Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CUSTOM CARPENTRY

Founded 1980 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(11) Verified Reviews

Description

We are a family owned business with over 40 years of experience in the construction trades. We offer free, personal, prompt, and reliable estimates for our customers. We are a trusted BBB member With an A+ rating and are licensed and insured....

Other local Pros in your area

HTC Roofing, siding, gutters and windows

With over 50 years of combined roofing experience and a Master Shingle Applicator! HTC Roofing is family owned and operated, we're experts in roofing, siding, gutters and windows. We specialize in handling Insurance claims for residential storm damage and retail jobs. HTC has had thousands of satisfied customers and we're proud of our A+ rating with the BBB. We do residential and commercial roofing systems and HTC is fully insured for your protection. We offer up to a 50 year labor warranty (please call for details) we also guarantee that our work will keep your roof in good standing for your protection and satisfaction. HTC will do a free inspection! Give us a call today as we look forward to servicing you!  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by HTC Roofing, siding, gutters and windows on Angi
RWT Windows Plus

RWT Windows is owner-operated and has been servicing Cincinnati and its surrounding communities since 1976. The owner, Ric Thress, personally oversees every installation along with his crew. Because Ric is at every installation, you can be assured that all your needs specified at the time your estimate was given, will be carried out fully during the installation. Also, since you are dealing with the owner, estimator and installer all in one person, you benefit by receiving lower prices. 4 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. Additional contact name - Kelly Johnson. Additional DBA - Replacement Window Technicians. Award winning. Additional email - mrwtwdw@cinci.rr.com.  

Offers by RWT Windows Plus on Angi
Windows Direct USA of Cincinnati

Authorized Dealer of Sunrise Restorations. Save $100 per Window 0% for 12 months and Free Triple Pane on select models. Energy Star Partner, Lifetime Warranty, Guaranteed Lowest Pricing. Also a wide selection on doors  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/11/2021

Bill and Jesse were great to work with. They built us a beautiful deck, a concrete pad for a hot tub, and platform around the tub. They were very creative and had some terrific suggestions. Their carpentry skills are top notch. Other than a few surprises when digging around an old house (like finding old wells) our project went very smoothly.

Description of Work
Deck, downspouts, and concrete

Category concrete repair,decks

5.0

07/28/2018

We've had alot of people work on our house over the years and these guys are the most thoughtful and thorough we've come across. Most contractors don't seem to have the time to really think about the problem, especially hard ones, but no matter what we threw at the owners of this company, they were thoughtful and treated the problem as if it were as important as their own house. So far, we have no...

Description of Work
New gutters, repair work

Category handyman service,remodeling,replacement windows,hardscaping

5.0

07/07/2017

Great! Bill Harris (Custom Carpentry) replaced my old deck with a much nicer looking, slightly larger new one (10' x 12'), which was constructed to modern building codes. I am impressed with the work he did and the care he took constructing a deck I am proud of. I had 6 bidders for the job. I choose him because he convinced me he would do the best job, and while not the lowest priced bidder, his p...

Description of Work
Replace my old deck with a new one.

Category decks,woodworking

5.0

06/22/2017

Everything completed to perfection, precise work and attention to details

Description of Work
Ceilings, walls, & wood work completely re-done in 2 bedrooms in an historic home

Category drywall,remodeling,woodworking

5.0

06/22/2017

Very well. Received a written bid. Finished promptly and professionally.

Description of Work
Brick tuck pointing, chimney flashing, reconstruct a historical home's porch, box gutters, storm doors, fixing interior walls, interior painting

Category decks,drywall,remodeling,woodworking,doors

1.0

05/12/2017

It didn't - after receiving a pricey estimate, I contacted them to discuss the details. I asked them to call me four different times - he never called.

Description of Work
replacement of basement door

Category room remodeling

5.0

03/14/2017

Bill Harris and his sons got in the crawl space and took a look at the areas that needed work, reviewed the engineer's drawings, and called the engineer to discuss methods for providing the support needed which included adding steel and concrete support to one block wall, "pinning" another area, shoring up a support beam, and adding support to a large expanse in the floor joists. He also added irrigation to the yard to draw water away from this area of the house. These are my layman' terms for a very detailed job. They did a fantastic job, doing exactly what they said they would do. They were on time, cleaned up every day, and stayed on the job until completed. We appreciated the fact Bill called the structural engineer to discuss the work and the time he took explaining what they were doing and how it would resolve our problem. Bill was "Holmes on Homes" for us. We are very satisfied with his work and highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
We needed structural support work done underneath one side of our home based upon a structural engineer's recommendation.

Category room remodeling","woodworker","structural engineer

5.0

03/08/2017

All went great. The building is old construction and extremely old and everything had to be custom made and built to fit. There is still more to do and I will continue to use them now and for future work. I have referred them to several friends already. They are conscientious, careful and trustworthy. Also extremely reasonable with price. Great communication and updates with everything as well.

Description of Work
Structural work on a commercial building including beams/joists, roof work and exterior painting and exterior cosmetic repairs. They replaced existing outside deck as well as placing a concrete walkway . There was exterior aluminum siding that was repaired and replaced. Cellar doors that needed to be reframed and made safe/sturdy.. The building is in a historic district so there needed to be exact blue prints followed as well. Interior remodeling/drywall and painting. Door framing and both interior and exterior door replacements as well.

Category deck company","drywall contractor","handyman service","room remodeling","deck cleaner","woodworker","structural engineer","home remodeling contractor","door installer","hardscaper

5.0

06/19/2015

We needed a carport built in the alleyway of our Bellevue home (along with an existing shed removed and concrete pad poured). Bill and his crew did a great job, not only providing a custom-built carport (nothing prefab, all hand built) but also working with the City of Bellevue on permits and quality checks (historic district). It looks fantastic! Much thanks to Custom Carpentry! They, at a later date, built a small deck in our backyard which is enjoyed through the nice weather.

Description of Work
Built a carport.

Category deck company","handyman service","room remodeling","deck cleaner","woodworker","home remodeling contractor","patio builder

5.0

05/12/2015

Bill Harris is one of the best designers. ?He has great ideas. ?Our deck is not typical. ?He designed it with angles to make it look not so ordinary and created a smooth transition to the catwalk. ?He made it strong enough so we can enclose it at a later date if we want to. ?He also matched the angles on the patio so we could add a catwalk on the other side of our house if we choose to do that later. ?He centered the patio doors with the window so we could keep them both if we go with an enclosure. ?Want to note that our enclosure is already designed and Bill worked very hard to ensure it will not obstruct our view. ?When they were removing the wall and installing the beam to support the second floor, Bill recognized the beam in our garage was not strong enough to support the addition we had someone else build previously. ?He took care of it right away and saved us lots of money by finding supports from his personal wood supply. ?We love the work done by Custom Carpentry and are looking forward to our next project. ?I'm hoping they will help us design a entertainment wall for our living room and replace our front door and sidelights.

Description of Work
Designed and built large deck with catwalk and stairs, raised patio with pavers, replaced french doors with beautiful large patio doors, gave us an open floor plan by removing a load bearing wall between living room and dining room, etc.

Category deck company","drywall contractor","room remodeling","woodworker","structural engineer","door installer","hardscaper

    Services Offered

    Our motto "German style craft for your modern day needs", speaks for itself. Bill Harris the owner trained through the German apprenticeship program building houses All over kentucky and ohio. We utilize old world techniques for better final product compared to the norm in the building world. We hold ourselves to a higher standand to keep our customers happy and returning for more work. And, above all else, to keep our respected reputation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details