Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING

Founded 2002 • With Angi since October 2008

3.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9102 NIEMAN RD

Overland Park, KS 66214

Description

We have on staff designer's that can help you select the perfect flooring for your home. We also offer shop at home appointments. We have over 40 years of experience on staff. We offer free measurements and estimates. We carry a large selection of floor covering including carpet, tile, wood, laminate, area rugs, vct, and much, much, more. We also do sand and finish on existing hardwood floors. No matter what your needs are if it's residential or commercial we can help you find the flooring you want and love....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/14/2020


Karlton B.

After 6 months of the floors being refinished by Designers Choice the polyurethane started bubbling and peeling in several different spots in the house. There was a section where the floors were cupping also. I called Designers Choice and explained the situation. Ron Noe the owner came out to the house looked at the floor and said he had never seen that happen before and would warranty the work. Months went by and we never heard anything back so I would call them and was told Ron was out of the office and would call me back. Months went by and he never called me back. So I would call again and got the same answer "Ron will call me back" he never called back. After 6 months with no call back my wife started to call them everyday and would get the same answer. She never received a call back as well. We finally went into the store and and explained to them the situation and that we have called numerous times over the 6 months without a call back. This time we spoke with Ron's wife and she said she would contact Ron and have him call us. Ron finally called back and is now saying the the polyurethane bubbling and peeling is due to not running a humidifier in the house and he would not warranty the work. So we are left with crappy looking floors. One of his installers was doing work at a neighbors house and the neighbor explained the situation and his response was the bubbling and peeling is related to the polyurethane they used and not letting the floors cure. If you look at the Google and Angie reviews for this company it is common practice for them to not take responsibility for a bad product nor call the customer back. They want to blame the dog, the windows or the humidifier or whatever. Buyers need to beware of this company and the bad service they provide and they do not back their products.

Description of Work
Repairs to hardwood floors

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

1.0

10/09/2017


David C.

The project was completed on schedule but I was concerned that the wood was delivered and the installation began the very next day with little time for the wood to acclimate to the home. The crew was pleasant and courteous. When the floors were finished, they were gorgeous and we were very happy. In just a few weeks, we started to notice that the edges of the planks began to raise up and the planks began cupping giving the flooring a wavy appearance. We asked our rep to come and take a look and he said that it was due to leaky windows. (We had just had all of our windows replaced) We have also had issues with scuffing that we have never experienced with hardwoods before, not even the old ones we ripped out to put these floors in. They also convinced us to put in the flush-mount matching wood floor vents which have experienced upheaval and sinking which makes them no longer flush. After meeting with the rep, he offered to have the floors sanded and refinished at our expense as the fix. We had 2 other flooring installation companies look at the floors and both, without any input from us, said that the wood was not allowed to acclimate long enough and that is most likely what caused the issue with the cupping. Nobody could explain the scuffing but nobody we talked to about it had ever experienced it. We were told after complaining about the scuffing that there was a better poly coating but we were never offered this up front because it was an extra cost. We NEVER tried to negotiate price with them at all so not sure why it wasn't offered. THey gave us a price and we simply said OK and signed the contract. I would NEVER use this company again and would advise anyone else to stay away. They had no desire to actually make things right. THey had their money and wanted to just walk away when an issue came up.

Description of Work
We had hardwood installed on the entire first floor of our home. Approximately 1,000 sq. ft. of white oak flooring installed, stained, finished.

Category hardwood floor

2.0

09/27/2017


Linda C.

At first they looked beautiful; however a couple months later we noticed the floors were all scuffed and started to buckle so we called the owner who promptly came and looked at the floors and said he had never seen this before but kept blaming our dog for the scratches. Even though we said we understood the scratches even though these are hardwoods and shouldnt scratch this easily but we were more concerned about the scuffs and buckling. He told us to call him after the humid season was over and he would come look at them again but assured us that his company would take care of this. About 6-7 months later we called him again and he promptly came out to look at our floors again which were now way worse. He again started to blame our dog and our older windows which allowed in humidity and said there was nothing he could do because it wasn't his fault. We have had other floor professionals tell us that there was no way that old windows would make hardwoods buckle or scuff like our floors and 2 professionals attributed the buckling and scuffing to the hardwoods not being cured properly or the finishing process not completed correctly. My friends who have seen my floors always comment about how they can't believe how my floors look. The owner is really nice and I hated writing this review but it's hard to get over floors that look like mine so after $7,000 and people commenting on them.

Description of Work
New Hardwood floors for our downstairs

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

2.0

08/06/2017


David C.

