed to be. They re-assured me about the way it is supposed to be. We were all satisfied that they came back and went through the trouble to show me that it was right. They are doing another job for me and that is going to start in about a week and a half. We got two or three estimates and they were right in line with everybody else. The quality of their work was good too.

Description of Work
G/M Home Exteriors replaced the siding, gutters and the roof on my mother's house since there was some damage due to a tornado.

Category awnings, gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

08/02/2011


Tom A.

G/M did a great job of completing repairs to our roof under extremely challenging circumstances. Not only was it on fairly short notice, but the job was required in the dead of winter with bad weather threatening virtually every day. I actually thought the work would have to wait for several weeks. To my surprise, it was completed in one day, and the company's cleanup was so thorough I didn't even know they'd been there until I received the invoice in the mail. The repairs appear to have worked perfectly. I am extremely pleased with the G/M staff and the quality of the company's work.

Description of Work
G/M repaired approximately half of our existing roof, fixing shingles and decking that had been damaged in wind storms and other weather events in the Louisville area.

Category roofing

4.0

06/24/2011


Meghan M.

The company did a great job overall. They were on time, had a good estimate, and a professional work crew. The crew was honest with me and did a good job considering it was 110 degrees up on the roof were they were working. I had to do a little cleanup after the left (i.e remove a pile of old nails on the roof and clean up some random gutter debris), but otherwise everything was good.

Description of Work
The company came out and replaced my old gutters. The also tore up and replaced the flashing around my chimmney to stop water leaking into my home.

Category gutter repair, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and report rating. We are sorry you had to pick up some debris after we left. You should not have had to do that. We are always willing to come back out if there we missed something. We have been extremely busy with all of the storms and appreciate your patients with us. Thank you again for your business.
4.0

02/02/2011


Deborah C.

Installation was completed in a professional and timely manner. The price was competitive and quality was above average.

Description of Work
Gutter guard installed on all gutters

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind report and rating. We pride ourselves on our super service and quality products. It is the reason we were granted the Angie's List Super Service Award for 2010. Please visit our web site to see all of the Exterior Home Improvements we can complete for you. Thanks again for your business.
5.0

01/15/2011


Joyce L.

We had a leak in the roof due to a nails popping up and there was more rain due the next day. After calling several roofing companies, GM was the only one where a live person answered. They came out that day to assess the work that needed to be done and did a temporary fix before the rain came. He then came out the next day to fix the problems. This company was very competent and friendly. He answered all our questions and went out of his way to help us. I would not hesitate to use this company again and I would definitely refer them to anyone who needs a good roofing company.

Description of Work
Leaky roof repair.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and great rating. It is because of how we take care of our customers that we were awarded the Super Service Award fromn Angie's List. Thanks for your business.
4.0

11/19/2010


ALICE W.

They also left several nails around and we had small children and pets and we called them and they had to come back several times to pick up the roofing nails that were on the ground. I would have to have parameters before I would use them again, such as no windy day and check on the windows and the ground before they leave the job.

Description of Work
They replaced the roof 5 years ago. It was really windy when they were doing the work and when they were throwing off the shingles, it tore up the screens on our windows. Insurance paid for the new roof due to hail damage. G/M Home Exteriors did not replace all of the screens. We did not notice that they were all torn until after they were gone. The roof is doing great.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest evaluation. We regret the issues you had with your screens being damaged and the nails left by our crew. Some times it is hard to get all of the nails. We run a magnet bar around the perimiter of the home, in bushes and walkways. When a roof is removed on an average 25 square home, there are approximately 10,000 nails that come off with it. In the event a nail ends up in a tire etc. we are always willing to take care of any expense to correct the situation. This is also true with damage to your home. Even though we take considerable care when removing a roof, sometimes there is damage that cannot be prevented. We stand behind our work and crews unconditionally. I'm glad that you are willing to work with us in the future. Your words mean alot to us and we have learned from this experience. Thank you again. Philip D. Bos General Manager
3.0

08/13/2010


Terry G.

