ARMSTRONG KITCHENS

About

Founded 1951 • With Angi since March 2004

For fastest and best experience, we recommend that you call us directly, 913 642 3337, or come to our Design showroom, conveniently located on 87th Street across from Louisburg Square. (no appointment needed, designers nearly always present.) Yes we are full service general contractors, but foremost we are about great design! Our showroom is where we start with ideas, and then we follow up with home appointments. Who are we exactly? We’re your kitchen's all-in-one full service remodeling answer for peace of mind. Kitchen remodeling is complex because many diverse skills must come together, correctly and without slippage. At Armstrong Kitchens we combine our wide range of abilities and experience for your best outcome, and we’ve had many decades to pull it all together. We are unique in being all of the following: -Interior Designers: each designer has a degree in Interior Design and is highly experienced, to make sure your new update looks like you want it to, and so that it fits well into your home. -NKBA Kitchen & Bath Designers: each designer is fully trained and NKBA accredited, to handle the specification complexities and minute technical details of all the products you will need. -Licensed General Contractor: We make sure your wonderful new room comes together the way its supposed to, by putting it together ourselves. We are not only licensed for General Contracting, but also Electrical & Mechanical and lead paint abatement. Like the old saying goes “If you want something done right…” In our 68 year history as a multi-generational family business, this has been the proven recipe for success....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Family Treasures

+11 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(27) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

22

4

5

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (25)cabinet makers (9)countertop installation (8)interior decorators (7)tile installation (7)woodworking (6)electrician (4)lighting (3)drywall (2)cabinet refacing (1)marble & granite (4)plumbers (3)
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
5.0

08/21/2020


Kathy R.

We had a great experience working with Armstrong Kitchens. Kristeen was very helpful in designing the kitchen in our 1920s home. In addition to replacing cabinets, countertops, and adding a sliding door, we removed several walls, upgraded lighting, electrical, and plumbing. Kristeen made design suggestions that saved us money without sacrificing the look I wanted. The sub-contractors were great. They were knowledgable about working in an older home and always arrived on time and cleaned up at the end of the day. We love our new kitchen and highly recommend Armstrong Kitchens!

Description of Work
Full kitchen

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2018

5.0

05/11/2020


Barbara M.

We couldn’t be happier! Our general contractor removed a staircase that formed the wall of our very small galley kitchen. Kristeen did an amazing job designing a layout and cabinets that transformed the kitchen into our favorite room in our house. She used every inch of space available and designed some unique storage for us.

Description of Work
kitchen remodel

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2014

5.0

02/19/2020


Krista K.

Armstrong Kitchens renovated our home including the kitchen, hearth room, living room, mudroom, and master bathroom. Owner Kristeen Armstrong Scott handled all design planning and construction management; she was onsite frequently to ensure a stunning final result. Kristeen and her crew are all top notch professionals who work seamlessly to keep the job progressing steadily and without delay or unwanted surprises. We are beyond ecstatic with the end result. OUR HOME LOOKS STUNNING! You will be in the very best hands with Armstrong Kitchens.

Description of Work
Comprehensive Remodel

Category custom cabinets

Cost $275,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2020

5.0

01/16/2019


John S.

Armstrong Kitchens is a wonderful group to work with and we heartily recommend them for your kitchen remodeling project. They are a family owned business serving the Kansas City area for over 30 years. Kristeen, the owner, is an absolute joy to work with and will "bend over backwards" to bring your ideas to life. Vicki is a certified kitchen designer who listens to your ideas and desires and works tirelessly to come up with innovative and creative ideas that all work together to make the finished product truly something special. Their crew of craftsmen are polite, courteous, pleasant, and very skilled at what they do. Many have been working with Armstrong for over 30 years! The project included cabinet refinishing, custom cabinet construction, quartz counters, LED lighting, new combo wall oven, new cooktop, vented hood, and new quartz sink. They took care of all the scheduling and coordination. All we had to do was choose from the many options they offered us. We couldn't be happier with the finished product as it ended up looking better than we had hoped when we started the project! If you are looking to update your kitchen you can do no better than Armstrong Kitchens. This was, by far, our most enjoyable experience with a home remodeler.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2018

5.0

08/25/2017


Nancy B.

