Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CUSTOM CARPENTRY

Founded 1980 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10 AVENEL PL

Fort Thomas, KY 41075

Description

We are a family owned business with over 40 years of experience in the construction trades. We offer free, personal, prompt, and reliable estimates for our customers. We are a trusted BBB member With an A+ rating and are licensed and insured.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/11/2021


Jeff M.

Bill and Jesse were great to work with. They built us a beautiful deck, a concrete pad for a hot tub, and platform around the tub. They were very creative and had some terrific suggestions. Their carpentry skills are top notch. Other than a few surprises when digging around an old house (like finding old wells) our project went very smoothly.

Description of Work
Deck, downspouts, and concrete

Category concrete repair, decks

5.0

07/28/2018


Elizabeth M.

We've had alot of people work on our house over the years and these guys are the most thoughtful and thorough we've come across. Most contractors don't seem to have the time to really think about the problem, especially hard ones, but no matter what we threw at the owners of this company, they were thoughtful and treated the problem as if it were as important as their own house. So far, we have not come across a problem that they cannot solve or help us with, from construction work to gutter replacement, to leaks, to window replacement, tuck-pointing, installing a footer, you name it. Their attention to detail is meticulous, and they take no short-cuts. We are very happy to have finally found a company that we can count on for so many of our homeowner needs.

Description of Work
New gutters, repair work

Category handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, hardscaping

5.0

07/07/2017


John M.

Great! Bill Harris (Custom Carpentry) replaced my old deck with a much nicer looking, slightly larger new one (10' x 12'), which was constructed to modern building codes. I am impressed with the work he did and the care he took constructing a deck I am proud of. I had 6 bidders for the job. I choose him because he convinced me he would do the best job, and while not the lowest priced bidder, his price was in the lower half of the bids, offering the best value. I'm confident I made the right decision.

Description of Work
Replace my old deck with a new one.

Category decks, woodworking

5.0

06/22/2017


DEBORAH K.

Very well. Received a written bid. Finished promptly and professionally.

Description of Work
Brick tuck pointing, chimney flashing, reconstruct a historical home's porch, box gutters, storm doors, fixing interior walls, interior painting

Category decks, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, doors

5.0

06/22/2017


DEBORAH K.

Everything completed to perfection, precise work and attention to details

Description of Work
Ceilings, walls, & wood work completely re-done in 2 bedrooms in an historic home

Category drywall, remodeling, woodworking

1.0

05/12/2017


Christine N.

It didn't - after receiving a pricey estimate, I contacted them to discuss the details. I asked them to call me four different times - he never called.

Description of Work
replacement of basement door

Category remodeling

5.0

03/14/2017


Hallie C.

Bill Harris and his sons got in the crawl space and took a look at the areas that needed work, reviewed the engineer's drawings, and called the engineer to discuss methods for providing the support needed which included adding steel and concrete support to one block wall, "pinning" another area, shoring up a support beam, and adding support to a large expanse in the floor joists. He also added irrigation to the yard to draw water away from this area of the house. These are my layman' terms for a very detailed job. They did a fantastic job, doing exactly what they said they would do. They were on time, cleaned up every day, and stayed on the job until completed. We appreciated the fact Bill called the structural engineer to discuss the work and the time he took explaining what they were doing and how it would resolve our problem. Bill was "Holmes on Homes" for us. We are very satisfied with his work and highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
We needed structural support work done underneath one side of our home based upon a structural engineer's recommendation.

Category remodeling, woodworking, structural engineer

5.0

03/08/2017


Leslie G.

All went great. The building is old construction and extremely old and everything had to be custom made and built to fit. There is still more to do and I will continue to use them now and for future work. I have referred them to several friends already. They are conscientious, careful and trustworthy. Also extremely reasonable with price. Great communication and updates with everything as well.

Description of Work
Structural work on a commercial building including beams/joists, roof work and exterior painting and exterior cosmetic repairs. They replaced existing outside deck as well as placing a concrete walkway . There was exterior aluminum siding that was repaired and replaced. Cellar doors that needed to be reframed and made safe/sturdy.. The building is in a historic district so there needed to be exact blue prints followed as well. Interior remodeling/drywall and painting. Door framing and both interior and exterior door replacements as well.

