Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Counter Culture Plus

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2010

4.7

(53) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

944 National Ave

Lexington, KY 40502

Description

Counter Culture Plus is Lexington's most personal surface contractor. We have every award in Central Kentucky, including multiple Super Service Awards here, as well as the highest rating on Google, Houzz, Facebook and seemingly everywhere in our area for consistently and comprehensively delivering

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/10/2020


Rebecca D.

I am beyond impressed with the work and customer service provided by Counter Culture! They truly went above and beyond to ensure that we had a exceptional experience. We visited quite a few different granite/quartz showrooms in Lexington and found that Counter Culture had the best selection for white quartz and was reasonably priced. What really made our experience so great was that after the counters had been installed, that evening we realized we needed our dishwasher bracketed to the counters. We texted GJ (the President of Counter Culture) and he came out at 7:00pm that same night. We were not expecting him to drop everything and come out that night and were blown away by the level of care and customer service he provided. While the counters and workmanship is beautiful, I think our experience speaks volumes to the overall experience and attention you will receive as a customer here!

Description of Work
New quartz counters for the kitchen

Category countertops, home remodeling

5.0

05/28/2020


Rebecca B.

Great experience overall! I do a lot of research before doing anything and so ask a lot of questions and take a long time deciding things. This was NEVER a problem with Leslie. She was always happy to help, left me alone to look, answer questions and give good suggestions. Once I finally decided on some countertop, I was on the list for installation. Guys who showed up to install were quick and efficient. Unfortunately, the countertop had been sized incorrectly or a number transposed so the countertop had to be redone. This was not really a problem to me because the kitchen was progressing fine. However GJ insisted on giving me a discount on the re-install even though they were the ones that lost money. Thank you for that kindness! Great experience working with GJ on everything too. Once installed, my kitchen counter was and is beautiful! Perfectly matching the custom cabinets put in by Mike Sizemore, who was recommended by Counter Culture and who I also highly recommend. Overall A++ to all. In essense, I got an entire kitchen designed and installed for the price of materials and labor. Love my kitchen two years on. Ditto my bathroom!

Description of Work
Kitchen and Bathroom countertop

Category countertops, buffing & polishing

5.0

12/31/2017


Debbie F.

Timely and beautiful work. We highly recommend this company. GJ and team are awesome!

Description of Work
Granite / Quartz Countertops

Category countertops, marble & granite

4.0

06/26/2017


Mark F.

Although I specified quartz, I was mistakenly offered an icestone remnant which required a second trip to the store to correct. A minor inconvenience and delay. We did find a suitable quartz remnant and it was installed two weeks later. The install crew was great and the finished product fit perfectly. I do think the overall price was a bit high for a 36"remnant/backsplash. Did not have time to comparison shop.

Description of Work
I needed a quartz remnant for a remodeled bath vanity.

Category countertops

5.0

04/06/2017


Jeff P.

Leslie was very friendly and helpful when I first went in the store to look at samples. She had a lot of good suggestions when I told her what colors I liked. GJ was great to work with throughout the process and was very careful to make sure everything was done with excellence. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They removed our old granite counter top in our kitchen and replaced it with a beautiful new quartz one and I couldn't be more pleased. .

Category countertops

3.0

06/04/2016


Damon P.

