Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

1st Call Disaster Services

Founded 2007 • With Angi since January 2010

4.7

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 472

Hebron, KY 41048

Description

Rescuing Property! Restoring Life! Additional Phone Numbers Indiana Phone # (812) 717-2122; Lexington (859) 721-0464. Additional address - 7964 Kentucky Drive, Suite 1, Florence, KY 41042....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/22/2021


jay S.

Derek Hayes and his crew were great very nice work .Very easy to work with and professional.

Description of Work
have a roof replaced

Category carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to respond & we are honored by your decision to use 1st Call Disaster Services. To answer one point specifically: we do not get the pleasure of making up our own pricing as the insurance carrier’s provide approvals for their price list…something for every consumer to keep in mind. All scopes are agreed upon with the carrier.
1.0

06/29/2021


Ben R.

Well it went horrible… Obviously as noted from others on here communication is still a paramount of lacking, a comedy of errors. It’s as if abbot and Costello run this outfit. No body seems to communicate effectively. You try to make sure your situation is effectively relayed and no matter who you talk to after ten plus people just like I was promised a conference call or several return phone calls rarely did they happen. They sure as **** didn’t get and would never get my money for restoration or any project and I will make sure to spread the word as much as I can as I promised Chris that I would. That lovely picture is a day and a half of soaking wet carpet they left… no wonder it took so long to dry

Description of Work
Water restoration

Category carpet cleaners,drywall,flooring contractor,remodeling,water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Please see our responses on the BBB website; see also our video testimonials & google reviews
5.0

08/27/2018


Angie C.

Calling them was best move I made. Excellent help from start to finish with drying out the house. Thanks Roy, Calvin and Jason for making this an easy and comfortable as could be ordeal.

Description of Work
Water Clean Up

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the time to make note of our efforts to serve you in a great time of need. We are honored by your choice! Respectfully, Shane Heilman
4.0

05/09/2018


Augusto G.

It looks okay. It looks like they did a good job.

Description of Work
They fixed the drywall.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. For what it's worth, your insurance carrier provides for the pricing of which we have no control over. Whatever the final invoicing, it was approved by the carrier - we simply don't have that liberty. Please give us a call should you require our services again. Respectfully, Shane
5.0

06/07/2017


Stacy C.

I (unfortunately) have had to call First Call for water intrusion in our basement three times now. Each time they have been extremely professional, prompt, courteous, and reasonably priced. I have worked with the same people each time (Jason and Dave) and they have gotten to know us. They treat us like friends - not customers. They've taken very good care of our family and went above and beyond what their job was, including by helping us diagnose and fix the underlying problem each time when they were really hired just to dry out the basement. The most recent call was the night before we were supposed to leave for vacation, and they ensured that we were able to go by working with us to handle everything in our absence. I completely trust the people we've worked with. I hope that we don't have anymore issues, but if we do, they're who I would call every time, and I would recommend them to anyone in the same boat.

Description of Work
Water intrusion remediation and clean up in my basement

Category carpet cleaners,hauling services,water damage restoration,mold removal

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your kind words. We are honored by your choice to continually rely upon our services to get you home back to normal. Respectfully, Shane
1.0

12/17/2016


Esi M.

They came to do an inspection and provide an estimate. Charged $225 for the estimate, that money was supposed to be applied to the work done so I said ok. They were supposed to send a full report the next day. NOT received. Called back repeatedly and emailed. Eventually it was received weeks later and it was for a different person's property, and that person had only been charged in the $90 range for an estimate. Had to continually follow up to get the estimate for my property that I had been charged for already. Took another week, and received only after I called the main office (yet again) and said I the credit card statement was received and I would dispute it. Estimated $4,200 for the work, and it was not detailed or sufficiently itemized. For that price I asked if they were intending to paint the entire room in the basement. NEVER even received a reply. Frankly if they didn't want to do the work they should have not charged me the estimate money, certainly feels like a scam, make money off of estimates and give unrealistically high estimates. Now several weeks later after noting the concerning problem, had another person quote the work who ultimately did the job including extensive work to the exterior beyond what I could tell 1st Disaster would have done, painted the entire basement, did a great job for $1,700. Yes, $2,500 cheaper and a lot more work done then what the estimate seemed to offer. I am not one to usually write reviews but I felt like these people definitely took advantage of me from the start, were unresponsive, and either jacked up the price on the estimate so that I wouldn't accept the estimate or were trying to just take advantage of me and make me pay more than the service was worth. Buyer please beware.

Description of Work
Repair of water damage to a section of a basement wall from a leak. Repair of exterior water damage to brick causing the leak. Initial question of whether there was mold, but there was no mold problem.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

The issue of communication breakdown has been thoroughly investigated to assure that things like this don't happen again and we deeply regret this experience as we have consistently maintained a 97% customer satisfaction rating for 10 years. There is no need to detail both "sides of the coin" as it serves no purpose for either side. Our promise is to own what is ours to own and make corrections accordingly. Specifically regarding the infractions noted above, we have made corrections where there was simply misunderstanding and we have implemented improvements to our process to help our team communicate more effectively. We will continue to work on clarity of communication - it is a core value. Again, our apologies for your experience and our miscommunication surrounding expectations. It would be foolish to think that anyone desires to receive this type of review. Nonetheless we will grow and become a better company for it. Thank you for your time. Respectfully, Shane
1.0

10/17/2016


Michael K.

I called this company after discovering asbestos tiles in my kitchen during a remodel. I called on Saturday requesting an appointment on Monday. I was told someone would call me back. No one did. I called again Sunday requesting an appointment on Monday. I was again told someone would call me back. No one did. I called first thing Monday morning and told them I needed someone out ASAP. Finally got to speak with someone. He said he would check his schedule and call me back. Did not. For an "emergency service" company, these guys are horrible and really left me in a bind

Description of Work
Did not get back to provide service.

