Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Resort

Founded 1993 • With Angi since June 2011

We are the only spa factory in the state of Kansas, located at 410 N Main Hillsboro Ks 67484. We manufacture the AAHS Spa brands of custom built spas . Check them out at www.aahsspas.com . We are a one stop shop for all your commercial, residential construction, and remodeling needs including outdoor entertainment and relaxation.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(22) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-22 of 22 reviews
Mike P.
5.0
04/11/2019
Chuck delivered a new hot tub today, I am beyond amazed with new spa. Exceeds all my and my wife’s expectations. We recommend HOME RESORT for all your pool and spa needs. Chuck is GREAT to work with. Thanks Chuck!!!!!!!
Description of Work
Pool maintaince and new spa.
Category
decks, pool cleaners, remodeling, patios, swimming pools
Patricia R.
1.0
09/21/2017
Sadly, this was awful. The two Maltbie men relied on my husband's assistance. Moreover, they accepted payment-in-full, and then only completed the dock building 75%. They blocked our phones, even though we had paid fully in advance, and refused to return. It took another $4000 and another construction company to complete the dock and its appointments. We filed with the Kansas Attorney General, but they told us they were overwhelmed and suggested we seek a private resolution attorney. Of course, we still may do that, but key here is understanding that the Maltbies took the money and never returned. We put them up every time they needed to come up from Tescott to the 75% mark, and sweetened the deal by giving Churck Maltbie's daughter, a soon-to-be bride, with three lots at the lake completely gratis. We even paid the transfer fees for her. This is NOT a company that we will ever hire again, at the very least.
Description of Work
We needed a dock built on a lake just inside Kansas. We had hired Chuck Maltbie (and his father) to do less taxing earlier work for us, and that had gone well. We were astounded at how we were treated when we assigned a major project.
Category
dock building

Service Provider Response

We did three projects for this customer on three seperate occasions We recieved nothing but rave reviews from them The final project we completed and recieved our final payment Then they requested additional work running electrical service to deck and dock we had completed. Due to the nature of the service and its location we bid it on a cost plus basis We ordered the electrical supplies and delivered them we recieved reinbursement for the reciept we profided them from menards as earlier stated they recieved items at cost. we then proceeded to Get permits and permission to trench across the main [Member Information Removed] from there property to the lakeside location. Our geological survey showed solid rock that we were going to have to excavate through. As we did not poses equipment capable of this task and that the labor for this project was on an hourly basis and any equipment rental would be additional i informed customer that it was in there best interest to find a local contractor who specializes in excavating through rock and isnt five hours away. We also informed them that the electrical supplies we had delivered and they had reciept for could be returned to menards for a full refund. But in wanting to maintain our integrity and relationship we felt we could not continue to move forward with them on this portion of there project The next thing we recieve is a notice from bbb that we were defrauding them by taking there money and not doing the project . We sent all our documentation and payment reciepts to the bbb and explained situation and that we were actually looking out for our customers best interest and cost. They concored with us and determined we had done nothing fraudulent. Then we recieved a letter from ks attorney general office With the same claim that we took there money and never did the work We sent all documents and reciepts to them and once again it was determined that we delivered to them everything they paid for and that we did not have a obligation to perform and that we had nit commited any acts of fraud or unconsciousanable acts And closed the complaint in our favor. As for the ither itens discussed yes complaintence husband did assaist us in completion of tasks not becouse he was forced or coerced but becouse he asked if he could to be a part of project its his property i cant very well tell the man no. And as far as the alleged gift of property , they had tried to get rid of the lots for years so they held a online essay contest ( why i want lots) open to public then family would vote on best essay, my daughter entered and won. But as they have claimed this as a impropriety, they will be returned . This complaint is a prime example that no good dead gies unpunished. Our record with angies list the bbb and attorney generals office speaks for itself . We strive to provide all of our customers the best value we can.
Lyna L.
5.0
12/20/2016
Well other than was late.
Description of Work
Electrical
Category
electrician, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the no complaints response on 12/06 We provided same day service, even worked after hours at no additional charge, i wasnt aware we had a specific time stated for arrival, my notes indicated we were going to see if we could work her into our schedule, however we do apologize we couldnt get to her earlier in the day
Bert F.
5.0
12/06/2016
I called Chuck at 5 pm and explained my toilet problem. I then texted him photos and dimension of our situation. He picked up a new toilet and necessary materials. By 7:15, the new toilet was perfectly installed and Chuck was on his way. Great service and very reasonably priced. Will use again when the project is to big to do it myself.
Description of Work
I had Chuck replace a toilet in my old house. I had removed the old toilet, but needed help on installation.
Category
plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU WE APPRECIATE THE OPPORTUNITY TO SERVE YOUR NEEDS AND LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING WITH YOU IN THE FUTURE
Lyna L.
5.0
12/06/2016
Well no complaints
Description of Work
Outdoor outlet
Category
electrician, remodeling

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU WE APPRECIATE OPPORTUNITY TO HELP OUT YOUR SITUATION
Kathy A.
5.0
05/27/2016
He does good work.
Description of Work
Plumbing, electric, and other small jobs.
Category
electrician, plumbing

Service Provider Response

THANKS FOR YOUR CONTINUED SUPPORT
Hal P.
4.0
03/09/2016
He has done a custom-built closet, which turned out beautiful. He also has completely gutted and remodeled a downstairs bathroom. It turned out beautiful. We bought our hot tub from him when he was in the hot tub business. We have had the hot tub for 16 years. He does very good work and is pretty knowledgeable, but one has to have patience with him because he gets off in different directions sometimes. I put up with it because I like what he does. Some people might be a little bugged because sometimes he says he will be back tomorrow, but then doesn't show up until several days later. The only issue I have with him is his timeliness. He is working on my deck right now. He is repairing where I have a 100-year-old tree that grew and put a hole in the deck and buckled it up. We are just getting started on that project. For us he has done carpentry, plumbing -- he installed all the toilets and did all the plumbing work. He is also a licensed electrician so he has done electrical work and you name it -- deck work. He is kind of a jack of all trades. Right now I know he is working on someone's basement, supporting steel beams and all that stuff. That is why he has not finished my deck work because he is busy with the basement. He also put in our garbage disposal for us. That guy has done so much I can't remember everything. I have been dealing with him, probably, 20 years plus. On the fence his cost was about $3,000 and the materials were the other $3,000. He will save people money because he has the customer buy the materials after he tells them what he needs. He takes no markup in the materials. He even went with me when I bought the materials for the fence. He only charges you for his labor. I have several other project for him to do including putting on a garage roof.
Description of Work
He also just finished building me a $10,000 fence for about $6,000. It was a lot of fence and it is just gorgeous. The fence was the last thing he has done for us. They dug the holes, set the posts, put in all the cross boards and all the pickets on a cedar fence -- about 320 feet of fence. He also built two gates one big and one small one.
Category
decks, electrician, fencing, plumbing, pool cleaners, remodeling, home remodeling, driveway gates, swimming pools
Denise M.
5.0
10/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Minor touch up after move out.
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Victor L.
5.0
07/31/2015
" "
Description of Work
Nothing, they don't perform service in the area in which I live.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

dear sir we were told ny angies list that they were removeing the special you purchased becouse you were not a member in our area and to send you a note to that effect we never recieved an email from you with a property lcation in our area you also were provided our contact phone number and we have not recieved a call from you either if you have work that you need preformed within our service area we are happy to help out please contact and discuss your needs my cell phone number is 7858192215
Terry H.
5.0
06/22/2015
unknown
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Kathy A.
5.0
03/31/2015
he is extremely knowledgable in everything he does,and never overcharges you.We will continue to have him as our #1 fix it man,He knows a lot of people,as we have employed a few of them because of his good referral..Very knowledgeable.and efficient,hes not out there to take advantage of anyone.We cant say enough good things about him!!!!!!!!!!!
Description of Work
he installed some heavy pipe downstairs for us....he has also fixed my washer and dryer,hes done several things for us,since we moved here in June,We had a problem with our plumbing,and saved us about 11,000 dollars,because he cked this vendor out for us.....if it weren't for him we could have lost our home....We highly recommend him for just about any job.He will tell us if he is unable to do something.....hes great!!!!!
Category
plumbing, remodeling