For now, it's a job that hasn't been done, but I am submitting this review at this point because of the sub-par performance by the company this week. On May 5, we visited the office, paid the required 50% deposit, and signed the contract for purchasing and installing the countertops. I will say that every interaction up until then had been very professional and helpful. We had not done a project like this before and Leslie answered every question patiently and knowledgably. We set the morning of June 2 as the date for installation. We were told that the workers would arrive around 9:30 a.m. and all existing countertops had to be removed prior to their arrival. They would install the new ones, but they would not remove the old ones without an additional fee. We were given a copy of the contract with the installation date written on it. We heard nothing from the company after that date, but we did visit the store in late May to discuss backsplash options. We had a good conversation and agreed that we would wait until after the installation to choose a backsplash. We discussed the date of the installation because we still had to make sure we had a sink and faucet, but nothing was said that indicated any problem with the June 2 installation. On May 31, we donated our existing countertops and sink to the Habitat ReStore, leaving us with an unusable kitchen without running water. On June 1, the day before installation, I emailed a question to the store, but did not receive a response. On June 2, I took off work to be there for the installation. At 10:30, my phone rang and it was Counter Culture Plus. They said they were responding to my email from the day before, but that my question didn't matter because they couldn't do the installation today anyway. They said they were badly backed up by some other projects. They further said my countertop had not even been cut and they couldn't know when they would be able to reschedule the installation. I pointed out that I had taken off work to be there and, in response to their requirements, had made my kitchen unusable in anticipation of the installation. I pointed out that, if the countertops had not been cut, they knew days or even a week in advance they were not going to make the installation and had not said a word to me. They admitted that was a lack of communication on their part for which they were sorry. I don't question the sincerity of the apology, but I don't think the company recognizes how unprofessional this service was and the effect that it has had on me as a trusting customer. My family with teenage daughters now faces more than a week without a usable kitchen. Eating out and using paper plates and cups gets old and expensive quickly. You never realize how much you use your kitchen sink until you don't have one. I don't understand how a company that appears to be successful and professional cannot have a procedure for notifying customers with installation dates when they will not be able to do the service on that date. It appeared that even the call that I did receive on the scheduled date was only in response to the email I sent, not a call to inform me of the change or to apologize. I hope to edit this review later and add how the company bounced back and installed beautiful countertops and treated me like a valued customer, not a person whose time and money is not important to them. But for now, I am a dissatisfied customer and thought others looking for a countertop company should know that things might not go smoothly with this company, at least for now.

Description of Work
We contracted with the company to install new granite countertops in our house.

Category countertops

5.0

11/02/2015


Nancy F.

The owner was professional. The installation team did a wonderful job. Professional and neat. We are very happy with the final product.

Description of Work
Purchase & installation of quartz kitchen counters

Category countertops, marble & granite

5.0

11/02/2015


Katelynn S.

G.J. and his team did an absolutely amazing job on our counters. We are constantly getting compliments on how great they look. G.J. was very professional, friendly, and responsive. He was able to do our counters without any seams (not something many other places gave us as an option) and the edge/shape was just what we had in mind. Very very satisfied!!

Description of Work
Quartz Counter Installation

Category countertops, marble & granite

Service Provider Response

That looks SOOOO good. So very happy for you. That must be pretty cool to walk into in the mornings. Enjoy forever! GJ
5.0

09/26/2015


John D.

All at Counter Culture Plus went above and beyond to make this remodel a success. Emilie instantly greeted us upon entering and was so helpful. We found the perfect countertop within minutes! We were trying to accomplish quite a lot in a short period of time and they did everything they could to make it happen. G.J. and the counter installers were so nice and great to work with. We got our flooring through Counter Culture at an excellent price and had it installed by someone recommended by Counter Culture. They were excellent! We also had a kitchen island custom built by the person recommended by Counter Culture and are so pleased! We would highly recommend Counter Culture Plus!

Category countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

06/25/2015


Julia C.