Category asbestos removal

Service Provider Response

Not unlike the response to the previous review, the issue of communication breakdown has been thoroughly investigated to assure that things like this do not continue to happen and we deeply regret your experience as well. Be it known that we take this so seriously that we are willing to make personnel changes to address the compromise of one of our core values. Previously stated: Our promise is to own what is ours to own and make corrections accordingly. We are continuing to strive for excellence that can be seen in all of our other reviews. "We dropped the proverbial ball" in this case and have worked intently to remedy a weak link in our chain of success. It would be foolish to think that anyone desires to receive these reviews. Nonetheless we have grown and are becoming a better company for it. Thank you for your time. Respectfully, Shane
5.0

03/29/2016


Linda K.

Shane was called into the middle of a delicate situation with water and mold damage. He was there the next day after I contacted him, was prompt and professional. I found him through Angie's List and a friend that I trust very much also recommended him and his work. I only wish I had started out with him. The job would have been done sooner and he provided that personal service that I was not getting from the original company. Live and learn. He will be the first call I make if I ever find myself in this situation again. I wanted to leave feedback because of the professional manner in which he handled the situation.

Description of Work
This is a home we own for a family member to live in. This was time sensitive and we had to make a quick decision and hired a different company.. It was not the best experience. After having the time to ask around for recommendations and checking Angie's List we called Shane to help us resolve some problems we were having. He spent the time to go through everything with us, room by room, step by step. Unfortunately, we were too far into the project to change contractors. He spent a lot of time with us explaining things, giving us some suggestions and was always professional about the company we were using.

Category water damage restoration,mold removal

5.0

01/07/2016


Patricia W.

I found 1st Call Disaster Services on Angie's List and hired them based on reviews and their Angie's List Deal. We are getting our home ready for sale and a real estate agent noticed mold on joists in our basement. We called 3 mold remediation companies for an estimate. They were in the middle on cost but Shane very kindly let us get the deal which saved us money. The crew came and worked hard for a day and a half. The only glitch we had was after the job was done we found that one of the cleaning products they used left a residue which probably would cause an issue in a home inspection. Shane came out and brought the crew back to clean the areas in question. No further mold was found and we were very grateful that this was figured out and addressed. Shane knew I was very concerned and took it upon himself to bring an environmental inspector out who concurred that the mold is gone.

Description of Work
Mold remediation in our basement.

Category mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We work diligently to serve our customers with the utmost effort. It is a pleasure to know that the effort was rewarded! Best wishes with selling your home and please feel free to contact us with any questions. Warm Regards, Shane
5.0

11/07/2015


Rob S.

Overall good work and punctual

Description of Work
Water extraction from basement, mold abatement and cleaning

Category water damage restoration,basement waterproofing,mold removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    Redwine construction and roofing

    Here are Redwine Home Improvements, we do it all. However, we're currently specializing and focusing on decks, porches, porch roofs, carports, lean-toos, etc. What ever your home improvement projects, we can help!  

    Grout Medic of Dayton, Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky

    We are the leaders in Grout and Tile restoration and repair. Utilizing the latest technology and products we seek to maintain the highest standards of service and professionalism in our industry. The Grout Medic specializes in performing services on your existing grout and tile surfaces. Each Grout Medic technician is trained to evaluate your needs, and prescribe and perform the procedures for you in a professional and courteous manner while exceeding your expectations. At The Grout Medic, we can perform all of our services in both the residential and commercial environment. Each individual job we complete is designed to bring your grout and tile back to life, protect it for years to come and add value to your home.  

    Everdry Waterproofing of Cincinnati

    EverDry of Cincinnati is a full service basement waterproofing and foundation repair company. Our patented multi-step system is chosen by the vast majority of out customers.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Locale
    Florence, KY
    Trade License Authority
    City of Florence
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Water Removal, Dehumidification, Deodorization,Fire, Smoke & Soot Remediation, Mold Mitigation and Remediation, Emergency Water Extraction, Drying, Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning, Stain Removal and Replacement, Smoke and Odor Removal, Debris Removal, Tear Gas & Graffiti Removal, Biohazard Clean Up, Asbestos Abatement, Reconstruction, Board up, Hoarder, Hoarding, Water Damage, Flood Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 1st Call Disaster Services

    How is 1st Call Disaster Services overall rated?

    1st Call Disaster Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are 1st Call Disaster Services open?

    1st Call Disaster Services is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

    What payment options does 1st Call Disaster Services provide

    1st Call Disaster Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does 1st Call Disaster Services offer free estimates?

    No, 1st Call Disaster Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does 1st Call Disaster Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, 1st Call Disaster Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 1st Call Disaster Services offer a senior discount?

    Yes, 1st Call Disaster Services offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does 1st Call Disaster Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, 1st Call Disaster Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by 1st Call Disaster Services?

    Yes, 1st Call Disaster Services offers warranties.

    What services does 1st Call Disaster Services offer?

    1st Call Disaster Services offers the following services: Water Removal, Dehumidification, Deodorization,Fire, Smoke & Soot Remediation, Mold Mitigation and Remediation, Emergency Water Extraction, Drying, Carpet & Upholstery Cleaning, Stain Removal and Replacement, Smoke and Odor Removal, Debris Removal, Tear Gas & Graffiti Removal, Biohazard Clean Up, Asbestos Abatement, Reconstruction, Board up, Hoarder, Hoarding, Water Damage, Flood Services