Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & R Construction Services Inc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since February 2007

4.6

(83) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

633 W Main St 121 East 2nd Street, Suite 151 Owensboro, KY 42303

Lexington, KY 40508

Description

Thanks for allowing us to serve you and your community for over 15 years. We are Lexington, Owensboro, and Central Kentuckys Award Winning Design/Build Remodeling Company. Design/Build is having Professional Interior Designers on staff to show you what your home remodeling project will look like (even in 3-D), guide you in selections and hand hold you throughout the project. Then having project managers, lead carpenters, quality craftsman and trade partners to build and remodel your dream. We guarantee our craftsmanship with FIVE year, TEN year and Lifetime warranties. Our services are licensed and fully insured, so you can Enjoy the Process....

Projects

Wyse Sq. project
Wyse Sq.

home remodeling

201940508

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/30/2020


Lindy S.

We invested an inordinate amount of time pursuing a major project with them for a number of months as the scope of work increased. After we were almost done and on the same page, ready to sign contracts to move forward & break ground, they backed out, forcing us to start all over with a different contractor. Heard they got some other more profitable simple jobs. Although we were stunned at such unprofessional behavior, we were eventually very grateful that we feel dodged a bullet. At the end of the day, this company would have been a nightmare on such a big project. Yes, they have an extremely slick selling presentation with all kinds of high tech software and online project management promises. But they only have one local guy (who seems very nice) and the management of the company was all out of town. The local guy had no authority to make ANY decisions—had had to go to them for everything. Every single time we had to meet to review or revise the scope of work as we were putting the initial project together, we would have to wait an entire month until a manager could be in town. In hindsight, we had such a problem just getting things underway, we cannot imagine how bogged down it would have become down the road.

Description of Work
remodel, room addition, hardscape

Category architect

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon, we apologize that your experience With J & R was not pleasing. Our General Manager was young in the company and was relying on support staff in Lexington for all design work. Since then we have taken an office in downtown Owensboro added multiple staff and certified interior designer in-house, allowing us to become Owensboros top remodeling company with all local staff. We would like the opportunity to speak to you to resolve any grievances that you may have. Feel free to call between 8am and 5pm (270) 570-0578 Thanks.
5.0

08/01/2018


John T.

It went really well from the start, I had a deadline that I thought was pretty tough, but J & R Construction wasn't phased by it at all. Jimmy and Josh both came out to discuss the details with me at the property and advised me on what they recommended I do and how the options would go. Then they went back to the office and estimated the project and got me an official written estimate. The job did not exceed that estimate and they met the deadline. There were multiple elements involved, electrical, ceiling fan, removal of a garage door, drywall, flooring, vinyl siding, a window, air-conditioning unit, etc. I'm very happy with the results and I highly recommend them to my friends and family for any of their remodeling projects so I also recommend them here on Angie's List.

Description of Work
Garage Conversion to an Office

Category concrete repair,drywall,electrician,picture framing,garage doors,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,lighting,remodeling,siding,replacement windows,garage builders,woodworking,doors,basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], we are glad you enjoyed the process.
5.0

12/02/2016


Robin M.

They were wonderful, but the day after the election we decided it was not a good time to go in debt, because the financial and moral compass of our nation were in doubt with a insane person masquerading as the leader of the free world.

Description of Work
They were going to do interior remodeling for us, knock out a wall and redo the hardwood floors. Also, replace a front porch and add a portico.

Category concrete repair,decks,hardwood floor,remodeling,roofing,interior painters

5.0

11/01/2016


Sampurna S.

Jimmy came by as scheduled . Checked our crawl space and few other places to locate the vent . Pleased with his thorough approach. Did not charge anything for the service. Impressed with his attention to details.

Description of Work
Wanted to locate the exhaust fan vent in our down draft stove top.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/07/2016


Jack C.

Absolutely excellent - great communicator, access and efficiency.

Description of Work
Bathroom shower installation

Category remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

09/24/2016


Liz V.

It always seems to take forever with remodeling, as was the case this time. However, I believe things went as well as possible considering the sequential installation nature of the different elements. Quick to address any concerns during the process.

Description of Work
Remodeling of our kitchen including new cabints, granite counters, tile floors and backsplash

Category remodeling

5.0

02/16/2016


Brenda B.