This experience was an exercise in restraint, patience, and forgiveness, but we made it. Please forgive the lengthy review. We selected a product that was not in stock and Emilie was great about keeping us updated. She also came out to look at the project just as the installation was finishing up. I can't even stress enough how vital she was in keeping things afloat. Working with her was the only saving grace. She gets an A in responsiveness and professionalism, but the owners... The downsides: - GJ didn't show up and didn't call for a scheduled appointment, after I waited at home for hours. During the next scheduled appointment window, he hadn't arrived with only 15 minutes left. With the shop closing and not trusting him to show, I called the store. He hadn't even left yet, but assured me he had not forgotten AGAIN. He did show, eventually. - They knew that our materials were coming and it would need to be cut. However, before the install, they miraculously did not have the blade (?) they needed to cut it. Apparently, the materials "are h****** [their] blades.? How much planning does it take? Yes, they told us a couple of days in advance, but we had already moved our plumber around once. It disrupted other trades, as well. This seemed to escape their minds, because SEVERAL TIMES I heard about how much they had to pay to overnight something, how overtime labor had to be paid to get my materials cut on time (which it wasn't), and so on. I say: It's the cost of doing business. Telling the customer everything behind the scenes is just unprofessional. - The install took two days, which was fine and I knew it might be a possibility. (Thanks Emiie!) Problem was, nobody could tell me when they would be back to do the second part of the job. - During the removal, our drywall paper was torn, to which GJ's response was, ?Yeah, that sometimes happens because it would have looked bad if we cut it. You can just paint over it.? That would have made sense, except the drywall was cut, too! By cut, I mean multiple, unnecessarily deep cuts. Luckily, my drywall guy was here and I was able to PAY HIM to patch both places. I don't think that CC+ covers damage done during install/removal, since the owner was here to see it. - Also, with the install... Day 1: The guys installed a section crooked. They left their drilled quartz plugs and other pieces of my old counter in the base cabinets. No, this isn't a dust-free process, but they should pick up the big mess. There were pieces of my old material left behind in my garage. Drywall issue. Day 2: They argued with me about the crooked top, but finally fixed it upon my insistence. (this was off by 3/4" over a 26" span - very visible) They installed pieces in a different order than what I asked, thereby interfering with other trades. When I went out to the driveway to ask a question, the guys were speaking rudely about me. Specifically referencing my home and me. Say what you want about a customer - AFTER YOU LEAVE! Finally, they didn't have the right hardener or something for my granite seam. (? Whatever that means.) **Of note, the day 2 guys DID clean up after themselves. I don't even know what else happened. I'm hesitant to leave this review, because there is one outstanding issue and it was difficult enough to get the job done in the first place. This should be sufficient to decide whether or not to use CC+. I won't be back.

Description of Work
Installed granite and quartz in kitchen, bar, and bath. Also, removed old kitchen counter.

Category countertops, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

02/22/2015


Jeff E.

Highly recommend working with GJ. He started with a home visit to get measurements and recommend some styles of granite that would complement our existing decor. We then met him at the store where we could see examples of the different styles and narrow down our choices. Of course, we fell in love with a hard-to-find style. GJ worked diligently to try to find the best slab for us and was honest about the pros and cons of the slabs he found. He even created mock-ups of the cuts in the slab so we would know exactly how it would flow in our kitchen. GJ also assisted us in selecting a sink and faucet then set up the plumber to do the install. Great for people new to Lexington who do not already have a trusted plumber. The installation went smoothly. The two gentlemen who did the actual install were very professional and respectful of our home. They even swept up the entire open-area, not just the kitchen when they were done. GJ stopped by during the installation and came back after everything was completed. GJ has a laid-back and personable style which makes him easy to work with and he was great working with our decorator.

Description of Work
Helped us choose and install granite counter tops.

Category countertops, plumbing, marble & granite

5.0

10/06/2014


Peggy O.

GJ was easy to work with, professional and friendly. He gave me several suggestions for products - surface on the granite & tile backsplash (different than I would have selected but it looks great), new sink and disposal. In addition I used the plumbers (Medyna Plumbing) and tile installers (Bluegrass Flooring) that he suggested. I went with all of them and am pleased with quality of workmanship and their willingness to work with my schedule. Bluegrass Flooring still had an afternoon of work on the backsplash when I had to leave for the airport. They cleaned up and locked the door as they left. The product suggestion that I am happiest with is the Suede finish on the granite counter tops. I did not want the typical flat and glossy surface of granite. Had it and disliked how much even a water ring from a glass would show from a distance. There are slight indentations on the surface with the Suede finish but not deep enough to hold dirt. The swipe of a dishcloth will clean it with no problem. The end result is that crumbs, water marks, etc. don't show from a distance. LOVE that feature. Red wine drips don't stain either. Ferguson Kitchen and Bath (referred by GJ) has a counter with the Suede finish in White Spring granite. GJ's crew was also professional and easy to work with and did a good job of cleaning up after each days work. One of their challenges was the unusual shape that I wanted for the island counter. It was not symmetrical but they cut it to perfection. My guests rave about how great the counters look. I am thrilled with the easy of maintaining them and how much brighter the kitchen looks now.