I cannot possibly recommend Armstrong Kitchens highly enough. If you want quality design and implementation, don't bother to look elsewhere. This is it. Excellent, experienced design and management of the project from start to finish. They have decades-long relationships with carpenters, electricians, etc, who do very high quality work to their specifications. The process went smoothly and on time, and we always felt supported if we had a question or concern. Everything was designed, built, and finished beautifully. They did the scheduling, inspections, etc. The results are spectacular! I am very particular, and I am completely satisfied and amazed. Kristeen, Lowell, and Vicki are a pleasure to work with. We could not be more happy with our choice of Armstrong Kitchens.

Description of Work
Kitchen renovation down to the studs. Also removed a wall between the kitchen and dining room. Replaced a window with a larger one.

Category home remodeling

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2017

Images

Review for ARMSTRONG KITCHENS - 9310 W 87TH ST, Overland Park, KS - 36114230

+1 More

5.0

07/12/2017


Dennis B.

The owner, Christine, designed the kitchen and scheduled the project. She listened to our requirements and desires, and ultimately offered appropriate choices of design and materials for our selection. She communicated well and we felt she understood what we wanted to achieve. The process followed the original schedule. Workers arrived on time, did a very good job and were extremely accommodating. They were also considerate about containing the dust and cleaning up at the end of the day. Christine had a presence on site making sure things were on-target and always asked if we had any questions. We are so pleased with our new, functional kitchen and highly recommend Armstrong Kitchens.

Description of Work
Refinishing of kitchen cabinets, removal of old pantry, design and installation of new “hutch-style” pantry, new backsplash, countertops, hardware and sink. Refinishing of wood floor.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2017

5.0

07/24/2016


Linda W.

Kristeen, the owner of Armstrong Kitchens is by far one of the most knowledgeable interior design professionals I have ever met. She has taken the time to properly advise on numerous issues relating to my upcoming remodeling projects. She has the necessary knowledge and experience to prevent homeowners from making costly mistakes. I trust her and would highly recommend Armstrong Kitchens to anyone looking to remodel. I appreciate her expertise which is helping me to make an informed decision on my upcoming projects.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bathroom

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2016

4.0

04/22/2016


Julia K.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2016

5.0

11/20/2015


Jack G.

We contact the owner/manager by phone with our need. She and her service manager (sometime the service manager alone) come to the house to assess the job. The appropriate service people arrive at the designated time, finish the project, clean the floors and furniture and leave, Always timely, and the kind of service people you would invite as guests into your home.

Description of Work
Recently reshaped existing cabinets to accommodate a new .refrigerator. Provider remodeled entire kitchen 20 years ago and has provided kitchen and bathroom remodeling services several times over the years.(Counter tops and bathroom vanities) The original kitchen remodeling moved and replaced all appliances, rearranged and expanded counter tops and added all new cabinets.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2015

5.0

09/24/2015


Tom C.

Description of Work
Date of service- October 15, 2015 Cost of service- 25000.00

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

05/19/2015


Shanny M.

They were totally focused on making sure that we were happy with the results and we are thrilled. Sarah Jipping was our designer and her advice and project management was invaluable, including how well she managed us. She took the time to really learn what we liked and didn't like and then pushed us just enough so that we love how it turned out. Every night they cleaned up whatever mess they made, including taking all of the trash away. In spite of how extensive the renovation was they never left a dumpster overnight. Lowell Scott was the project coordinator and he continually came up with innovative and effective solutions to every issue that came up. The quality of their workmanship is unparalleled and their focus on customer service is exceptional.

Description of Work
Armstrong Kitchens completely renovated our kitchen including, design and specifications, removing our 1980s desk and kitchen island and replacing them with custom-made cabinetry, expanding three windows and our three panel glass patio door, replacing our electrical outlets and lighting, replacing the backsplash and countertops with quartz and replacing the sink and faucets. They also removed wallpaper and repaired drywall. They managed all of the various suppliers in order to minimize our inconvenience.

Category custom cabinets, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2015

4.0

03/16/2015


Kenneth W.

We really enjoyed the designer. She spent about an hour talking to us in the store and then came out to look at our kitchen. We followed up 3-4 weeks later to see her suggestions for the remodel. She was very pleasant and I think we would have really enjoyed working with her on our project. We selected another vendor because we liked his ideas for a complete gut and remodel better, and the price for a total demo/remodel was less than the kitchen refacing and small addition that Armstrong suggested. I would recommend getting a bid from Armstrong.