Made an appointment to start the work and called me that morning to say they didn't have the materials. Two weeks later they were supposed to start on a Thursday and did not call to say they couldn't make it until Friday. It took way too long to complete the job because they were short handed. I was waiting for them to do their work so I could do some work on the house myself. Their work had to be completed before I could do mine. The job is acceptable only. The only reason I didn't complain was because the guy doing the work did most of it by himself and I like him. The company doesn't seem to have much in the way of real professionalism. They sent me an invoice, which I paid promptly, and no contact other than that. No one ever called to ask what I thought of the job or to thank me for my business. Just not very communicative or customer oriented.

Description of Work
Rewrapped my windows and soffits. Put siding over two old windows. Repaired some exterior wood around my windows. Replaced a piece of siding.

Category handyman service, siding

Service Provider Response

I am sorry you felt the job was a C grade. It was understood by our Superintendant and installer that you were completely satisfied by our work. You confirmed that by asking us to complete additional work while we were there because as you stated, "I know I'm getting a good job because you replaced alot of additional unseen damaged wood and made sure it was done right". It is true that when we went to get the product to start your job, the metal needed had been recently sold out and the supplier was waiting for a new shipment. This was out of our control and most would have understood. We could not make a new install date because we did not know when the supplies would be in. Once it came in, we contacted you and were there the next day. We have never been short handed. The length of the job was dictated by the amount of rotten wood around your windows that could not be seen prior to the job starting. It was our understanding that you appreciated our showing you the damage and our wanting to do the job right. We do send a comment request and thatnk you letter with every invoice and did not hear anything back from our request. Again, we are sorry you feel the way you do. We felt we completed th work prefessionally with your best interest in mind. Thank you for your comments
3.0

07/02/2010


Joan P.

Quotation on job was given on July 30, 2009. We were told that the product was energy effecient enough to qualify for a tax deduction. We were also told that the job would start in about two weeks. They did not begin the job until September 8, 2009. There was a communication problem over when they would start, how long it would take, and how high up the siding would go. Most of the time only one installer came and he was not easy to talk to. The worker did not clean up siding mess before he left for the day. After the job was completed we found several areas that needed to be redone, because of scratches in the siding and workmanship. When problems were fixed we were satisfied with the look of the siding. After the job was completed, we were given a book on the siding. We decided to call the company to find out whether our siding was indeed energy effecient enough to qualify for a tax deduction. They told us that it was not. After telling this to Philip Bos, the head man, he tried to argue with me, not letting me speak. He was not very respectful or woman friendly.

Description of Work
Company installed insulated vinyl siding to top two thirds of back of house.

Category roofing, siding

3.0

07/02/2010


CHERIE C T.

I have not been overall thrilled with the gutter product nor the repairs when I have called to have them corrected.

Description of Work
They put on their brand which is known as Gutter Topper and I am having problems with them and the way they are draining. I have called them several times and they have not been able to fix them for me since I have still been having problems with drainage. These have a lifetime performance warranty. The last time they came out was late September or October of 2009. At that time, the problem was more corrective than the prior times.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest response. We appoligize for the issues you have had since your installation in 2001. One thing you have been able to rely on is that we have always responded to your calls and made attempts to address your issues. One thing we have realized over the past 10 plus years of installing Gutter Topper is that not all houses are the same and some roof pitches and designs of the house make it difficult for any gutter protection to work perfectly. We have always tried and will continue to work on your issues. From what I see from your past service sheets, the issues always pertained to water flow and debris building up on your roof. Water flow can be an issue during extremely heavy rains and in valleys were water is concentrated from your roof to one point of run off. This can be corrected with the installation of a preforated valley panel which I show was done in September of 2009. Debris building up on your roof will occur on any home and will blow or wash off during the change of the seasons. If the gutter protection was not on your gutters the debris would have them clogged causing other damage to your home. I have said earlier that we will always try to correct any issue. If there are additional needs you have we stand behind everything we install.
5.0

07/01/2010


David W.