Description of Work
New granite counter tops in kitchen.

Category countertops, marble & granite

Service Provider Response

If EVERY customer was as gracious, kind, down-to-earth, and as fun to work with as you, [member name removed], I would NEVER get out of this business. You have a gorgeous kitchen and you are as deserving as anyone I have met in my 9 years of doing this. Relationships like yours make it worth all the sweat and tears it takes to be excellent. Happy Holidays, we adore you always. GJ
5.0

08/27/2014


David V.

Great service by a great guy! GJ was a genuine sales consultant that truly wanted the best for us as a customer. He has great products and a great staff that work for him. He also has a wealth of information on referrals for other work needing done in your house. Call this guy first to help fix up the heart of your home in the kitchen and point you in the right direction for any other work you need done!

Description of Work
Great people and great service

Category countertops, marble & granite

5.0

04/12/2014


Polly S.

It went very well. The removal of the cabinets and the installation of the new cabinets on the bottom all took place on one day. The workmanship was even better than I had anticipated as far as the cabinets go. I had asked for the rope design to be inlaid in the cabinet doors along with glazing, which really accentuated the rope pattern. The rope design was also carried out on the edges of the shelves in the cabinets. The quality of the inlay was immediately recognizable after I went to a local home and garden show and saw a rope design inlaid on cabinetry by different company. Along with the cabinets there was lighting installed, both in the cabinets with glass doors and underneath the cabinets. It turned out very nice. There was also lighting above the cabinets that could be turned on and off or dimmed as needed. The counter top was granite, GJ measured and supervised the cutting of the granite and did an absolutely perfect job. Another man, Irv, made several suggestions that really enhance the cabinetry such as pull out shelves, a spice rack, suggestions as to the sink color and the faucet color, and raising the height of the counters. All the work was done expertly. A plumber and electrician were also used in the installation of some appliances and floor hookups of plumbing that had to be disconnected for the removal of the cabinetry.

Description of Work
New counter tops and cabinets, and removed old.

Category custom cabinets

5.0

03/10/2014


Robert G.

DJ and crew made our kitchen! The value of the service far surpassed the cost! It upgraded our home. When you walk in our front door, into the great room, the Kitchen will blow you away! Thanks so much!!

Description of Work
Kittchen counter and island

Category countertops

5.0

02/24/2014


Ray S.

He provided me with other options that were more cost effective. I wish I had not moved so far away. The first job he did for us was exceptional quality at a reasonable price.

Description of Work
The travel time to site would have increased cost

Category countertops

5.0

12/20/2013


Cristie T.