Description of Work
Bid on a kitchen remodel

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $32,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2014

5.0

01/12/2015


James D.

We worked through all the details of the plan with Sarah, their design consultant, and felt she had great ideas and a real understanding of what we wanted. Armstrong used local contractors for electrical, plumbing, paint, and tile, but Sarah was the project coordinator who oversaw the schedule and completion of every step along the way. She promised the work would be completed before Thanksgiving, and that commitment was met. We had a very few issues that developed with some of the work performed by the contractors, but a simple call to Sarah was all that was required to make sure we were completely satisfied. There were a few changes and small additions to the project that added cost above the original bid, bud we were told in advance what to expect and decided to proceed with those changes. We were extremely satisfied with the entire process and would strongly recommend Armstrong for a kitchen or bath project. Make sure to ask for Sarah and then proceed with confidence!

Description of Work
We contacted Armstrong and two other local companies to provide bids for a complete update of our hall bathroom. Although theirs was not the cheapest, Armstrong provided an extremely detailed proposal and were ready to start and complete the project within our desired timeframe.

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2014

5.0

10/29/2014


Janet B.

This is the second time I have used ARMSTRONG KITCHENS - they completely remodeled my kitchen 10 years ago, but this time I wanted some updating. I returned to them (after several other bids were considered) due to their creative ideas, attention to budget and detail and strong desire to satisfy the customer's requests. They and their sub-contractors were efficient, trust-worthy, honest and incredibly professional. All parties aim to satisfy the customer and be sure you are happy with all aspects of the job. I am a dedicated Armstrong Kitchen customer and will always return to them for all kitchen/bath re-model or new construction.

Description of Work
Replaced laminate counter-tops with beautiful granite counter tops and back splash - new sink, faucet & disposer, included all tear out, haul away, and needed electrical work to complete the job.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2014

5.0

10/18/2013


Mark H.

It went really well. We are very happy with all of the work that they did for us. Vicky was our designer and she pulled everything together for us couldn't have asked for a better designer. The workers were true craftsman and really did nice work and they were always friendly and courteous and always cleaned up. If we need anymore major projects we would definitely call Armstrong Kitchens again.

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen, Redid the lighting on the main floor, Removed header into the attic, Removed bookcase, Put up crown molding and baseboards.

Category interior designers, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2013

4.0

09/16/2013


elizabeth B.

We spoke to several kitchen design contractors. Decided to work with someone else. I think price would have been fine, but I didn't think I could work as well with the Armstrong designer as the one I chose.

Description of Work
No work was done, decided on another company.

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 07/01/2013

5.0

11/15/2012


DIANE G.

I got bids from 5 other contractors before I met with Armstrong. Kristin Armstrong Scott did a wonderful job with designing a kitchen that was not a "period kitchen" but was respectful of the age of the house. We used a combination of natural wood and painted white wood for the cabinetry. The countertops are soapstone and the floors are Marmoleum, both products were used in kitchens at the time this house was built (1912). We kept a set of original upper cabinets in the breakfast room and the cabinets in the original pantry. It was very challenging to design because we have 3 windows and 6 doorways which means that the placement of the appliances had to be done very thoughtfully. We wanted to have great, updated appliances, but not have them be a focal point. Kristin had a wonderful plan which included wood paneling the built-in frig and dishwasher and placing ovens below the counters where they wouldn't be so obvious. It has become our favorite room in the house and I now LOVE cooking. Everything is so well thought out that it really makes it fun. We put a banquette in the breakfast room and enjoy having friends over now to "eat in the kitchen". The workmanship by Armstrong's craftsmen was excellent. It was great to have them working in the house and they did a very nice job, making sure that I was happy at each step of the project. It was not a fast process, but well worth the wait.

Description of Work
Remodeled the kitchen, breakfast room and pantry in a 100 year old house.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $65,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2012

5.0

08/21/2012


KATHRYN E.

It went very well. The contracting was "in house" ....and they were there when they said they would be there.

