Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

A 1 Home Renovations and Painting Inc

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Founded 2001 • With Angi since April 2012

Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

10249 W 49th Pl

Shawnee, KS 66203

Description

Family-owned business. Free Estimates. No project is too small or too large. You will receive the best possible quality service, custom tailored to fit your individual needs. We have over 20 years experience in remodeling, repairing and construction of homes. We offer a broad range of home improvement services that can dramatically improve the quality and value of your home. We have 4 employees and carry workman's comp and liability insurance. Payment for small projects due upon completion. Larger projects are divided up into 3 payments or a financing company can be provided for you....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

28

4

3

3

0

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (13)house painting (10)general contractors (8)home remodeling (7)interior painting (6)window replacement (6)electrician (5)decks & porches (5)door installation (4)cabinet refacing (4)siding companies (4)screen repair (4)
Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews
5.0

08/17/2021

Excellent. Prompt, always cleaned up after themselves. Very kind and trustworthy.

Description of Work
reframed fireplace, tile to ceiling, new hearth, electrical and electric fireplace insert

Category electrician,remodeling,interior painters

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2021

5.0

05/06/2021

A 1 did a great job. We are already making a list of projects with them for continuing work. The crew was really friendly and very respectful of the house and our stuff. They did one of the best post-work cleanups I've had too. They had us mark with tape places where we had questions about the work. They wanted to make sure we were completely happy with the outcome. In our case, they even decided ...

Description of Work
Paint interior of large house

Category contractors,interior painters

Cost $6,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2021

5.0

09/28/2020

Fonda and Steve run a fantastic company, excellent communication and quality of craftsmanship. We used them 1st to build decking over our back patio and a privacy wall, to enclose our hot tub. A few months later we had them remodel our kitchen which included adding new cabinets, painting existing cabinets, countertops, backsplash, lighting and plumbing. They were always prompt, dependable, cleaned...

Description of Work
Decking over back patio & privacy wall. Kitchen remodel.

Category contractors,ceramic tile,countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,lighting,plumbing,screen repair,home remodeling,cabinet refacing

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Always a pleasure working with our clients to make their home into what they want. Looking forward to working with you in the future. Fonda
5.0

12/24/2019

Excellent work and very quick. Steve and his crew are excellent to work with and do a fantastic job - exceeding my expectations each time. It is so fantastic to find a contractor that has integrity!

Description of Work
New deck and stairs for my RV.

Category decks,remodeling

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2019

5.0

10/23/2019

They did an excellent job, not only with the work performed, products used, etc., but were extremely timely and quoted properly. I would highly recommend this company for any work needed. After all the tornado damage, insurance process and finding resources - along with an amazing amount of stress for several months - it was a great blessing to have an honest and capable team get my home put back ...

Description of Work
After remediation was performed from the Tornado damage, Steve and his team promptly provided a quote, worked with my insurance company and immediately began the work agreed to. They did an excellent job, putting in new flooring, properly treating existing flooring to ensure safety and disinfecting, replaced walls, painted and cleared out the rubble in the garage.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,handyman service,insulation,remodeling,water damage restoration,replacement windows,interior painters,cabinet refacing

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2019

1.0

06/27/2019

They don’t do work in Independence, MO

Description of Work
Total remodel of one apartment, then renovation of attached 2 story owners home. Around $10,000 job

Category countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,screen repair,replacement windows,ceiling fans,home remodeling,interior painters,cabinet refacing,doors

Cost $10,000

Work Completed On 06/27/2019

5.0

08/23/2018

I received an estimate but decided to go with another company. Everything was A+.

Description of Work
Window Repair

Category remodeling,replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2018

Service Provider Response

Hope all goes well with your project Fonda
5.0

11/26/2017

Both Fonda and Steve were exceptional and we were pleased with the results and turnaround time. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Repair section of roof (tiles/flashing/wood rot)

Category roofing

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Was a pleasure working with you on your project. If you need anything further, let us know. Fonda
5.0

09/27/2017

After the next heavy rain, we noticed more water damage (it was still leaking), but they came out and took another stab at it. So far, so good. I appreciate them not fighting with me on coming back out... very professional and concern that we were happy.

Description of Work
Wood rot repair and sealing around master bedroom window

Category remodeling,house painters

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] We truly try our very best to take care of the problems and make our clients happy. Let us know if you need anything else Fonda
5.0

09/08/2017

Everything went extremely well. Good communication the whole time. They will be back out in about 10 days or so to lengthen 3 of the stair rails ( that was part of the disability friendly package). These people are great for all the little "handy man" projects that two old women can't do.

Description of Work
Generally making my home disability friendly. Other things included power washing and painting a porch and separate railing, fixing a lazy susan in the kitchen cabinet, replacing a broken window pane in the garage and building a new small ramp to my mail box.

Category decks,remodeling,replacement windows,home remodeling

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2017

Services Offered

Kitchen Design and Remodeling, Bathroom Design and Remodeling, Basement Design and Remodeling, New Windows and Window Repair, New Doors and Door Repairs, Painting, Flooring Installation: Tile, Hardwood Floors, Laminate, Vinyl, Light Plumbing & Electrical, Light Fixture Installation, Under Cabinet Lighting, Sheetrock, Texturing, Popcorn Ceiling Removal, New Decks and Deck Repair, Fencing, New Siding and Siding Repairs, Wood Rot Repair & Roofing Repairs

Services Not Offered

Carpet, HVAC

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
Senior Discount
10%
Warranties
Yes