This review is not so much about what was done; it is, however all about how it was done. Earlier this year 'another company' (that I did not locate via Angie's List- big mistake) installed new granite countertops in my kitchen. (I was not aware of Counter Culture Plus at that time, and if I had been I undoubtedly would have avoided many problems and headaches.) After the 'other company' initially sealed the countertops (and also based on numerous other problems I had experienced with them during the installation process), I wondered about the quality of their sealing process and opted to do some research online. Unfortunately I learned that both the product they had used and the method of application were far less than desirable. Being concerned about the countertops, and not wanting to have any more dealings with the 'other company', I went on Angie's List and located Counter Culture Plus. After reading their many stellar reviews, I decided to contact them and see if there would be any chance they would be willing to tackle my very small job. I went to their showroom (a most attractive place with numerous product samples and photos of design ideas) and was immediately and courteously welcomed. I was introduced to Sales Manager GJ Gerard and Operations Manager Katie Holtz, who both patiently listened as I rambled on about some of the remodeling nightmares I had been through in the past few months; as well as my current concerns about my countertops. From the outset GJ emphasized that his business strives to provide the highest quality work with exemplary customer service, regardless the size of the job. He checked his schedule and said he could do the work himself later the same week. I cannot tell you what a relief it was to find someone who truly knows what they are doing; and it was an even greater relief that CCP was willing to help me by traveling to Paris to do this quite small (but very important to me) task. Two days later, and right on schedule, GJ arrived at my house. He completed the work in a most courteous, professional and efficient manner. He also thoroughly explained my next steps related to care and maintenance of the countertops, which was much appreciated as these are the first granite countertops I have ever owned. Having dealt with perhaps more than my fair share of remodelers who either did not know what they were doing or were not invested in the quality of work and service they provided, it is an absolute breath of fresh air to locate a business that takes great pride in the work that it does and that strives to deliver exemplary customer service. Even though my job was very small, it is the attention to detail, the value placed on customer service and the goal of doing every job (both large and small) with the highest level of quality that was most impressive. I have already been enthusiastically referring Counter Culture Plus to my friends. After hearing about all the negative experiences I have been through it is so nice to be able to discuss a most positive business experience! Thank you Counter Culture Plus for my early Christmas present!

Description of Work
Applied sealer to kitchen granite countertops.

Category countertops, marble & granite

5.0

09/23/2013


Jackie S.

G.J. Is fantastic! He helped us coordinate work from other contractors as well as his own workers who cut, polished and installed all the granite in the kitchen and the fireplace in the living room. He made lots of great design suggestions as well as contractor referrals throughout our remodeling process. We plan to remodel our master bath in the near future and will again work closely with G. J. at Counter Culture Plus.

Description of Work
Provided granite countertop for kitchen cabinets, center island in kitchen, and counter top for desk area as well as area around fireplace and hearth. G. J. also worked closely with us on kitchen backsplash decisions and flooring decisions.

Category countertops, fireplaces, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

09/06/2013


Scott H.

The finished product is excellent. We had a few challenges getting the glazing correct based on our stated preference. Irv repainted and reglazed the doors multiple times until we were 100% satisfied. Very professional and courteous. His painting subcontractor was as well - we enjoyed getting to know them and would recommend them again.

Description of Work
Reface all kitchen cabinets with new, custom, solid wood doors. Prep and paint cabinet boxes inside and out. Like a new kitchen without the cost.

Category home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

07/30/2013


Tamy T.

From the moment I walked in the door they were extremely nice. They took a real interest in what I wanted and made a lot of helpful suggestions without pushing me in one way or another (something I really value). They allowed me to take home numerous samples and wanted to make sure I was "in love" with the counter top before I made any purchase. They were very professional when they came to measure the counter top and again when they installed it. The only problem was they were not there at the original time they had scheduled but they did call and apologize and we agreed on another time that they did make. The quality of work and the product that was sold is top notch. I recommend using this business to anyone wanting stone work done.

Description of Work
sold and installed new quartz counter tops

Category countertops, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

07/12/2013


Warren D.

It was very good. They were precise in their measurements and when they did the installation, they had tripped it up a little bit but they're right on site and took care of everything that was slightly off. They were very professional.

Description of Work
Counter Culture Plus did countertops for us about a year ago.

Category countertops

5.0

06/10/2013


David H.

We called around to several cabinet places in town. This was the most friendly and one of the highest rated on AL. They were prompt, courteous and professional. It took about 3-4 weeks for them to complete building a custom cabinet to go overtop of our new refrigerator. The end-product was a perfect match in stain, finish and build. Great experience and I will use them again.

Description of Work
Built a custom cabinet to match old cabinets.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, home remodeling

4.0

05/28/2013


Viviane B.

the sales personnel were very nice to work with. There was some lack of communication when we were not informed that a sample had come in.