Description of Work
We didn't change the layout of our kitchen - but we wanted new cabinets, granite counters, and new flooring in our kitchen. And we wanted it before Thanksgiving. Armstrong Kitchens did a fabulous job in approximately 3 weeks. They offered advice on design, and they stayed within our cost constraints.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2010

5.0

08/11/2012


Janet S.

Great! Vicki helped me find beautiful design elements that were also cost effective and usable. Derrick is the Armstrong Kitchens tile master...his decisions on the placement of the glass tile insets and attention to the detail created an absolutely gorgeous and sophisticated impact! Just a really overall fun experience! I will definitely use Vicki and Armstrong Kitchens again!

Description of Work
Design, project management and installation of a partial bath remodel. I worked w/ Vicki to identify which elements of the project I might do myself (bring down popcorn ceiling, painting and SMALL amount of tile work I wanted to try) vs work best handled by the experts at Armstrong. Armstrong completed-removal of soffit over bathroom vanity and associated replacement drywall-rewiring of over vanity light, install of chandelier, upgraded outlet/GFI and install of new fan/light-install of new marble vanity top, sink and faucet-custom floor tile - ceramic with glass tile insets (including removal and reset of toilet)-custom border listello - tumbled marble, glass tile insets and pencil edge

Category ceramic tile, electrician, lighting, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2012

4.0

06/29/2011


Rebecca F.

I found Armstrong very pleasant to work with and they were the most creative company I worked with in terms of getting a lot of design/function into a relatively small budget. I asked three companies for bids and throughout the process I really thought I'd end up working with Armstrong. Unfortunately when I got the final bid their costs were much higher than my next choice. When I talked with them about this we were able to get the scope of their work down (I was doing some of the work on my own) and the price was more in line, but it was still a bit higher and I just didn't like that I had to push back to get their best price. In the end I went with another vendor, but I would still recommend Armstrong to others. Especially if you're looking for a company to do everything for you.

Description of Work
Armstrong Kitchens was one of the companies I asked for a bid on remodeling my kitchen.

Category home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2011

5.0

06/18/2011


SAM M.

GOOD, CAME UP WITH A PLAN TO ADD A FULL ADA BATHROOM WITH LAUNDRY TO THE FIRST FLOOR TO MAKE IT POSSIBLE FOR MY STEPMOM TO LIVE ON ONE LEVEL. THE PROJECT WAS PRETTY INVOLVED WITH GETTING RID OF AN EXISTING ROOM AND ADDING ALL THE PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL TO AN EXISTING OLDER HOME AND BUILDING A ROOM ADDITION THAT MATCHED THE EXISTING HOUSE PERFECTLY. ALL WORK WAS DONE WITH CITY PERMITS AND ALL DONE WITH PROFESSIONAL WORKMANSHIP. IT WAS PRETTY EXPENSIVE BUT FOR WHAT THEY HAD TO DO I'M SURE IT WAS APPROPRIATE COST.

Description of Work
DEMOLISHED SMALL HOTTUB ADDITION, ADDED LARGE ADA APPROVED FULL BATHROOM WITH LAUNDRY

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2011

5.0

08/01/2005


MAX B.

THE EXPERIENCE WAS GREAT. THEY ARE SOOO PATIENT AS WE WORKED THROUGH INSURANCE HASSLES TO SETTLE WHAT INSURANCE WOULD PAY. WE MADE CHANGES AND KIRSTEEN WORKED THEM IN. OUR KITCHEN WAS DAMAGED DURING A FIRE. HER DESIGN WILL BE FEATURED IN AN UPCOMING KC HOME AND GARDEN ISSUE. IT IS AMAZING AND WE ARE SO PLEASED. THERE WERE LITTLE THINGS HERE AND THERE THAT NEEDED TENDING TOO, AND THEY WERE FIXED WITHIN 24 HOURS OF MY NOTIFYING HER. VERY NICE WORK. PEOPLE ARE NUTS TO DO A KITCHEN WITHOUT A DESIGNER, AND SHE IS THE BEST IN THE CITY. SHE TEACHES KITCHEN DESIGN AT A LOCAL COLLEGE IN HER SPARE TIME.

Description of Work
KIRSTEEN DESIGNED OUR KITCHEN AND ASSISTED WITH SELECTION OF APPLIANCES AND THEY DID THE INSTALL OF ALL CABINETRY, PLUMBING, COUNTERTOPS.

Category home remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes