Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA

Founded 1984 • With Angi since September 2009

4.9

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Prairie Village, KS 66208

Description

Landscape Design and Consulting. Licensed Landscape Architect/Owner operated. 40+ Years experience in all types of Design; Planting Design, Hardscape, Pools, Fountains, Decks, Outdoor Living, Landscape Lighting, and the BEST contacts for subcontractor installation. I charge by the hour for my

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/28/2020


Jeff K.

Rick Barret is the best at his job and very knowledgeable in his field would highly recommend him for any landscaping designs and plant selection

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping, architect

5.0

09/16/2016


Karen H.

Rick was timely, very professional, great ideas, and affordable.

Description of Work
Landscape Architectual plans for our home.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/18/2015


Grace S.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/03/2015


Larry M.

We have had bad experiences with two previous people who were reportedly landscape experts. We were very disappointed with their knowledge of plants and work performed. Richard, on the other hand, repeatedly returned our emails and phone calls promptly. His landscape plan was exactly what we wanted--beautiful low maintenance plants that do well. He coordinated a visit with his landscape contractor, met with him at the house and submitted a bid that was extremely reasonable. We would recommend him without reservation.

Description of Work
Submitted a landscape plan for our yard. Coordinated meeting with landscape contractor to complete the job

Category landscaping

5.0

10/31/2014


Craig R.

Description of Work
Rick provides professional landscaping consultation services. We have been his clients for several years. | | He has designed landscaping beds for our home, recommended appropriate plants/trees and given us general landscaping advice for different areas in our yard. |Rick is very professional, prompt in returning calls and emails, courteous and very mindful of the budget when he makes recommendations. He stays current on updates/concerns in the horticulture field. | |He doesn't provide installation of the landscaping projects he designs. Therefore, he doesn't draw up plans with an abundance of plantings that will be an overgrown mess in a few years. He is very practical-minded as he considers maintenance of the plantings he recommends. | |Rick is our go-to-guy in the event of landscape "disasters" like we had recently when our new neighbors cut down their 4 mature oak trees turning our shade garden into a full sun garden in July! Or this fall when the siding company dropped a sheet of cement board on our 30+ year old Japanese Maple! |He has practical solutions, professional knowledge and experience. | |We have recommended him to family and friends. |

Category landscaping

5.0

10/01/2014


Grace S.

Description of Work
Gave me suggestions for landscaping and what grows well in the areas that I was looking to do. |

Category landscaping

4.0

11/19/2012


Mark A.

Richard seemed to be very competent. We didn't communicate very well at first, but it was mutual, not totally his fault. In the end, things worked out OK. Be sure you are very clear about what you want, and ask questions. He is honest and well-intentioned, very knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Landscaping proposal

Category landscaping

5.0

04/13/2012


Craig R.

Rick toured our whole yard, front and back last March 2011 and this March 2012. I pointed out areas of concern and he made suggestions and options for those areas. He sketched out ideas for different areas of our yard. The consultation took about one hour. We planted specific plants and followed his recommendations in different parts of our yard last spring. We have his recommendations from his consultation this spring, but have not yet implemented any of his suggestions, but plan to do so with warmer weather.

Description of Work
We used Rick's services strictly as landscaping consultation. He toured our front and back yard and gave us suggestions, options and sketches for our problem areas. It took about an hour each time. We used Rich in early March 2011 and in March this year, also.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/01/2012


Bradley M.

Provided a lot of valuable information for the time and money spent; Evaluated the landscape and provided recommendations about how to properly care for current landscape specimens and also about future plantings; Would recommend planning for 2 hours if have a larger yard

Description of Work
Evaluation of existing landscape to provide recommendations for future improvements

Category landscaping

5.0

08/08/2010


Barry B.

Very professional. Punctual. Did exactly as stated. Very knowledgeable and professional. Only decided not to use him because we went with landscaper who also did organic plantings.

Description of Work
Gave overview and consultation for landscaping ideas. This was just a 1 hour walk through.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/15/2010


Bob R.

We have no complaints about this company at all. Their work has been great. Their price was fine, and their quality is good to. We would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
They have been out for multiple project, some general landscaping.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/08/2009


Bob R.

Absolutely great. My highest praise is that he listened to what we wanted and then successfully converted our non-expert opinions into a cohesive plan. Very knowledgeable about not only what looks great, but also what species and even varieties do well in the local area.

Description of Work
Rick prepared a comprehensive landscaping plan for our house taking into account entrance/exits, a new pool, conversion of the deck to a patio, outdoor kitchen, new planting beds, plant selection, etc... Deliverables included drawings and specifications necessary to perform the work.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Top Tier Landscaping

    We offer hardscaping and landscaping services to Johnson County and the surrounding cities. Here at Top Tier Landscaping we pride ourselves in excellent customer service and outstanding quality of work. We have completed over 400 projects and have maintained a 5 star rating from our clients. We believe in transparency, great communication and offering the greatest product possible to all of our clientele. Give us a call today for a FREE estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Land Escapes LLC

    Land Escapes is a full-service landscaping company specializing in residential and commercial landscape design, installation, and maintenance; irrigation installation, repairs, and maintenance; and hardscape/patio/retaining wall design and installation. Winner of the Super Service Award 5 consecutive years (2012-2016). The landscaping professionals at Land Escapes have the skills, expertise, and experience required for successful landscaping projects. Land Escapes will do the job right first time and we deliver quality that lasts. Our experts will work with you to bring your ideas, and your landscape, to life. Land Escapes is a certified segmental retaining wall installer by the National Concrete Masonry Association and a certified installer by the Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute.  

    Angi Certified

    JTC Services

    JTC Services has been around since 2021 providing quality landscape and hardscape services to Johnson County area for affordable prices! As a new company, we are always looking for ways to make and keep our customers happy, how we do that is with the high quality work we provide. We stand behind all of our work. We have many years of experience and decided to take our knowledge and create our own unique company to set us aside from every other landscape company. we look forward to transforming your vision into reality.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Architectural Design & Consulting including installation subcontracting.

    Services Not Offered

    I do not sell plants or have installers under my employ. I do offer both services as an add to my Design Service.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA

    How is Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA overall rated?

    Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA provide

    Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offer free estimates?

    No, Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offer a senior discount?

    No, Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA?

    Yes, Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offers warranties.

    What services does Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offer?

    Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA offers the following services: Landscape Architectural Design & Consulting including installation subcontracting.

    Are there any services Richard Clayton Barrett, ASLA does not offer?

    I do not sell plants or have installers under my employ. I do offer both services as an add to my Design Service.