Description of Work
provide and install counter tops - we did not use them, however

Category countertops

4.0

05/16/2013


Ellen B.

We met with a lady (can't remember her name) to pick out countertops for 3 rooms. She wasn't very friendly and she didn't really seem very excited to be showing us around the slab yard that day. Luckily, we already had an idea for what type of granite we wanted. If we hadn't known what we wanted, we would have been out of luck because she was no help whatsoever. We picked out our slabs and paid our deposit and waited to have them installed... Then GJ took over the project when it was time to measure and install. He came and took measurements and scheduled our installation, which was delayed because the machine that cuts the stone at the shop was broken and it tooka a few days to fix it. Because they were so backed up, our installation time got pushed back 3 times that day. I do appreciate that GJ contacted me throughout the day to keep me updated. When they came to install, there had been an error on the measurements, so they had to take a piece back to the shop and cut it down. Also, when the girl at the showroom had given us our price, she had made a calculation error and the price she gave us didn't match the final price. GJ adjusted that for us, which we appreicated. All in all, the countertops look beautiful. GJ was great to work with. There were a few little hiccups in the project, which kept me from giving them a perfect rating. We would still recommend them, and have done so.

Description of Work
Granite countertops for master bathroom and kitchen, and marble countertop for guest bathroom

Category countertops

5.0

05/07/2013


barbara W.

Fantastic, will definitely use again!

Description of Work
Cabinetry made

Category custom cabinets

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fresh Coat of Lexington

    At Fresh Coat Painters we have 50+ years experience and pride ourselves providing high quality and affordable painting solutions for both homeowners and businesses. Contact our professional painting contractors for all your painting needs. Additional DBAs - TRW Painting LLC, Fresh Coat Location # 91175.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Fresh Coat of Lexington on Angi
    Distinctive Design Remodeling

    Whether you are looking to increase your living and storage space or simply improve the beauty of your home, the home remodeling experts at Distinctive Design Remodeling are here for you. Established in 2007 in Lexington, KY, we have been serving Central Kentucky with unparalleled customer service and dedication for several years, and we are fully equipped to take care of any and all of your home remodeling needs.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Straight Line Painting LLC

    Welcome to straight line painting we are committed to giving you the best service in every job because we believe that our clients are the priority. We offer quality work with great care, cleanliness and professionalism. No job is to big or to small for our company and we specialize in a variety of painting needs; from Commercial, Industrial, to Residential painting including repair services, drywall, epoxy floors, cabinets, stain, interior and exterior painting. Straight Line Painting always use the best quality paint and materials for your pleasure, providing you with the best service; satisfaction guaranteed! Our locally owned and operated company is based out of Lexington, Kentucky and serve surrounding counties. Choose Straight Line Painting and experience true quality and customer service.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Countertops in granite, marble, onyx, soapstone, quartz, laminate & solid surface. Custom built cabinets. Floor & backsplash tile. Showers. Hardwood flooring. Electric. Plumbing. Installation & sales.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Counter Culture Plus

    How is Counter Culture Plus overall rated?

    Counter Culture Plus is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Counter Culture Plus open?

    Counter Culture Plus is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Counter Culture Plus provide

    Counter Culture Plus accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal

    Does Counter Culture Plus offer free estimates?

    No, Counter Culture Plus does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Counter Culture Plus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Counter Culture Plus offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Counter Culture Plus offer a senior discount?

    No, Counter Culture Plus does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Counter Culture Plus offer emergency services?

    Yes, Counter Culture Plus offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Counter Culture Plus?

    Yes, Counter Culture Plus offers warranties.

    What services does Counter Culture Plus offer?

    Counter Culture Plus offers the following services: Countertops in granite, marble, onyx, soapstone, quartz, laminate & solid surface. Custom built cabinets. Floor & backsplash tile. Showers. Hardwood flooring. Electric. Plumbing. Installation & sales.

    Are there any services Counter Culture Plus does not offer?

    Roofing.