Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Greenleaf Garden Services

Founded 2001 • With Angi since March 2004

4.8

(42) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 7527

Overland Park, KS 66207

Description

Greenleaf Garden Services began out of a desire to help busy customers create and keep beautiful landscaping throughout every season. Greenleaf has been making and caring for gardens in the Kansas City area since our inception in 2001 and now provides garden services for many KC homeowners and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/08/2015


Ray A.

Plants/Shrubs were taken out quickly. Workers were friendly and hard working. They managed to get them done within the time frame they anticipated. A job well done! Clean up was exceptional.

Description of Work
We had several shrubs and plants that were overgrown for specific areas. Had them moved to another location around the house where other plants/shrubs had died - to fill empty spaces.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/11/2014


BETTY O.

They did an excellent job! We had a lot of deferred landscaping maintenance, and they transformed our weedy, overgrown landscaping into a beautiful sight! The work was completed in one day, and they cleaned up all the mess that came with the clean-up! We'll use them again in the Spring!

Description of Work
Greeenleaf did a fall clean-up of the landscaping all around our house, pulling out many, many weeds, cutting back grasses and other plans, trimming bushes, and applying new mulch on three sides of the house.

Category lawn service

1.0

05/28/2013


Ali J.

We had Greenleaf come out to give an estimate. She seemed so nice and had some great ideas. She also offered to have her tree guy come out to take a look at our trees to trim. We were very excited to see what she came up with but she never called us back with the quote. I was thoroughly disappointed.

Description of Work
Came out to give estimate for landscaping.

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

06/13/2012


Sarah M.

Excellent--- I went to work and when I came home the yard was transformed! My husband and I sat out in the yard for the first time in a long time-- now it is a serene place to relax rather than a job that has yet to be completed! I did have just one hosta that was hiding in the overgrowth that seems to have been stepped on but am sure will bounce back and one Red Bud tree that they forgot to stake-- but I am sure they will return to do this.

Description of Work
Greenleaf did extensive clean out of beds on our large corner lot that collects all the neighborhood leaves and has been overgrown for years. They did work in the front, side and back yards. They trimmed the yews, defined beds, took out hundreds of tiny tree seedlings and nuisance vines. They also cut back the ivy to defined beds in the backyard and hauled away some brush and branches we had left over from winter. They did so much work and it looks amazing! I wish I'd taken before and after pictures. We waited to mulch and/or pea gravel until the actual space could be estimated after the clean-up -- but we will definitely contract with this company for the work-- not included in the above $ amt.

Category lawn service

5.0

12/29/2011


DEBORAH P.

I am very pleased with their work. I am always pleased with their work. They are very conscientious. I would easily recommend them to my friends to use. They have always been on time and prompt. They did extensive cleanup this fall and I couldn't have asked for better. I originally saw some of their work at a farmer's market. I've had no problems with them. I haven't compared their prices but I have been quite fine with any of the work they have done. They were very timely. All of the folks I've dealt with have been very timely.

Description of Work
I used Greenleaf Garden Services to do some garden cleanup ad they did some additional Christmas greenery pots for the exterior this year. They have done Christmas greenery pots in front of my house for several years.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

12/19/2011


ANN M.

They did a nice job but they are pretty expensive. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Greenleaf Garden Service to do a yard cleanup including trimming some bushes.

Category lawn service, tree service

4.0

10/12/2011


Lisa C.

They do good work but I think they are too much money. I might use them again but it is questionable.

Description of Work
I used Greenleaf Garden Services to do flowerbed maintenance.

Category landscaping, lawn service

4.0

09/26/2011


Frank V.

Went well. We selected stones after visiting several sources. Movement and setting of stones well executed. Continue struggle to eradicate the bamboo stand (Was old and very extensive). Nearly all dead now.

Description of Work
Trim trees (subcontract) - excellent arboriculturist. Removed bamboo stand. Remove plantings and old loose stone wall, rebuild wall and edging of front landscape. Replace with hardscaping of mulch and "Zen Garden" large stones. Laid flagstone path.

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service

2.0

06/15/2011


Deborah N.