Service Provider Response

thanks for the review we look forward to serving your needs again
Hal P.
5.0
03/27/2015
Over the past 25 years we have had 2 new hot tubs. Both came from Home Resort, Inc. The company manufactures it's spas and sells them direct to the consumer. I still can't believe our hot tub looks and runs great after 16 years! Our fist tub went with our last home when we sold it since it was built into our deck.. Our new home had an old Jacuzzi spa built into the deck and it was junk, so we bought our second in 1999 from Home Resort, now headquartered in Tescot, Ks. It was a difficult location to replace. Due to the size and weight the company had to bring it to the location with a winch truck. No extra charge for the truck! It was installed, deck around it rebuilt and it has been running great since day one. We have needed to replace the heater just one time over 16 years and have had two new pump motors. All repairs were done by the company for a very reasonable cost. They can build and install many different sizes and install however many jets you want, special features, lighting, etc. I know they have a nice regular fiberglass start up spa for under $2,000. My experience with their products and the company has been excellent. I would highly recommend them if your in need a new replacement or your first hot tub. We love ours!
Description of Work
Built and installed our 8 person hot tub.
Category
decks, electrician, hauling services, plumbing, pool cleaners, remodeling, swimming pools
Mary K.
5.0
09/10/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Fixed leaky sink; hauled away some junk in the backyard; fixed barbecue grill; trimmed tree
Category
remodeling, woodworking, doors
Stacie H.
1.0
07/27/2014
Contacted Home Resort through Angie's list on June 11, 2014 and was at the house within a week to look at and take measurements for estimate. Chuck told me he would have the estimate done by the following Monday. Through numerous messages to finalize what work needed to be done still have not received an estimate and it is July 27th. Last message from Chuck stated that he had not forgot and would take care of me. If he didn't want to take the job or give estimate just be honest, so we could move on and find somebody else. We have located another contractor gave estimate in three days and is starting job in two weeks.
Description of Work
Not Reliable
Category
house painters

Service Provider Response

we contacted this customer same day and went out to check scope of work informed customer that we were booked up and that we take customers on first come first served basis gave several suggestions i would say we apperently handled explaining our being already booked up and that we wont give bids if we feel we cant properly handle the job, not well enough to this customer we are happy that she found someone to due the work as she had several companys not give her bids we can understand her frustration about wanting the bid done but giving a bid you know you cant get to is wrong in our opinion we hope that all works out well for her in her project
rhonda H.
5.0
07/14/2014
The guy that came initially put in his time but he did not finish the work. It has taken a while due to rain that has happened in the area. I expect him to come back as I have not paid for the materials to finish the work.
Description of Work
This was a Big Deal for $99.00 for 3 hours of general contractor or handyman service. He did some wood patch work and that needs to be sanded and re-painted, I needed an area to be closed up that was and access point for pests. He stabilized some rocks in my yard and he did some caulking as well.
Category
contractors, handyman service
Shirley W.
5.0
04/23/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Wonderful buying experience, no pressure, all questions answered. Product exceeded our expectations. We have had a while now and could not be happier.
Category
contractors, remodeling, woodworking, doors
Kara W.
5.0
11/15/2013
He showed up promptly and went straight to looking at the basement. He looked around and tried to find the cause of the water leakage into the basement. He ran the washer and found what he thought was the cause of the problem. He also gave suggestions on how to fix our guest bedroom in the basement that had water damage. Most of all he was very understanding and tried to calm me down as our basement was flooding. He was helpful in calming me down bringing what I thought was going to be a several thousand dollar project to just hiring a plumber. Also a couple of days after he assessed the situation he e-mailed me to see if we had any other problems since he had been by the house.
Description of Work
He rearranged his schedule to come out and see what the problem was to cause my basement to leak.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

we are glad that we were able to reassure customer of situation and even though we didnt really do a lot we are extreamly pleased to have solved her problem and look forward to helping in the future
Kelley K.
5.0
11/12/2013
Wonderful, totally professional and very sweet
Description of Work
Purchased correct pipe and installed under kitchen sink, after removing broken pipe Purchased correct heat pipe & installed in my 2001 Honda
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

we were glad we could help out and when customers heater hose broke as she arrived we could not stand by and do nothing
Rebecca N.
5.0
10/18/2013
We absolutely loved Chuck! He was so kind, he and his men worked very hard to get the job done in a short amount of time. His men did an excellent job. We would definitely hire them back because we were very pleased with the work. They cleaned up after themselves and made sure that they asked questions to see if they had done the job correctly and if we needed anything else done after they painted all of the fascia and soffits of the house. It was not an easy job, he had to get on the roof and paint down on it to get done and they did it correctly. He was honest about how much paint he used and he did not overbuy on supplies,and when he saw that his first estimate was too much he made sure to let us know that it was going to be less in the final cost. All in all chuck and home resort is a down-to-earth business who has the professionalism to do things the right way with a good standard of work but with cost effectiveness.
Description of Work
Painted the facia and soffits fixed some holes in our soffits, they even saw we needed a doorbell and fixed it for free!
Category
handyman service, house painters

Service Provider Response

we were happy to help and look forward to working with (removed member name) and her husband in the future
Hal P.
5.0
11/12/2012
We started with just a concept of what we wanted to do. On the first day, I told Chuck I needed to get the inside of the closet painted before we started. He said "no you aren'tt", we're going to do the entire interior in closet grade cedar. What a great idea and it wasn't that expensive and he did the work instead of me doing the painting. We then began to plan the french doors, which was the centerpiece of this side by side design. You can't buy what wanted (solid oak six panel french doors), so Chuck figured out how to build them and they are beautiful. Doors went up first and then the center area was "created". We knew we wanted a nice electric fireplace/heater at the bottom, TV at the top and shelves between. We discussed doors in the middle section but decided to leave it open with the option of doors if we changed our minds later. The shelves don't look like shelves, he designed some very attractive fronts. He came up with the idea of painting the back wall of the center black. I kind of wondered about that and expressed my concerns. It looks awesome! With the TV and open spaces for satellite dish control and dvr player it just looks great. All materials were solid oak with oak veneer plywood for center sides - all stained in honey oak with polyurethane satin finish. He also installed bright new lighting and is licensed to do all of the electrical - new outlets, lights, switches, etc. Before we started the closet project, we had purchased a steel exterior door with oak finish to replace a glass paned door that has been in the bedroom since we purchased the house 13 years ago. It was not a secure door and required an expensive full length shade. The door was removed and we discovered it was installed totally wrong and not level. Talking to Chuck during that process reminded me of Holmes on Homes on DIY. He couldn't believe what he was finding! We have 7 inch wide wall studs, so our pre-hung door was for regular 2x4 wall studs. The existing door was also standard, but with a real poorly designed installation. When he finished he had built the exterior door extension so the storm door installed properly, set the main door level and strait, foamed it in, used some other material under the threshold that I had never seen for water proofing and of course calked where needed. He does not do any painting, so I will need to paint the outside door frame. We are also happy with the new door.
Description of Work
We had been considering remodeling two side by side double closets that were poorly designed with little usable space, bi-fold doors and virtually unusable for our purposes. Charles Maltbie at Home Resort came in, we told him generally what we wanted and he came up with a plan and many great ideas. It was not an easy job for him, but we ended up with two beautiful custom built closets with custom built French doors, complete cedar interior and an entertainment center and electric fireplace in the center. Considering he built what we wanted to custom plans in our heads, we were totally satisfied beyond our expectations. He is quite a craftsman, has every tool needed for most any job and will do whatever you ask for. His charges are by the hour (and he only charges for time actually worked!). You pay for materials. Overall, we were more than satisfied with the end result. including overall cost, workmanship and design. This project was done in solid Oak and cedar. If you want someone to show up at 8 am, charge you for 8 hours a day (including coffee breaks, smoke breaks, lunch breaks, etc.), fancy vehicles and tidy work clothes this is not your company. However, if you want quality work with quality materials at a price anyone can afford with a beautiful finished job with no "up charges" for design changes during the remodeling process, Home Resort is your kind of contractor. One whole day was spent with me going to pick out and purchase materials with only time for one hour of work performed and I was charged for one hour! We have some structural works and a bathroom remodel that we will be using Home Resort for in the near future.
Category
decks, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, doors
Miranda T.
5.0
10/01/2012
Excellent
Description of Work
Very helpful and honest. Helped find and do my remolding the easiest and with what my budget allow..
Category
remodeling
Sharon N.
5.0
08/06/2011
Immediately upon contacting Home Resort Inc. via Angie's List, I received a phone call, and a date and time was set for discussing the project. Mr. Maltbie arrived promptly, and we discussed the plan. I was given many suggestions for completing my current project with helpful ideas for staying within my budget and for planning for future improvements. Before leaving, after several hours of examining the work area, informing me of the options for payment, and giving suggestions for the necessary supplies, Chuck, quickly replaced a piece of weather stripping that I showed him I had purchased. Also, before driving away, he noted a sagging garage door entry and quickly repaired it without my asking. After purchasing the necessary supplies for the project, Home Resort, Inc. picked up and delivered