Everything during the installation went great and we were excited about getting hardwoods for our downstairs. Right after the floors were installed we were thrilled because they were beautiful and the owner was so nice and thorough. However several months later, we started noticing scratches, large scuffs, and buckling all over the hardwoods. We called the owner and he came out and inspected the floors. His conclusion was the scratches were from our dog (which we agreed and told him the scratches didn't bother us as much as all the scuffs and buckling), he said the scuffs were from things being dragged across the floor, and he couldn't understand the buckling and had never seen this before on any floor he had done but wanted to come back when humidity levels were down because it may be the result of humidity but guaranteed he would fix the problem. He came back several months later and determined the buckling was from humidity leaking in through our windows and therefore he wouldn't do anything about it because he didn't feel like he did anything wrong. We have never written a bad review on any service we have ever used because we're just not that type of people. However when you spend almost $8000 on flooring and several months later they look old and beat up, something is definitely wrong. It may have been in the application of the stain and poly or the wood just wasn't acclimated to our house before installation because if humidity were the issue, there wouldn't be a level floor in the state of Kansas. We had other flooring companies come out and every one of them said that there was no way it was due to humidity. The reason we're writing this review so much later is because at first we didn't want to say anything because the owner was so nice even when he said he wouldn't fix the floors but after having so many of our friends comment on our floors and noticing more and more scuffs everyday, we just felt like we had to. The reason you get HARDwood floors is because they're easier to take care of, more resistant, less maintenance so for him to tell us that the scuffs were from us dragging things across the floor is just unacceptable. We have lived in this house for 15 years and still have the cream carpet that originally came with the house upstairs and it's still in great shape also the hardwoods they replaced didn't have any noticeable scuffs because we're very easy on our home so no I don't think we are the type of people that can scuff up HARDwood floors within months of installation. We have friends who have had hardwoods for years and I never see the huge scuffs that we have on our floors on anyone else's hardwoods. We want to be fair and understand that not every floor this company installs looks like ours or they wouldn't be in business but something went wrong with ours and they weren't willing to take any responsibility for it and/or make it right. So we live with these scratched, scuffed, buckled hardwoods but we make sure that everyone who comes in our house knows who installed them!

Description of Work
Hardwood installation for our downstairs

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/11/2015


Ellen and Richard D.

Excellent

Description of Work
Flooring

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

01/01/2015


Juanita C.

I was referred to Designer's Choice by the firm who installed my wood floors. Great choice. I purchased 743 sq ft of pre finished hardwood for installation. My initial choice of wood was unavailable but Tony found a similar color by the same manufacturer that was a little cheaper (yippee). I also purchased carpeting for the family room & two bedrooms. Designer's Choice installed the carpeting and a good quality pad. At the last minute I also decided to remove the vinyl from the 3 bathrooms. Designer's Choice had a tile guy install the tiles I got from Home Depot (since it was a late Saturday decision to take up the vinyl & purchase tiles). Tony provided timely quotes on all supplies and work. The installation crew did good work and left my house clean. My initial meeting with Tony was when I showed up at the store 20 minutes before closing and he worked late to help me choose carpet & wood. He let me take several samples home to match to the new paint & lighting of the house.

Description of Work
Provided hardwood and carpet. Installed carpet and bathroom ceramic tiles. Excellent service and supplies.

Category carpet installation

4.0

12/30/2014


Jerry T.

Everything was fine. We hope to use this service again in the near future (Spring)

Description of Work
Provided the carpet and the padding. Provided a list of installers, one of which we hired.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/11/2013


Elaine G.

I really like them. It was just that I met with another company for a couple of reasons, but I would go back to them to work for flooring. They were really professional. The other company was just having a sale, but actually their pricing was just the same.. I was torn between the two. They were very professional and I would not hesitate to use them in the future in different circumstances.

Description of Work
I looked at Designer's Choice Wholesale Flooring's flooring and I got an estimate from them.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/25/2013


KIMBERLY M.

They showed up on time, and work was completed as promised. Excellent service from Ron.

Description of Work
Laminate flooring installed in basement.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

10/14/2008


Marilyn K.

They did very well. We were pleased with the job that they did. They came and did the job when they were scheduled to. There were 3 workers and they did the job in a day.

Description of Work
They installed carpeting in two rooms, two hallways, plus a flight of stairs.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Flooring Butler

    We specialize in flooring installation and hardwood refinishing. We install new hardwood, LVP, LVT, laminate, tile, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We offer 3rd party financing, PayPal, Venmo, and AngiPay, in addition to cash, checks, and credit/ debit cards. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Best Hardwood Floors Inc

    Specializing in HARDWOOD FLOORING, INSTALLATION AND REFINISHING! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    JARED FORSON HARDWOOD FLOORS

    Jared Forson Hardwood Floors was established in 2001 and is self owned and operated by Jared Forson. With over 20 years experience Jared has been upping the standards of hardwood floors. Knowing that customer satisfaction is a must, Jared is present from start to finish on every job. With referrals being such an important part of Jared Forson Hardwood Floors, every floor and customer gets preferential treatment. "I take pride in what I do. It's not just a floor, it's your floor." Find us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/JaredForsonHardwoodFloors  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet sales and installation. Sand and Finish Area Rugs Residential or Commercial

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING

    How is DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING overall rated?

    DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING open?

    DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING provide

    DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

    Does DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offer free estimates?

    Yes, DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offers free project estimates.

    Does DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offer a senior discount?

    No, DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING?

    Yes, DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offers warranties.

    What services does DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offer?

    DESIGNER'S CHOICE WHOLESALE FLOORING offers the following services: Carpet sales and installation. Sand and Finish Area Rugs Residential or Commercial