The project manager came to my place and we walked through the property discussing a lot of ideas I had, some defined, some vague at this point. She was very flexible and willing to work within my budget constraints, and I was very excited to get started. However, after the first day of work, I concluded I would not use this company after all. 1. First of all, after taking so long to finally get responses from the office and get communication even started, I still was not notified of when the guys would be here. I'm sure the office didn't intend to send the guys unannounced, but it did happen. Fortunately it worked out that I was here and had time I could spend explaining the project, etc. because I did want to be here whenever the guys came. However, had I known they were coming, I would have set a sprinkler out overnight to soften the ground for digging and laying the bricks. This would have made the work go faster and better, which would have saved me money in the time it took them to do the job. 2. Neither guy knew what the first project was going to be, and therefore were not prepared with the right equipment. Fortunately I had a wheelbarrow they could use. I felt they should have been instructed what the first project was going to involve, and what the project organizer's ideas about it were. They thought they would have to remove all the sod between the trees, so I told them the project organizer had thought we'd use cardboard and mulch, wondering why they hadn't been told already. 3. Neither guy could figure how to use the bricks I had for the project, and I found myself explaining how to use the shape of the bricks to create the curves. I had to explain it several times over the 3 hours they were here, and I'm still am not convinced it was the best it could have been, so I have concluded that I got manual labor, and, while they were very pleasant men, neither one was very intuitive. That would be more acceptable if I wasn't paying $40 a man-hour. 4. I had been convinced that I would be pleasantly surprised at how much work I would get from the guys, how fast they were. I wasn't impressed. Frankly, for $80 an hour I expected, perhaps, they'd work with a small sod-lifting apparatus of some sort, and at least by the end of 3 hours I'd have the first project completed, which means they'd have the brick edge in place and cardboard and mulched. All that was accomplished was the brick edge. 5. Because of the lack of any equipment, and because the guys were working in dry soil, I could see it was going to be slow. So I felt I had to compromise on the depth of the bricks in able to afford even what I got.

Description of Work
The guys carried paver bricks from the back of my yard to use as edging around some trees, creating one moderate-sized mulch area. They had to chop through grass and dirt to lay the bricks, supposedly deep enough so I could run my mower wheel on it and thus avoid string-trimming in the future. This was supposed to be the first of many projects.

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

5.0

06/14/2011


Gene K.

punctual, worked hard, outstanding!

Description of Work
Cleanup of landscaping, trimming, remove weeds

Category landscaping

5.0

06/09/2011


Nikki R.

I liked the lady who came out to talk with me. She came up with a lot of different options.

Description of Work
Greenleaf Garden Services gave me a bid for restructuring for water flow about a week and a half ago.

Category landscaping

5.0

03/11/2011


FRANK K.

They were very prompt and did a nice job. I do not frequently hire out work like this so would be hard for me to evaluate the cost.

Description of Work
They did extensive yard cleanup including weeding and mulching to prepare the house for a family reunion we were hosting. We have a very large yard with multiple beds and features and had neglected the yard due to a very busy work schedule. The beds were totally overgrown with weeds and generally in bad shape. We did not have them do any new planting though.

Category lawn service, mulch

5.0

07/13/2010


Sheila V.

It all went very well---the crew even stayed to work during a light rain shower!

Description of Work
Extensive trimming of all shrubs and garden beds, cleanup, weeding-entire yard. Very good communication and good to clean up everything after work was completed. Nice people. I feel they did a more thorough job than any other firm I've hired to date.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/11/2010


Mary P.

We requested a consultation to resolve a problem we were having with water run off in our back yard, that had recently had a bad impact on a new garden area. Our entire block of homes slants east and north. Everyone experiences some water run off. Our immediate area is more slanted than some and has had water running through the back yard when it rains heavily. We did not realize how devastating this would be to landscaping against the west and north fence. Randy evaluated our problem, made recommendations and the work was started about one week later (one of the few days without rain). The work took all of one day and a few hours the next morning.

Description of Work
A drain basin was installed with a bed of river rock leading into it. This would catch water running off from our driveway and our neighbor's yard. Also, a drainage pipe was installed underground to carry water from the new drain basin and a previous underground down spout, to further out in the sloping back yard. Pavers were placed from the end of the driveway to inside the gate to help with water run off from that area. Landscape edging bricks that had been previously placed around the new garden were removed and new, taller ones were put in their place. River rock was also placed around some hosta plants just outside the fence, near the driveway, to help channel some water from the neighbor's yard. One of the workmen suggested putting a plastic edging strip at the end of the driveway to catch flowing water and direct it to the river rock area.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

06/04/2010


MELISSA W.

Took a while to get scheduled but job was professional; great work to our satisfaction. Very approachable staff who listen to customer goals/desires and offers great suggestions as well!

Description of Work
Tree and wild bush trimming along fence line of backyard and pruning of trees in yard for sturdy growth. Replaced dead tree in front of house with well thought and excellent selection of a flowering crabtree that I requested.

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service

5.0

04/28/2010


DONNA S.

The people who came to our home to clean up our many flower beds and prune our overgrown shrubs did an excellent job. For the amount of work they had to do, their price was excellent. Would highly recommend Greenleaf and plan to use them again.

Description of Work
Flower bed clean-up, pruning and laying down mulch

Category lawn service, mulch

5.0

11/25/2009


Debra O.

Their workers were great. They were easy to work with and their price was great too.

Description of Work
I used the services of Greenleaf Garden Services in the last month for landscaping work and clean up in my backyard.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/09/2009


RUTH P.