the materials for a minimal payment we had agreed on beforehand. Work began on the project with completion of the following: Repairing wood rot, removing and replacing three deck pieces to prevent further water damage. Also completed, transporting heavy table to basement, replacing another piece of weather stripping and repairing a leaky faucet. Following the delivery of supplies and completing some minor repairs, Chuck returned to complete the installation of an exterior storm door, caulk around the dried wood rot repair, install a pre-hung bathroom door in the basement, install baseboard board trim and door trim. Without my asking, Chuck quickly repaired another sticking door that another contractor had installed. The project was completed later when Mr. Maltbie returned to transport my refrigerator from the garage to the basement. He completed the trim around the rest of the baseboard, the bathroom door, and the window. The door knob was installed. Overall, I was pleased with the project. The project was completed in a timely manner. Mr. Maltbie was quite cordial to work with and was helpful in giving suggestions and allowing me to watch his performance and to teach me some of the tricks of the trade. He was quick to give me references for me to contact. He also sent photos of other projects he had completed. These photos helped me to envision how my project would look beforehand. I will definitely consult with Home Resort before completing other projects.
Description of Work
Chuck Maltbie: Home Resort Inc, performed several handyman chores for me. I contacted him to correct a problem with wood rot around the base of an exterior door, to install a new storm door and a new basement door, and to install base trim in my basement. In addition, I needed a couple of heavy items moved from my garage to my basement. Everything on this list was completed. After the damage was examined, Mr. Maltbie made possible suggestions for the repairs--and left the decision up to me. He was also more than willing to help me in any way to pick up materials and to transport them for a minimal charge we had agreed upon. Chuck provided me with references for me to contact about his work experience and was quite honest about his former jobs. Likewise, I was given a general idea of how much the project would cost after I informed him of the proposed budget, with a promise to stay within the allotted budget, if possible, without knowing the extent of some of the damage he would be repairing. We agreed that work on the project would occur with me present. Although I had originally planned to have Chuck complete a couple of other projects including replacing my porch railing and caulking the siding and around windows, this part of the project was not completed. Hot weather prevented the caulking, and budget constraints left the railing for a future project. I couldn't have hoped for a more cordial and helpful contractor than Mr. Maltbie. Part of the success of the project was our agreement to an hourly fee with him allowing me to complete parts of the job that I needed no building experience to finish, basically, the busy work that would have taken up his time. However, my inexperience in knowing the time factor in completing projects and pre-determining cost of materials hampered me from getting 100% of my original plan completed.
Category
contractors, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

this customer was our first experience with a Angie's list referral and we were very happy to be of service to her we look forward to the opportunity to help her with all her construction and remodeling needs

Phone

Address

PO Box 55

Tescott, KS 67484

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Pools, Custom Factory Direct Spas,Decks,floating docks, General Contracting, Outdoor Living, if you can dream it we can build it

Services not offered

Septic Pump or Drain Cleaning Services

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard
Financing
Discover

FAQ

Home Resort is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Home Resort is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Home Resort accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, Financing, Discover

Yes, Home Resort offers free project estimates.

Yes, Home Resort offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Home Resort offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Home Resort offers emergency services.

Yes, Home Resort offers warranties.

Home Resort offers the following services: Pools, Custom Factory Direct Spas,Decks,floating docks, General Contracting, Outdoor Living, if you can dream it we can build it

Septic Pump or Drain Cleaning Services

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Strong Hand

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Strong Hand

Strong Hand specializes in Concrete and Painting (interior and Exterior), along with providing flooring, carpeting, drywall, siding, roofing, and demolition services. We work on both residential and commercial properties. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

**Call us today for a FREE ESTIMATE!** With over 20 years of experience, we have been serving North Central Kansas since 1999. Call us if you need professional roofing service, you'll love the way your home looks!