They are working well for me. They did a fine job. They were on time and did the work in a timely manner.

Description of Work
They put gutter guards on my gutters.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the straight A+ response. We take pride in installing the best gutter ptotection in the state. Remember our Gutter Topper and Terminator come with a lifetime performance warranty so if you ever have any issues please call us. Be sure to check out our web site to see all of the exterior home improvements we can complete for you. Thanks again.
5.0

07/01/2010


Michael B.

They did a very good job I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They replaced all of the gutters and the downspouts and they put gutter guards on.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using G/M Home Exteriors. Our gutters and gutter protections are second to none. We use thicker grade aluminum for our gutters and our Gutter Topper comes with a lifetime performance warranty. We appreciate your business. Be sure to check out our web site to see all of the exterior home improvements we can complete for you. Thanks again.
5.0

07/01/2010


ROBERT M.

Their clean up was good. They were very responsive. I was more than satisfied and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They did a tear off and a complete reroof. I had them hand nail the shingles. They put on gutter guards on the gutters and they have worked out well. I have used them for roof repairs for damage caused by a falling tree.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We take pride in offering good products and services. We are glad you were satisfied and look forward to a long working relationship with you. Be sure to visit our web site to see what other exterior home improvement projects we can complete for you. Thanks again

    Other local Pros in your area

    Renewal Gutters

    Renewal Gutters is a full service gutter and gutter protection company dedicated to offering the best products, service and warranties in the industry. We repair existing gutters, install new seamless gutters and offer the highest rated gutter protection with Arrow Gutter Guards. We protect your gutters and your home and keep you off of a ladder!  

    Papa's Painting & Construction

    We are a family run and operated business with 20+ years of experience. We home improvements from Interior and exterior painting, pressure washing, dry wall install and repair, deck staining and repair. Carpenter work, fencing, fence staining to full on remodels. We are dedicated to your satisfaction and creating a relationship for life. We want to help you long term with all of your home needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    mz painting

    We pride ourselves on: - BEING TRUSTWORTHY - DOING SUPERIOR WORK - OFFERING GREAT PRICES What are you waiting for? Welcome Spring with a fresh coat of paint!! :) We’re EXTREMELY confident in the quality of our work!! Please visit our website: www.mzpainting.biz We are not a large painting company that brings a lot of painters to a job to get it done as quickly as possible so we can move on to the next job as quickly as possible. We have a small crew that understands the benefits of doing quality work. In fact, we believe in doing such a great job that we hope you’ll recommend us to all your friends! Please take a look at a few of our pictures. If you’d like to see more please contact me... We love to paint: • Walls • Ceilings • Doors • Trim • Baseboards • Crown Molding • Interior/Exterior We offer free estimates and can assist with color selection. It’s important for you to know we do NOT spend money on advertising. • We do not have an expensive website • We do not have any expensive TV/Radio ads • We do not have expensive marketing materials These are important for you to know because it means we do NOT have to charge you extra to pay for all these things, which mean we can pass those savings on to you by charging less than our competitors!!! But…just because we charge less doesn’t mean the quality of our work is subpar. In fact, because we get most of our work from referrals, we must rely on our superior quality of work. If you'd like to discuss your needs, please visit our website: www.mzpainting.biz, go to the contact page and fill out the basic online form or call the number listed. Best, Todd-  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial roofing, gutter, siding, awings, trim, carports, windows replacement & repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors

    How is G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors overall rated?

    G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors open?

    G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors provide

    G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offer a senior discount?

    No, G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors?

    No, G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors does not offer warranties.

    What services does G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offer?

    G/M Roofing & Home Exteriors offers the following services: Residential and commercial roofing, gutter, siding, awings, trim, carports, windows replacement & repairs.