I had to discontinue my services with them because it was getting to expensive for me. Other than that, I believe that the work they did was very good. The first time they came out, it seemed as if they took a while to show up, but the times after that seem to get better as they were doing better with getting to my home on time. I recommend this company to anyone looking for consistently good lawn care.

Description of Work
I hired this company to do my lawn and occasional handy work. The last visit included painting my patio.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/10/2009


JAMES M.

Everything went well. They gave us fair bids, and did what they said they would do. And they are really nice.

Description of Work
We have hired Greenleaf on several occasions. They have planted and pruned. They have helped with general clean up. They have helped us with an ailing tree. They gave us some very good landscaping ideas.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/21/2009


David G.

We purchased a house last August that hadn't been lived in during that summer and the landscaping was a mess. Jennifer, Liz and MJ developed a phased plan including a detailed estimate and photos showing the different plants they were suggesting that we could implement over time to get everything looking good. We were very pleased with the whole experience and how "Phase 1" turned out. We look forward to continuing to work with Greenleaf in the near future.

Description of Work
Clean out various landscaping beds around the house, remove plastic edging and re-edge areas, remulch entire yard and add trees/plants.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/01/2008


MARALINE H.

These people are just wonderful. The workers are awesome and are polite and hardworking. My husband absolutely loves not having to do any outside work. I love having someone smile at me when I ask them to do something extra! They're very good and professional.

Description of Work
Lawn clean up; garden maintenance; anything that has to do with the yard except cutting the grass! They come twice a month.

Category lawn service

5.0

09/16/2008


NADINE M.

They have only been here once, and at this point I am very happy with what they have done.

Description of Work
They cleaned up 2/3 of my yard. They still have the last third to do. We have had rain so they haven't been able to come back.

Category lawn service

5.0

05/22/2008


Rebecca A.

Prompt very knowledgeable highly recommend them I have used them several times.

Description of Work
They trim and prune 12-14 trees work on flower beds and clean up the yard.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/15/2008


LOUISE H.

Several years ago my yard and flower beds were being overtaken by weeds and stray grass. I decided I was getting too old to be crawling around on my hands and knees pulling weeds. My neighbor was using Greenleaf and he recommended them, so I gave them a try. They have worked out well. Each spring they do a cleanup and put down new mulch. Another yard clean up in the fall. Every two weeks they pull weeds, rake beds, prune bushes and dead flowers, etc. My yard has never looked better. They are a little pricey, but at the end of the year they will adjust the monthly invoice to reflect the actual hours worked during the year.

Description of Work
They provide yard maintenance, every two weeks plus other landscaping services.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

01/12/2008


DAN B.

Collaboration on design was very good; Liz and Bev are very good listeners, paying attention to preferences and constraints, but also creative and put ideas and plants on the table we had not thought of. The project was completed on time and on budget, and they have been responsive to follow up conversations and planning for further work. Prior comments on Angie's List noted lack of communication; we found no problem with that, especially when using cell phone numbers and email. They may not reply in 24 hours, but they respond extremely well to ideas and inquiries. We are planning to engage them again for more design and installation work.

Description of Work
Design and install garden area surrounding a house and porch. Smallish area in urban neighborhood. Included selection of plants and locations, walkways, fountain and planters, drainage, and fence design and installation.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Shuker Service

    I was born and raised in the tree industry. It is an art form and that's what you'll get when you hire me for you tree trimming or removal needs. LET'S DO THIS RIGHT THE FIRST TIME!  

    Angi Certified

    Victor Tree Service

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    K C Tree Specialists

    KC Tree Specialists is a family owned and operated business serving the Kansas City area. They pride themselves in customer service and making sure that their customers are completely aware and educated on what services are performed. They can facilitate any type of tree service and stump grinding job of any size. With a crew of 4-6, you can expect that the job will be done in a timely manner. Reach out to set an appointment for your next tree service or stump grinding job.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Landscaping and landscape bed maintenance.Installation of foundation soil, creative drainage solutions and garden enhancements focusing on rearranging & refreshing existing plant material.

    Services Not Offered

    Mowing & lawn fertilization.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Greenleaf Garden Services

    How is Greenleaf Garden Services overall rated?

    Greenleaf Garden Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Greenleaf Garden Services open?

    Greenleaf Garden Services is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Greenleaf Garden Services provide

    Greenleaf Garden Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Greenleaf Garden Services offer free estimates?

    No, Greenleaf Garden Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Greenleaf Garden Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Greenleaf Garden Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Greenleaf Garden Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Greenleaf Garden Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Greenleaf Garden Services?

    No, Greenleaf Garden Services does not offer warranties.

    What services does Greenleaf Garden Services offer?

    Greenleaf Garden Services offers the following services: Landscaping and landscape bed maintenance.Installation of foundation soil, creative drainage solutions and garden enhancements focusing on rearranging & refreshing existing plant material.

    Are there any services Greenleaf Garden Services does not offer?

    Mowing & lawn fertilization.