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, deck cleaning, woodworking, structural engineer, home remodeling, doors, hardscaping

5.0

06/19/2015


Mark K.

We needed a carport built in the alleyway of our Bellevue home (along with an existing shed removed and concrete pad poured). Bill and his crew did a great job, not only providing a custom-built carport (nothing prefab, all hand built) but also working with the City of Bellevue on permits and quality checks (historic district). It looks fantastic! Much thanks to Custom Carpentry! They, at a later date, built a small deck in our backyard which is enjoyed through the nice weather.

Description of Work
Built a carport.

Category decks, handyman service, remodeling, deck cleaning, woodworking, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

05/12/2015


Shelley F.

Bill Harris is one of the best designers. ?He has great ideas. ?Our deck is not typical. ?He designed it with angles to make it look not so ordinary and created a smooth transition to the catwalk. ?He made it strong enough so we can enclose it at a later date if we want to. ?He also matched the angles on the patio so we could add a catwalk on the other side of our house if we choose to do that later. ?He centered the patio doors with the window so we could keep them both if we go with an enclosure. ?Want to note that our enclosure is already designed and Bill worked very hard to ensure it will not obstruct our view. ?When they were removing the wall and installing the beam to support the second floor, Bill recognized the beam in our garage was not strong enough to support the addition we had someone else build previously. ?He took care of it right away and saved us lots of money by finding supports from his personal wood supply. ?We love the work done by Custom Carpentry and are looking forward to our next project. ?I'm hoping they will help us design a entertainment wall for our living room and replace our front door and sidelights.

Description of Work
Designed and built large deck with catwalk and stairs, raised patio with pavers, replaced french doors with beautiful large patio doors, gave us an open floor plan by removing a load bearing wall between living room and dining room, etc.

Category decks, drywall, remodeling, woodworking, structural engineer, doors, hardscaping

5.0

02/20/2015


Chris Q.

Bill & Jesse do excellent work! They are punctual and always cleaned up before they left every day. They were very attentive to our desires and suggestions.

Description of Work
Framing, windows, doors and trim on garage addition.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you (member name removed)! We look forward to doing future projects with you.

    Other local Pros in your area

    F&B llc

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    Block Tite of Cincinnati

    Cincinnati Ohio's Largest Distributor of American-made Pittsburgh Corning Glass Block. Block-Tite is locally owned and operated. We offer the strongest and most tested glass block on the market. We build and install using TypeS masonry cement (not silicone) All of our vents have dual pain glass sashes and are top of the line.  

    Angi Certified

    Windows and More The Glass Block Guy

    Windows and More has been owner operated and serving Cincinnati customers for 10 years! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Our motto "German style craft for your modern day needs", speaks for itself. Bill Harris the owner trained through the German apprenticeship program building houses All over kentucky and ohio. We utilize old world techniques for better final product compared to the norm in the building world. We hold ourselves to a higher standand to keep our customers happy and returning for more work. And, above all else, to keep our respected reputation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CUSTOM CARPENTRY

    How is CUSTOM CARPENTRY overall rated?

    CUSTOM CARPENTRY is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are CUSTOM CARPENTRY open?

    CUSTOM CARPENTRY is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does CUSTOM CARPENTRY provide

    CUSTOM CARPENTRY accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does CUSTOM CARPENTRY offer free estimates?

    Yes, CUSTOM CARPENTRY offers free project estimates.

    Does CUSTOM CARPENTRY offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CUSTOM CARPENTRY offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CUSTOM CARPENTRY offer a senior discount?

    No, CUSTOM CARPENTRY does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CUSTOM CARPENTRY?

    No, CUSTOM CARPENTRY does not offer warranties.

    What services does CUSTOM CARPENTRY offer?

    CUSTOM CARPENTRY offers the following services: Our motto "German style craft for your modern day needs", speaks for itself. Bill Harris the owner trained through the German apprenticeship program building houses All over kentucky and ohio. We utilize old world techniques for better final product compared to the norm in the building world. We hold ourselves to a higher standand to keep our customers happy and returning for more work. And, above all else, to keep our respected reputation.