We recently had J & R Construction remodel our downstairs family room and are very happy with their work! They took the time to walk us through each stage of the project so we always knew exactly what to expect and when to expect it. Jimmy is very conscientious about the people he hires and all the contractors and subcontractors are well-vetted. Seth was very helpful with design ideas and in selection of carpeting and paint. We never felt uncomfortable with anyone working in our home. They were careful to clean up, respectful of our home and privacy, and very patient with our two dogs - never once letting them out of the yard. We would definitely hire them again for any future projects. We received bids from five different companies and while J & R were not the least expensive, the quality of their work is well worth any savings we may have gained by using an inferior contractor.

Description of Work
Remodel of downstairs family room. The room was not insulated and just had wood panel over the studs. They removed the paneling and added insulation and drywall, new carpet & pad, a gas fireplace and removed the bar and made it into a closet.

Category carpet installation,drywall,flooring contractor,insulation,interior designers,remodeling,fireplaces,solar panels

3.0

01/22/2016


Paul B.

The price they quoted was incredibly high - over thirty thousand for a straight-forward bathroom remodel. The plans they drew up (which is what we paid for) were ok, but not particularly professional looking. Overall, it was worth $150.00 just for their time and to pick their brains for ideas, but we simply cannot afford the price.

Description of Work
The guys came out and spoke with us about what we were looking to do - remodel a bathroom to make it handicapped accessible for our daughter. They were very friendly and prompt, and seemed genuinely interested in getting us what we wanted.

Category remodeling,pavers, gravel,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks Mr. Member. With a comprehensive detailed handicap accessible bathroom, it was a lot of work to re work all the framing and make that curb less shower and all the tile needed for the space along with all the safety equipment. Thanks for the feedback and will look to see if we can save on future costs without sacrificing our quality.
2.0

11/10/2015


Roberta L.

Tried to sell me on a complete and expensive remodel that I didn't want. They left in a huff and then sent the incomplete floor plan.

Description of Work
Sent a 2 page floor plan.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks Mrs. Member. We provided the plans you needed along with a detailed proposal, in case you needed it. Let us know if you need more plans or drawings to complete the project.
3.0

10/20/2015


Harry O.

They did not get back with me and they did not give me a written quote when they said they would.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks Mr. Member. We tried to send this to you several times. If you still did not receive it, please contact our office.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Weatherization Plus

    Making a difference in the homes we service in central Kentucky. We are a results driven company that focuses on Fixing Uncomfortable Homes. Do you have rooms that are Too Hot or Too Cold? Chances are just adding insulation will not solve your problem. With our advanced diagnostic tools and 50 years combined experience in Fixing Uncomfortable Homes, we can help solve your problems and make your home more comfortable while helping reduce your energy bills. The services we provide are: Home Inspection, Attic Upgrades, Crawl Space Upgrades, Air Sealing, Spray Foam Insulation, Blown Insulation, Duct Sealing, Radiant Barriers, and More. At Weatherization Plus we want to Solve Your Problems, not just sell you insulation.  

    Stone Age Masonry

    Additional contact name - Tina Copley  

    Smith Drywall

    We specialize in drywall and sheetrock installs, repairs, finishing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today. Smith Drywall is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade, combined with ability, is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests, and make their concerns the basis of our business.  

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    1%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement Finishing, Additions, Porches, Decks, Sunrooms, Whole House Remodeling, and much more....

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & R Construction Services Inc

    How is J & R Construction Services Inc overall rated?

    J & R Construction Services Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & R Construction Services Inc open?

    J & R Construction Services Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does J & R Construction Services Inc provide

    J & R Construction Services Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

    Does J & R Construction Services Inc offer free estimates?

    No, J & R Construction Services Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does J & R Construction Services Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J & R Construction Services Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & R Construction Services Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, J & R Construction Services Inc offers a 1% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J & R Construction Services Inc?

    Yes, J & R Construction Services Inc offers warranties.

    What services does J & R Construction Services Inc offer?

    J & R Construction Services Inc offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement Finishing, Additions, Porches, Decks, Sunrooms, Whole House Remodeling, and much more....

    Are there any services J & R Construction Services Inc does not offer?

    ask for details